Customer Reviews


1,667 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,360)
4 star:
 (119)
3 star:
 (69)
2 star:
 (33)
1 star:
 (86)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
good
Published 12 days ago by Dave Desmeules Doan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars DVD'S IN GOOD QUALITY BUT PACKAGING IS DAMAGED
We were told the product was in very good condition. Considering we bought a special edition, we were also wanting good condition box that it is kept in. However, the dvd's themselves are in great condition. But the actually mailing parcel package was weak and had holes in it when we recieved it.
Published 6 months ago by kate felsman


‹ Previous | 150 51 52167 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Hours and hours of extra goodies!, Feb. 3 2003
By 
Mark (Tampa, FL) - See all my reviews
One of the greatest things about DVD's is the new expanded storage capability allowing directors and studios to add "making of" content, extra footage or alternative cuts of the movie that wasn't part of the original theatrical release. I must write that this box set of Lord of the Ring: Fellowship of the Ring takes DVD's abilities further than any DVD set I own.
Be prepare to spend several enjoyable evenings viewing some fantastic and in-depth "making of" material. This DVD goes even further than the standard 30-minute short by breaking the entire film making process into many 50 minutes in-depth and fascinating documentaries.
The DVD's are also loaded with a vast store of illustrations and sketches plus on-set still images.
The menus utilize LOTR illustrator Alan Lee's beautiful sketches and paintings to set a wonderful mood when browsing the content. (Similar to browsing the pages of a hand-illustrated old volume that the viewer has tucked away in an ancient library of forgotten works.)
And I also found the commentaries by the actors to be very enlightening and very amusing.
The interactive map of Middle Earth was extremely useful in tracking the journey and plot of the film from one region to another. A very clever and welcome bonus!
This DVD box set is a movie-lovers dream and a great value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, Feb. 3 2003
By A Customer
i'm a bit biass being a tolkien fan myself but it's an amazing movie, amazing dvd, it's just incredible. the fans who have read the books will apreciate the added scenes that were shockingly taken out (the gift giving!). you can really see the extra work they put into this and it was definately worth it. the fans who haven't read the book will have a better understanding of the history of middle earth and the history of the individual characters as well as their personalities.
in addition to the added/extended scenes there is a lot more of the extra behind the scenes stuff. there are a lot of hilarious parts of the cast audio commentary and a lot of interesting segments about how they made it. WARNING!: THE SEGMENT ABOUT SCALE! beware of this! it's interesting but when you watch it afterward and you know how they made the hobbits appear smaller and it just ruins it for you. that goes for some of the other segments, too. just watch out.
this really is a must have for lord of the rings fans but it is a pretty penny so if you aren't a really big fan don't get this dvd. you probably wouldn't really apreciate it as much and the regular dvd would be enough. this really was meant for the big fans.
i know no one is gonna read this but i felt like writing it. i hope it helps someone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "One Ring to rule them all . . ." Yeah!!, Feb. 3 2003
By A Customer
I can't describe its how amazing this film is, but this is one of the world's, or history's greatest films! Based on *J.R.R. Tolkien's* trilogy, *The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring* is a masterpiece, filled with a types of entertainment, and what's best, is that it's got all of 'em. It's got fantasy, action, drama, romance, and sweet humor, as it tells the tale of an evil Ring, the Fellowship which risked their lives trying to destory it, and the problems it causes over its bearer, Frodo.
Yup, you can RARELY find a movies, like this, and rarely you can find a story like this. Peter Jackson has made a wonderful movie without making it boring, and you can enjoy this long movie, unless you're an impatient person, whom I won't recommend this film to. This movie is even better than Titanic, and it beats ... movies like A Beautiful (ugly) Mind. It's filled with a wonderful cast: cool Elijah Wood, Sean Austin, Billy Boyd, Dominic Monaghan, Viggo Mortensen, Sean Bean, Liv Tyler, Cate Blanchett, Hugo Weaving, and talented British actors like Ian McKellen and Christopher Lee.
The story is one you all know, if you've read the book. Dark Lord Sauron is plotting to rule Middle Earth using one, powerful Ring, the Ring of Power. But he was defeated, and Prince Islidur, who killed him, decided to keep the Ring, after his heart got filled with the desire to use the Ring. But alas, the guy got killed and the Ring was lost for thousands of years, until Smeagol found the it, and he got corrupted by the "Precious" Ring. He became the hideous creature, Gollum.
But the Ring abandond Gollum, and something happened that the Ring didn't expect. It was found by the most unlikely creature imaginable, a Hobbit (halfling): Bilbo Baggins of the Shire, and for years, the Ring was in his houses . . . until now.
Now, his hier, Frodo, must destroy the Ring by casting it back into Mount Doom, the very place it was made, and there, it could be unmade. Together with the Fellowhsip of the Ring, Frodo must journey to Mordor, to the site of Mount Doom, or else Sauron, whose spirit is bound to the Ring, will return. But the journey won't be that easy.
Nominated for 13 Academy Awards, and out of those Oscars, it won four, the Fellowship of the Ring is one you won't miss to watch! Though it should've won Best Picture, it's still a great movie, and here at Amazon.com, the film has 2778 reveiwers (the number might change). Out of the reviews, there are 130 1-star reviews! This is quiet a FEW number of negative reviews, mostly done by Tolkien "Experts" and easily bored people who probably never read the books. But it's pleasing to know that there are many 5-star reviews, and that'll probably make you want to watch it, again and again, 'till you're tired of it.
Sincerely,
A ...reviewer/student/fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Still Life, Feb. 3 2003
By 
Justin Kownacki (Pittsburgh, PA, USA) - See all my reviews
The source material for The Lord of the Rings is among the most beloved stories in literature, so it's a noble undertaking by Peter Jackson and his team to have adapted it for the screen in the first place. That he achieves it with so much of the books' details intact is amazing. The performances are majestic, the cinematography lush, and the special effects are stunning. In short, it's the first truly "epic" epic I've seen in awhile.
However, I'll admit that while the attention to detail is commendable, there seems to be something missing in terms of emotion. The saga, the characters, all are archetypal, as was "Star Wars," but while Star Wars had a dash of modernism and humor to enable a viewer to connect with the story on a "you are there" basis, the legend of The Lord of the Rings seems so removed and almost exclusionary by nature ("they" are the fellowship, a band we are allowed to view without feeling like we're a part of the kinship) that I felt slightly wanting at the end -- not for more spectacle, of which there's plenty, but for more of a personal window into the story, so that I might better care about and appreciate it.
Even without that element, the movie is still a marvel to watch and highly rewarding from the popcorn level on up. The behind the scenes extras on the disc are fully encompassing as well, and fans of the story will doubtlessly have no trouble spending hours dwelling on every minute detail, as Tolkien and Jackson would intend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Before You Devotees Vote Negative...Please Read This:, Feb. 3 2003
By 
J. Daniel (New York) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
...yawn...
Let me start out by saying that The Fellowship of the Ring is just boring. There were so many scenes that could have been taken out without harming the storyline at all, and so many scenes that WERE taken out that really damaged it.
I was excited to see The Fellowship of the Ring in theaters when it first came out. I heard it was a long movie, but I figured it could still be good. It was NOT good.
The plot is really confusing, however. Sauron is returning to the world, and Frodo must take the ring back to the Land of Mordor and destroy the ring. It's really an original idea, but badly presented. This was just a little too long.
The special effects are pretty impressive. I really liked the ringwraiths and the galloping horses in the river. The Balrog was impressive, too. The cinemotography was brilliant, making the hobbits much shorter than they actually are.
Through all of this, The Fellowship of the Ring still fell short. Any of the action scenes are either too short or too repetitive. The movie consists of the main characters being chased by the villains, escaping, then being chased again. It's annoying.
And How many times do we have to see a super close-up of the ring in Frodo's hand? Also, are we supposed to care about some wimpy Hobbit. All the blithering whining about "oh how I wish I had never gotten the ring." Wah Wah.
Yeah, there's neato guido fight scenes, but it's amazing that with all the time and expense this movie could manage to be so terribly boring. 5 minutes of excitement followed up with 30 minutes of walking, talking and nothing in general happening. I don't [care] about how pretty the scenary was. Who cares? I would rather watch a good story well told set in a litter box than this piece of garbage that had it's 'breathtaking vistas' and unwatchable characters. Are we supposed to identify with a Hobbit?
I can't compare it to the books since I've never read them. I have heard that, for the most part, they stayed true. I'm just wondering if they could have stayed true without going for three hours. That is really a long time to sit and watch a movie. Seriously, who actually wants to sit that long? And for a movie that's kind of boring? Apparently many people do, since this movie has gotten such high undeserved ratings. I think people are saying it's good only because it's based on the books they love. If The Fellowship of the Ring didn't have any fans before it was released, I'll bet it wouldn't have done so good in the box offices.
Character development is poor. I never even knew the names of the dwarf, the elven archer, and two of the hobbits. That's pretty bad.
The Fellowship of the Ring could have done much better. But it just can't match up to other fantasy realms or other movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This Sets the Bars., Feb. 2 2003
By 
Lottie (New England USA) - See all my reviews
This collection sets the bar on how any special DVD set should be put together. Everything put onto this DVD is interesting and worth seeing. Not only is it amazing to see what went into making a book (I never read, but read and dare I say near-worshiped) by millions into a movie that millions would enjoy and understand, it is put together in an enjoyable format. It's part like watching a Discovery Channel Behind the Scenes Special and part like being able to watch all the people who created this world tell you how they did it. This is what DVDs were made for. I caution you, it may make it impossible to enjoy any other Collector's Edition you pick up that does not compare.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best movie on earth!, Feb. 2 2003
By A Customer
This movie begins with the prologue, telling how the ring was made and how Sauron was destroyed. And how the ring was lost, found by Gollum, lost again, and found by Bilbo Baggins of the Shire.
60 years Later
Bilbo Baggins's 111th birthday party. He tells all of his guests that he is leaving, and magically and mysteriously dissapears. Gandalf found out that he had used the ring of power to do this and followed him back to his house. Gandalf tells Bilbo to give the ring to Frodo and Bilbo leaves. Frodo got the ring and kept it hidden for many years, until Gandalf came back and told him that the ringwraiths (hunters of the ring and its bearer) had discovered that the ring had been hidden in the shire. Frodo and his companions Merry, Pippin, and Sam leave the shire. Pusued by the black riders (ringwraiths) Frodo and his companions reach Rivendell, the House of Elrond, with the help of Aragorn, the ranger. Here, in Rivendell, we find out that Aragorn is deeply in love with Elrond's daughter, Arwen Undomeniel and that he is heir to the throne of Gondor.
There was a great Council held at Rivendell, in which it was decided that the ring was to be destroyed in the fires of Mount Doom. Frodo was appointed Ringbearer and he was accompanied by Merry, Pippin, Sam, Aragorn, Legolas Greenleaf, (Elf prince of Mirkwood) Gimli, son of Gloin, (dwarf-lord)Borimir, (Son of Denother, lord of Gondor) and Gandalf the Grey.
Trying their hardest to keep out of reach of Saruman the White, (Evil Wizard who has joined with the dark lord Sauron) Frodo and his companions travel into the mines of Moria. It is here that Gandalf battles an evil Balrog and falls into the dark Abyss. Aragorn led the companions to the Elvish land of Lothlorien, where the Elven Queen Galadriel is tempted by the ring (don't worry, she's a good guy/ girl.) She shows Frodo what may happen if the ring is not destroyed through her magical mirror, and the companions depart again. Borimir decided to take the ring by force, but Frodo got away. Then the orcs came. Merry and Pippin were taken by them and pursued by Aragorn, Legolas, and Gimli. Borimir was killed by them. And Frodo and Sam disappeared and continued their journey to Mt. Doom.
Characters:
Frodo Baggins
Gandalf the Grey
Aragorn
Samwise Gamgee
Galadriel
Borimir
Arwen
Gimli son of Gloin
Peregrin "Pippin" Took
Meriadoc "Merry" Brandybuck
Legolas Greenleaf
Saruman the White
Bilbo Baggins
Elrond
Gollum
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easter Egg for the Council of Elrond, Feb. 2 2003
By 
Sam G "sam-80" (The Valley, CA USA) - See all my reviews
I love these books. I love this movie. The passion and beautiful insanity that everyone had for making these films certainly shows in the detail and care that is reveiled on these DVD's. The funniest easter egg is on disc one.
MTV Movie Awards clip (Special Extended Edition):
Insert Disc 1. Select the "Scene Selection" option at the main menu. Advance to the final scene selection screen. Highlight the "Council Of Elrond" option and press Down to highlight a hidden ring. Press Enter to view a clip where this scene was spoofed on the MTV Movie Awards. Jack Black and Sarah Michelle Geller.
I suppose we will have to wait until after all the films have been shown to see any blooper reels. That would kind if blow the illusion.
Waiting for Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, Feb. 2 2003
By A Customer
Got to love the best movie ever, in the best DVD package ever. Truly number one in the "bang for your buck" category...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good value for quality movie, Feb. 1 2003
By 
B. B. (Chicago, IL United States) - See all my reviews
This DVD set is awsome. I got a free movie ticket for The Two Towers as a bonus. It is a must have.
Ps. The Two Towers is even better. Don't forget to watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 150 51 52167 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews