Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Woman of Mystery
There are many people who come into our lives as a result of books. That common love of books can spark many a friendship.
Imagine living in the middle of a society so unaware of the books you crave. Imagine no Amazon. No free shipping! No forums dedicated to your favorite authors.
Finding a friend who shares your love of the newest self-published novel is rare...
Published on Jan. 10 2003 by Rebecca of Amazon

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars unhappy
I didn't realize a UK copy of this movie would not be compatible with my TV!! It is of NO use to me -- one of my favorite movies and I can't watch it. It would have been very helpful if the difference in systems had been made more obvious for non-teckies like me.
Published 1 month ago by bev


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Woman of Mystery, Jan. 10 2003
This review is from: 84 Charing Cross Road (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
There are many people who come into our lives as a result of books. That common love of books can spark many a friendship.
Imagine living in the middle of a society so unaware of the books you crave. Imagine no Amazon. No free shipping! No forums dedicated to your favorite authors.
Finding a friend who shares your love of the newest self-published novel is rare enough. Imagine finding a soul mate who understands your love for books written a century ago. Imagine finding someone who shared your love of inexpensive rare editions and could find them for you for under $5.
Helene Hanff (Anne Bancroft) shows all the signs of being a hopeless bibliophile. She is an eccentric script reader who makes just enough money to survive and yet dreams of owning copies of old books from an antiquarian bookstore. She is quite the character with a delicious sense of humor and always speaks her mind.
"I never can get interested in things that didn't happen to people who never lived." -Helene
When she is told that readers in New York are not reading British books by British writers, she can't believe that English literature is not read in New York! She finds an English bookseller's address and writes a letter asking for a few books to be sent to her in New York.
She first contacts Frank Doel (Anthony Hopkins) on October 5th, 1949. Through the years Frank is able to find books she is dying to read and Helene shows her appreciation by sending small packages to his office for all the employees and for his family. She ships food to them they never see or only can obtain through the black market.
Some of Helene's letters are so hilarious. I think I laughed almost once every time she was writing. It is such a brash contrast with Frank's very British formality.
Helene seems quite infatuated with all things British and even attempts a Yorkshire Pudding for her friends in New York. They are all most impressed.
What struck me most boldly about this rather serene movie was the beautiful way in which Frank and Helene touched one another's lives through simple sentiments and occasional packages. A gift, a word, a sentence of encouragement. The letters are read while scenes play out in each country.
Frank's wife is played by Judi Dench who looks most radiant. She also writes occasional letters to Helene.
While Helene and Frank write beautiful letters back and forth, Helene's true love really seems to be books. Frank is just one of the only souls alive who seems to understand her constant obsession with reading.
A beautiful expression of pure friendship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars unhappy, June 8 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I didn't realize a UK copy of this movie would not be compatible with my TV!! It is of NO use to me -- one of my favorite movies and I can't watch it. It would have been very helpful if the difference in systems had been made more obvious for non-teckies like me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars touching story, Oct. 28 2013
By 
George Jones - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 84 Charing Cross Road (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
How wonderful to watch a movie that portrays a love of good literature in a bygone era. With the instant communication possible today and the beauty of the English language being rapidly replaced with a kind of modern hieroglyphics, one wonders if anyone will write a decent letter or read a book in hand in the future. The story itself reveals how two very different people living in two very different countries and societies can cross the barriers and discover a delightful relationship. Kind of like having a pen pal with a purpose. Anne Bancroft and Anthony Hopkins give great performances. We're drawn into the years of correspondence between the two main characters, and in the end, we share the bitter-sweet experience of a dream come true. A movie worth watching. No sex. No violence. Some mild profanity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Movie, July 25 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 84 Charing Cross Road (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
I love this movie. Perfect for a dull rainy day, and pot of tea by your side. Bancroft was wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 84 Charing Cross Road, June 12 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 84 Charing Cross Road (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
I enjoyed the book immensely and the movie was equalling enjoyable.
I would recommend reading the book first. The topic of the book was novel and interesting.
The fact that it was nonfiction made it even more entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice to see an old friend again., April 20 2013
By 
Janet Finlay (Las Cruces, New Mexico United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 84 Charing Cross Road (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
Just like I remembered viewing it years ago. I'm glad to have it in my DVD library! Although familiar to me, it was the first time my husband saw it and he loved it. The package arrived in great shape.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 84 Charing Cross Road, March 3 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 84 Charing Cross Road (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
I found that the story dragged a little bit too much at the beginning. Perhaps the overly friendly relationship between the two main characters was a little overdone, but I did enjoy the was "Helen Hanff" talked to the camera from time to time.
On the whole, the experience was a pleasant one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Charming Movie Based on a True Story, Aug. 15 2002
By 
This review is from: 84 Charing Cross Road (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
This is a wonderful film. No violence. No swear words. No blood and gore. Instead you have a fantastic film about post-war Britain and America and the relationship between Frank Doel (Anthony Hopkins) in England and Helen Hanif in America(Anne Bancroft. He works in a bookshop in Charing Cross Road in London, she is a brash New Yorker with a passion for old books. Their relationship is purely platonic, he is happily married, but their friendship blossoms and for many years Helen and Frank correspond with each other as she increases her old book collection and the Post War Countries they reside in slowly head for modern times.
The story follows the lives of Frank, the staff at the bookshop, Helen in New York and a variety of amusing incidents that will have you laughing and crying in the same breath. Anthony Hopkins is delightful as the gently pompous Frank and Anne Bancroft breathes life into her character Helen, funny, very Jewish and very tactless.
With Post-War austerity severe in Britain Helen sends American food packages to her new friends who recieve them with delight. One funny moment is when Helen realises that the owners of the bookshop Frank works in are Jewish and that she has just sent a huge ham to them! Frantically she writes to Frank, explaining though she is Jewish herself, she isn't orthodox and that she hopes his employers aren't too horrified with half a pig turning up on their doorstep! I had to chuckle at that.
This is a delightful film, and well worth buying as you can watch it again and again. The book it is based on is very good too, well worth reading as it has all the letters that went between Frank and Helen during their many years of correspondence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Friendship with Depth and Love, Oct. 27 2002
This review is from: 84 Charing Cross Road (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
In these days of e-books, and bland books constructed from franchised ideas and formulas, we are presented "84 Charing Cross Road," a story about a relationship begun because of a mutual love of old great books.

Hopkins and Bancroft share a film highlighting both of their genuine personas.

Like Hopkins in "Shadowlands" and "The Remains of the Day," we see him in full glory, as a quiet man of grace and sophistication.

He owns the English bookstore, and Bancroft's character mails him a request for a book. Correspondence and a relationship begins. Contently and confidently married, Hopkins responds as an older brother might, and the two grow to cherish each other despite the distance.

As they care for each other, and slowly, their local friends and family become aware, we see how love transcends the sea. Neither character has an agenda, and this left me feeling a little less cynical about the world around me.

Like so many of today's e-mail- and chatroom-only friendships, they learn to appreciate each other, though knowing only the other as they choose to describe themselves.

This isn't a story about books or bookstores, despite the honest representation of their demeanor and personality. Any booklover knows the search for a book, and the texture of a bookseller's knowledge and connection with his books.

This is a movie about the depth, trust, and love of one unexpected relationship. Book lovers will enjoy the context, and good friends will smile knowingly.

--Brockeim
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One Great Love Story, May 22 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: 84 Charing Cross Road (Sous-titres français) (DVD)
Thank you Columbia for finally releasing "84 Charing Cross Road." It would have been better if you had released it as the director envisioned it in wide screen. This is one of only a handful of films that I would buy no matter what screen proportions they are issued in (UNTIL A PROPER PROPORTIONED FILM IS RELEASED - as Helen Hanff would say). A marvelous love story via the postal services across the Atlantic. Read other reviews for the story line. A nice crisp, clean DVD. Widescreen would have gotten to two more stars from me. Come on Columbia be true to the director's intent. At least give us the option between widescreen or full frame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

84 Charing Cross Road (Sous-titres français)
84 Charing Cross Road (Sous-titres français) by David Hugh Jones (DVD - 2002)
CDN$ 23.25
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews