march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage snsflyout Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store sports Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars69
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 16, 2016
Unfortunately, I couldn't play the movie since it showed a message it was prohibited to play it. In other words, I paid for nothing. Thank goodness I could view the movie on YouTube!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2015
Nice movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2015
This movie is at the top of my Favourites List. Anne Bancroft/Anthony Hopkins. It doesn't get much better than this. Sadly, the sharpness of the video was lacking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2014
Bravo aux deux acteurs
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2014
Love this movie!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2014
I loved this quiet little movie when it first came out and was happy that it had stood the test of time. It is a wonderful story of the writing relationship between a NYC woman and a London man where he is a bookseller and she the buyer. It also captures post war Britain and America. Really well acted!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 20, 2014
Wonderful movie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 8, 2014
I didn't realize a UK copy of this movie would not be compatible with my TV!! It is of NO use to me -- one of my favorite movies and I can't watch it. It would have been very helpful if the difference in systems had been made more obvious for non-teckies like me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon October 28, 2013
How wonderful to watch a movie that portrays a love of good literature in a bygone era. With the instant communication possible today and the beauty of the English language being rapidly replaced with a kind of modern hieroglyphics, one wonders if anyone will write a decent letter or read a book in hand in the future. The story itself reveals how two very different people living in two very different countries and societies can cross the barriers and discover a delightful relationship. Kind of like having a pen pal with a purpose. Anne Bancroft and Anthony Hopkins give great performances. We're drawn into the years of correspondence between the two main characters, and in the end, we share the bitter-sweet experience of a dream come true. A movie worth watching. No sex. No violence. Some mild profanity.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2013
I love this movie. Perfect for a dull rainy day, and pot of tea by your side. Bancroft was wonderful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse