Customer Reviews


245 Reviews
5 star:
 (151)
4 star:
 (44)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars good movie actually!
everyone was saying "this one isn't very good, jay and silent bob are on it for only like 5 minutes", yadda, yadda, yadda. this is one of kevin smith's best movies in my opinion. very funny movie, and ben affleck is hilarious in this movie! good story too! if you like this one, check out mallrats, clerks, clerks 2, dogma, etc.
Published 1 month ago by Kody

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kweel,indeed recomend to ani 1!
This film is totally kool,a great film to follow up mallrats not as good as mallrats mind, but still ace.Jason Lee just as good in this as mallrats and still nice lookin with the beard!
I recomend this to ani one with a stupid sense of humour,and loves kevin smith films.
Published on March 8 2002 by Beth


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kweel,indeed recomend to ani 1!, March 8 2002
By 
Beth (WOLVERHAMPTON United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Chasing Amy (Criterion Collection) [Import] (DVD)
This film is totally kool,a great film to follow up mallrats not as good as mallrats mind, but still ace.Jason Lee just as good in this as mallrats and still nice lookin with the beard!
I recomend this to ani one with a stupid sense of humour,and loves kevin smith films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good movie actually!, Feb. 28 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chasing Amy (Criterion Collection) [Import] (DVD)
everyone was saying "this one isn't very good, jay and silent bob are on it for only like 5 minutes", yadda, yadda, yadda. this is one of kevin smith's best movies in my opinion. very funny movie, and ben affleck is hilarious in this movie! good story too! if you like this one, check out mallrats, clerks, clerks 2, dogma, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars pas pire pantoute, Jan. 29 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chasing Amy [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
cé donc ben l'fun acheter des affaires, tsé quand t'a l'gout de te sentir en vie, y a rien comme sortir ta carte de crédit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kevin Smith, Jan. 15 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Chasing Amy (Criterion Collection) [Import] (DVD)
By far, Kevin Smith's best movie. Following Clerks. Kevin was on a hot streak with this movie. Great cast and story. It was funny and a tar jerker. Often at the same time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well put together DVD, July 11 2000
This review is from: Chasing Amy (Criterion Collection) [Import] (DVD)
I think anyone who is an avid fan of DVD has been fooled at least once or twice by so-called "collector's edition" or "director's cut" DVDs, in which we are promised special features, but are left holding nothing more than boring running commentary and maybe one extra scene. However, you need to believe Kevin Smith when he tells you that the Criterion Collection Chasing Amy is worth the extra couple of bucks. I have been a fan of this movis for a long time, and I was blown away by the deleted scenes (of which there were atleast ten) and the commentary by the young, funny cast. I think it says a lot for the type of quality movies Smith does when you have a fairly big star such as Ben Affleck willing to take time out of his schedule to appear repeatedly on the extra segments included on this DVD. Any fan of this film should own the Criterion Collection of this wonderful movie, and it is especially a must own for big Kevin Smith fans, it is his best work yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This Movie Has No Comedy Whatsoever!!, Jan. 4 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Chasing Amy (Criterion Collection) [Import] (DVD)
I hated this movie! It had hardly any jay and Silent Bobappearances in it! I thought Jay and Silent Bob movies were supposed to be comedys, but this one was terrible. It was so boring. 113 minutes out of my life, and I'll never get them back again. Please, whoever finds my review helpful, don't watch this movie, and just skip on to Jay and Silent Bob Strike back.* Have a nice day.
*If you skip Chasing Amy and Dogma, Jay And Silent Bob Strike Back won't make any sense to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This Movie is Wack!, Sept. 26 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Chasing Amy (Criterion Collection) [Import] (DVD)
Now I'm a huge Kevin Smith fan! But this just has to be his worst movie yet! It's not even that funny, expept for the "tracer" scene. I bet the only reason that other customers think it's funny is just because the 2 coupled characters played by Ben Aflek (Plays a comic book writer) and Joey Lourey Adams (plays an experienced Lesbian) swear there there heads of and going to too much detail in their past experiences when they were having their arguments. I mean come on grow up! Only a 10 year old would find that funny (But I wouldn't really recommend it for that age group!)
If your looking for a movie with comical stoner appearance by Jay(Jason Mewes) and Silent Bob("the almighty" Kevin Smith) this is not the movie, like i mean they are only in one minute of the movie and thats it!
Please do your self-a favor and just go rent or buy Clerks, Mallrats, Dogma or Jay and Silent Bob Strike back insted! Chasing Amy isn't really worth it.
I only recommend this movie if you are a ROMANTIC comedy or Love Story Fan or if your the type of person who would like to check out EVERY Kevin Smith movie I recommend that you just rent this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So Not Funny, Aug. 12 2002
This review is from: Chasing Amy (Criterion Collection) [Import] (DVD)
Clerks was the only Kevin Smith movie that really had me laughing, and I appreciated it, having experienced being a clerk and all. However, this movie was just dull. There were a few funny parts, like the whole "tracer" scene, however, it wasn't worth watching, and I rented the movie for free!!! However, Dogma was just as bad, so it does have company. I have to agree with the customer who suggests you buy Clerks instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kevin Smith's Low Budget Masterpiece, July 4 2005
By 
This review is from: Chasing Amy (Criterion Collection) [Import] (DVD)
After the similarly funny novel, "The Losers' Club: Complete Restored Edition" by Richard Perez, Chasing Amy is the best Amazon purchase I made in a long time. Some people may say that this film is uneven, etc., but in my opinion there's so many great, heartfelt scenes that I can't seem to get enough of this flick, and I've taken to watching it over and over. Just think of the "confession scene" where Holden confesses his love -- I can't think of any film with such a heartfelt, soulful scene; and I love the scene where Alysa answers the Holden's question: "Why Me?" Then there's the great scene where Silent Bob tells the story of Amy. Amazing 'cause it's such a thoughtful scene but also funny. In short, I really need to recommend this movie to people who think Kevin Smith does nothing but make films full of dick and fart jokes. I say, yeah there are those jokes, but so much more to it! Pick up a copy of this great film, probably my favorite so-called romantic comedy of all time. And again I need to recommend "The Losers Club: Complete Restored Edition" -- very much related to this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars another popular release., May 25 2004
By 
Ted "Ted" (Pennsylvania, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Chasing Amy (Criterion Collection) [Import] (DVD)
This review is for the Criterion Collection DVD edotion of the film.
This film the third release in the Jersey "trilogy" (quintilogy to be exact) is also the one where Silent Bob speaks more than any other release. In this film,(Ben Affleck) a comic book artist falls in love with young women who is also a comic book artist, only to discover that she is lesbian. The film is not for children and like the film "Clerks" almost got an NC-17 rating based solely on sexual dialog.
The Criterion DVD has numerous special features.
There is a new DVD edition video introdiction for the audio commentary explaining a comment made by Kevin blasting DVD's (The audio commentary as originally recorded for the laserdisc edition.)
The is full length audio commentary by director/actor Kevin Smith, producer Scott Mosier, actors Ben Affleck and Jason Mewes, associate producer Robert Hawk, Miramax executive Jon Gordon, and Vincent Pereira. There is also a Theatrical trailer, 10 deleted scenes with introductions. There is also a set of outtakes.
The Criterion Collection remains the exclusive distributer for the film's DVD format as of the time this review is being written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb5a857c8)

This product

Chasing Amy (Criterion Collection) [Import]
CDN$ 9.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews