Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I LOVE THIS FILM
It is unfortunate that it took Brando's death for me to realize the acting genuis he was. In this movie he brought forth such a vulnerability that you wanted to root for him. His acting is brilliant, I can understand why he won an Oscar for this performance. I now know what true acting genius is, it was Brando. Highly recommend this movie.
Published on July 14 2004

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars VERY DISAPPOINTING TRANSFER OF AN AMERICAN CLASSIC
Columbia continues its downward spiral where its classic DVD output is concerned. "On The Waterfront" is not only a great Academy Award winning film, it is an American icon. The plot is concerned with a union stooge, Terry Malloy (Marlon Brando) who eventually realizes that the intimidation racket of his boss, Johnny Friendly (Lee J. Cobb) is an evil and...
Published on March 10 2003 by Nix Pix


‹ Previous | 18 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars On The Water Front, March 28 2003
This review is from: On the Waterfront (Bilingual) (Special Edition) (DVD)
Excelant show as close to being street wise as hollywood can get.
Good acting by Brando
Well worth seeing a couple of times.
Have seen it I believe five times and still enjoy it
Highly rate this movie wothwhile
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I coulda been a contender, July 2 2003
By 
G. Crofford "Travis 76" (Oakley, California United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: On the Waterfront (Bilingual) (Special Edition) (DVD)
Chosen by the American Film Institute as one of the top 10 greatest films of all time (#8), this is truly a film of heart and excellents. It won 8 academy awards and made itself a long lasting spot in film history.
A+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars on the waterfront 5/5, Dec 23 2001
By 
This review is from: On the Waterfront (Bilingual) (Special Edition) (DVD)
brando greatest performance..... the best performance by an actor in any movie...... malden, stieger are brilliant in this movie as well.... a must for all movie lovers..... go buy it today.. trust me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It is a good movie!!!, April 21 2004
By 
anonomous (Scottsburg, Indiana USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: On the Waterfront (Bilingual) (Special Edition) (DVD)
I believe this was an interesting movie. I especially liked all the actors in the movie. I strongly recommend that other people definetly buy this movie. It is a smart buy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It is not modified format!, March 18 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: On the Waterfront (Bilingual) (Special Edition) (DVD)
Re: jsnenninger's review - This movie was released at 1:37:1 in the theatres (as were most of the movies of that time). It has not been modified to fit the TV screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars it's a shame it's modified format!, Feb. 14 2002
By 
Jezza "jezza" (Baltimore, MD United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: On the Waterfront (Bilingual) (Special Edition) (DVD)
I am disappointed to see this movie in 1:33 aspect, and not in full screen. Why would such a great movie be released in a "modified" format?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's the correct ratio, March 17 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: On the Waterfront (Bilingual) (Special Edition) (DVD)
Great film. And by the way, this film was made in the Academy Aperture...that is 1.37. It is not supposed to be in the wide screen format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, March 9 2002
By 
Jeffrey (Burlington, Vermont United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: On the Waterfront (Bilingual) (Special Edition) (DVD)
Marlon Brando at his finest, it's a must see and no collection is complete without it. One of the greatest movies I have ever seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best of Brando, Nov. 1 2001
By 
John Bowes (Oxford, MA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: On the Waterfront (Bilingual) (Special Edition) (DVD)
If you need evidence of his greatness, look no further than this crisp production of Brando at the top his his game. Great movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A True Marlon Brando Classic, May 7 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: On the Waterfront (Bilingual) (Special Edition) (DVD)
On the Waterfront is a showcase of Marlon Brando's amazing acting ability in its finest .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 18 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

On the Waterfront (Bilingual) (Special Edition)
CDN$ 19.99 CDN$ 17.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews