Customer Reviews


387 Reviews
5 star:
 (255)
4 star:
 (64)
3 star:
 (40)
2 star:
 (13)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rating for the DVD set, not the movies
Just received the set and, much to my chagrin, noticed it didn't include many special features or commentary of any sort. If I had known I would have purchased the other set, but now I'm stuck with what I've got. Make sure you know what you're getting!
Published on May 22 2008 by Master Waffle the Historian

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good popcorn flicks
Let's face it, this trilogy only has one first-rate movie (the first). Hard to even add anything, praise-wise, to 'Raiders'.
I'll buck popular opinion and say "Temple" is the second-best film of the three. Yeah, it's loaded with flaws; I don't like Kate Capshaw's performance anymore than the next guy, for starters. But the action set-pieces are choice...
Published on May 30 2004 by TheBandit


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rating for the DVD set, not the movies, May 22 2008
By 
Master Waffle the Historian (British Columbia, Canada) - See all my reviews
Just received the set and, much to my chagrin, noticed it didn't include many special features or commentary of any sort. If I had known I would have purchased the other set, but now I'm stuck with what I've got. Make sure you know what you're getting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All together now, May 23 2005
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Ce commentaire est de: The Adventures of Indiana Jones (Raiders of the Lost Ark / The Temple of Doom / The Last Crusade) (Widescreen) (DVD)
Everyone is going to have a favorite film. However these work well as a set and are worth the purchase. And the extra goodies or special features of the set add to the experience.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Raiders of the Lost Ark (1981)

This is the first in a series of fun to watch action packed movies based on what an archeologist should be. Being a first you will not notice the pattern of the film unless you are used to Saturday matinees.

We hit the deck running on this one as we see Indiana Jones making a John Wayne type of entrance. So much that you do not notice the dubious looking character next to him Statipo (Alfred Molina). Until he says "Give me the Idle and I will give you the whip."

Now settled down, after his near miss with the natives, Harrison Ford is a professor (Indiana Jones) teaching the fact that archeology is a search for facts not some thrill ride.

That very afternoon he is confronted by some government agents. It seems that his old professor Abner Ravenwood has disappeared. They picked up some radio transmissions that contained the name of Abner and a city Tannis. Immediately Indiana Jones knows that the Nazis (natural bad buys) are looking for the Ark of the Covenant (which can be used as a weapon of unspeakable power) and somehow he must bet them to it for the sake of the world.

He is helped by an old love interest Marion (Karen Allen) and rivaled by an old nemesis Dr. Rene Belloq (Paul Freeman).

Does it really exist?

How can he beat them to it?

Why is he on the outs with Abner?

Hold on for a thrill a minute and don't eat any bad dates.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------

Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom (1984)

The "now standard Indiana" formula is there and there are a lot of fun parts to this movie. However the bad guys are too bad and the situation is too spooky. Be sure to watch "Riders of the Lost Ark" first even thought this takes place chronologically earlier.

Once again James Bond has nothing on Dr. Jones (Harrison Ford) as he negotiates for a treasure and is double crossed at every turn, barely escaping with his life, also the acquisition of a steriotipical blond singer Wilhelmina Scott (Kate Capshaw), and his new sidekick Short Round (Jonathan Ke Quan).

In his hasty retreat he does not realize that there are greater forces at work insuring that he fulfill his destiny to recover a sacred object and all the children of a beleaguered village.

Is he up to the challenge?

In this case does being blond help or hinder?

Will Short Shot prove that size does not matter?

Take heart!

Be prepared for a dark passage "a little too dark for my taste".

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade (1989)

It may just be coincidence but this time Harrison Ford that was a carpenter is not Dr. Indiana Jones (Junior) and his last crusade (until the next film) is to obtain a cup of a carpenter.

Even though this film can stand on its own, it can be more fully understood if you watch "Raiders of the lost Ark" first.

Once again we start out with a young Jones trying to save an artifact from pillagers. This lets us know of his heroic energy and introduces his father Professor Henry Jones (Sean Connery) and his obsession with the Holy Grail, even to the exclusion of his relationship with Junior.

Now grown Dr. Indiana Jones gives a class and explains that Archeology is a pretty strait forward science and not some search for legends. He receives a mysterious piece of post.

He is then approached by group of rich people that are in search of the Grail. It turns out that their top researcher has disappeared. Yep it is Professor Henry Jones. What can Indiana do but go looking for his father. He is accounted by his best friend who runs a museum Dr. Marcus Brody (Denholm Elliottt) as they team up with the last person to see his father Dr. Elsa Schneider (Alison Doody.) He gets a final warning "Do not trust anybody."

Will he find his father?

If he dies what will they have to talk about?

Does the Grail really exist?

Who are the mysterious people following him?

One of my favorite scenes is where Dr. Jones disguised in a German uniform bumps into Hitler (Michael Sheard of Star Wars fame).

Have fun watching this great film with the banter between Hennery and Junior. And remember "do not trust anybody."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Finally, Indiana Jones without TV or VHS!, Nov. 26 2003
By 
Daniel R. Sanderman (Portland, OR United States) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: The Adventures of Indiana Jones (Raiders of the Lost Ark / The Temple of Doom / The Last Crusade) (Widescreen) (DVD)
Finally, the Indian Jones Trilogy has made it to DVD. And it was worth the wait! With amazing picture quality, superb sound, and a few nice touch-ups thrown in throughout the series (one notable example being the snake/glass scene in "Raiders") this DVD set is definitely worth its meager price. All of the special features are contained on a fourth DVD with three extensive "Making of..." documentaries on each film. Additionally, a few short featurettes are included on various aspects of the technical crew, from stunts to sound. The documentaries are very interesting to watch for anyone who loves the films. One learns all sorts of interesting facts and trivia and gets to watch footage from the filming sessions. It's nice to see how the idea started small and developed into a gigantic success.
That being said, it's disappointing that there aren't more special features to be had in this set. I would have liked to have seen Director's commentaries on each film and deleted scenes. This set definitely does not have some of the extra features that other sets include, but the documentaries make up for this fact to a certain extent.
All in all, what's really worth the price of this set are the restored films. Having seen these movies only on VHS and TV myself, it was stunning to see them without any defects or tracking lines. And the sound blew me out of my seat. One can really gain an appreciation for the sound effects editing and the score with this release. At a price of just $15 a film (plus the extra DVD with the documentaries), this set is definitely worth the investment and should be in everyone's collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Aged like a fine wine - but we wanted more DVD extras!!, July 3 2004
By 
Craig MACKINNON (Thunder Bay, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: The Adventures of Indiana Jones (Raiders of the Lost Ark / The Temple of Doom / The Last Crusade) (Widescreen) (DVD)
Far be it for me to presume to evaluate these films. They are seared into my consciousness, as the first was released in 1982, when I was but a wee lad of 12. Harrison Ford and George Lucas were at the heights of their popularities in the midst of Star Wars, and Spielberg was rapidly closing (soon to top the A-list of Hollywood directors). With such a pedigree, it's surprising that Raiders of the Lost Ark did not disappoint. Instead, it remains the gold standard of action movies - fast paced and fun, with wall-to-wall stunts, all the more impressive pre-CGI.
I will, however, make a comment on my impressions upon watching these films again after having purchased the DVD set. The prints are crisp and clean, the sound is clear, and overall the films look and sound fantastic. As for the content - Raiders and Last Crusade are still highly enjoyable. Compared to more recent action series (e.g. the Batman films, the Terminator films), you'll find the Indy movies are more exciting and more fun. Unfortunately, Temple of Doom, which was not well-received even when it was first released, did not age well. The overall feel is ponderous, Kate Capshaw is given little to do but scream, and the action set-pieces border on the rediculous.
Unfortunately, we've waited years for these films to come out in this format, and we expected loads of extras - if not on the Lord of the Rings level, at least on the Star Wars (Episodes I and II) level. This set does not deliver - there are no cut scenes, no footage of premiers or awards ceremonies, no original promotional materials (other than theatrical trailers), etc. There are a few documentaries, which are mostly "making of" features filmed on and around the sets of the films, with some modern interviews/reflections from Lucas, Ford, Speilberg, Ben Burtt, John Williams, and many more. These docs are fantastic - well-written, interesting, and at several hours, very satisfying. But still, having waited 10 years for DVD versions of these films, I would have been willing to wait a few more years to get more of the extras I want. I hope the Star Wars set due out in the fall is more complete!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The most wonderful movies., July 1 2004
By 
Ce commentaire est de: The Adventures of Indiana Jones (Raiders of the Lost Ark / The Temple of Doom / The Last Crusade) (Widescreen) (DVD)
The Indiana Jones Trilogy comprises my very favourite movies of all time, in fact these movies are one of the most important things in my life. They are simply the most wondeful movies. Now I don't mean to sound hostile, but I'm sick and tired of people criticizing the glorious Temple of Doom.Short round wasn't irritating, he was one of the most wonderful characters in film history, and Kate Capshaw was gorgeous as Willie Scott, I don't think she was irritating, I think she reacted as a lot of women would have. Now, I understand why people praise Raiders, it is utterly spectacular, but so are Temple of Doom, and Last Crusade.Raiders was the initial awe inspiring introduction to the character, and what made temple of doom so great was it took that great adventurer and put him in the most wonderfully unique, and exotic, drama filled adventure. The adventure sequences such as the mine car chase, and rope bridge are probably the most daring, dangerous, and death defying of Indy's career.And I've seen Gunga Din, and so anyone who's never seen the Temple Of Doom , please don't be fooled by that one. There are some basic similarities on the surface , but once you get into the meat of both flms, there totaly different.I don't have room to express how great Last Crusade or raiders are. I just recommend all three films: the most wonderful movies!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Raiders is the best, BUT....., June 3 2004
By 
Mark J. Fowler "Let's Play Two!" (Blytheville, Arkansas (The "the" is silent)) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: The Adventures of Indiana Jones (Raiders of the Lost Ark / The Temple of Doom / The Last Crusade) (Widescreen) (DVD)
Raiders of the Lost Ark is on nearly every "Best Movies Ever Made" list in existence. I have seen it more than any other film, probably 30 times or more, and I have seen it on small tv's with grainy VHS and up on the Huge Screen of the Fox Theater in Atlanta with 6 channel Dolby - and I have loved it every time.
It's hard to imagine more of a dream team of producer/director than George Lucas and Steven Spielberg and they put all their creative energies into producing an action/adventure movie that grabs you in the first moments and barely lets up until the credits roll.
The American Film Institute ranks it among the top 100 films of all time. Roger Ebert numbers it among his Greatest Films. I personally consider it the most rip-roarin' fun you can have in front of a movie screen.
Harrison Ford gives the performance of 100 lifetimes as Indiana Jones - AFI's #2 Screen Hero, right behind Atticus Finch in To Kill a Mockingbird and ahead of everybody else including James Bond and Bogart's Rick from Casablanca. The supporting cast fills in every nook and cranny with performances that are a sheer pleasure to watch. The special effects, done back in the days before Computer Generated stuff had been invented, will absolutely knock your socks off and in scene after scene I remember thinking "how the heck did they DO that?" Moments that elicit a bemused grin earlier on are reprised on a larger scale later on in a way that stretches that grin from ear to ear, such as early on in "Raiders" when Indy tells his pilot, Jacques, that he "HATES snakes" as Jacques "pet snake, Reggie" is slithering across his lap. Later on they discover that the highly sought-after Ark is stored in a room inhabited by probably the largest collection of snakes ever gathered. "Snakes..." Harrison deadpans for our enjoyment. "Why'd it hafta be snakes?" Fearless Indy's dread of snakes shows up in the second movie, then is entertainingly explained in the third. John William's score ices the whole thing.
At present time we can thankfully acquire the entire Indiana Jones Trilogy, BUT... if you only wanted one of the three movies you're out of luck.
Harrison Ford successfully reprises Indiana Jones in the other two movies, but neither quite reach the spectacular glory of "Raiders".
"Temple of Doom" is the darkest of the three, with subplots involving enslaved children and human sacrifice, and Kate "Mrs. Spielberg" Capshaw is a good deal more shrill as the female lead than the spunky Karen Allen is in "Raiders".
"The Last Crusade" comes midway between the two films in terms of sheer enjoyment and two good casting strokes were made with Sean Connery as Indy's Dad and the late River Phoenix as the young scout Indy. (We even get to see a fictionalized version of how Indy/Harrison got that scar on his chin, and why he hates snakes - the kind of entertaining fluorish that FILLS these movies.)
Sooooo.... in conclusion I think that this set is an absolute "must have". There is a fourth disc in the set with little documentaries that answer those "how did they DO that!?" questions I had, but you the DVD buyer doesn't have much choice. Maybe like the "Godfather" series there will be individual reissues of The Adventures of Indiana Jones.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Indiana Jones and The "eh" DVD Box Set, June 1 2004
Ce commentaire est de: The Adventures of Indiana Jones (Raiders of the Lost Ark / The Temple of Doom / The Last Crusade) (Widescreen) (DVD)
The second (the first is "Star Wars") most requested DVD title, "Raiders of The Lost Ark" (& its prequel & sequel), finally became available this past September. Sadly, the results for this boxed set, for me, at least, is pretty mixed.
The films themselves get the two thumbs up. "Raiders" is a modern-day classic (most, if not all, of the people that wrote reviews for this set bought it just for this film. I give it five stars). George Lucas can call it "Raiders of The Lost Potato Salad" for all I care, millions of people will forever know this film as "Raiders of The Lost Ark". I give "Temple of Doom" four stars. Its a lot darker than the first and third film, and is absolute non-stop action. "Last Crusade" is a family affair with Indiana searching for his missing father & The Holy Grail. It also explains Indiana's trademark origins and the film gets four stars, also.
The DVD set is a four disc affair. The first three are the films themselves with the fourth disc housing supplemental features. This set is a ho-hom affair. The packaging is attractive looking but nothing new ("Paramount" & "Lucasfilm" have been using the same artwork for these films ever since there video debuts). The special features are good but, if your a die-hard Indy fan (yeah, me too) then there is really nothing new here, either. The feature length documentary is segragated by there respective films and must be watched seperately (there is no play all feature, where the viewer can watch it all the way thru). Watching the trailers are a blast from the past, but I really didn't need a trailer for the "Indiana Jones" video game.
What the fans really want is what they are still clamoring for. The set doesn't contain any deleted scenes, gag reels, poster art concepts, etc. "Lucasfilm" & "Paramount" seem to always under utilize these films. I would have liked to have seen a 20th anniversary theatrical re-release to "Raiders" in 2001, but that never happened. Why couldn't both companies wait & produce a 25th anniversary DVD set with everything but the kitchen sink thrown in ? Including commentary tracks from Lucas, Ford and Spielberg (tie them up in chairs, if thats what it takes!)
Overall its a DVD set that's worth getting for the sake of having "Raiders" on DVD. Its good, but, you know it definitely should have been a lot better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good popcorn flicks, May 30 2004
Ce commentaire est de: The Adventures of Indiana Jones (Raiders of the Lost Ark / The Temple of Doom / The Last Crusade) (Widescreen) (DVD)
Let's face it, this trilogy only has one first-rate movie (the first). Hard to even add anything, praise-wise, to 'Raiders'.
I'll buck popular opinion and say "Temple" is the second-best film of the three. Yeah, it's loaded with flaws; I don't like Kate Capshaw's performance anymore than the next guy, for starters. But the action set-pieces are choice entertainment. The final half-hour or so is a real thrill. Also, I gotta give Lucas and Spielberg credit for have the chutzpah to be so downright UNfamily-friendly in this movie. The whole thing is just a real corker, a popcorn movie deluxe (albeit, one that is loaded with flaws).
As for "Last Crusade," I once regarded this- as so many people seem to- as the second-best of the trilogy. While I found my appreciation for 'Temple' had grown when revisiting the film on dvd, I found the opposite had occured with 'Crusade'. This thing is such a safe and scrubbed-clean piece of family entertainment, it makes the original "Raiders" look like an R-rated movie! I realize it was the best way for Lucas/Spielberg to take the series from a commercial standpoint. But this movie plays as a pale remake of 'Raiders'. The SOLE saving grace is Sean Connery's performance as Indy's father. It's really the only new element in the movie, and it gives the flick a badly needed burst of energy. Don't even get me started on the climax of the movie- without spoiling anything plot-wise, let me just say that the ending is simply ludricous and emotionally hollow.
As for the Special Features disc, I tossed it into the circular file immediately after opening the set. Just kidding, I didn't go that far, but in all honestly I haven't watched a single feature. I just don't care enough. And I must say, I rather admire Mr. Spielberg for choosing not to ever record a commentary.
So "Raiders" is a classic- if essentially featherweight- piece of well-crafted escapism. 'Temple of Doom' is a good enough actioner to put most of the more recent similar pics to shame (like the Mummy movies, to name but two). And 'Last Crusade' is basically an anemic attempt to recapture the magic of the first (and as a result, falls flat on its overly-familiar face). Spielberg's a very erratic moviemaker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Been a long wait., May 25 2004
By 
B. GOODWIN "dragon678" (LIMA, OHIO United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: The Adventures of Indiana Jones (Raiders of the Lost Ark / The Temple of Doom / The Last Crusade) (Widescreen) (DVD)
It's been a long wait, but finally it is here. Indian Jones on DVD.
3 great movies plus an extra DVD with behind the scenes stuff from all 3 movies.
Raiders of the Lost Ark is probably the best story of the three and is one incredible movie. They even fixed the scene where Indiana falls in front a snake, but you can see it's reflection in the window that seperated Harrison Ford from the snakes (VHS version). You can't see it now.
The Temple of Doom was a very good movie though not as good as Raiders. It was funnier than Raiders, but something about the story just didn't captivate me like Raiders.
The Last Crusade is my personal favorite. It is probably the funniest of the 3. After changing lanes in story for Temple of Doom, they returned to the religious roots of Raiders with an exceptional story packed with action.
And the behind the scenes stuff on the extra DVD is excellent. There is plenty of content here with new information that you probably haven't heard before. This is a must buy for all Indian Jones fans. You won't be dissappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars TEMPLE OF DOOM, May 15 2004
Ce commentaire est de: The Adventures of Indiana Jones (Raiders of the Lost Ark / The Temple of Doom / The Last Crusade) (Widescreen) (DVD)
For the eagerly awaited sequel to RAIDERS OF THE LOST ARK, Spielberg and Lucas wanted to take Indiana Jones (and their audiences) on an even more thrilling, terrifying ride. INDIANA JONES AND THE TEMPLE OF DOOM, while still in the vein of it's predecessor, would take Indiana Jones into darker territory, facing Indy against a cult of devil worshippers and leaders of a child slavery ring. While being of a darker tone than RAIDERS, the action was still the main focus and the humor was to be even broader (and less subtle). Many detractors of the film would even accuse the movie of having too much action, in that it never gave the audience a chance to catch their breaths (not a completely fair criticism).
The story begins in Shanghai, 1935 (a year before the events of RAIDERS) in the nightclub Obi-Wan (an in-joke to the STAR WARS series) as Indiana Jones, suavely decked out in a white tuxedo, tries to bargain with Chinese gangster Lao Che and his men over the exchange of a precious diamond for the ashes of Emperor Nurhachi, which Indy has in his possession. Things fall apart, of course, and Indy finds himself entangled with nightclub torch singer Willie Scott. He and Willie escape the murderous thugs in the club (with the help of Indy's sidekick in the film, a young Chinese boy nicknamed Short Round). The trio of heroes rush to the airport to escape Shanghai and Lao Che's wrath, headed to (or so they think) to Siam. In flight, they find out the airplane they booked is owned by none-other than Lao Che himself. The pilots bail out, and after one of the film's most incredible (albeit unbelievable) setpieces, the trio arrives off-course, in India.
The heroes follow a shaman to a small village called Mayapore. When they enter the desolate village, they notice it is devoid of children. The shaman and a village elder tell Indy that he has been chosen to go to Pankot Palace, where a great evil has taken the children and stolen a sacred stone that protected the people and their village. That night in the village, a half-dead boy from the village, newly escaped from Pankot, falls into Indy's arms, clutching a scrap of sacred parchment that leads Indy to consider the predestination is indeed real. He boldly takes up the quest and in the morning, Indy, Willie and Short Round head to Pankot Palace.
After a trek via elephant through the jungles of India, the heroes arrive at the palace and are greeted by the Maharajah's major domo, Chatter Lal. He graciously puts the guests up in rooms and invites them to a lavish banquet. There, after finding out the Maharajah is a prepubescent boy, dining (a feast of gross-out dishes that are showstoppers!) talk turns to local legend about a cult of devil worshipers called the Thuggee. Indy pushes the point (playing a connection between the Mayapore village and clues he has found to the existence of the Thuggee near the palace). Chatter Lal and the young Maharajah both seem to take offense and Indy apologizes, his suspicions fueled.
As nighttime falls on the palace, Indy, after trying to seduce Willie, is attacked by a Thuggee in his quarters. He finds a secret passage in Willie's room, and Indy, Short Round and Willie descend down into the bowels of the castle, far below into booby-trapped passages, and ultimately, the Temple of Doom, where they witness the live sacrifice of a man to the object of the Thuggee cult's devotion, the devil goddess Kali Ma.....
While TEMPLE has notable flaws (Kate Capshaw's performance in the role of Willie Scott and the character conceptions of both Willie Scott and Short Round), the film is very underrated in certain regards. When looking at the Indiana Jones trilogy as a whole, TEMPLE, for following RAIDERS was a very welcome change, as it is wholly original in mood and story from its predecessor. Had the filmmakers followed RAIDERS blueprint as they had with LAST CRUSADE for the first sequel, it would be interesting to see if the public would have responded, or would have complained that it was retread of RAIDERS. Even if one isn't a fan of TEMPLE, appreciating the filmmaker's braveness to try a different take on the now famous character of Indiana Jones' adventures should be praised.
Before of the release of TEMPLE in the summer of 1984, Spielberg/Lucas and Paramount had trouble with securing a desirable PG rating due to the film's graphic violence (i.e.-- a man getting his heart ripped from his chest while still alive, and then, burned alive in a lava pit, etc.). Spielberg vigorously defended his film, saying it was not R rated material (as he did with POLTERGEIST). The suggestion for a new rating between PG and R for films of this ilk was raised. Jack Valenti, president of the (studio-backed) MPAA would not back down and create a new rating, but pressure from Paramount (due to concerns of putting out an R-rated Indiana Jones movie) made Valenti and the MPAA grant the uncut film a PG rating.
When the film premiered, parents expecting to take their kids to a fun, action-filled film were outraged at the film's excess violence. Spielberg defended his work, saying the title of the film was not "Indiana Jones and the Temple of Roses" and with a title like that, people would know what they were about to see. Later, as complaints filled the media, Spielberg did soften his stance (possibly as a face-saving move), stating that the film was too dark, and that he had gone to far. He suggested that no one under ten be taken to see the film. Between the violence of TEMPLE and another Spielberg production that summer, Joe Dante's GREMLINS, Spielberg took a lot of flack in the media, as did the MPAA. Jack Valenti, due to the negative publicity of TEMPLE and GREMLINS finally agreed to a new rating: PG-13.
Despite controversy, TEMPLE made a strong showing at the box-office, becoming the third highest grossing film of the year (trailing behind the supernatural effects comedy sensation GHOSTBUSTERS and the Eddie Murphy comedy vehicle, BEVERLY HILLS COP). For the third Indiana Jones film, INDIANA JONES AND THE LAST CRUSADE, Spielberg and Lucas would purposely retreat back to the winning formula (and plot devices) of RAIDERS, leaving the darkness of THE TEMPLE OF DOOM behind them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 239 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews