Customer Reviews


313 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (43)
2 star:
 (34)
1 star:
 (157)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars The funniest comedy EVER!!!
Let us, gentle reader, ignore this films failure as a sci-fi / religious movie and let us celebrate its triumph as the greatest comedy of all time.
Imagine, for a moment that Jerry Falwel decides to make a film based the book of Job. Jerry casts himself as Job (in KISS make-up) then casts Adam West as the voice of God and the Olsen Twins as Satan. Add a soundtrack by...
Published on Oct. 1 2001 by rodney23

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Special effects good, movie bad
Few films in modern history have undergone a drubbing resembling the one endured by John Travolta's "Battlefield Earth." The star of "Saturday Night Fever," "Grease," and "Pulp Fiction" doubtless wished he never made a comeback when he read the reviews for this film. "Battlefield Earth" the movie, as everyone probably knows, was based on a novel by Scientology founder L...
Published on Jan. 23 2004 by Jeffrey Leach


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Special effects good, movie bad, Jan. 23 2004
By 
Jeffrey Leach (Omaha, NE USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Battlefield Earth (DVD)
Few films in modern history have undergone a drubbing resembling the one endured by John Travolta's "Battlefield Earth." The star of "Saturday Night Fever," "Grease," and "Pulp Fiction" doubtless wished he never made a comeback when he read the reviews for this film. "Battlefield Earth" the movie, as everyone probably knows, was based on a novel by Scientology founder L. Ron Hubbard. Since Travolta swears fealty to Hubbard's movement and is one of its most well known members, he wanted to bring the author's vision to the big screen. There's nothing wrong with that. But in an effort to lionize the leader of a controversial creed, Travolta stumbled big time. After viewing the film, I agree with the abuse critics heaped on this picture, but only to a certain extent. "Battlefield Earth" is an atrocity, a mind blasting heap o' badness best left rotting in a bargain bin at the local video store. I am not willing, however, to categorize this picture as one of the worst films in cinematic history. Fans of B movies will agree with me on this point. There are PLENTY of films out there far worse than this one.
In the year 3000, the planet earth is no longer a safe home for human beings. Some thousand years earlier, a race of hostile aliens from the planet Psychlo invaded our world and destroyed our civilization in a matter of minutes. For the next millennia, these rapacious invaders have systematically reduced the surviving humans to a state of stone age existence. In fact, the human race is dying out due to the continuing harassment of the Psychlos, who have built a base on the planet in order to mine the most precious resource known to the aliens: gold. When not hunting down humans for sport, the Psychlos plot against each other to better their position in their social hierarchy. Earth as we know it today is long gone, but there is one man who may yet rise against Psychlo tyranny and restore humanity to its rightful place on earth. This man is none other than Jonnie Goodboy Tyler (Barry Pepper), a mouthy upstart who frequently violates village rules about wandering into dangerous Psychlo territory. Predictably, Jonnie soon roams too far from the safety of his community and finds himself captured by these aliens.
The leader of the Psychlos on earth, and the creature who will soon face down Jonnie and his rapidly growing band of resistance fighters, is Terl (John Travolta). Terl is a conniving thug, always shouting and threatening his underlings--especially his assistant Ker (Forest Whitaker)--whenever he isn't brown nosing the brass during their infrequent visits to the planet. As for humans, the Psychlos never take them seriously. They treat them like animals, brutalize them, and keep them locked up in huge cages. Terl chuckles over these pitiful brutes, never realizing for a second that these "animals" are capable of complex emotions and rational thought. At some point in the film, Terl decides Jonnie possesses an ability to learn and allows the little man to plug into a machine that teaches a potential enemy everything about languages, mathematics, geometry, and weaponry. In a series of illogical leaps that stagger the imagination, Jonnie and his fellow barbarians manage to wage a successful war against Terl and the Psychlo invaders. Heck, these guys, who just minutes before could barely figure out how to sharpen a stick, successfully plan, organize, and launch a massive assault against alien hegemony. The wonder of it all!
The first part of the film had me wondering what all of the fuss was about. There were a few obvious problems to contend with, such as the chase scene in a thousand year old mall where Jonnie crashes through several panes of glass without cutting himself to ribbons (let alone the unbelievability that these glass panes could survive for a millennia with nary a crack), but these problems were little different from thousands of other movies. A few parts of the picture, particularly the very cool special effects used to create the information transmission pod that Jonnie uses to learn about the Psychlos, looked great. Even the battle sequences in the grand finale were far above average as far as science fiction movies go. So what is the problem with "Battlefield Earth," the problem that turns the stomachs of the most jaded film critics? It's simple, really. Travolta's vanity flick is dumb, even dumber than most big budget films these days.
The biggest problem is the script. There are so many plot holes in "Battlefield Earth" that even I could have done a better job. The worst stupidities occur towards the end of the film when Jonnie recruits primitive humans in order to wage war against the invaders. Tyler and his allies breeze around the former United States like they owned the place, openly planning for war against their enemies. Totally unbelievable are the scenes where Jonnie finds thousand year old military depots loaded to the brim with pristine jet fighters, tanks, bombs, firearms, and nuclear weapons. When looking for a specific page in a manual about arming a nuclear weapon, one of the illiterate human beings bumps an overhead projector, the machine comes on, and there is the one page necessary to use the nukes. Impressive coincidence or major plot disaster? You be the judge. When I saw tribal members using flight simulators so they could learn to fly jets, I wrote the whole movie off as a lost cause. These examples are only a few of the serious problems that plague the picture; I won't even mention the annoying cinematography, the ridiculous appearance of the Psychlos, or the endless sci-fi clichés that appear regularly. Only lovers of disaster films and B movie nightmares should waste time viewing this crud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Could It Really Be That Bad?, Nov. 3 2003
By 
Gary F. Taylor "GFT" (Biloxi, MS USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Battlefield Earth (DVD)
Based on a portion of the L. Ron Hubbard sci-fi pulp bestseller, BATTLEFIELD EARTH presents the story of earth some one thousand years after it has been colonized by invaders from outer space, who seek to rob the earth of its precious metals. The human race has been almost eliminated: most have been exterminated, a few have been kept for slave labor, and a handful survive in pockets of tribal communities. When one member of a tribal society (Barry Pepper) is captured for slave labor, a combination of circumstance and personal heroism provide him with the opportunity to lead a revolt.
All that sounds very well, but there are three things wrong with the movie: John Travolta, the script, and everything else. Travolta's work has always been up and down, sometimes great and sometimes truly dire, but his appearance here as the evil invader Terl is easily the single worst performance he has given in his entire career. No matter how you look at the thing, Travolta is as much like a bad guy from outer space as banana pudding--and really, I do believe that any self-respecting dish of banana pudding could have done a better job.
As for the script, it's really one of the strangest things I've ever heard. In scenes with the aliens (called Psychlos), the dialogue actually sounds rather like a bad parody of a Noel Coward drawing-room farce. The dialogue for the humans is equally absurd, playing out like a cross between BRAVEHEART and the more uninspired pages of a Barbara Cartland novel. And while I'm willing to suspend disbelief to a certain extent, the plot has zero plausibility--even to the point of insulting viewer intelligence.
As for everything else, to give the film its due there are occasional design ideas and shots that seem interesting--but they are buried under a ton of very bad ideas that have been very badly executed. The costume and make-up designs for the Psychlos look rather like bad drag at a leather bar for the fashion-challenged, the lovely braids of our hero and his tribe seem to have been lifted from Malibu Barbie, and all the big-scale special effects are very obviously miniatures. Now, I wouldn't go so far as to say that I'd gouge my eyes out with a kitchen spoon before I'd sit through this debacle again, but I will say this much: someone would have to pay me, and even then I'd demand a remote control with a fast-forward feature.
As for the DVD package, the transfer is okay--but I did notice that the soundtrack was noticeably off for several minutes of the film, and oddly (and typically) I wasn't entirely sure if this was a flaw in the DVD or if the director/producers actually intended it to be that way! There are also several short documentaries, all of them very repetitive and very ironically self-congratulatory about what a great film BATTLEFIELD EARTH is. As for the audio commentary track, I really couldn't be bothered to sit through the movie a second time to listen to it. My recommendation? Well, if you're like me and you just have to see the film to find out if it's really as bad every one says it is... go ahead. But for all others, just trust me on this one, okay?
GFT, Amazon Reviewer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars How does stuff like this get greenlit?, Jan. 2 2004
This review is from: Battlefield Earth (DVD)
Oh what can you say, everyone else has already summarised it... without a doubt one of the worst films of all time. Based on an equally banal book. If you see it don't say you weren't warned! Not even so bad that it's good, it's past that, it's just plain bad. Bad acting, directing, pacing, a ridiculous story and plot holes the size of Jupiter.
On the plus side the disc makes a great coaster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's worth watching just to see Travolta TRY, Feb. 7 2001
Go ahead and rent it if you like Sci-Fi and like Travolta (even at his worst) and all the other movies are checked out. I actually rented it tonight for those reasons. I started laughing as soon as I saw Travolta's character on the cover, and I knew I had to see it. It was apparent from the start that it was going to be bad.
It'll keep you entertained for the length of the movie--there's enough action for that. But check your brain at the door as you watch ignorant human cave dwellers flying fully functional combat planes on fully functional fuel after just a few days in a fully functional simulator.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars The worst science fiction movie I have ever seen, March 27 2004
By 
Charles Ashbacher (Marion, Iowa United States) - See all my reviews
This is the worst science fiction movie that I have ever seen, which is saying a lot. Shortly after it first came out, I read the book, Battlefield Earth by L. Ron Hubbard, and enjoyed it. It was written in the style of science fiction in the early years of the twentieth century and had an engaging plot, although the ending was absurd.
This movie only loosely follows the book and the plot is a joke. The ending is even worse than that of the book, which was pretty bad. Giant aliens invade Earth, killing off nearly all humans and enslaving the rest. John Travolta plays the leader of the aliens, whose subordinates are very disloyal, and he has a thirst for gold. The remaining humans lay a trap with the gold at Fort Knox and manage to defeat the aliens. However, along the way the plot was so disjointed that I was not sure what was occurring.
Some ask why Travolta made this movie. If memory serves me correct, he is a follower of the Scientology religion, which was founded by Hubbard. That no doubt explains why he would be involved in such a waste of film and his acting talents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars "Rat Brain!", March 2 2004
By 
D. Knouse (vancouver, washington United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Battlefield Earth (DVD)
You would have to have a "rat brain" to enjoy this film. I still can't believe they spent $70 million to make this movie. The acting is atrocious, the special effects are simple and make Stargate SG-1's special effects look cutting-edge, not to mention that I value my personal time a lot higher than the $4 I spent on this rental. I almost gave this film an additional half-star merely for attempting to bring such a huge novel to the screen. I love science fiction films, James Cameron's "Aliens" still ranking as one of my all-time favorites, so don't think for a second that I'm trashing this just because I despise the genre. I love the genre. What I despise is low-quality filmmaking on every level, which is what we have here. After viewing this film there was little doubt as to why it shares the record for the most Golden Raspberry Awards ever won. It shares the record with "Showgirls." "This is a warning from the Emergency Broadcast System. This is not a test." If this had been a test you may have purchased this DVD. God help you if you do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Makes Ed Wood Look Like A Filmmaking Genius, Jan. 21 2004
By 
James Sadler (Plano, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Battlefield Earth (DVD)
This film should get zero stars, but for some reason Amazon apparently isn't that cruel so you have to at least give it one star.
After decades of being celebrated as the worst filmmaker ever, and having "Plan 9 from Outer Space" occupy that lofty position of worst film ever, and his film may be in danger of forever losing that status. I actually paid to see this film when it was in theaters, even though I was well aware of how it was being slammed as the worst film of the year at the time. And, boy, it easily was the worst film of that year and maybe any other.
Unlike Ed Wood's films, which at least always had this weird energy about them, this movie is just bad in every possible way. And its not one of those "so-bad-its-good," like the first Charlie's Angels film. No this is just bad all the around and worse, it's plain boring and stupid. It doesn't even merit considerationm as being campy, highI've never read the book, but if the source material is this awful, how did they ever sell more than few copies of that book?
Even more interesting is the fact that John Travolta has occasionally declared that he intends to make a sequel. If that happens I have a feeling John will be ponying up all the money out of his own pocket. And let's talk about Travolta. Has he ever done a worse acting job? Was he just on a mission to once again tank his career so that he could get around to making a decent film and claim another career revival?
Everyone attached to this film should be embarrassed. and talk about plot holes! At one point one of the aliens makes a statement along the lines of when they invaded earth, earth's defenses only lasted nine minutes. Yet late in the film, when the humans learn how to fly fighter jets, the humans take them on in the exact same equipment that had not be sufficient enough to make a war last more than nine minutes. And win!
Watch this movie only if you want to punish yourself or if, like me, curiosity gets the better of you. But whatever you do, try to watch it for free so you don't feel totally ripped off when it ends. I'm still kicking myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars It's worse (much worse) than you think, Jan. 4 2004
By 
Blaine Huff (Elgin, SC United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Battlefield Earth (DVD)
I bought this when it first came out on DVD because of the "Worst film of the year hype." It was on special and I just had to know if it was as bad as everyone claimed. It is, and the experience of watching it left me so dumbfounded that I have been unable to write a review for almost three years. I've finally broken free of the Battlefield Earth spell and here's my take on the movie...
How horrible is this film? To date there are 372 Amazon reviews and 176 are of the 1 star variety. Just 65 gritted their teeth and gave it 5 stars, and that tells me that either there aren't many Scientologists or that even they couldn't line up behind this trainwreck of celluloid.
But the fact that this movie is so wretched is only half the story...every studio cranks out a stinker once in a while, but the budget of this disaster is what makes this such a truly god-awful experience.
Here are some other classic lousy films whose combined budgets don't equal that of Battlefield Earth:
Freddy Got Fingered
Dumb and Dumberer
House of 1000 Corpses
Corky Romano
Dude, Where's My Car?
From Justin to Kelly
The Real Cancun.
Yep, those flops together cost less to make than Battlefield Earth.
I can't totally condemn the film though. No, this is something everyone with a sense of humor should watch. The over-the-top performance of John Travolta, the massive plot holes, poor editing, ridiculous story, and absolutely horrendous dialogue have become legendary in the world of bad cinema.
So, grab a case a beer and some buddies and enjoy the unintentional humor thet permeates this movie. And if you have to make a trip to the bathroom during the viewing, don't worry...you won't miss anything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Big Budget 'Plan 9' Remake!!!, Oct. 24 2003
By 
Roule Duke (the Green Inferno) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Battlefield Earth (DVD)
For starters, every single terrible thing you have heard about this film is 100% true! And while that may be bad for Scientology cult disciples and any other half wit who invested money in the films production, it's brilliant for lovers of so bad they're good flicks.
The plot/plot holes: It's 1000 years into the future and earth is over run by an invading 9-foot tall alien race called 'Psychlos' (umm? 'psychos' and don't expect the difference in height to be as well filmed as in the LOTR trilogy, psychlos are created by having 'actors' stumble around in shoulder pads on obvious platform shoes), man-animalkind is made up of slaves and other living like cavemen in tattered clothes (not bad wear considering their clothing should be 1000 years old plotwise), man-animal Barry Pepper ventures out to be captured and enslaved. Cut to scenes of ridiculous alien banter about 'leverage' and of them double crossing each other (how did such an unorganized race take over the world in 9 minutes?!), scheming psychlo Travolta wants to secretly mine gold (aliens value gold too?) in a zone aliens can't go (alien air reacts badly to radiation?) so he expands Pepper's mind by a laser light show and teaches him to fly?! (it's not enough that they leave the slaves working unsupervised and not under guard around control panels but they have to teach one to read psychlo and fill his head with useful info). Born again scientologist Pepper (after his education he starts spouting Hubbard's mantras like "maths in the universal language") doesn't really mine but merely picks up gold from fort Knox (after 1000 years of alien occupation they still haven't found the gold at Fort Knox?) of course psychlo Travolta not only believes that half a dozen man animals mined a few cubic meters of gold in 14 days but they also melted in down to perfect bars in their spare time? Given 7 more days to mine Pepper and fellow man-animals hatch a plan to liberate the planet using guns and planes (which are of course in perfect working order after 1000 years), man-animals learn to fly the jets (in 7 days flat using 1000 year old flight simulators which still have electricity). Of course the alien aircraft which took over the world in 9 minutes are no match for cavemen in jump-jets (but then again these cgi jump-jets are capable of hovering in hollow building and making hairpin turns!?). They then destroy planet psychlo by beaming up a nuclear bomb. Many scientology activists will plead with you to believe that the book isn't as bad as the movie, but my little bro read it and yes it contains all of the basic plot holes and stupidity of the film and them some.
The 'director' of this film (about now he's probably flipping burgers or cleaning toilets) tried to make the film stylish with countless jump cuts and other slick editing but that just deepens the cheesyness. Its pure hilarity too when they try to steal from other flicks: planet psychlo looks like the opening of 'Blade Runner' and also the running through glass scene from BR is repeated here too (Barry Bob Pepper however emerges from this feat without any lacerations!?), a speech reminiscent of 'BraveHeart' about "freedom" is given at one point by Pepper too (made even funnier by the fact that a man-animal in blue facepaint is in the background). And the idiotic screen wipes which are used! Obviously an attempt to emulate the good 'StarWars' movies (the original ones) they use doubledoor opening screens wipes in EVERY single scene transition! When the last scene cuts to the credits and they use a double door closing screen wipe, I was laughing so hard it hurt!
The fact that this is a big budget film means that you get to see a-list actors making fools of themselves on screen. Real life scientology cult member John Travolta, who you may remember from the period-costume drama 'Saturday Night Fever', puts in the single greatest comedy performance in film history! He reads ever single inept line of dialogue like it was pure Shakespeare in a dead serious manner that comes across as pure camp genius. Genuinely good actor Pepper is shamed too but not so much by his performance but by a script that had him making ape noises in a standoff! If only they had of cast true scientology fanatic and non-actor Tom Cruise in Pepper's role and spared Barry the embarrassment, I'm sure the film would have got even worse (if thatï¿s possible?).
While I only gave this film 1 star for pure comedy viewing this film definitely earns 5 stars! During the entire 2 hour running time you will be in a state of constant laughter, more so than can be generated by any comedy movie put out in the last 10 years. In fact there is something almost surreal about viewing 'Battlefield Earth' in that unlike any other so bad its good movies this one was made on an enormous Hollywood budget. While all big budget flicks made in Hollywood are bad by default, none come close to the virtuoso ludicrous insanity that is 'Battlefield Earth'!
While it is good for a hearty laugh and satisfying to see what should be a triumph for scientologists go down in history as one of the most absurd film blunders of all time (LOL not mention the substantial fanatical losses inflicted on all parties involved), I can't help feel bad that the money that went into production of this trainwreck of a film could have gone a long way in fighting cancer or world hunger or any other worthy cause.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Watch it once...you'll have a great time bashing it, Oct. 11 2003
By 
T. Tiraterra "Fluffy" (Davis, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Battlefield Earth (DVD)
One of the most maligned films of the last decade, "Battlefield Earth" actually isn't QUITE the worst film ever made. However, it proves once and for all that vanity projects are not a good idea (see my review for Star Trek: The Final Frontier).
What is wrong with this film has largely been covered both by other reviewers and the Amazon.com description. However, it does deserve a brief summary. The film is a disaster on almost every conceivable level. The camera angles and whole filming method are bizarre, and there are gaps in logic that any five-year old could spot. In fact, if I played a drinking game that said I took a shot for every plot hole I spotted, I would be passed out within the first 30 minutes. The actors are all on different levels. Forrest Whitaker huffs and puffs, but he can't inflate a leather balloon. He at least seems to realize he's in a camp fest, but John Travolta and Barry Pepper as the two leads play their roles embarrasingly straight-faced. The special effects are adequate at best, and the action is incredibly sloppy. There actually is a good battle sequence at the end, but by that point the film is beyond the point of any redemption (hence the one-star rating). In order to believe what is happening on the screen, you must forget any lessons in science or basic reasoning that you have been taught since fourth grade.
Luckily, "Battlefield Earth" was DOA at the box office (maybe Americans aren't quite as stupid as we sometimes seem) and was roasted by critics. The two people that can be blamed for this film are director Roger Christian and John Travolta, and I demand punishment for them. I think poor Christian has paid enough- his beloved sci-fi "summer hit of 2000" lost more money than many of us make in a lifetime, and he's been unable to find work ever since. Plus, he was just a hired gun- this whole thing was Travolta's idea from the start, and he still doesn't get it. As if to pour salt on an open wound, he continued to defend the film for months after its release, and even threatened to make a sequel- surprisingly, he didn't find a lot of people willing to fund it.
So yeah, I saw this movie once, and that was enough. I would never buy it. Wait a second- if there was a commentary from Travolta and it was nothing but him saying "I'm sorry, I'm sorry..." over and over again, then I would consider buying it. Meanwhile, just rent it for a few unintentional laughs and let it forever languish as a financial loss to all those involved in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Battlefield Earth
Battlefield Earth by Roger Christian (DVD - 2001)
CDN$ 25.31
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews