Customer Reviews


275 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (61)
3 star:
 (42)
2 star:
 (41)
1 star:
 (69)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Nightmare
Excellent story, Excellent actings and Excellet Special Effects. One of the best horror movies that has even been made. One of those movies that one will watch over a period of time whenever there is a chance to do so.
Published 4 months ago by Agha Shahrokh

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stunning visuals highlight this dark journey into the twisted mind of a serial killer
A social worker (Jennifer Lopez) enters the mind of a comatose serial killer (with the help of new experimental technology) to help FBI agents find his latest captive before time runs out.

The Cell was released in 2000 and marked the feature film debut of director Tarsem Singh (Immortals). Upon its initial release, many critics charged that the film was all...
Published 20 months ago by Jamie MacDougall


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Stunning visuals highlight this dark journey into the twisted mind of a serial killer, Nov. 24 2012
By 
Jamie MacDougall "Film/TV Addict" (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
A social worker (Jennifer Lopez) enters the mind of a comatose serial killer (with the help of new experimental technology) to help FBI agents find his latest captive before time runs out.

The Cell was released in 2000 and marked the feature film debut of director Tarsem Singh (Immortals). Upon its initial release, many critics charged that the film was all style and no substance. I disagree with that. The film contains both, but the story/script/acting is a little underwhelming in the first half when compared with the bold and vividly nightmarish special FX and dreamlike atmosphere of the second half of the movie. Still if you don’t over think things and allow yourself to soak in the darkness and striking visuals, the film can make for a disturbing and thrilling experience. The films costume design, cinematography, soundtrack and make-up are all fantastically unique as well.

The DVD release of The Cell offered a nice collection of special features including an enthusiastic audio commentary by director Tarsem Singh. Since this Blu-ray release of the film is from Alliance, it doesn’t come as a surprise that no special features are included, not even a menu screen. The movie begins playing as soon as you pop the disc in.

While The Cell makes its Blu-ray debut with great video and audio, it’s a bare-bones release that offers no supplemental material. For the price, I recommend this one for diehard fans of the film, but if you already own the DVD, I would wait to upgrade until The Cell makes its way onto the Blu-ray format with a better overall package. For the record I would rate the film a 4/5 and rate this release from Alliance a 3/5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Nightmare, March 20 2014
By 
Agha Shahrokh "Shahrokh" (North Vancouver, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Cell (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
Excellent story, Excellent actings and Excellet Special Effects. One of the best horror movies that has even been made. One of those movies that one will watch over a period of time whenever there is a chance to do so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Yes, I know, J.Lo..., June 3 2014
By 
Timothy Hellum (Toronto, Ontario) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
However, given that it was directed by Tarsem Singh, I was willing to overlook her in this film. Also starring the superlative Vincent D'Onofrio makes it that much better. Spectacular visuals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Locked in a cell, Feb. 24 2014
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
Imagine if you could use VR technology to enter the mind of another person... but if you lose your way, you will be imprisoned there. When it's a serial killer, things get nasty.

That's basically the entire plot of "The Cell." Tarsem's debut movie is absolutely stunning visually -- filled with color, sinister magic and spellbinding set pieces -- and he gets some decent performances out of Jennifer Lopez and Vince Vaughn, but it also suffers from an ugly "feel sorry for the woman-torturing psycho" undertone that throws it off balance.

Psychologist Catherine Deane (Jennifer Lopez) uses a VR machine to enter the minds of coma patients, so she can try to wake them from within. But then the police capture serial killer Carl Stargher (Vincent D'Onofrio), and he conveniently lapses into a coma from a rare medical condition. Unfortunately, he's also hidden away his final victim in a tank that is slowly filling with water, and they only have a short time to find her.

So Catherine enters the warped wonderland of Carl's mind, and begins to witness both the horrors and the hint of his... well, literal "inner child." As she tries to protect his innocent side, she becomes trapped in Carl's mind. FBI Agent Novak (Vince Vaughn) enters the dreamscape to free Catherine, so she can deal with Carl once and for all.

First, "The Cell" is a truly gorgeous piece of work. Visually, this movie grabs your eyeballs and never lets go -- the brilliant colors, the swirling fabrics, the otherworldly sets and the eerie dreamlike visuals. These are the surreal, strange things that we see in our dreams, given richness and visual depth. Even the ugly, grotesque scenes are captivating in their use of color and light.

Unfortunately, this is not all about Tarsem's direction. Mark Protosevich's screenplay also has some truly ugly overtones. One of the characters is basically a guy who was abused as a child, and so he's become a woman-murdering psycho who gets his jollies by torturing them to death and masturbating over their corpses. His inner world includes women tied in barbed wire, tied to torture chairs and docilely brainwashed in collars -- in other words, everything is about hurting women.

Are we supposed to loathe and hate this character? Nope, we're meant to see him as an innocent victim of his own demons, and empathize deeply with him. No mas.

And frankly, Tarsem's visuals are all that keep this movie afloat, despite some bafflingly pretentious use of Catholic and/or S&M imagery. The plot is thin as a wafer and almost as crumbly -- the idea of entering a killer's mind and trying to find his victim is cool, but it's painfully slow and oddly detached. Not to mention kind of clunky (the nursery rhymes and cutesy in-jokes like "Mr. E").

I loathe Jennifer Lopez as an actress, but I have to admit that she does a very decent job here, while Vaughn gives a subdued, sober performance as a detective determined to save Carl's final victim. The biggest problem with trying to make us sympathize with Carl is not Vincent D'Onofrio's performance, but the shallowness of the character -- we see nothing OF him but his serial-killerness, so it's impossible to care about his poor wittle inner child.

Tarsem's intoxicatingly lovely direction and visuals are the only draw in "The Cell," an otherwise shallow and irritating thriller that wastes its cool premise. Skip this in favor of "The Fall."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Cell for that Inner Self, April 30 2008
This review is from: The Cell (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
I recently saw this rather disturbing film, and it is also very interesting, scary, and shocking. It is almost twisted and dark if you plan on going into the mind of a serial killer. And, it is most certainly like going into the world of surreal and twisted sense of reality to which you have to break through to find the answers. Personally, I think this movie is an interesting look at one's twisted mind to which there are two "selves:" a wounded child (inner self) and an evil predator (false self).

While I think the acting on Lopez's and Vaughn's parts were good considering, the story and the depiction of how the mind works when a inner self was suppressed and a false self took over was very interesting and it has some harsh truth to it: it can happen in real life where one do not have control over oneself.

"The Cell" is a great title for this movie as it shows a prison for that inner self (a wounded child) while the false self controls everything.

It is really good film to watch, in my personal opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Get over who the actors are in real life, and bask in the surreal one within The Cell, Oct. 20 2007
By 
Perschon (Edmonton, AB, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cell (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
Roger Ebert called it one of the best films of 2000, and I'm more than inclined to agree with him. While the film is extremely disturbing at times, the depth it sinks to is commensurate with the heights to which it rises. A visually spectacular project tainted only by the typecasting and tabloid stardom Jennifer Lopez and Vince Vaughn have been subjected to since its release. A film well worth seeing, albeit not for the faint at heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars BEAUTIFUL Visuals and Effects just not as strong in script but not as bad as alot i have seen, July 30 2010
By 
S. Salyers "guyla66" (Los Angeles, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
BEAUTIFUL Visuals and Effects just not as strong in script but not as bad as alot i have seen
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars dark,disturbing,sick and twisted,and brilliant (4.5/5), Aug. 30 2007
This review is from: The Cell (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
wow.what a great film.this movie has everything.it'visual style is
amazing.great colours.it has a very dark tone at times,and is very
disturbing,and even sick and twisted.it's basically about a serial
killer who kidnaps women and tortures them ,both psychologically and
physically.there's bit of twist on the usual plot of movies in this
genre.suffice it to say that the F.B.I discovers one victim recently
kidnapped who has a very short time to live.in order to find out where
she has been taken,they turn to a women named Catherine Deane(Jennifer
Lopez) who can enter the mind of the psychopath(Vincent D'Onofrio)
through a kind of virtual reality and get the information they need.how
and why does she do this and will it be in time to save the girl?you'll
have to watch it to find out.as i mentioned in my summary,this movie is
very disturbing.the psycho,D'Onofrio is mesmerizing.he oozes evil and
cruelty.this is a truly astonishing performance.Vince Vaughn plays one
of the F.B.I agents on the case.i've never seen Vaughn in a serious
role.who knew he could act?he's very credible in his performance. Lopez
is OK in her role,but to me,she's not in the same league as Vaughn and
D'Onofrio(at least in this movie.she gets to preen and look pretty and
pouty.this movie doesn't move at a break-neck pace.for the most part,it
is a psychological drama,but it is very compelling.the last 20 minutes
or so,the suspense is ratcheted up.there is some definite depth to this
film,to be sure,but it also beautiful to look at.this is one of the
best films i have seen in some time.for me "The Cell" is a strong 4.5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars J-Lo In Wonderland..., June 5 2004
This review is from: The Cell (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
The dark, bleak inner world of serial killer Carl (Vincent D'Onofrio) Stargher's mind is a bizarre labyrinth of horror and mystery. It also holds the key to finding Carl's latest female victim, before it's too late. Psychologist, Catherine (J-Lo) Deane is part of a team that has the ability to transfer a person into the mind of another. Catherine must enter Carl's head and travel through it's dank halls and passages, in order to help the FBI find the poor girl he's stashed away in a hidden dungeon. You see, Carl puts his victims in a plexiglass tank, drowns them over the course of 40 hours, and bleaches their lifeless bodies. Unfortunately, Carl slipped into a deep, irreversible coma, just as the feds moved in on him. Now, it's up to Catherine to make contact with Carl's inner self and get the information that will save his latest prey. Catherine is both gentle and strong, as she battles the insane beast that has manifest itself in Carl's mind. She befriend's Carl's "inner child", a terrified little boy, constantly on the run and reliving past tortures at the hand of his sadistic father. Can Catherine gain the boy's trust and get him to tell what he knows, or will the beast-man get them first? An excellent psycho / supernatural chiller, THE CELL is a haunting, beautiful creep-fest! Give it a look...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars CELL MATES, April 13 2004
By 
Michael Butts (Berkeley Springs, WV USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Cell (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
THE CELL is one of the most visually arresting movies of the recent decade, rich in kaleidoscopic, Dalian imagery, and some beautifully arranged vistas. However, all this technical wizardry can't elevate Jennifer Lopez's wimpy performance. Yes, the woman is beautiful, and she photographs better than any beautiful actress in some time. But, Jennifer seems too inhibited to let her inner beauty outshine the outside. While she smiles and cries effectively, these emotions don't seem to be coming from her. Vincent D'Onofrio, a brilliant actor, gives a typical psychotic performance, but it is mind-numbing all the same; Vince Vaughn seems to be giving his audition for Norman Bates, but in actuality, he's better in this than he was in the remake of PSYCHO. Marie Jean Baptiste, an actress of worthy merit, is lost in the script, with only Jake Weber as Vaughn's periplectic partner, giving a performance of any nuance.
THE CELL is visually delightful, but emotionally void; however, it is a trip while you're with it. Doesn't leave you feeling much afterwards, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 228 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Cell (Widescreen) [Import]
The Cell (Widescreen) [Import] by Tarsem Singh (DVD - 2005)
CDN$ 17.99 CDN$ 0.01
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews