Customer Reviews


1,129 Reviews
5 star:
 (400)
4 star:
 (159)
3 star:
 (132)
2 star:
 (135)
1 star:
 (303)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't forget..this is entertainment!
Does the film deliver as entertainment? Yes. That is the bottom line. Does it deliver for historical accuracy? Well...pretty much.
I am glad the movie includes lesser known, real life characters and their exploits. Have to give the filmmakers credit for that. It also captures the real feel of the 40s, where travel and communications aren't like they are today. The...
Published on Jan. 18 2002 by B Trip

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meh
I hear people talk about Pearl Harbor as though it were the worst film ever made. I didn't personally think it was that bad. It wasn't necessarily good, but it was entertaining in a very cheesy, hokey kind of way. There was some pretty terrible dialogue (Not anxious to die, just anxious to matter), a little too much focus on the love story and some consistency/accuracy...
Published on Dec 15 2011 by C. Wilson


‹ Previous | 1 2113 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't forget..this is entertainment!, Jan. 18 2002
This review is from: Pearl Harbor (60th Anniversary Commemorative Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Does the film deliver as entertainment? Yes. That is the bottom line. Does it deliver for historical accuracy? Well...pretty much.
I am glad the movie includes lesser known, real life characters and their exploits. Have to give the filmmakers credit for that. It also captures the real feel of the 40s, where travel and communications aren't like they are today. The scene where the nurses arrive at Pearl Harbor is great. They are wide-eyed in this place they had never seen or been to before. I thought that was a good touch.
Love story- lots of reviewers mention the cheesy love story. As a 36 yr old, I have no idea just how difficult relationships are in times of war. I thought PH actually did a good job portraying the conflict of feelings, and how one deals with the uncertainties of wartime romance. The phenomenal Battle of Britain scenes help keep the movie from bogging down until the immediate build up to the Pearl Harbor attack.
Glad it ends with the Doolittle Raid- that story deserves each and every opportunity to remind the world about those incredibly brave sailors and airmen. Also glad scenes of the Eagle Squadron at the Battle of Britain are included as a way to remember those brave american volunteer airmen that helped the British in their most desperate hour.
Remembering the film is entertainment...sit back and enjoy the aerial scenes and turn up the volume!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular, Dec 31 2004
By 
Greg Curtis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pearl Harbor (VHS Tape)
In Pearl Harbor, the infamous attack on the Amercian naval fleet in 1941 forms the backdrop for an intriguing love triangle. Ben Affleck and Josh Hartnett play best friends and pilots, while Kate Beckinsale is the woman they both love.
Despite the inevitable comparisons to Titanic, this historical drama -- more gritty than grand -- soars on its own. It features accomplished direction by Michael Bay, whose only miscalculation comes during the aftermath of the attack: the footage is blurred to accentuate the nurses' confusion, but good acting and editing would have sufficed. However, the attack scene alone is worth the price of admission, and it's an extraordinary feat to have outdone the impressive recreation depicted in the otherwise embarrassing Tora, Tora, Tora. The film also offers two riveting aerial battles, clever newsreel segments, stunning cinematography, and A+ sound. Hans Zimmer's score is both memorable and moving, but the theme song "There You'll Be" is no match for "My Heart Will Go On."
The script by Randall Wallace vividly captures an era of innocence and hope, and speaks of duty, determination, and courage. Though the Japanese are not portrayed as bloodthirsty villains, it leaves their motives to the history books. Unfortunately, there is an unnecessary and lengthy postscript that tries to prove America's superiority by detailing a retaliatory raid on Tokyo. Since we all know the U.S. triumphed in the end, the flag-waving should have been dispensed with -- indeed, it would have been more effective to end the film with the title assault.
Ben Affleck gets top billing, but he is clearly not ready for leading-man status; some of his facial expressions are laughably bad. Kate Beckinsale, though lovely, is rather weak as the female lead, but the charming Josh Hartnett carries the film. The massive supporting cast includes the other pilots and cadre of nurses, all of whom are delightful and interesting. Dan Aykroyd, Colm Feore and Cuba Gooding Jr. shine in their supporting roles, while both Alec Baldwin and Jon Voight give Oscar-worthy efforts as Jim Doolittle and Franklin D. Roosevelt respectively.
Pearl Harbor is a heart-wrenching motion picture with spectacular visuals. Suspenseful, shocking and tragic, it serves as a fitting tribute to that Day of Infamy, when a presumed Armageddon descended on paradise. Rating: 8 out of 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pearl Harbor, Feb. 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Excellent film qui fournit un son du tonnerre avec un cinéma/maison. Le délai de livraison fut passablement rapide. Très satisfait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meh, Dec 15 2011
This review is from: Pearl Harbor (60th Anniversary Commemorative Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
I hear people talk about Pearl Harbor as though it were the worst film ever made. I didn't personally think it was that bad. It wasn't necessarily good, but it was entertaining in a very cheesy, hokey kind of way. There was some pretty terrible dialogue (Not anxious to die, just anxious to matter), a little too much focus on the love story and some consistency/accuracy issues (I had no idea that you could take a train from the US to London). I thought the acting was all right. Again, the writing was atrocious in some areas, but I think the actors made due. I don't think Cuba Gooding Jr. had a big enough role. I think the biggest redeeming thing for this film was the attack scene. I thought it was quite well done. The piloting, the effects, the stunts, I thought they did a great job recreating the actual attack, from what I've seen of footage and pictures. I wasn't there, so I can't speak to its accuracy, but it looked amazing on screen.

As for the DVD itself, it has a seperate disc with extras that are pretty entertaining and informative. They have behind the scenes features, about how things were shot, and they also have some historical pieces about Pearl Harbor.

I'd say it's worth picking up. Just perhaps keep your expectations in check.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie on Blue Ray, Nov. 14 2009
By 
Shades (Regina, Sk, Canada) - See all my reviews
I love this movie, it's a great watch. It is of course more of a chick flick, but I'm a chick.
The Blu-Ray version is just that much better. Especially if you have a high def big screen to watch it on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pearl Harbor is an excellent war movie, Jan. 21 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Pearl Harbor has a wonderful script, fantastic action scenes and moves well. I enjoy war movies and Tora, Tora, Tora is a classic favourite. Pearl Harbor tells the story from a different perspective but is just as enjoyable. In Blu-ray, the action scenes are outstanding!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Reinactment!, Jan. 19 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pearl Harbor (60th Anniversary Commemorative Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
This was the best remake of the movies that I have seen so far. We both enjoyed watching it. Great Movie to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars En tous points, Nov. 25 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pearl Harbor (60th Anniversary Commemorative Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Un film dont le scénario, le jeu des acteurs et la musique sont parfaits ! C'est un classique que je recommande.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pearl Harbor, July 15 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pearl Harbor (60th Anniversary Commemorative Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Once again, wanted to see this movie to relive the Pearl Harbour experience of visiting PH last winter.
The triangle love story is heart breaking but beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good mix of fact and fiction, July 13 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Pearl Harbor (60th Anniversary Commemorative Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Good story with a love interest. War well depicted, especially the Pearl Harbor sequence and a poignant ending but not too unhappy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2113 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xadbddf24)

This product

Pearl Harbor (60th Anniversary Commemorative Edition) (Bilingual)
CDN$ 14.99 CDN$ 11.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews