Customer Reviews


95 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (30)
2 star:
 (22)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good film but an even better novel
Glossy thriller doesn't measure up to James Patterson's excellent novel but does have great work by Morgan Freeman and enough action and suspense to make for a good film. Alex Cross is on the trail of psychopath Gary Soneji who has kidnapped a young girl from school and murders a schoolteacher for good measure. Monica Potter seems self-conscious and stiff and doesn't...
Published on June 19 2004

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Alex Cross returns
If you are real generous and forgive some major leaps of logic, than "Along Cane A Spider" is a pretty good little thriller. Detective Alex Cross(played by the ever reliable Morgan Freeman) is brought in on a high profile kidnapping case patterned after the Charles Linbergh baby kidnapping. Gary Sonji is a very worthy advacary indeed. With out giving too much...
Published on May 30 2004 by Vagabond77


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good film but an even better novel, June 19 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Along Came a Spider (Widescreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Glossy thriller doesn't measure up to James Patterson's excellent novel but does have great work by Morgan Freeman and enough action and suspense to make for a good film. Alex Cross is on the trail of psychopath Gary Soneji who has kidnapped a young girl from school and murders a schoolteacher for good measure. Monica Potter seems self-conscious and stiff and doesn't breathe enough life into Jezzie Flannigan's character. Penelope Ann Miller is fine as the distraught mother of the missing girl and Mika Boorem is heroic and resourceful as the kidnapped Megan. The film's opening sequence of a helicopter surveillance of Soneji with Cross' female partner in harm's way provides one of the movie's best moments. Jerry Goldsmith's music score is moody and understated and is a great asset to the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Satisfy !, May 21 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Along Came a Spider (Widescreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
I god the DVD shorthly after I order it.

The case is in good conditon.

The DVD is in very good condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Along Came a Spider, April 5 2013
By 
Anne Adshead (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This film was excellent - if you have good actors such as Morgan Freeman well you cant go wrong.
I thoroughly enjoyed this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Along Came A Spider, May 7 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Along Came a Spider (Widescreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Based on James Patterson novel of the same name. Morgan Freeman is one of my favourite actors and a class act. Extremely well made movie. Great acting, great plot with surprise ending. Highly recommended especially if you are an Alex Cross fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Alex Cross returns, May 30 2004
By 
Vagabond77 (Tennessee, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Along Came a Spider (Widescreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
If you are real generous and forgive some major leaps of logic, than "Along Cane A Spider" is a pretty good little thriller. Detective Alex Cross(played by the ever reliable Morgan Freeman) is brought in on a high profile kidnapping case patterned after the Charles Linbergh baby kidnapping. Gary Sonji is a very worthy advacary indeed. With out giving too much away, there is a lot more to it than that. Director Lee Tamahori dose a lot to give the movie a slick style, and that works well, in a "Miami Vice" kind of way. As said before, Morgan Freeman gives a very good performance, though I have a few comments on his Alex Cross. The Alex Cross character is based on James Patterson's novels, and that version of Cross is much younger (in fact I picture Denzel Washington or Wesley Snipes), also with a son and daughter. Also his personal life usually gets a lot of attention (though I liked the movie's decision to not concentrate on his family.) Another complaint is that, yes, Cross is very smart; but to make some of the connections he made to figure out what was going on, he has to be psychic. That seems a little silly. Monica Potter's Jezzie Flenagan was alright, not a lot of depth to her (in the book, she was Cross's lover; that was another change I was happy about). Michael Wincott is the cold blooded Gary Sonji, changed a lot from the book, and not a good change. I liked him a lot, but there really wasn't a lot to go on while trying to figure out what makes him tick. The little girl, Mika Boorem, dose a good job, at least she didn't cry all the time which always gets on my nerves. But on the other hand, she seemed a little too smart and resourceful to be only 10 years old. All in all, it isn't bad, just a little too contrived for my taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Kidnapping with a Surprise Ending, April 22 2004
This review is from: Along Came a Spider (VHS Tape)
The daughter of Senator Rose is kidnapped by her "teacher"; another teacher is killed. This crazy killer hides young Megan Rose, and calls Dr. Cross, a profiler. (How did this "teacher" pass his background checks?) The problem is to recover Megan Rose unhurt by solving this crime. The Secret Service agent who failed to protect Megan Rose partners with this profiler whose previous partner was killed on the job (an omen?).
Dr. Cross discovers a clue hidden away in a digital photograph. (This crime is modeled after the Lindbergh kidnapping.) Megan Rose tries to escape, the man who tries to help her is killed by kidnapper Songee. There is an attempt to meet another student that goes awry, almost trapping Songee! The police seem to be closing in. Songee calls for $10 million in untraceable diamonds, but this call can't be traced. (Have they no Caller ID?) A series of phone calls leads Dr. Cross to the transit system to deliver the ransom. While this pair discuss the case, Songee invades their house to question them! (Believable?) This mistake leads to Songee's death. But Songee never got the ransom! Is there another criminal involved? The brains behind this plot is a killer! Now Megan Rose knows too much, and must be silenced. But Dr. Cross arrives to stop the killer and save Megan Rose.
This is an entertaining story with plot twists; but the final ending seems incredible to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Convoluted Plot, April 18 2004
By 
Lonnie E. Holder "The Review's the Thing" (Columbus, Indiana, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Along Came a Spider (Widescreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
It seems as though I am in the minority with this film. I enjoyed the plot twists, though you had to follow them carefully. If you were watching you could, in theory, figure out who the bad guys are, though you really do not have all the facts to truly figure out every detail, somewhat like a Sherlock Holmes story.
Our story focuses on one Gary Soneji (Michael Wincott), who has carefully planned to kidnap the daughter of U.S. Senator Hank Rose, unconvincingly played by Michael Moriarty. The point of the kidnapping is not to kidnap Megan (Mika Boreem), but to get access to a foreign diplomat's son, who is good friends with Megan. Mr. Soneji is, as might be guessed, a bit of a wacko. He wants Dr. Alex Cross (Morgan Freeman), a famous profiler, to chronicle the battle of wits between them. Ultimately there is a showdown between the two of them, but the showdown does not reveal the location of Megan.
The plot twists and thickens more, and yet, there were clues in several places, I thought. I was quite puzzled when the security guards went running out the front of the school instead of just closing the gates. Further, I thought someone would have at least tried to grab a car to follow the kidnapper. Later, Jezzie Flanagan (Monica Potter) has a chance to shoot the kidnapper and does not, though she seemed to have a chance to wound him. All these little tidbits hint at the convolutions within the plot that are revealed only near the end of the movie.
The convolutions did entertain me, and I got much more enjoyment out of trying to figure out the plot than with gunshots and car chases. However, I prefer "Murder, She Wrote," "Columbo," and "Sherlock Holmes" to movies with nearly all action and no intelligence in their plot. When you watch this movie, you do have to pay attention or you will lose direction, and you will see more plot holes than there actually are. I thought nearly everything was explained as the movie progressed, and the only plot holes were mistakes by those involved in the kidnapping of Megan.
There were four standout actors in this film. Morgan Freeman is excellent, as usual, as Alex Cross. Michael Wincott is quite convincing as the marginally sane Gary Soneji. Monica Potter brings a good balance of strength and vulnerability to her role as Secret Service Agent Jezzie Flanagan. The real surprise performance is by Mika Boreem as Megan Rose. Megan tries very hard to get away throughout the movie, and uses her head continuously, incidentally saving her own life. Mika's performance is better than many of the adult actors in this film, and bodes well for a future career in acting.
It could just be that I'm getting older, and car chases and flying bullets just are not as enjoyable as they once were. Or it could be that I just liked the intellectual challenge of unraveling the threads of the complicated plot. In any case, this movie is clearly not for everyone, but I would love to watch it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Save your money, April 9 2004
This review is from: Along Came a Spider (Widescreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Well, it's hard to completely blame the filmmakers for this stinker when the book that it came from isn't well-written either. However, there's so much of this movie that doesn't make sense and, when you're making a suspense/thriller, it helps if the situations are plausible, and audience members don't shake their heads in disgust upon the denoument. I won't tell you who did the crimes, but I'm only saving you about five minutes of time: once you're that far into the movie, you'll have it all figured out. The movie borrows heavily from "Seven," "Silence of the Lambs," and another, much better Morgan Freeman movie, "Kiss the Girls." That was also written by James Patterson, but the director managed to make it a decent movie anyway. Watch any of those, they won't insult your intelligence quite as much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars If you read the book, leave this alone, March 12 2004
By 
This review is from: Along Came a Spider (Widescreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
I love James Patterson novels with all my heart, but this movie is the epitome of why you should never see a movie based on a book. The book was awesome, tense, and a definate page turner. The movie, is in one word, CRAP. The ending was so completely different that the fact that they screwed up the entire plot line is ALMOST pointless to mention.
First of all, in the book, Gary Soneji kidnapped TWO children, not one, and after they left that out the rest of the movie is irrelavent. If you liked this movie, but haven't read the book, go read it, please. You will see that some books just cannot be scripted for the big screen. Secondly, I also read that they are coming out with a movie for "Roses Are Red" and that this too, will differ from the book in several ways, so I will not even bother with it. (Go to [...] and read the interview on there for yourself) I own EVERY single James Patterson book on the market and I have to say that I couldn't have been more disappointed in this movie no matter what they tried to do with it... If you have read the book, this one is a MUST PASS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointment if you were really into the book, Jan. 28 2004
This review is from: Along Came a Spider (Widescreen) (Bilingual) (DVD)
If you were a HUGE fan of this book by James Patterson, then keep in mind this is merely based off the book. There are parts that are left out of the movie that could've otherwise been included. The story is the same but other things could've been differentiated.
Matt Whittman plays Gary Soneji, a kidnapper at a private school who kidnaps the senator's daughter. Morgan Freeman plays Detective Alex Cross on his trail. Monica Potter plays Jezzie Flanagan, Cross' alias in getting Soneji.
I guess the first annoyance of this movie is that its only "based" off the book. So a lot is changed around. The beginning starts off with Cross' partner (and it isn't Sampson for those of you who read the book) in a car with a killer and eventually action comes into play and she's soon killed off merely 5 minutes into the movie (not including the opening credits). There's the attention grabber...unfortunately the movie can only go downhill from there.
Gary Soneji is very out of character. This isn't bad for those who haven't read the book. But the movie fails to show depth to Soneji's character. This isn't just Soneji but Alex Cross as well. The characters in the movie feel wooden at times. The dialogue is pretty corny at times so likewise most characters feel the same.
The other part that annoys me is in the book they constantly told you that Gary Soneji wanted to commit the crime of the century. In the movie there is no motivation whatsoever so you wonder "What is Soneji's motive?" "Why is he doing this?" Believe me you'll learn that it isn't for money.
The plot twist wasn't done too well either. We're supposed to believe that the senator's daughter was kidnapped from the boat Soneji imprisoned her on when we NEVER see it happen! You wonder how she got to her new location near the end of the movie.
Lastly, the ending. With a few exceptions its easy to say the ending is usually changed for the worst and in this movie IT WAS FOR THE WORST! Alex finds the girl and then it just...ends. No falling action or resolution it just ends.
If you really loved the book the movie will more than likely disappoint you. If you didn't read the book the movie has a "Love/Hate" relationship. I'm sure that if you haven't read the book you could pull the movie apart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb53391d4)

This product

Along Came a Spider (Widescreen) (Bilingual)
CDN$ 28.75
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews