Customer Reviews


878 Reviews
5 star:
 (580)
4 star:
 (120)
3 star:
 (62)
2 star:
 (46)
1 star:
 (70)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
We bought this DVD because we love this movie. Our 5 year received this DVD for Christmas and loved it when she watched it for the first time.
Published 15 months ago by N. Hicks

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An overrrated comedy?
Based on William Steig's bizzare backwards fairy tale, DreamWork's SHREK has fantastic animation, great voice casting and infamous "irreverent" humor. An ogre and a donkey rescuing a princess for an under-endowed King. How cleverly post-modern. Ha and indeed ha. Yes, it's a worldwide cartoon phenomenon or something like that. Now don't get me wrong, I like the recent...
Published on Nov. 11 2002 by Kristy M. Ross


‹ Previous | 1 288 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars One of two discs unuseable!, Aug. 2 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shrek (Two-Disc Widescreen & Full Screen Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Hi, I was disappointed.....my order contained two discs.....one was fine, the other was ruined - stained on the back. My grandchildren and I just LOVE this movie so ....... :-(

patrick mullin
519 370-0636
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, Jan. 1 2013
By 
N. Hicks (Kitchener, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shrek (Bilingual) [Import] (DVD)
We bought this DVD because we love this movie. Our 5 year received this DVD for Christmas and loved it when she watched it for the first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An overrrated comedy?, Nov. 11 2002
By 
Kristy M. Ross "Kristy" (CT, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shrek (Two-Disc Widescreen & Full Screen Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Based on William Steig's bizzare backwards fairy tale, DreamWork's SHREK has fantastic animation, great voice casting and infamous "irreverent" humor. An ogre and a donkey rescuing a princess for an under-endowed King. How cleverly post-modern. Ha and indeed ha. Yes, it's a worldwide cartoon phenomenon or something like that. Now don't get me wrong, I like the recent movies like this one that trade traditional cute jokes for movie lampooning and irreverent gags, but I find it hard to avoid the fact that this "hilarious" comedy is somewhat overrated. Shrek (Mike Myers) and Donkey (Eddie Murphy) are a good odd-couple and there are some great jabs at Disney throughout the film's running time. But fart gags and weird humor aside, it's not as clever as it thinks it is. There are some fantastically funny moments in the film, especially the gingerbread man sequence and lines like "In the morning, i'm making waffles!" And the escape from the dragon's castle is a tour-de-force of fantastic animation and strange gags. However it's far more funnier if you take it as the sum of its parts rather than the movie as a whole. It may sound like just knocking success, but if you actually sit back and watch it, well, it really depends on if you want to sit through a cartoon with gross-out humour and fart gags. From a technical standpoint, the CGI photo-realistic water and fur simulation is brilliant. Since the success of TOY STORY, computer-generated cartoons have come a long way and it's impossible to deny that the CG is impressive. But then, so was the CG in Godzilla (Lesson: Impressive effects do not a good movie make). Watching SHREK in comparison to Pixar's competition MONSTERS INC, the latter is a more clever premise. Shrek gets 5 stars for animation, but it's a 3 star movie for laughs. the DVD extras are impressive though, with Commentaries, mock interviews, 'making of' docos and trailers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny and cool, Feb. 1 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shrek (Bilingual) [Import] (DVD)
Just as they say '' The first , the best''. Always love Shrek , so this is the best. Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No Complaints, Jan. 7 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shrek (Bilingual) (DVD)
I had no issues or concerns while purchasing this movie and received it promptly as well as in
excellent condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars We love this movie!, Jan. 5 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shrek (Bilingual) (DVD)
My husband and I and our 3 year old daughter all love the Shrek series! We have all 4 now, and each one is great in it's way. We'd definitely recommend this! It's highly entertaining!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars very nice, Dec 26 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shrek (Two-Disc Widescreen & Full Screen Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
this was a great item and got them is record time they loved them for christmas. and it was nice to have both wife and reg screen in one set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Fairy Tale Never Told!, Nov. 4 2001
By 
Joe J Barclay (Chula Vista, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shrek (Two-Disc Widescreen & Full Screen Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Lord Farquaad (John Lithgow) is ruler of Durok. After he realizes he must be a king in order to be ruler of a kingdom he chooses Princess Fiona (Cameron Diaz) as his bride. Fiona is locked away inside a castle surrounded by a fire breathing dragon. Farquaad holds a tournament to determine the princesses rescuer. Shrek (Mike Myers) wins the tournament and makes a deal with Farquaad. The princess for the deed to his swamp. Farquaad agrees and together Shrek and his loundmouth donkey (Eddie Murphy) set off on an unforgettable adventure.
Shrek has already raked in over 266 million in the us box office alone and thats for a good reason so if you havent seen it yet, what are you waiting for. This is a great film for all ages. There is the perfect mix of humor for the younger and older audience. The voice overs by the actors is excellent and the CGI is just jawdropping(look out Pixar).
Dreamworks has put together an excellent DVD. The transfer is just flawless. The picture is clean and there is no edge enhancement. With all the debate over pan and scan and widescreen maybe this dvd should become the blue print for the standard. Pan and Scan (don't know why some people prefer it) with DD on one disk and Anamorphic widescreen with DTS on the other for the video and audio freaks like myself. The disk is just loaded with far to many extras to list here but trust me they will keep you busy for a couple of hours after the movie is over. If you can only get one dvd this month Shrek should be it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars shrek is cool, July 15 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Shrek (Two-Disc Widescreen & Full Screen Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
shrek is a funny movie. the funniest thing in this movie is shrek's friend {or not} that he meets in his swamp{were shrek lives}. once i saw this movie i was hoping there would be a shrek 2 and now there is. in shrek farquad the very evil and short king sends shrek on a quest to find princess fiona a princess trapped in a castle with a fire breathing dragon gaurding her. shrek saves her and has to go bak i would tell more of this movie but i would give away the fun of it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ricciardi, Jan. 4 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Thank you for the excellent,honest,reliable words,fast service a real pleasure i will definitely use you again for sure thanks again for everything.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 288 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xf5c7de0)

This product

Shrek (Two-Disc Widescreen & Full Screen Edition) (Bilingual)
CDN$ 34.95 CDN$ 19.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews