Customer Reviews


885 Reviews
5 star:
 (587)
4 star:
 (120)
3 star:
 (62)
2 star:
 (46)
1 star:
 (70)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorites
"Shrek" along with the movie "Ice Age" are the two great animation films put out in the last ten years. As with all "cartoons" and their genre, there are many cultural reference and movie asides that not everyone is going to get. More so in "Shrek" than in "Ice Age." This is obviously done on purposes, cross pollenating the audiences of younger and older generations...
Published on Nov. 12 2007 by Peck Ransom

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A fairy tale for the South Park (de)generation
A love story between a farting ogre and a belching princess, *Shrek* poses as an iconoclastic movie, gleefully destroying the romance and spirituality of classic fairy tales with a mixture of teenage irreverence, bad taste, rock'n roll music, anachronisms and trendy cynical humour. Apparently, noone realizes just how formulaic the whole movie is (cliche-bashing being just...
Published on March 10 2002 by Jean-Francois Virey


‹ Previous | 1 289 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A fairy tale for the South Park (de)generation, March 10 2002
By 
Jean-Francois Virey (59500 DOUAI France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shrek (Two-Disc Widescreen & Full Screen Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
A love story between a farting ogre and a belching princess, *Shrek* poses as an iconoclastic movie, gleefully destroying the romance and spirituality of classic fairy tales with a mixture of teenage irreverence, bad taste, rock'n roll music, anachronisms and trendy cynical humour. Apparently, noone realizes just how formulaic the whole movie is (cliche-bashing being just as predictable as the cliches it bashes), down to the buddy-movie stereotype of the taciturn hero developing a friendship with an annoyingly talkative sidekick. Even the short-legged king coveting the hero's love interest is borrowed from the French animated masterpiece, *Le Roi et l'Oiseau*- a much more subtle attempt to reinvent the fairy tale (even though Prevert was not that subtle himself.)
Now what explains the success of *Shrek*, apart from the massive advertising campaign and the current popularity of outrageously bad taste?
I think America has recognized itself in the main character. Shrek lives in a cabin in the wilderness, like the pioneers of old, and is mostly concerned with the defense of his property rights and the ousting of squatters from his land : the typical American mindset. His individualistic, don't-tread-on-me attitude leads him into conflict with a despotic King, symbolizing the Old-World order which Republican America has been so sucessful at overthrowing over the centuries. And in the pursuit of his own self-interest, Shrek uses his awesome physical power (soon seconded by that of a Dragon, probably symbolic of the atomic bomb) to become a kind of benevolent world policeman, vandalizing churches with the same glee as modern Americans' French Huguenot ancestors, echoing America's centuries-old hatred of Catholicism. Finally, Shrek's obesity and rough manners suggest a life of abundance where high culture and the life of the spirit have been sacrificed to the pursuit of more down-to-earth materialistic pleasures.
(If you are interested in this analysis of America's historical role, I highly recommend the short, five-volume history of the United States published by Angelus Press under the title *Puritans's Progress*. Interestingly, in volume 3 p102, the authors mention a late 19th century Uruguayan essay entitled *Ariel*, in which the author, Jose Enrique Rodo, « contrasted the spirituality and culture of Latin America, which he likened to Shakespeare's Ariel, with what he considered to be US materialism- Caliban ». Shrek is just that : a cartoon Caliban, and the same symbolism applies.)
Another factor in the success of the movie, I think, is that it exploits the neuroses of modern Americans. It tells fat, ugly-looking people that they can actually get the girl. And it reassures girls who know exactly what they would look like without the plastic surgery, the make-up, the collagen, the silicon breasts, the intricate hairdo, the candlelight and the alcohol imbibed by their male prey. What the movie is saying is that we are all flawed individuals, and that we deserve to get the girl, because underneath, she is just as unappetizing as we are, and just as devoid of manners.
It is a pity that so much technology and animating talent should be forced to serve such ugliness : if you really want to see what beauty computer animation can achieve, rent *Final Fantasy* instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring...a huge sleeper., Feb. 21 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Shrek (Two-Disc Widescreen & Full Screen Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
I decided to rent the "Shrek" dvd because I wanted to know why everyone thought this movie was so great--I didn't go and see it in the theaters. I have to say that it was TERRIBLE! Much of the jokes were so unfunny, and I don't understand why they say this is a kid's movie...it seems more like an adult movie to me! Sure, some of the jokes were funny, but they weren't fall-on-the-floor-laughing hilarious--I only ended up smiling at the jokes and only slightly laughed. And believe me, I DO have a good sense of humor, I just didn't find the jokes in "Shrek" to be all that funny.
"Shrek" is about an old lonely troll who hates everyone...but really just wishes he had someone who loved him. A simple, predictable childish plot with adult humor that makes it seem like it's more enjoyable.
Now the dvd is actually pretty good, which is unfortunate since it was a bad movie. I don't think the dvd is worth purchasing if you didn't like the film. Nice special features and good, clear picture quality. The acting is okay in "Shrek", though I have to say that I am not a huge fan of Mike Myers, since I also think his "Austin Powers" movies are quit annoying. Eddie Murphy and John Lithgrow were the best in it...and Cameron Diaz was pretty good, too.
I honestly really tried to like "Shrek". My sisters and friends all loved it, but I have to say that I didn't like it at all. I really hope there is no "Shrek 2". Besides, what would the plot be like? Oh well. I'm sure Dreamworks could think of something to poke fun of.
This is not really a kid's movie because a lot of the jokes are geared toward adults. Some of the jokes are pretty toilet-dirty, and others are just plain bad that nobody can really understand or relate to.
"Shrek" was not for EVERYBODY...and not for me, either. I don't recommend this movie to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorites, Nov. 12 2007
"Shrek" along with the movie "Ice Age" are the two great animation films put out in the last ten years. As with all "cartoons" and their genre, there are many cultural reference and movie asides that not everyone is going to get. More so in "Shrek" than in "Ice Age." This is obviously done on purposes, cross pollenating the audiences of younger and older generations.

"Shrek" works on so many levels. First, the casting of voices is the best I've encountered. The animation is fantastic, and the story holds together nicely.

If you want a movie everyone can watch, "Shrek" is the one to pick. I would HIGHLY recommend "Ice Age" also (both of them now) as they're very funny with an underlying message of global warming, which, by now, we all know is happening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars a great example of wonderful talent put to waste, May 14 2002
By 
chris (Buffalo, NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shrek (Two-Disc Widescreen & Full Screen Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
shrek....... what garbage. i had heard from a friend who had went to see it that it wasn't very funny, but i decided to rent it, just to see. she was dead on. a lack of humor plagues this movie, and really crushes the great talent behind it (meyers, murphey, and diaz.) There was 1!!! funny scene in this movie, where the gingerbread man cookie says eat me. Otherwise, this movie included a lot eye-rolling. Regardless, its a good story, and an original idea, just one that was very poorly made. This seems to be one of those movies where people are just laughing because other people who don't know what funny is, are. And because of this, they are making a sequel, which is unfortunate, unless they fix this up. ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not appropriate, Oct. 13 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Shrek (Two-Disc Widescreen & Full Screen Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
The movie's adertisements make it look like a kid's movie, and at first it seems it is. But if you re-watch it you'll discover it is amazingly crude, twisted, and sexual. ...
The movies also packs WAY to many bodily function jokes in there. There's about five in the first three minutes alone. Shrek takes a bath in mud, gargles it, then jumps in a lake, farts, and a dead fish comes floating up. After that, he squeezes bug juice onto a stick and brushes his teeth with. Then he pulls out his own ear wax to make a candle, and drinks a martini with a human eye in it. Nice for children, huh?
Well that's it. The warning to not let your kids touch this movies, much less watch it. ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Waste Of Money!, May 29 2004
This review is from: Shrek/Shrek 3-D Btb (DVD)
Shrek is an excellent movie and is best viewed in it's proper widescreen ratio but this DVD set only has the single disc fullscreen version and no widescreen and the 3D movie is just a short movie from a ride at Universal Studios and is only about 15 minutes so if you like widescreen movies you would be best to buy the old two DVD set that has the movie in widescreen and fullscreen and plenty of extras or wait until Shrek 2 is released on DVD with the first movie and the very short 3D movie but anyway a 3D movie seen on your television set won't be as good as in a theater where they use enhanced special effects and personally I find this set to be a waste of money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderfully original animated film for adults as well as kids, April 7 2011
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Shrek (Two-Disc Widescreen & Full Screen Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Utterly original, terrific animated film, with great voice performances by Mike Meyers and Eddie Murphy,
written with lots of adult wit and humor. Word play and visual puns abound. You don't have to be a kid to love it,
or have kids to rent or buy it. Charming, sweet, funny and romantic.

Amazing, hip use of music (including John Cale's version of Leonard Cohen's 'Hallelujah'- how's that for obscure?).

On DVD, try and get this now inexplicably, inexcusably out-of-print widescreen version, so you don't lose chunks
of the lovely visuals on the sides of the frame. It can sometimes be found used for a reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderfully original animated film for adults as well as kids, April 7 2011
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Utterly original, terrific animated film, with great voice performances by Mike Meyers and Eddie Murphy,
written with lots of adult wit and humor. Word play and visual puns abound. You don't have to be a kid to love it,
or have kids to rent or buy it. Charming, sweet, funny and romantic.

Amazing, hip use of music (including John Cale's version of Leonard Cohen's 'Hallelujah'- how's that for obscure?).

On DVD, try and get the now inexplicably, inexcusably out-of-print widescreen version, so you don't lose chunks
of the lovely visuals on the sides of the frame. It can sometimes be found used for a reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderfully original animated film for adults as well as kids, April 7 2011
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Shrek (Bilingual) (DVD)
Utterly original, terrific animated film, with great voice performances by Mike Meyers and Eddie Murphy,
written with lots of adult wit and humor. Word play and visual puns abound. You don't have to be a kid to love it,
or have kids to rent or buy it. Charming, sweet, funny and romantic.

Amazing, hip use of music (including John Cale's version of Leonard Cohen's 'Hallelujah'- how's that for obscure?).

On DVD, try and get the now inexplicably, inexcusably out-of-print widescreen version, so you don't lose chunks
of the lovely visuals on the sides of the frame. It can sometimes be found used for a reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars One of two discs unuseable!, Aug. 2 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Shrek (Two-Disc Widescreen & Full Screen Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Hi, I was disappointed.....my order contained two discs.....one was fine, the other was ruined - stained on the back. My grandchildren and I just LOVE this movie so ....... :-(

patrick mullin
519 370-0636
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 289 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shrek (Two-Disc Widescreen & Full Screen Edition) (Bilingual)
CDN$ 34.95 CDN$ 19.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews