Customer Reviews


885 Reviews
5 star:
 (587)
4 star:
 (120)
3 star:
 (62)
2 star:
 (46)
1 star:
 (70)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shrek
Shrek is so funny. It starts with our hero Shrek(Mike Myers)who is a pretty amiable sort of ogre whose only goal in life is to live and let live. That is until Lord Farqaard (John Lithgow)tries to capture all of the fairy tale creatures, who happen to find solace in Shrek's swamp. An outraged Shrek demands that Lord Farquaard remove the creatures. They strike up a deal...
Published on June 14 2004 by Danielle Muller

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's not all that great!
First of all, I must admit, the movie was funny, there were some good lines and it was after all quite entertaining. But I just cannot see what all the hype is about, I think "Shrek" is overrated and despite being funny at times, it is an ordinary fairy tale with no surprises. The positive aspects are of course that this movie can be enjoyed by adults as well by children...
Published on Aug. 1 2003


‹ Previous | 1 289 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shrek, June 14 2004
By 
Danielle Muller "Shulamith" (Sailing, sailing o'er the deep blue sea :)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shrek/Shrek 3-D Btb (DVD)
Shrek is so funny. It starts with our hero Shrek(Mike Myers)who is a pretty amiable sort of ogre whose only goal in life is to live and let live. That is until Lord Farqaard (John Lithgow)tries to capture all of the fairy tale creatures, who happen to find solace in Shrek's swamp. An outraged Shrek demands that Lord Farquaard remove the creatures. They strike up a deal that if Shrek rescues the beautiful damsel Fiona (Cameron Diaz)from her fiery keep for Lord Farqaard, then he would remove the fairy tale things.
So off goes Shrek, with his noble steed Donkey. A excessive talking donkey who lacks the capacity to be still even for a moment. They reach the keep which happens to be guarded by a female dragon who falls madly in love with Donkey. The princess is rescued and brought back to Lord Farqaard. But trouble pops up, Fiona has fallen in love with Shrek. But can she make him love her just in time before she marries Farqaard?
A romantic antidoce that never lets you stop laughing. A clean and wholesome film for the whole family. A must see
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gloriously Twisted Fairy Tale!, May 27 2004
By 
Robert J. Schneider (Tacoma, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shrek (Two-Disc Widescreen & Full Screen Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
The hilariously perverse answer to the entire Disney fairy-tale franchise is the CGI-animated, solidly PG-rated SHREK (2001). Considering the fact that Jeffrey Katzenberg, the "K" in the still-new (and highly successful) Dreamworks SKG studio, worked for Disney in the early 1990's and suffered under an extremely acrimonious relationship with CEO Michael Eisner (who infamously referred to Katzenberg as "that little midget"), this flip-of-the-bird spoof was inevitable. But this movie is not a letter of anger directed at Disney; no, it's a satirical ode *to* Disney---albeit one that is full of adult humor with a definite "Saturday Night Live" sensibility to it. Starring Mike Myers and Eddie Murphy---both of them "SNL" alums---this is a movie that makes many grownups laugh even louder than kids!
Mike Myers, as the titular ogre, gives one of his greatest comedic performances ever, doing basically a variation on his Scottish "Fat Bastard" character from the AUSTIN POWERS films (which in itself was a variation on his "SNL" character, the All Things Scottish storeowner---you know, the one who used to greet his customers by barking at them, "If it ain't Scottish, it's crap!"). Anyone who wonders how an ogre with a Scottish brogue ended up with the name Shrek, here's your answer: Originally, Shrek was a German-accented ogre (sounding quite a bit like the Dieter character that Myers used to play on the "SNL" skit "Sprockets"); however, during production, it was decided that the character came off funnier with Myers' hilarious---and dead-on accurate---Scottish accent. Because the film already had SHREK as a working title, the German name was kept for the character and the film. (The name was derived from "schreck" which is a German and Yiddish exclamation, used in place of "Oh damn" and "Oh sh*t.") Just to be helpful. :)
Anyway, the tone for the film is set with the green ogre narrating the beginning of a typical fairy tale book, and then ripping out a page and using it for toilet paper---with Smashmouth's hit song "All Star" playing in the background! It doesn't slow down from there: soon, the aggressively alone Shrek is being pursued for friendship by a motormouth donkey---known simply as "Donkey"--- whose life he saves, and who is voiced by an irrepressable Eddie Murphy (who also gives one of the most inspired comedic performances of his own career). Tasked with rescuing the feisty Princess Fiona (Cameron Diaz) from an ivory castle tower by the tiny and full-of-himself Lord Farquaad (voiced by an equally-inspired John Lithgow), Shrek and Donkey set out on...well, as the tagline says, The Greatest Fairy Tale Never Told.
You know all this already. Chances are, you have probably seen this incredibly rude and hilarious film more times than I have. So have your kids, I'm sure. (Although I do not believe this film to be appropriate for any child under the age of 8, I suffer not from any illusion that aussmes most kids under this age have not seen it by now.) Considering the fact that I first saw SHREK in the theater during the last glorious summer of 2001 and have owned it on DVD for the past two years now (seeing it probably about five to six times during this time), I can't believe that I have waited this long to review it here on Amazon. This was not by design; rather, I think it has been out of sheer laziness. However, laziness had nothing to do with my running to my local multiplex today to see SHREK 2, which has set a brand-new five-day opening record for any film---that's right, beating even the revered recent film made by Mel Gibson! It's an amazing film in its own right, but I'll get to reviewing it in a minute...in the meantime, the original SHREK is
MOST RECCOMMENDED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Our hero, the ogre, Dec 19 2003
This review is from: Shrek (Two-Disc Widescreen & Full Screen Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Shrek is a fun movie. There is no doubt about that. Of course, this doesn't mean it will be appreciated by everyone. Of course kids will enjoy it because they see it as a cartoon and all kids like cartoons. But, I don't think they will understand 1/10 of the humor therein. Shrek is obviously aimed at an older, more mature audience.
What makes Shrek fun, however, isn't just the comedic lines-they aren't bad and Shrek even laughs at himself, a pretty good way to draw laughs. It's the twist in the traditional story line. Most fairy tales end when the hero saves the princess, they kiss, get married and live happily ever after. Not so with Shrek. Without spoiling the movie, the saving of the Princess is the half-way point. I guess you could compare this in a contrasting way with Star Wars, Phantom Menace. In Star Wars, the movie gets under way but doesn't really seem to have a direction until our Jedi's decide that young Anakin Skywalker is full of the force. Now, that would be great if they then took him back to Jedi headquarters, but instead, they spend the next 45 minutes of the movie following Anakin's Pod racing. At the same time, they are trying to push the story ahead. The problem here is that they found the 'Princess' of the story but instead of taking him home with them, they sat and watched him race pods for an hour. Sure, the pod racing was cool and all, but what did it have to do with the story? Star Wars got stuck and then had to wrap up the story in about 20 minutes at the end. Shrek, on the other hand, doesn't get stuck. It makes you wonder what is going to happen next when the princess has already been saved. The second half of the movie is all about resolving that. This is a great concept for a film.
In my opinion, it was hard to see the film end the way it did. I tried as hard as possible to see the princess as beautiful, but her earlier personality had kind of trashed that. If this princess had been assertive but nice, I wouldn't have cared if she looked like a swine and Shrek married her. However, she didn't have the best personality and attitude and that always has a tendency to ruin someone's looks, however gorgeous they might be on the exterior. In other words, the princess' personality ruined any conviction I had that she was an all around beautiful person. Also, once you find out that she is a shape shifter and you figure out what her secondary shape is, the ending is fairly obvious, though the authors do a decent job of keeping you interested.
All in all, I would say Shrek is a fun movie to watch though the twist in the story line makes it difficult for the authors to finish the story because of how non-traditional the story is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SUPERB!!!!!!!, Dec 3 2003
By 
goldengrand (Detroit, MI (USA)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shrek (Two-Disc Widescreen & Full Screen Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Shrek is a hilariously funny love story that would be enjoyed by anyone age 1 to 100. The movie combines life-like animation for the children, and wild humor for adults. Known for their riotously funny and naughty humor, it's incredible how Mike Myers, star of Austin Powers and Eddie Murphy, star of 48 hours pulled off a movie for kids. Murphy really delivers the donkey character.
I laughed through the whole movie. I'm not one to watch a movie over and over again, but each time the kids wanted to see it again, I was right there with them holding my side from the laughter. The cast includes the voices of Mike Myers (Shrek), Eddie Murphy (Donkey), Cameron Diaz (Princess Fiona), and John Lithgow (Lord Farquaad).
The action really starts when Lord Farquaad decides to rid the kingdom of all the fairy tale creatures by dumping them into a swamp area belonging to a fearsome orge, Shrek, who just wants to live peaceably and ALONE.
In an effort to reclaim his swamp, the orge agrees to go on a quest for Lord Farquaad to rescue the princess and slay the dragon that guards her. Farquaad would then marry the princess and become king. Tagging along side of him is the sweet but chattery donkey. Piece of cake! This action pack movie never has a dull moment!
Parents will enjoy the trip down memory lane with all the favorite fairy tale characters like Cinderella, Snow White, the seven dwarfs, Robin Hood, the gingerbread man, Pinocchio, the three blind mice, the three little pigs, and many, many more.
I would definitely recommend buying this movie on DVD. The game and music video is a must see. For those looking for morality, it sends a wonderful message that beauty is in the eye of the beholder, and that God has a special someone for everybody.
Was this review helpful to you?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For kids AND adults!, Nov. 23 2003
By 
not telling (Philadelphia, PA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shrek (Two-Disc Widescreen & Full Screen Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Mike Meyers is the voice of Shrek: an ugly yet endearing ogre who is sent on daring quest with the help of his loudmouthed donkey friend (brilliantly named Donkey, voice by Eddie Murphy) to rescue the somewhat annoying and feisty princess Fiona (Cameron Diaz) by the evil spirited Lord Farquaad (John Lithgow), who is too much of a chicken to do it himself. He promises Shrek the deed to his beloved swamp back in exchange for the Princess. But, this journey gives Shrek a lot more than he EVER bargained for: friends, introspection, and love!!!
I love this movie and I love that my kids love this movie! During the course of the movie it is revealed that there is a spell on Princess Fiona - during the day she is a beautiful princess - but as soon as the sun sets, she is turned into a very much less attractive ogre. She is mortified by this and tries to keep it a secret, but by the end of the movie she realizes that beauty is not only in the eye of the beholder, but it truly is what lies within. I love that the movie sends this message out to young girls -- with so many movies out there that tell girls that they have to be beautiful or change who they are to be accepted (i.e. Grease, The Princess Diaries, Ms. Congeniality, etc.)... I'm glad to see that there is a movie out there that lets girls know that it's okay to be who you are and to be proud!
I recommended this movie for everyone!
And the DVD-Rom has a really fun feature for kids that lets them dub their voices to the characters lines exactly! It keeps kids entertained for hours!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Cute, Nov. 22 2003
This review is from: Shrek (Two-Disc Widescreen & Full Screen Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Shrek has probably been the funniest computerised movie next to Finding Nemo, which was done by pixar. The voices done by great actors were wonderful, especially as the part done by Eddie Murphy. Shrek isn't a very vicious Ogre, he just wants to be left alone, and for people to stay off his swamp. But when a small annoying powerful migdet sends all the fairyrtale creatures to his swamp, he'll do anything to get them out. When he is given a job by a quad of a semi-king, to get a trapped princess out of a castle so he can become a real king, Shrek sets out. So he "teams up" with a modern donkey, and they set out to find the castle for Lord Farquad with Princess Fiona inside. The DVD for the movie was great. You can play all sorts of games in the game swamp, and it has all sorts of other extra features as well, including a DVD-ROM with even more extra fearture games on it. Very well done movie and extremely well done DVD. I'd recommend this to anyone who needs a good laugh on a boring day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Even better on a great DVD package!, Nov. 21 2003
By 
Beau Yarbrough (Between Disneyland and Las Vegas) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shrek (Two-Disc Widescreen & Full Screen Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
To me, it seems that people are overstating how much tweaking Disney's taking in "Shrek." Unless I missed something, fairy tales didn't begin with the House That Walt Built, and that's what "Shrek" spends most of its time chipping away at. (Of course, there's also a very funny riff on Disneyland when Shrek arrives to see Lord Farquar, but that's really it for pure Disney-bashing.)
Adults who might think that they've seen all the funny fairy tales they can handle should think again: While there's enough fart jokes, talking animals and slapstick to keep the kids entertained, "Shrek" is an adult movie, with low key racy jokes (kids who even notice the "big castle compensating for Lord Farquar's deficiencies" gag will likely assume it's talking about his height, or lack thereof), some very (post-)modern looks at fairy tales (Cinderella's described as being emotionally abused ... well, that sounds about right) and the nerve to say that the princess/Prince Charming fantasy so many fairy tales were built around is garbage.
Sure, anyone who's ever seen a major motion picture can guess that it ends up with "They All Lived Happily Ever After," but any movie that starts off with an ogre using a book of classic fairy tales as toilet paper is going to get there in its own backhanded style. Surprisingly, "Shrek" steers around the pitfalls and never becomes cloying or trite or gives up on its own cockeyed realist view of fairy tales and destructive fantasies (as opposed to the perfectly fine and rather sweet, in their own dim way, fairy tale creatures endangered by the evil pro-rationality and pro-order lord).
While it's the writing that really makes "Shrek" work, John Lithgow and Eddie Murphy fling themselves into their roles, making what could have been fairly generic animated characters into memorable performances. Murphy in particular seems freed to do his best work when he's hidden from view as in "Mulan," and Lithgow, whom many now only know through his goofy "Third Rock from the Sun" role, gets to stretch out his more threatening riffs, as he used to prior to landing on the sitcom.
"Shrek" is that rarest of animated movies: One that's genuinely fun for the whole family. See it with or without kids, but see it.
All of this is further enhanced by a DVD package that, if not stuffed with extras, has all high quality additions actually worth checking out.
Highly recommended for kids from 8-80.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A screaming Ogre of a classic!, Aug. 27 2003
This review is from: Shrek (Two-Disc Widescreen & Full Screen Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
I was totally blown away when I finished seeing this awesome animated movie at the big screen. I thought that the "Toy Story" movies could not be topped but "Shrek" proved me wrong. "Shrek" surpassed Pixar's previous movies and today, it is already a much-beloved classic. I don't know how they do but Pixar have managed to create a truly original story every time they make a movie. Not only that , their movies have had the fun and welcoming atmosphere to appeal to younger audiences yet also have enough sophistication and dialog to win over the adult audience and "Shrek" is one of the shining examples of such movies.
On this round of animated Disney fun, the typical fairy tale storyline is severely warped into a charmingly funny adventure starring a modestly unfriendly green Ogre named Shrek played by Mike Myers, a loquacious donkey played by none other than than the eccentric comedian actor Eddie Murphy, whose role in this rejuvenated his career which was going through a stagnant stage with turkey after turkey ("I Spy" anyone?), and a princess named Fione played by Cameron Diaz.
The story begins with a huge solitary Ogre named Shrek who has enjoyed most of his life in peace alone on his swamp/home. However, the harmony of isolation is completely destroyed when one night, all of the Disney characters such as Cinderella, Snow White and her Seven Dwarfs, Tinkerbelle, and Pinocchio, are banished from their homelands and to Shrek's utter horror and dismay, to his very own swamp, which he hates sharing with others thanks to a tyrannical royal kind names Lord Farquaad. Back at his dungeon-like castle, Farquaad seeks to become king but his ambitions have hit a brick wall time and time again because he has to marry a princess in order to do so. Back at the swamp, Shrek tries to drive the cartoon exiles off his swamp but eventually gives in, and decides to confront Farquaad to return the 'cartoon exiles' back to their homes. Along the way, Shrek meets a loquacious, eccentric donkey along the way whose talkative ways get on Shrek's nerves but in the end a strong friendship forms between the two as they go up against numerous forces to return the exiles back to their homes.
During that time, Shrek has to rescue a princess named Fione from a horrible dungeonlike castle that is guarded by an extremely 'dangerous' dragon that breaths fire in order to 'regain' his swamp back from the exiled beings. But from there, the so called fairytale is completely warped into a comedic adventure full of fun, laughs, and excellent storylines. But not only those make this movie great, it also has a highly important message about what true love really is about that personality is far more important than physical appearance and I tell you, it is for this reason taht "Shrek" is in fact, not only a great and fun movie, but also an important must-have for the ages. I tell you, even if it buts heads against "Monsters Inc." or "Finding Nemo" as my favorite animated movie, there is no denying that "Shrek" ushered in a new golden age in animated moviemaking. Please buy this awesome movie. It's absolutely worth every rusted penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Animated Classic for Kids and Adults, Aug. 13 2003
This review is from: Shrek (Two-Disc Widescreen & Full Screen Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
This great movie follows in the tradition of other animated films like "Toy Story", "Ice Age", and "Monsters Inc." where adults and children alike will enjoy it. Shrek (Mike Myers) is a lovable ogre who wants nothing more than to live in his happy little swamp, but unknown to him, Lord Farquaad (John Lithgow) has revoked the deed to his swamp. Meanwhile, Lord Farquaad has fallen in love with the beautiful Princess Fiona (Cameron Diaz), but she is being held captive in a castle guarded by an angry dragon. Shrek wins a competition held by Farquaad to rescue Fiona on the condition that he gets his swamp back. So, with his new friend Donkey (Eddie Murphy), Shrek sets off on his quest.
Finally, Fiona is rescued from the dragon, but Shrek is experiencing a feeling he's never felt before; love. He is smitten with Fiona almost instantly, but Fiona is intent on returning to Farquaad's castle to meet him. However, Fiona holds her own secret which she's afraid to reveal. What will become of Fiona, Shrek, and Farquaad? Will Shrek get his beloved swamp back?
I found this to be an excellent movie. Mike Myers, Cameron Diaz, John Lithgow, and especially Eddie Murpy give top notch performances. I watched this movie with my two young children and they were captivated the entire time. The music in the film is good, too, especially the remake of the Monkees' "I'm a Believer". Watch this movie and get a good chuckle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's not all that great!, Aug. 1 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Shrek (Two-Disc Widescreen & Full Screen Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
First of all, I must admit, the movie was funny, there were some good lines and it was after all quite entertaining. But I just cannot see what all the hype is about, I think "Shrek" is overrated and despite being funny at times, it is an ordinary fairy tale with no surprises. The positive aspects are of course that this movie can be enjoyed by adults as well by children. Although some references made in the movie are too difficult to understand for children, they are well understood by adults and some of them are absolutely hilarious. Another good thing about the movie is the soundtrack. Most of the songs have been well chosen to blend into the scenes and make "Shrek" even more fun to watch.
The negative aspects are however that the movie has been overrated. There are far better movies out there, even if you just look in this genre, you are bound to find better movies that have a more complex and less predictable plot. To sum up, I think the movie is entertaining to watch but I wouldn't waste my money on buying the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 289 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shrek (Two-Disc Widescreen & Full Screen Edition) (Bilingual)
CDN$ 34.95 CDN$ 19.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews