Customer Reviews


153 Reviews
5 star:
 (136)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Favourite Album Of All-time
If I could have gave it more stars i would have.

I've read quite a few of these reviews and I don't think people should call this a "punk" LP. I have been the proud & not-so-proud purchaser of over 12,000 LP's ... I have some pretty raw Punk records "the Clash" 1st LP was Punk....not London Calling.

London Calling was in my opinion the best LP of...
Published on Oct. 2 2008 by Andrew Stewart

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars too short.
i`m old.i saw this clash tour with london calling.the songs on this cd(same think on show)are too short!!!!!jones didnt what mean improvised.strummer too.
Published 15 months ago by michelle laliberte


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Favourite Album Of All-time, Oct. 2 2008
By 
This review is from: London Calling (Audio CD)
If I could have gave it more stars i would have.

I've read quite a few of these reviews and I don't think people should call this a "punk" LP. I have been the proud & not-so-proud purchaser of over 12,000 LP's ... I have some pretty raw Punk records "the Clash" 1st LP was Punk....not London Calling.

London Calling was in my opinion the best LP of all time....everysingle song is excellant...Spanish bombs is my favourite. Train In Vain was supposed to be a flexible Single included in a Playboy type magazine but that deal fell through so it was late being included in the package.

If there is someone out there thinking about buying this....then do it.
Listen to this 10 times and you will see why this LP has consistently recieved 5 Stars.

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a good album., May 29 2004
By 
Jayrod (Munising, MI USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: London Calling (Audio CD)
I just purchased this album a few months ago, and have been listening to it nearly every day since. I love how The Clash manages to blend so many styles into their songs. Sandinista! may have more diversity, but London Calling just has stronger and faster paced tracks. Standouts are Hateful, Rudie Can't Fail, The Right Profile, Clampdown, Guns of Brixton, Wrong em' Boyo and Revolution Rock. The only weak tracks are Brand New Cadillac and Lost in the Supermarket, but they are still tolerable and only become filler due to the greatness that surrounds them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They don't make them like this anymore...., May 20 2004
This review is from: London Calling (Audio CD)
What can I say here that hasn't been said already??? Even the pompus magazine Rolling Stone had the smarts to call this album the #1 album of the 80's (being it came out in late Dec of 1979).
What a fantastic album this is of, ska, punk, reggae, rock songs. And LOOK HOW MANY THERE ARE! 19!!! Who has put out a collection of that many AWESEOME songs for release since??? I can't think of a SINGLE artist since then that has come anywhere close to doing that..
This album just isn't for new found rebelious young kids, it isn't just for aging late 30 40 somethings who relsihed the time, it isn't just for anyone who loves to dance (this album will MAKE YOU MOVE!!), it isn't just for earthy reggae folks, it isn't just for unabashed blue-collar protestors who want to rebel, this album is litteraly UNIVERSAL, everyone can get enjoyment from it.
I have to tell you one of the hardest decisions I had to do was when I was making a recording long ago with some other songs, I tried to have all the songs from this album, but I had to get rid of one of them... I couldn't do it, it was seriously one of the hardest musical decisions omissions I could think of. I was struggling to think if there was even one song on this album that was half ass, mediocore, or just okay that I could omit. There isn't they're all gems!!
Love this album, it will never age, and will always be better after each listen.
If you don't own this album you really need to get it if you love music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars hated it in 1979...love it decades later, Dec 18 2010
By 
Brian Maitland (Vancouver, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: London Calling (Audio CD)
When this came out other than "London Calling" and "Clampdown" I wondered if the Clash had lost the plot. I was never into "Police And Thieves" punk reggae and they went crazy here on this album with "Revolution Rock" and "The Guns of Brixton" and "Rudie Can't Fail" (although the latter is more ska-ish). Throw in the mixes of sounds from what sounds like lounge hitting the pub sounds of the '80s...well, "we" (as in the collective punk us) absolutely thought the Clash had sold out.

Boy, was I wrong! Years later it is my fave Clash LP because it's varied unlike the first two which are straight punk (still great LPs but come on!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best punk albums EVER!, July 14 2004
This review is from: London Calling (Audio CD)
London Calling from the Clash is the basis for any punk music. They even had some reggae styles in songs like Guns of Brixton, Rudie Can't Fail, and Revolution Rock. This whole album is solid with a statement. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I Live By The Clash!, April 27 2013
This review is from: London Calling (Audio CD)
Only the best Clash album ever, and a contender for iconic listen of the angst-ridden, down-trodden, banner-waving segment of society.

The feet must be stirred! The march must be joined! The barricades must fall!

London is calling! Strum on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, April 1 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: London Calling (Vinyl) (LP Record)
awesome album. everything you'd expect, works fine. Definetley a modern pressing, its just a sleeve that the two records come in, i was hoping for a folding case that you usually see with double albums but oh well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Punk's Sgt. Pepper., June 27 2004
By 
Erik Samson (San Fransisco, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: London Calling (Audio CD)
In 1979, Punk was in full swing. Though 1977's "explosion" was beggining to die down, the genre's golden age was far from over. The Buzzcocks were putting out the now legendary Singles Going Steady. The Sex Pistols' Anarchy Tour was in full swing. Black Flag was revolutionizing hardcore with two brilliant E.P.s. The Ramones were going strong with their last great album, Road To Ruin. But 1979's most important contribution to Punk will always be the Clash's masterpiece, London Calling.
At the time, Strummer, Jones, and crew had already put out two albums, the raw, punky, self-titled debut, and the less successful follow-up, Give 'Em Enough Rope. On both albums, they had experimented with Regge ("White Man In Hammersmith Palais"), rockabilly ("Safe European Home") and a variety of other styles. So it seemed natural that their third album, London Calling, should follow in tht same vein.
But nothing, however, could prepare the world from the dizzying multidude of styles, lyrical themes, and genres this album would feature. On it, the Clash experiment witrh regge ("Rudie Can't Fail"), Disco ("Lost in the Supermarket"), Flat-out rock ("Brand New Cadillac"), Pop ("Spanish Bombs"), and even a bit of country ("Jimmy Jazz").
Of course, at heart, London Calling is still a Punk album, full of classic punk anthems such as the title track and "Clampdown." The songs are dominated by singer Joe Strummer's vicious snarl and Mick Jones' crunchy, simple guitar playing.
Another feature that sets London Calling ahead of the pack is it's obvious political smarts. On these 19 songs, Strummer and Jones (and to a degree, bassist Paul Simonon, who wrote "The Guns of Brixton") explore themes of war, crime, poverty, racism, economic disaster, and the like. The powerful and profound lyrics go well with the excellent music, and give the album an apocalyptic feel.
As a whole, London Calling is one of the great masterpeices of Punk and of music in general, a true landmark in creativity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is punk rock at its finest., June 21 2004
By 
Doyle (Earth A.D.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: London Calling (Audio CD)
This cd is 19 songs of crap-free punk rock, it never gets old. Buy this cd now, and also check out some of the early albums by the Misfits - another awesome classic punk band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is where it Started, June 18 2004
This review is from: London Calling (Audio CD)
London calling is the best Clash, its an awsome album that should be bought. Every song on here is one of a kind. The clash are classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

London Calling
London Calling by Clash (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews