Customer Reviews


970 Reviews
5 star:
 (593)
4 star:
 (181)
3 star:
 (78)
2 star:
 (42)
1 star:
 (76)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Return of Good Horror Films
"I see dead people". If you've been hiding under a rock for the last few years you missed this fantastic horror film. The return of good horror films after a long long dry spell of Scream, Friday the 13th and all the other stupid horror films. This is a fantastic smart horror film. A must own.
Published on July 16 2004 by Antonio Canas

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars So he's dead
Bruce Wills and Haley Joel Osment both give good performances in this one.OK the movie was cool how they hid Malcolm Crowe(Bruce Will)being there when he really isn't. I watched it a second time found it a bit better,but not great. I give it 3 red stars. the director had some good Ideas which I liked just thought it could of been more fine tuned ,but good overalll. A...
Published on Jan. 16 2004 by murph


‹ Previous | 1 297 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Return of Good Horror Films, July 16 2004
By 
Antonio Canas (Des Moines, Iowa United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
"I see dead people". If you've been hiding under a rock for the last few years you missed this fantastic horror film. The return of good horror films after a long long dry spell of Scream, Friday the 13th and all the other stupid horror films. This is a fantastic smart horror film. A must own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back when Shyamalan was über talented..., Jan. 21 2014
By 
Simon Bergeron - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Bruce Willis, Haley Joel Osement, all actors have a superb acting chops to give and this movie really holds more than its fair share. The script is very intelligently written, knows its boundaries and the suspense, thrills and psychological contexts unfold in a very mature storytelling. Though the first moments may be very scary, some of the film's tension comes from characters' personal struggles. Overall, this is superb filmmaking with second and third degrees of speculations, with a slightly moral fiber at its core... one suspenseful ride that actually delivers on its promises.

Special features regroup just about everything that was in the former 2-disc DVD edition, but it seems the single disc DVD carried a "hidden" feature, M. Night Shyamalan's first "horror movie"... maybe not a big loss, but it sure shows how the director matured in his storytelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best movie ever., Aug. 22 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Sixth Sense (Bilingual) (DVD)
Love it and watched it again and again not to miss anything. Happy to have bought it. It's a must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bon film, May 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Sixth Sense (Bilingual) (DVD)
Le film The sixth sense a été reçu en bon état et conforme à l'annonce du vendeur. Le DVD fonctionne très bien.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sixth sense, the, Dec 15 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Sixth Sense (Bilingual) (DVD)
this is a very exciting movie. and leaves you in Spence until the very end. i will watch it again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a few positive comments, March 20 2012
This review is from: The Sixth Sense (Bilingual) (DVD)
A really great movie that concentrates on character more than action. Full of subtle clues and elaborate metaphors. If you prefer action packed thrillers with lots of car chase scenes and women with cleavage then you won't like this. Bruce Willis plays a children's psychologist with a deep empathy for children and a remarkable ability to intuit the meaning of their fears. He combines this with an other worldly ability to divine the dark side.
I loved this movie. You will be surprised at the ending and it leaves one thinking about how they could possibly have missed all the clues that point to the real meaning of what was happening.
This movie is positively brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars first rate psychological thriller, July 4 2004
By 
Robert Wynkoop (Washington State) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sixth Sense (Bilingual) (DVD)
I was listening to the Movie Show on Radio one Saturday as I was working on my truck, when I heard Mad Max Weiss mention that The Sixth Sense had one of the most surprising endings of any movie. That did it, I had to rent it.
Staring Bruce Willis as child psychologist Malcolm Crowe and Haley Osment and the disturb child Cole Sear, The Sixth Sense is both a psychological thriller and a horror movie at the same time. Terrifying visions of dead people haunts the child, Cole. He has learned to repress what he sees for fear of being called insane. So at first, we see it as a psychological thriller. Later, we learn that the visions are real, so perhaps we are watching a horror flick, but as the move progresses it never degenerates into a silly horror movie, but keeps its psychological edge.
Although Bruce Willis is one of my favorite actors, I am afraid that I have underestimated his acting ability. This is an outstanding movie that grabs your attention and does not let go until the final credits roll. And the ending, oh yes, it was a surprise- I did not see it coming. If you have not seen this movie, rent it now. You will want to watch it several times. It is that good. Not a movie for the faint of heart or your wee ones- it will give them nightmares for a week; but if you are looking for a first rate psychological thriller you may want to add this to your DVD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I see dead people,", June 28 2004
This review is from: Sixth Sense (VHS Tape)
M. Night Shyamalan's THE SIXTH SENSE has ranked high on my list of favorite films ever since its 1999 theatrical release.
First of all, it hits close to home. Why? First off, Shyamalan graduated from Waldron Mercy Academy, my private Catholic school, back when it was Waldron Academy and all-boys. Today, the nationally renowned school is coed. Second, THE SIXTH SENSE is filmed in the bustling city of Philadelphia, PA, very close to where I lived. I recognized most, if not all of the places shown in Shyamalan's thriller.
That said, it didn't necessarily mean I was going to automatically enjoy the film. At the age of 11, I was hasty to see it. But my Daddy, as usual, bribed me into it, assuring me I wouldn't regret seeing the movie.
"Whatever," I muttered as he dragged me to the neighborhood cinema.
I had set my standards low. I arrived in the theatre, expecting a Pepsi, a Hershey bar, and a nap.
I was pleasantly surprised. In fact, I was elated!
The talented Bruce Willis takes on the role of psychologist Dr. Malcolm Crowe, very distinguished in his profession. Haley Joel Osment, newcomer to the big screen, plays Cole Sear, a disturbed 8 year-old. His mother, up in arms about what to do with her withdrawn and unhappy son, calls Dr. Crowe to help sort out the situation. Mrs. Sear, a single parent, is wonderfully played by Toni Colette, who brings life and significance to her character, giving off a near immaculate 3-dimensional performance.
Cole is blessed. Or is he cursed? You decide. He has been bestowed/cursed with the power of the sixth sense, a skill both ugly and horrible, in a sense. Cole, with this magical skill, can help others. Yet at the same time, his sixth sense haunts him to the point of insanity. "I see dead people," he eventually explains to Dr. Crowe. Indeed, young Cole speaks the harrowing truth. He sees ghostly apparations that haunt him by night and show themselves by day, terrifying and confusing him to no end. Alas, Dr. Crowe is unprepared when Cole enlightens him with this information.
Yet this new knowledge is a beginning for various journeys. Together, the doctor and his young patient travel to places previously unbeknownst to them. Their adventures lead them to both saddening truths and irrevocable consequences.
THE SIXH SENSE proves to a fickle audience, namely America, that special effects aren't required to make a superb and memorable horror film. M. Night Shyamalan's unforgettable effort (not his first, FYI) is bone chilling, dazzling, and beautiful, with performances that either launched careers or furthered them. This film is a masterpiece, no matter how you try to look at it, and it deserved all 6 of its Oscar nods. Yes, it broke my heart when it didn't win any...
Enjoy this thrilling treat, if you haven't already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Mindblowing!, June 12 2004
By 
Kurt Leith "baldwood" (Vernon, CT) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sixth Sense (VHS Tape)
I'd like to add this to the other positive reviews I've just read...This is simply one of the most brilliant stories I've ever had the pleasure of watching, and it still boggles my mind that such a masterpiece came to be! I became an instant fan of the man who directed this movie, and one must watch the film to truly see why. About twenty minutes after I finished watching the movie(including the great bonus material after the end), I rewound it and played it a second time. Absolutely brilliant how this film is a totally different experience the second time around, like a two sided coin or the difference between a photo and it's negative-two great films wrapped in one!!!! One of the finest films I've seen in years, truly a must see. Enjoy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Un-Finished Business, June 2 2004
By 
Doris Morgan (Bangor/Auburn, ME) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Sixth Sense (Bilingual) (DVD)
The Sixth Sense
The Sixth Sense (1997) directed by M. Night Shyamalan, which he wrote and plays the part of Dr. Hill, a psychiatrist, is a timely masterpiece. The late 90's was a time for increased and renewed spiritually. Many individuals were and are still seeking answers to what happens after we die. Shyamalan was born in India where belief in reincarnation is very strong. While he was born in India he grew up in the United States in Philadelphia. There is a quality of "other world ness" or "wholly unknown" that he brings to the screen. What some have only imagined or "wholly sensed" he brings to life on film. His works include Signs (2002) and currently he is in post production of The Village (2004). What he and fellow director Jerry Zucker (Ghost, 1990) both portray through the genres of drama, mystery, and thriller is: Unfinished business keeps you around after you die.
Unfinished business is what keeps Malcolm Crowe, a child psychologist around for a while. Despite the fact that his grieving wife has not been able to let him completely go- she plays home movies to keep him close, for a while. Individuals do sense sometimes their loved ones who have passed on are right beside them. This could be in the role of protector, as in Ghost, where Sam Wheat (Patrick Swayze) tries to protect his girlfriend Molly Jensen (Demi Moore) from harm, or as a guardian angel. One theme within both films is that of coming to terms with oneself and to be at peace. This was accomplished for Sam when he was able to communicate his message through Oda Mae Brown (Whoopi Goldberg), thus saving Molly from certain death. In The Sixth Sense Crowe feels guilty about not being able to help is de-ranged ex-client. To do penance for that he tries to help, and succeeds in doing so, Cole. Cole for his part learns to face his fears, and works with his gift instead of against it. He helps the dead girl communicate a message to her father about her death. Through the process Crowe walks with Cole, afterwards he is able to let go, but first he whispers into his wife's ear how much he loves her.
What makes this film and others like it so interesting is that our society has within it a sub-culture of those who believe in the supernatural. The popularity of Crossing Over with Jonathan Edwards attests to this fact, as well as It's a Miracle. People want answers and will go to almost any length to get them. Many individuals have testified that they have either sensed or seen deceased family members at one time or another. The Sixth Sense is a great film for those of us with imagination and also for those without imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 297 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb21c4270)

This product

The Sixth Sense (Bilingual)
The Sixth Sense (Bilingual) by M. Night Shyamalan (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 6.25
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews