Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great compilation from a great band
The Lovin' Spoonful were one of the greatest rock bands of the sixties, but these days they have become forgotten. Why? THESE GUYS ARE A GREAT BAND! The mere fact that their music has become forgotten fills me with rage, because it's about a thousand times better than the junk that gets radioplay these days. Fortunately, the record company remembered them, and released...
Published on Sept. 22 2003 by Rocker_Man

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars lovin' spoonful greatest hits
this c.d. has a few tracks I can remember from the 60's but a lot of the tracks are new to me, good sound track production.
Published 12 months ago by georgina leek


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great compilation from a great band, Sept. 22 2003
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
The Lovin' Spoonful were one of the greatest rock bands of the sixties, but these days they have become forgotten. Why? THESE GUYS ARE A GREAT BAND! The mere fact that their music has become forgotten fills me with rage, because it's about a thousand times better than the junk that gets radioplay these days. Fortunately, the record company remembered them, and released this - this is their best known hits compilation. Read on for my review.
PROS:
-If you're the casual Lovin' Spoonful fan, it's doubtful this compilation will fail to please you. Just about every big hit is here. Among them are Did You Ever Have To Make Up Your Mind, Summer In The City, Do You Believe In Magic, and You Didn't Have To Be So Nice.
-Many highly underrated masterpieces found their way onto this compilation. Among them is You're A Big Boy Now, featured in the film of the same name.
-This is an affordable compilation.
-Most major retailers of compact discs carry this compilation, so you shouldn't have to look to hard for it.
-TWENTY-FIVE SONGS ON ONE DISC?! Sweet.
CONS:
-Here's a few words you won't hear from me very often - This compilation is virtually flawless.
OVERALL:
If you're a casual fan of the Lovin' Spoonful, then I suggest picking this up. This, my friends, is REAL rock and roll, not the junk that's been flooding the mainstream in recent years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 60's, Jan. 31 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Great CD from a great band from the 60's... If you are over 50 you are going to love this CD, and will be singing along at the top of your lungs with John Sebastian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars lovin' spoonful greatest hits, July 2 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
this c.d. has a few tracks I can remember from the 60's but a lot of the tracks are new to me, good sound track production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Lovin' Spoonful Greatest Hits, Jan. 29 2013
By 
Barry Schafer (New Westminster, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I Have been into the 60s music since it originally came out on LP . It's great to hear all these wonderful groups again If you are into Retro music this should be one for your collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing album, Sept. 13 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I remember these tunes from my childhood and man are they great....

The lyrics evoke warm memories and transport the listener to places, times and experiences in life that are the foundation of the human experience.....

This band is just awesome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best collection of one of my all-time favorite groups, April 23 2004
By 
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
In the summer of '65 I turned 14. It was virtually impossible not to be mesmorized by the sounds eminating from my little Radio Shack transistor radio. The Beatles were at the height of their popularity and Motown was churning out one memorable tune after another. I went on vacation with my parents for two weeks in mid-July and when I returned a couple of hippies I had never heard of---Sonny and Cher--had several records on the charts!! It was difficult to decide which 45's to buy with the limited resources from my paper route. It was about this time that two rockers from Long Island teamed up with two folkies from Greenwich Village to form what would become the Lovin' Spoonful. They would become one of my all-time favorite bands. The debut single "Do You Believe In Magic" quickly raced up the charts and became a Top Ten smash. Over the next year and a half the group would place another 6 tunes in the Top 10. The biggest of these, "Summer in the City" reached number one for 3 weeks in August 1966. To me, the amazing thing about the Spoonful was that no two tunes sounded the same.
Lead singer John Sebastian was also an incredibly gifted songwriter. The evidence of this can be found throughout the 26 selections on this incredible CD. Believe me, there is no filler on this CD. You will find what I discovered years ago.
Even the "B" sides of Spoonful records were amazing!!! Check out tunes like "Didn't Want To Have To Do It", "Younger Girl" and "You're A Big Boy Now".
Unfortunately the party was short lived. Lead guitarist Zal Yanovsky left the band in 1967 and was replaced by Jerry Yester. About a year later John Sebastian left to pursue a solo career and the group disbanded. It was not until 1991 that original members Joe Butler and Steve Boone and the aforementioned Jerry Yester decided to re-form the band. They have been touring ever since. In 2000, the Lovin' Spoonful was inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame.
All of the tracks on this fabulous CD are the original Kama Sutra recordings. You'll also enjoy perusing the 12 page booklet included here. Very highly recommended!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great folk-rock group of the late sixties, Aug. 24 2003
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
The Lovin' Spoonful were formed (as were the Mamas and Papas) following the break-up of a folk-rock group in the sixties called the Mugwumps that only lasted a few months.
In Britain, they are mainly remembered for Summer in the city (a top ten UK hit and an American chart-topper) and Daydream (a number two hit in both Britain and America), though they also had some minor UK hits. They were far more successful in America, where they had many more big hits, beginning with their first single, Do you believe in magic, an American top ten.
One of their songs, Nashville cats, takes an affectionate look at country music's musicians. The group never ventured into country music themselves, though Dolly Parton did a fine cover of Lovin' you on her Here you come again album and John Sebastian (lead singer of the Lovin' Spoonful) was a guest on the same singer's Treasures album in the nineties.
The original version of Lovin' you is included in this compilation. Some other great songs to be found here include You don't have to be so nice, Did you ever have to make up your mind, Younger girl and Darling be home soon.
Yet perhaps the most interesting song is Younger generation, which takes an amusing look at the problems of growing up and how attitudes change as one gets older.
The good-time music of the Lovin' Spoonful sounds as good today as it ever did. There are many compilations around though there is very little difference between the track listings of most of them. If you enjoy good-time sixties music, this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing quality, Oct. 26 2011
By 
Patrick Ahern - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
The cd "The Lovin Spoonful Greatest hits was disappointing.
I loved Rock and Roll(before it died in the late 1908's)and this band during their popular days for their 'Good Time' music.
Sebastion's songwriting was first rate. The guitar work and vocals were excellent.

Unfortunately, this cd is not so great. It skips on at least 2 cuts and heard some distortions on percussion on another. I had these cuts on vinyl albums and THEY didn't skip. How can a cd have a skipping problem? Is there an anti-skating adjustment for Digital Optical Drives?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovin' Spoonful - Greatest Hits, Sept. 6 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Brilliant artistry and lovely reproduction of the Spoonful classics.. Greatest Hits attests to the groups rich musical diversity and accomplishments as musicians.. it is as contemporary today as it was "in the day"... in cross over pop/rock and country scene/genres... give it a go, you will find it is good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Biggest and Best Mouthful of the Lovin Spoonful, May 12 2004
By 
Charles M. Moss "cmoss1951" (Millersville, MD United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I had a couple of inexpensive cd's of the Loving Spoonful and what a waste of money. The mastering was horrible like someone had an old album recorded it onto a cassette and then transferred it to a cd. Well after Buddha Records decided to release the original masters and put them on cd it was like seeing the sun for the first time after about a week of rain.
The music is good stuff and the sound is crisp and clear like never before. One song that you never seem to hear on the radio anymore is here-(Didn't Want to Have to Do it) and a very clean recording. Also, the song (You Baby) is great and I believe that John Sebastian is not singing lead on this song. Evidently all of the members could sing and sing well. THIS IS THE ONLY CD TO BUY, no disappointment here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Greatest Hits
Greatest Hits by The Lovin' Spoonful (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews