Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great compilation from a great band
The Lovin' Spoonful were one of the greatest rock bands of the sixties, but these days they have become forgotten. Why? THESE GUYS ARE A GREAT BAND! The mere fact that their music has become forgotten fills me with rage, because it's about a thousand times better than the junk that gets radioplay these days. Fortunately, the record company remembered them, and released...
Published on Sept. 22 2003 by Rocker_Man

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars lovin' spoonful greatest hits
this c.d. has a few tracks I can remember from the 60's but a lot of the tracks are new to me, good sound track production.
Published 18 months ago by georgina leek


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great compilation from a great band, Sept. 22 2003
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
The Lovin' Spoonful were one of the greatest rock bands of the sixties, but these days they have become forgotten. Why? THESE GUYS ARE A GREAT BAND! The mere fact that their music has become forgotten fills me with rage, because it's about a thousand times better than the junk that gets radioplay these days. Fortunately, the record company remembered them, and released this - this is their best known hits compilation. Read on for my review.
PROS:
-If you're the casual Lovin' Spoonful fan, it's doubtful this compilation will fail to please you. Just about every big hit is here. Among them are Did You Ever Have To Make Up Your Mind, Summer In The City, Do You Believe In Magic, and You Didn't Have To Be So Nice.
-Many highly underrated masterpieces found their way onto this compilation. Among them is You're A Big Boy Now, featured in the film of the same name.
-This is an affordable compilation.
-Most major retailers of compact discs carry this compilation, so you shouldn't have to look to hard for it.
-TWENTY-FIVE SONGS ON ONE DISC?! Sweet.
CONS:
-Here's a few words you won't hear from me very often - This compilation is virtually flawless.
OVERALL:
If you're a casual fan of the Lovin' Spoonful, then I suggest picking this up. This, my friends, is REAL rock and roll, not the junk that's been flooding the mainstream in recent years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great folk-rock group of the late sixties, Aug. 24 2003
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
The Lovin' Spoonful were formed (as were the Mamas and Papas) following the break-up of a folk-rock group in the sixties called the Mugwumps that only lasted a few months.
In Britain, they are mainly remembered for Summer in the city (a top ten UK hit and an American chart-topper) and Daydream (a number two hit in both Britain and America), though they also had some minor UK hits. They were far more successful in America, where they had many more big hits, beginning with their first single, Do you believe in magic, an American top ten.
One of their songs, Nashville cats, takes an affectionate look at country music's musicians. The group never ventured into country music themselves, though Dolly Parton did a fine cover of Lovin' you on her Here you come again album and John Sebastian (lead singer of the Lovin' Spoonful) was a guest on the same singer's Treasures album in the nineties.
The original version of Lovin' you is included in this compilation. Some other great songs to be found here include You don't have to be so nice, Did you ever have to make up your mind, Younger girl and Darling be home soon.
Yet perhaps the most interesting song is Younger generation, which takes an amusing look at the problems of growing up and how attitudes change as one gets older.
The good-time music of the Lovin' Spoonful sounds as good today as it ever did. There are many compilations around though there is very little difference between the track listings of most of them. If you enjoy good-time sixties music, this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best collection of one of my all-time favorite groups, April 23 2004
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
In the summer of '65 I turned 14. It was virtually impossible not to be mesmorized by the sounds eminating from my little Radio Shack transistor radio. The Beatles were at the height of their popularity and Motown was churning out one memorable tune after another. I went on vacation with my parents for two weeks in mid-July and when I returned a couple of hippies I had never heard of---Sonny and Cher--had several records on the charts!! It was difficult to decide which 45's to buy with the limited resources from my paper route. It was about this time that two rockers from Long Island teamed up with two folkies from Greenwich Village to form what would become the Lovin' Spoonful. They would become one of my all-time favorite bands. The debut single "Do You Believe In Magic" quickly raced up the charts and became a Top Ten smash. Over the next year and a half the group would place another 6 tunes in the Top 10. The biggest of these, "Summer in the City" reached number one for 3 weeks in August 1966. To me, the amazing thing about the Spoonful was that no two tunes sounded the same.
Lead singer John Sebastian was also an incredibly gifted songwriter. The evidence of this can be found throughout the 26 selections on this incredible CD. Believe me, there is no filler on this CD. You will find what I discovered years ago.
Even the "B" sides of Spoonful records were amazing!!! Check out tunes like "Didn't Want To Have To Do It", "Younger Girl" and "You're A Big Boy Now".
Unfortunately the party was short lived. Lead guitarist Zal Yanovsky left the band in 1967 and was replaced by Jerry Yester. About a year later John Sebastian left to pursue a solo career and the group disbanded. It was not until 1991 that original members Joe Butler and Steve Boone and the aforementioned Jerry Yester decided to re-form the band. They have been touring ever since. In 2000, the Lovin' Spoonful was inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame.
All of the tracks on this fabulous CD are the original Kama Sutra recordings. You'll also enjoy perusing the 12 page booklet included here. Very highly recommended!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars LOVIN' THE LOVIN' SPOONFUL, Oct. 2 2003
By 
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
If you're looking for one cd collection that has "the hits" and the best memories of "The Lovin' Spoonful" this "Best Of" is the one. Twenty six trax and each opne an enjoyable experience of "magic". From "Do You Believe in Magic?" and "Daydream" to "Lovin' You" and "Darlin' Be Home Soon".
This collection includes two of my personal all time favorites of The Spoonful: "Rain On The Roof" (caught up in that summer shower . .. maybe we'll be caught for hours . . .waitin' out the rain) and "Darlin Companion"! I first heard John sing as a duet with Mama Cass Elliot (possibly a carry-over from "The Mugwumps?). This song brings back a great memory of them both together . . .and it's a great neat song to boot.
This cd brings back many many happy memories of younger years. But it's much more than that. The songs and music are timeless and hold up well over these decades. It sounds as good or even better now, today, than it first did a-way back then. My thanks go out to "The Lovin' Spoonful" for this great album of truly wonderful songs and music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection magic to my ears--remastered sound is great, Aug. 23 2002
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This great collection supercedes the fine collection put out by Rhino a decade ago. The sound quality is a vast improvement on the original release by Rhino. While both albums are equal in terms of the amount of tracks (and the great liner notes), Greatest Hits has the edge simply because the original master tapes weren't available to engineer Bill Inglot when he put together the original collection. That's not to slight Inglot; he's a terrific engineer who has worked wonders in the past. He just didn't have the advantage of the original mastertapes to work with.
Differing slightly in terms of the track line up (an early rarity is featured on the Rhino disc along with the b side of the band's last single which isn't available anywhere else), Greatest Hits substitutes two album tracks for two rarities included on the Rhino disc. The original Rhino release sounded muddy and indistinct compared to this collection. You Didn't Have to Be So Nice and Daydream both benefit substanially by the improved sound.
Always an under rated band, The Spoonful finally got their overdue recognition when they were inducted into The Rock'N'Roll Hall of Fame in 2000. The Spoonful managed to create an impressive body of work within a short span of time (they were together with Sebastian as a member for less than four years). Recognition has eluded the band for far too long. Greatest Hits (along with the re-release of Daydream and Do You Believe In Magic) has gone a long way towards redressing that imbalance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hall of Famers get an anthology worthy of their talents, April 30 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
One of the truly worthwhile things about the Internet (and Amazon's review forum) is that music lovers can exchange ideas, trivia, opinions and remembrances about their favorite artists. So it has been fun for me, a lifelong Spoons fan, to read others' contributions here. Like Peter Castanos, I am also a devotee of Bill Inglot and Rhino. They will always have my thanks and admiration for the CDs they issue. But I always thought Rhino's Spoons anthology sounded pretty rough. It was clear to me after I heard it that Rhino did not have access to the original tapes, and I think Inglot did the best he could with what he had. So, this new Buddha collection is the one to buy. Like Peter, I A-B'd the two. But unlike Peter, I think the sound on this one is much more than a slight improvement over Rhino's effort. I can hear nuances in Joe's singing and drumming, Zally's guitar licks, Steve's bass lines and piano playing, and John's singing and strumming that I've never heard before. As with Sony's remastered Byrds CDs, listening to Buddha's remastered Spoons CD is akin to hearing the songs for the first time. If your CD collection lacks music by the Lovin' Spoonful, and the band's hits are all you desire, then get this CD. It's essential listening. I'm still going to buy all the original Spoons CDs if and when they're released because the band created too many other good songs ("Fishin' Blues," "Butchie's Tune," "Let the Boy Rock and Roll," "Boredom" to name but a few) to stop with this hits collection, but this one will stay in my CD player till then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars am radio rises again, April 27 2000
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
The Lovin Spoonful filled the am air waves of the 1960s with their good time music. John Sebastian was the true master of penning hit songs. Buddha Records has released a remastered 26 track greatest hits compilation here, and it is not surprising that the reviews are quite mixed. On the one hand it would be hard to argue that the anthology does not include 67 minutes of the most enjoyable pop music ever recorded. On the other hand, the catalog of the Spoonful has been so mistreated over the years that fans cry foul at the fact that only best of and greatest hits packages appear, and that the overlap in track listings is so great. Both arguments are quite sound. However, one must rate this package for what it is and not for what it isn't. The track listing is quite similar to that of the Rhino Anthology of 10 years ago, and quite rightly so. The best of the Spoonful is the best, Right? The sound quality of this Buddha collection is impeccable and the band had considerable input. Both positives. With songs like "Daydream" and "Summer in the City" how can you possibly give this release a low rating? Only by injecting personal prejudice out of frustration that Buddha has failed to release even the original albums let alone any goodies from the vaults. The liner notes of this collection mention that the albums will be coming out soon. Good news, eh? Rating this set based on its contents and quality its 5 stars all the way. That said, I'm as frustrated as everyone else, and am impatiently awaiting the release of the original lps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EXPECTING TOO MUCH?, April 11 2000
By 
peterC (Sydney, NSW Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I purchased this CD with great expectations. Not because of the musical content (I already knew how good that is), but because of the prospect of sparkling sound quality. I am a devotee of Rhino Records and the skills of Bill Inglot, however the sound quality of the Rhino compilation was a big let down when that set was first released. So the prospect of "remastered for the first time from the long lost first generation master tapes" was very exciting. I have spent the last few hours comparing the new release with the Rhino set and I regret to say that if these are first generation master tapes then, unless they have deteriorated over the years, the original sound engineer in the studio when these recordings were made should be out of a job! Sure, these are old recordings but I have plenty of other CD remastered from tapes made in the 50's or 60's where the sound is absolutely stunning. Maybe the Spoonful were recording on a shoestring budget. Who knows. The sound is not stunning and is possibly slightly improved over the Rhino set. Sure original tapes may have been found in the interim but they don't seem to have made much difference. Furthermore I have little doubt that not ALL of the long lost tapes have been found. Some of the later tracks on the set could not possibly have come from original masters. So, 5 stars for the music, 4 stars for the sound, 0 stars for the statements on the back cover(re master tapes AND that Erik Jacobsen produced all the tracks).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thank You Buddha Records!, March 20 2000
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Wow! I almost didn't buy this collection after reading other amazon reviews and how similar it was to the Rhino CD, but boy good thing I did. First off, this compilation is not only cheaper than than the Rhino package, but sound wise it blows the doors off the Rhino package. Did Rhino take their compilation from old records? This thing sounds amazing, I don't know any other way to describe it. The package says it was taken from the original master tapes for the 1st time and boy does it show. I can't say enough about the sound because being a long time fan, I have always been dissapointed with the way that their CD's have sounded. Great liner notes from Ben Edmonds of Cream & Mojo magazine with lots of information I never knew. I hope Mojo has a big feature planned soon. As far as the tracks go, yeah it's the best of the Lovin Spoonful what more could you want? Don't be fooled friends, this is the must own Spoonful package! Let's hope Buddha reissues the entire LS catalog this way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Didn't Rhino Do This Same Collection 10 Years Ago?, March 11 2000
By 
Steve Vrana (Aurora, NE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
It's official. The Lovin' Spoonful were inducted into the Rock 'n' Roll Hall of Fame as part of the Class of 2000. And What does Buddah do to celebrate the label's most successful act? It clones the Rhino Anthology that's been available for the last ten years! Granted, Buddah claims these songs are recorded from first-generation masters, but the difference in sound quality is negligible.
Both anthologies contain 26 songs. So what's the difference? Very little. Twenty-three songs are duplicated on Greatest Hits. Where Anthology includes "Good Time Music" (from an Elektra sampler before the Spoonful recorded their first album), "Fishin' Blues" and "Me About You" (from the Joe Butler-led Spoonful--and their final chart single at No. 91), Greatest Hits offers instead "Wild About My Lovin'," "On the Road Again" and "Darlin' Companion." The differences between the two releases make Greatest Hits virtually unnecessary if you already own Anthology. Sure there are new liner notes, and some terrific photos from Henry Diltz, whose work has graced many of the Spoonful's original albums. But is that enough? I don't think so. This should have been a 2-CD set. And if it couldn't have included any previoulsy unreleased material, it could have offered some live versions from the band's mid-Sixties prime. At the very least, a two-disc set would have been more comprehensive and more valuable to die-hard fans. We can only hope that Buddah will see fit to release the Spoonful's entire catalog either as two-fers or loaded with bonus cuts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Greatest Hits
Greatest Hits by The Lovin' Spoonful (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews