march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage SmartSaver Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis sports Tools Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars213
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$14.44+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 12, 2002
Revinventing the Steele is an above average album that slams with brutal guitar riffis, screaming vocals, and pounding double bass. What is wrong, is that this is all that can be said about the album. Pantera, alone, kept metal alive during the grunge era and put on one of the most intense shows known to mankind. It is unfortanety that they have been in decline, and I feel the end is coming. Reinventing rocks, but it has many flaws. Instead of creating great songs, Reinventing sounds like riffs that have been spliced together and turned into songs. It sounds that Dimebag recorded a bunch of riffs on a four track over the years and then pieced together the parts in a week. Dime's playing has not improved and almost sounds like a bad parody of himself in some points. If he can't figure out what to do with a riff, he puts in a crazy squeal or slide. This formula worked well on Far Beyond, but does not pull off well on this album. It sounds unfocused. Phil needs to start SINGING again. Now that everybody is ripping off Pantera, it is hard for them to seperate themselves from the rest. They need to focus, and work on writing good songs, as on Vulger, not just riffs and yelling. I do not think they are focusing though. When Pantera first put out Cowboys and Vulger, Phil was so animated and excited about the band. Now he can barely string two sentances together. Over the last three or so years, Pantera have been doing too many warm up ozzfest type shows. The last couple of times I saw them, they were almost too drunk to play. This is not the mighty machine is saw in 92 and 94. I love Pantera, but they need to take a short break, get some sleep, and need to put out an album, soon. Four years was way too long for this album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2001
Pantera has cranked out a steady stream of thrash metal classics, culminating IMO with Far Beyond Driven, on which Dime's riffing and soloing touched the boundary between metal and noise terror. Recent releases have been somewhat inconsistent, and I agree with some reviewers that the band may be suffering from a lack of focus in the studio. Reinventing the Steel displays some touches of vintage Pantera but it's clearly not the caliber of the first 4 albums.
However, when I caught the band live earlier this year I was struck by how much better the songs from the album sound when performed live. The title track and "Revolution" were as hard and infectious as anything they've ever done, and the band played with ferocious energy (as they always do).
While I think it's far too early to write off the band, it will be interesting to see how they fare on their upcoming release and if they brought in outside help to provide perspective. Regardless, Pantera remains one of the top live acts in metal and I have faith that they'll step up and deliver the goods.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2001
Lets face it...Pantera's music has never carried a deep message and there music sounds more or less the same from one track to the next. Even with that in mind, I can't say enough about these guys. In this age when most metal acts attempt to do the whole rap-metal thing, these guys remain one of the only true metal bands that refuse to sell out. Also, they don't use their loud music to cover up weak musicainship. Philip Anselmo is probably the best singer when it comes to this kind of music. His voice is loud and rough, but not to the point where you can't even tell what he's saying. Dimebag Darrel is an excellant guitarist. Rex Brown's pounding bass lines fit the music perfectly. And of course, there's Vinnie Paul, who remains the best metal drummer that still sounds like he's in his prime. His rapid, non stop assault makes him one of the few drummers that still has a signature style. As for the album, it is awsome. The whole thing is perhaps one of the purest examples of Pantera's audio assault. Every track is unrelentingly fast and ferocious. The band's over-the-top lyrics are better then ever too. (esp. "Goddamn Electric") If you want to get started with Pantera, you really can't go wrong with any of the band's albums. Still, this is an awsome edition to their catalog. Also, you should check out their live album. I was fortunate enough to see them on tour last July and they were unbelievable. The live album does a fine job of capturing the bands ferocious performances. If you like hard music, you need to own at least one of the bands albums. Or if you think Slipknot or Limp Bizkit are great bands, you should pick this up for an education in real rock-n-roll. To see modern hardcore rock in it's purest form, there is no other option besides Pantera.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 18, 2001
When I first heard this I thought it was great. It sounded amazing, the guitars, the bass, the drums, the vocals, everything! I rushed to the nearest metal mag and was shocked to see a mere 3 star review. However, after owning this album for about half a year and now that I own the other Pantera albums, I would say that the reviewer got it spot on - closing his review with "Steel, yes, but Reinventing? Maybe not."
Don't get me wrong, this isn't a bad album by any means. I'm a big Pantera fan, but whereas the other Pantera albums live in my Hi-Fi (apart from The Great Southern Trendkill, another album which only gets 3 stars) this sits in my CD rack collecting dust. The only song on this album which is as good as anything from the Vulgar Display Of Power album is Revolution Is My Name. The others are good, but lack that minute detail that older songs had which made them good.
I'm glad that Pantera have progressed, even if it is only a little bit (this sounds very different from Cowboys From Hell, their 1990 debut) and in terms of music, this is a lot better than most of what is out there. When you first hear this you will think it's great, but it won't keep you listening to it over and over again. I hate to say it but this just isn't as good as their older stuff.
But bear this in mind: Pantera's music is worth a lot more than most bands' diamonds.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2000
OH.....MY....GOD! This is the 2nd best pantera cd. Ever. Period. Unlike Metallica, who got softer, Pantera have only gone even more heavier than before. Phil doesn't even sing on this album...he just screams and shouts like he is the king vocalist of heavy metal that he rightfully is. Although not as extreme as far beyond driven or the great southern trendkill, this cd is heavier because the riffs are thicker and sludgier than normal. Like far beyond driven, dimebag concentrates on riffs rather than solos for this album but there are still plenty of solos to keep you mind at amazement.
The most noticable thing about this album is rex. He sounds really good, you can actually hear him now. A lot of rex's brightest moments are on this cd. There isn't a lot of double layering on this album (like on trendkill) so it's up to rex to keep the heavy sound going
I think the best thing about this album is vinnie's excellent drumming. He always been more of a "real" drummer than a meatal drummer, choosing substance and style over mile a minute poudning. and his style is best showed cased here, some of his most techincal drumming.
This is produced very well. This is, without a doubt, the loudest cd i own. It's so loud that i have to turn the volume down, lol. seriously.
My second favorite pantera album. bye :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2000
I am a huge Panter fan and have been waiting eagerly for their new release. This more than meets my expectations. Phil's voice has never sounded better, as on this cd he is slightly more melodic but maintains that snarled edge. Vinny's effort was a little dissapointing, but the awe inspiring drumming on "trendkill" makes a tough act to follow. Don't get me wrong, he can still blast most drummers out the door. Another thing i noticed is that the bass wasn't as "buried" as on trendkill. in this and far beyond driven the bass adds to the sound and can actually be heard, rather than just providing the low end. Rex is good, he deserves that. Last but not least, the almighty Dimebag Darrel! He is my guitar hero, plain and simple. In addition to the mind crunching riffs at insane speeds, he shows off his dazzling array of skills including whammy bar technique that can hold with Steve Vai, crazy pinch harmonics, and that killer harmonizer effect he uses. Just because heavy metal isn't in the spotlight doesn't keep pantera from being one of the best bands around, and Dime needs waaaaaay more respect. I missed the tripped out stuff that was on their last two cd's (10's, flood, suicide note pt 1, planet caravan) but this is definitly not the same pantera that played glam in the late 80's. They manage to keep their integrity yet still mature musically. My hat is off to you boys!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2000
Reinventing thier own metallic onslaught, the titans of the modern American metal return after four years of near silence with the new slab of southern inspired angst that does more than proclaim that the trend is dead. This time the quartet prove it beyond a shadow of a doubt. Pantera are back in full force with pure metal running like a double shot of adrenaline through their viens. The patented whiskey fueled guitar squeals, pounding double-bass authority and gritty smoke filled lungs are only the beginning of the power that fuels the beast. Add back in the classic hooks and scream along, fist-in-the-air chorus' that made VDP and FBD instant classics as well as fuller, thicker production and sonic approach and the moster has still only begun to have risen. It is not as if anyone expected anything less after a decade of dominace. What makes RTS special to fans of heavy music is the groups continued inability to do anything other than what they do best. Led by the always outspoken Phil Anselmo, Pantera once again unleash unbridaled aggression with an unadultered delivery for over an hour straight of straight-up adrenaline shots. While not necessarily the most musically complex of bands, the emotional strain and pure aural assault generated by Pantera are guanenteed to bleed the earlobes of the week and send legons of immitators running cover. It is all about well crafted, stomp-along riffs and songs you want to sweat to in a mosh pit to again and again and again with your fist in the air, metal horns held high, screaming out the words until well beyond larengitis kicking in and every last bit of anger has escaped. Reinvent your addiction for heavy music with the thundering dominance of Pantera as they stake their claim to the top the the metallic pile and join the legons who have alread grasped the proclimation that the trend really is dead and the titan of heavy metal is alive and well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2000
First of all, I don't see how anybody can say that this band is on a decline... I have been listening to this band for nearly their entire career, and I truly believe that this album is full of focused energy, monster riffs, and that same boot to the face attitude that Pantera fans like myself know and love. While it is true that Dime doesn't pull as many mind blowing solos, his sheer use of the guitar for sonic textures and thick juicy riffs absolutely cannot go without being commended. Rex is slamming away as usual, and feels tigher than ever with Vinnie's complex, always-on-the-beat drum fills. And Phil... he just keeps getting better. It's nice to hear him skillfully mixing his gut-wrenching screams with some singing... it makes the album a great listen for all metal fans. All in all, this BAND grooves, this ALBUM grooves, and I conclude saying it's their most focused, satisfying effort since Vulgar Display of Power. Way to go guys... HELLBOUND IN FT. WORTH TEXAS BABY!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2000
Do not buy this album if you like singing, Buy this album if you like METAL. Phill Anselmo is imnsho the Best -Metal- singer to have ever lived, his "screaming" is what Heavy Metal is about, not "wha whas" like Hetfield loves so much nowadays. If you want to hear someone wax lovingly on the scent of tree bark, buy a Kenny G album, not Pantera ahaha. Yes, Darrel Owns on the axe as usuall, but thats far from the last thing this album has to offer. The drumming and bass lines are also as bruttal, maybe more so than ever before, as I doubt anyone could argue. All this said, I did give the album a 4star rating for a few small reasons. Even tho the album rocks hard, I was expecting it to be maybe tinged, slightly, with a new sound that could be showed off; I mean after 4 years? Also this is the First Pantera albumb with Phill on vocals that has shipped with under 11 songs. I think 11 should be the minimum altho I see Alot of metal albums ship with 10 nowadays, 10 songs is just to short. Another small thing is theres not 1 song that could be considered "slower" not Slow, but just "slower", I mean TGSTK had 10's and Flood, one of personal favs, and they managed quite nicely to add that extra something ya know. Enough complaining. If your a Metal fan and dont buy this album you need strapped to a tree and publicly beaten. "Blues Influences" ahaha, uhh yeah, if u want that Phill is part of a nice little side band called "Down" that I sometimes listen to that is quite "bluesy" even tho Im not a big Blues fan. Pantera is Metal, Not Blues, and the only influence from this album I miss is the extremly heavy and fast nature of say "Hell's Wrath" or "Slaughtered".
One other thing, if your tired of all the cheessy rapcore/rapcore clone bands out there now trying to pass as "metal", welcome home:) RTS is what real metal is all about.
::One hand on the bottle, the other a shaking Fist::
Pantera Is Metal, and they own my everlasting Soul.
slaybak
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2000
If you're one of those reviewers that don't like this album for some reason, I urge you to go back and listen to it a few times. It is really quite an amazing CD. I liked it a lot the first time I heard it, and now, after repeated listenings, I love it. Pantera does not falter here at all. In fact, they sound better than ever.
For starters, "Steel" contains two of Pantera's best songs ever: "We'll grind that axe for a long time" and "I'll cast a shadow." I think these songs hold their own with classics such as "5 minutes alone" and "Drag the waters." But that's just the beginning. Every song here rocks. There is not one clinker. "Uplift" kicks my a## every time. "Death rattle" actually scares me, it's so brutal. "You've got to belong to it" is ferocious. I could say the same for every track here, but you get the point. This album doesn't compromise, doesn't cop out, doesn't go soft. It'll smash your face in.
Leave it to Pantera, the hardest band on the planet, to give hard rock fans something to cheer about for once.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items