countdown boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout Home All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
213
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$11.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 12, 2002
Revinventing the Steele is an above average album that slams with brutal guitar riffis, screaming vocals, and pounding double bass. What is wrong, is that this is all that can be said about the album. Pantera, alone, kept metal alive during the grunge era and put on one of the most intense shows known to mankind. It is unfortanety that they have been in decline, and I feel the end is coming. Reinventing rocks, but it has many flaws. Instead of creating great songs, Reinventing sounds like riffs that have been spliced together and turned into songs. It sounds that Dimebag recorded a bunch of riffs on a four track over the years and then pieced together the parts in a week. Dime's playing has not improved and almost sounds like a bad parody of himself in some points. If he can't figure out what to do with a riff, he puts in a crazy squeal or slide. This formula worked well on Far Beyond, but does not pull off well on this album. It sounds unfocused. Phil needs to start SINGING again. Now that everybody is ripping off Pantera, it is hard for them to seperate themselves from the rest. They need to focus, and work on writing good songs, as on Vulger, not just riffs and yelling. I do not think they are focusing though. When Pantera first put out Cowboys and Vulger, Phil was so animated and excited about the band. Now he can barely string two sentances together. Over the last three or so years, Pantera have been doing too many warm up ozzfest type shows. The last couple of times I saw them, they were almost too drunk to play. This is not the mighty machine is saw in 92 and 94. I love Pantera, but they need to take a short break, get some sleep, and need to put out an album, soon. Four years was way too long for this album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2001
Pantera has cranked out a steady stream of thrash metal classics, culminating IMO with Far Beyond Driven, on which Dime's riffing and soloing touched the boundary between metal and noise terror. Recent releases have been somewhat inconsistent, and I agree with some reviewers that the band may be suffering from a lack of focus in the studio. Reinventing the Steel displays some touches of vintage Pantera but it's clearly not the caliber of the first 4 albums.
However, when I caught the band live earlier this year I was struck by how much better the songs from the album sound when performed live. The title track and "Revolution" were as hard and infectious as anything they've ever done, and the band played with ferocious energy (as they always do).
While I think it's far too early to write off the band, it will be interesting to see how they fare on their upcoming release and if they brought in outside help to provide perspective. Regardless, Pantera remains one of the top live acts in metal and I have faith that they'll step up and deliver the goods.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2001
Lets face it...Pantera's music has never carried a deep message and there music sounds more or less the same from one track to the next. Even with that in mind, I can't say enough about these guys. In this age when most metal acts attempt to do the whole rap-metal thing, these guys remain one of the only true metal bands that refuse to sell out. Also, they don't use their loud music to cover up weak musicainship. Philip Anselmo is probably the best singer when it comes to this kind of music. His voice is loud and rough, but not to the point where you can't even tell what he's saying. Dimebag Darrel is an excellant guitarist. Rex Brown's pounding bass lines fit the music perfectly. And of course, there's Vinnie Paul, who remains the best metal drummer that still sounds like he's in his prime. His rapid, non stop assault makes him one of the few drummers that still has a signature style. As for the album, it is awsome. The whole thing is perhaps one of the purest examples of Pantera's audio assault. Every track is unrelentingly fast and ferocious. The band's over-the-top lyrics are better then ever too. (esp. "Goddamn Electric") If you want to get started with Pantera, you really can't go wrong with any of the band's albums. Still, this is an awsome edition to their catalog. Also, you should check out their live album. I was fortunate enough to see them on tour last July and they were unbelievable. The live album does a fine job of capturing the bands ferocious performances. If you like hard music, you need to own at least one of the bands albums. Or if you think Slipknot or Limp Bizkit are great bands, you should pick this up for an education in real rock-n-roll. To see modern hardcore rock in it's purest form, there is no other option besides Pantera.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2000
Reinventing thier own metallic onslaught, the titans of the modern American metal return after four years of near silence with the new slab of southern inspired angst that does more than proclaim that the trend is dead. This time the quartet prove it beyond a shadow of a doubt. Pantera are back in full force with pure metal running like a double shot of adrenaline through their viens. The patented whiskey fueled guitar squeals, pounding double-bass authority and gritty smoke filled lungs are only the beginning of the power that fuels the beast. Add back in the classic hooks and scream along, fist-in-the-air chorus' that made VDP and FBD instant classics as well as fuller, thicker production and sonic approach and the moster has still only begun to have risen. It is not as if anyone expected anything less after a decade of dominace. What makes RTS special to fans of heavy music is the groups continued inability to do anything other than what they do best. Led by the always outspoken Phil Anselmo, Pantera once again unleash unbridaled aggression with an unadultered delivery for over an hour straight of straight-up adrenaline shots. While not necessarily the most musically complex of bands, the emotional strain and pure aural assault generated by Pantera are guanenteed to bleed the earlobes of the week and send legons of immitators running cover. It is all about well crafted, stomp-along riffs and songs you want to sweat to in a mosh pit to again and again and again with your fist in the air, metal horns held high, screaming out the words until well beyond larengitis kicking in and every last bit of anger has escaped. Reinvent your addiction for heavy music with the thundering dominance of Pantera as they stake their claim to the top the the metallic pile and join the legons who have alread grasped the proclimation that the trend really is dead and the titan of heavy metal is alive and well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2000
First of all, I don't see how anybody can say that this band is on a decline... I have been listening to this band for nearly their entire career, and I truly believe that this album is full of focused energy, monster riffs, and that same boot to the face attitude that Pantera fans like myself know and love. While it is true that Dime doesn't pull as many mind blowing solos, his sheer use of the guitar for sonic textures and thick juicy riffs absolutely cannot go without being commended. Rex is slamming away as usual, and feels tigher than ever with Vinnie's complex, always-on-the-beat drum fills. And Phil... he just keeps getting better. It's nice to hear him skillfully mixing his gut-wrenching screams with some singing... it makes the album a great listen for all metal fans. All in all, this BAND grooves, this ALBUM grooves, and I conclude saying it's their most focused, satisfying effort since Vulgar Display of Power. Way to go guys... HELLBOUND IN FT. WORTH TEXAS BABY!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2000
Do not buy this album if you like singing, Buy this album if you like METAL. Phill Anselmo is imnsho the Best -Metal- singer to have ever lived, his "screaming" is what Heavy Metal is about, not "wha whas" like Hetfield loves so much nowadays. If you want to hear someone wax lovingly on the scent of tree bark, buy a Kenny G album, not Pantera ahaha. Yes, Darrel Owns on the axe as usuall, but thats far from the last thing this album has to offer. The drumming and bass lines are also as bruttal, maybe more so than ever before, as I doubt anyone could argue. All this said, I did give the album a 4star rating for a few small reasons. Even tho the album rocks hard, I was expecting it to be maybe tinged, slightly, with a new sound that could be showed off; I mean after 4 years? Also this is the First Pantera albumb with Phill on vocals that has shipped with under 11 songs. I think 11 should be the minimum altho I see Alot of metal albums ship with 10 nowadays, 10 songs is just to short. Another small thing is theres not 1 song that could be considered "slower" not Slow, but just "slower", I mean TGSTK had 10's and Flood, one of personal favs, and they managed quite nicely to add that extra something ya know. Enough complaining. If your a Metal fan and dont buy this album you need strapped to a tree and publicly beaten. "Blues Influences" ahaha, uhh yeah, if u want that Phill is part of a nice little side band called "Down" that I sometimes listen to that is quite "bluesy" even tho Im not a big Blues fan. Pantera is Metal, Not Blues, and the only influence from this album I miss is the extremly heavy and fast nature of say "Hell's Wrath" or "Slaughtered".
One other thing, if your tired of all the cheessy rapcore/rapcore clone bands out there now trying to pass as "metal", welcome home:) RTS is what real metal is all about.
::One hand on the bottle, the other a shaking Fist::
Pantera Is Metal, and they own my everlasting Soul.
slaybak
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2000
If you're one of those reviewers that don't like this album for some reason, I urge you to go back and listen to it a few times. It is really quite an amazing CD. I liked it a lot the first time I heard it, and now, after repeated listenings, I love it. Pantera does not falter here at all. In fact, they sound better than ever.
For starters, "Steel" contains two of Pantera's best songs ever: "We'll grind that axe for a long time" and "I'll cast a shadow." I think these songs hold their own with classics such as "5 minutes alone" and "Drag the waters." But that's just the beginning. Every song here rocks. There is not one clinker. "Uplift" kicks my a## every time. "Death rattle" actually scares me, it's so brutal. "You've got to belong to it" is ferocious. I could say the same for every track here, but you get the point. This album doesn't compromise, doesn't cop out, doesn't go soft. It'll smash your face in.
Leave it to Pantera, the hardest band on the planet, to give hard rock fans something to cheer about for once.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2000
The first thing I have to say is that I'm sick of hearing all the so called music experts telling me that Hard Rock is dead. If it is, then why are new bands such as Static-X, Godsmack, System of a Down, and Slipknot doing so well? Why then did this album debut at #4 with little mainstream media support? Maybe it's because this is one of the best Pantera albums yet. I'm so glad that they chose to stay true to what they are and not cut their hair and play wimpy songs like Metallica did because they feared they were out of style. When I heard this album for the first time I got so into it I found myself trying to rip the steering wheel off the column in my car. The songs Revolution is my Name, Yesterday Don't mean shit, and Goddamn Electric show that Pantera will not be selling out anytime soon. I don't care if it's not fashionable to say this, and I hate fact that many of my friends listen to whatever music they think will get them laid, but this album rocks. And I'm not changing my opinion to conform to some lame trend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2000
Well, folks, Pantera is back, and while their music won't break any new ground...it just might break your face. What has set Pantera apart from other metal bands since the early 90s has been their innate knack for the groove- they temporary lost it on an acceptable, but less-than-stellar Great Southern Trendkill, but fear not...it is back. Reinventing the Steel is one big slab of heavy, chunky groove. Some of these songs bury themselves in your head. I spent most of today with the riff of "Yesterday Don't Mean Sh*t" in my brain and I can't wait to get home and crank it up. Production is adequate, if not excellent. Even at a minimal volume level, the power and aggressiveness can be felt, but don't let that deter you from cranking this CD to 11. Pantera claims to kill the trend and reinvent the steel. Thankfully, they've done neither. All they've done is put out the very best metal music around for the last decade, and I, for one, hope they stick to the same formula for the next one. Rock on, metalheads, this is the fix you've been craving for four long years. Peace.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2000
pantera fans. say goodbye to all the former pantera fans who jumped off the bandwagon for "heavy" bands like korn and limp bizkit. we didnt need or even want you people listening to pantera in the first place. although this album is not as heavy as driven, it still has the intensity that pantera is second to none in bringing out as a band. a good suggestion is to listen to this album drunk. but for the review part. THIS NEW PANTERA ALBUM ROCKS! pantera has been around for awhile, and instead of taking the metallica, once was heavy, now sounds like classic rock route, pantera has chosen to keep it as heavy as ever. for no radio play, no MTV videos, pantera still stays on top of their game. this album is a step above the great southern trendkill in intensity. pantera will never make another far beyond driven or VDOPower, but they still kick some ass. and to all you people who are trying to hate this album, if you heard any of the songs from this new album coming on the radio station or MTV right after korn or limp bizkit, would you still be damning this album, or would you be sucking up to the popular hit singles like you fools always do. to sum this up: PANTERA....STILL STRONGER THAN ALL!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse