Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bach and Argerich., March 25 2003
This review is from: J.S. Bach's Toccata 911/Parita 826 & the English Suite 807 (Audio CD)
Martha Argerich combines the technnical precision that is demanded by Bach with poetic sensitivity. How she does it is beyond me. She is surely one of the all time greats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most extraordinary classical recordings ever, Nov. 8 2002
This review is from: J.S. Bach's Toccata 911/Parita 826 & the English Suite 807 (Audio CD)
I first heard this recording over twenty years ago in a small, dusty apartment in Tel Aviv. As a serious piano student, I was accomplished in playing Bach's Well-Tempered Clavier. In fact, Glenn Gould's piano rendition of Book One was the first album I ever purchased. I was familiar with Gould's Bach interpretation, and when my Israeli friend heard my praise, he went to his cupboard and produced this recording. "You've never heard Bach played like this," he said, smiling wistfully. He played the LP and the room was suddenly alive with the internal joy and rhythmic nuance that only the best Bach performers can capture. Over the years, I have returned to this recording for creative inspiration as it sounds as fresh and vital on the thousandth hearing as the first. There is intelligence, wonder and extraordinary musicality in Argerich's technique inspired by the composer's crafty genius. She is a wonder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Argerich and Bach, Aug. 3 2002
By 
samir nikocevic (old saybrook, CT United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: J.S. Bach's Toccata 911/Parita 826 & the English Suite 807 (Audio CD)
This is the best Bach on the piano ever recorded in studio.
Argerich is probably most famous as a virtuoso in the great romantic tradition but this single Bach disc represents her universal talent.Artisticly comparable with Gould,but with more natural control of rubato,more briliance and the most impoartant more human caracter in music.ON this recording every frase comes and goes natural in the same time with great control of sound, colour and touch. Everything on this CD is beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This recording has a lot to say about Bach on the piano., July 8 2002
By 
Craig Matteson (Saline, MI) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: J.S. Bach's Toccata 911/Parita 826 & the English Suite 807 (Audio CD)
Argerich is, of course, a genius. While these pieces are not the most technically demanding works she could have recorded (I believe there is NOTHING beyond her), she certainly provides briliant, thoughtful, and pleasing performances of these three works.
Everything seems perfectly and purposefully played while seeming spontaneous as well. This is not an easy feat. Her playing always seems urgent and fresh.
I hate to pick favorite tracks, but 1, 5, 6, 7, & 12 really stand out for me. However, if you think others are better I certainly wouldn't argue against you. Everything here is wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of three essential Bach recordings., July 31 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: J.S. Bach's Toccata 911/Parita 826 & the English Suite 807 (Audio CD)
This CD along with Maria Pires plays Bach on DG label 1995, and Gould's 1955 Bach recording are the three best Bach CD's available for solo piano. Argerich's 1980 Bach album has been remastered and sounds great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Remarkable little recording, March 26 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: J.S. Bach's Toccata 911/Parita 826 & the English Suite 807 (Audio CD)
For someone who does so well with Romantic piano works, it is astounding how well Argerich handles Bach in this recording. With such popular Bach pieces, any performer would face established Bach keyboardists who have nearly defined these works--the famous trio of Gould, Landowska, and Tureck always come up. But Argerich is radiant in her orchestra-like handling of the works. The Toccata in C minor awakens with a mordent, like a clarion call. She takes us through it with a breathless, moving slow section. The fugue is handled in a dance-like fashion, passing through the impetuous lines of triplets, and the double-fugue that follows is rich in tone color. Her dynamic sensitivity offers an extra device for tension when sequencing and modulating. The second Partita and second English Suite, likewise, are both clear in texture, phrasing, and articulation--from the introspective Sinfonia of the partita to the frenzy Bouree of the English suite, and ending in the stately gigue. This recording is full of life wealth for the ears.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's Great!, Jan. 24 2001
By 
compassrose (Honolulu, Hawaii) - See all my reviews
This review is from: J.S. Bach's Toccata 911/Parita 826 & the English Suite 807 (Audio CD)
I love this CD. It is moving and expansive. If you like Bach, I don't think you can go wrong with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Clear, Clean Bach, Nov. 9 2000
By 
Ted Ficklen (Saint Louis, MO USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: J.S. Bach's Toccata 911/Parita 826 & the English Suite 807 (Audio CD)
The best way I can describe this performance is that Argerich plays like Glenn Gould, but without his background humming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars in response to the previous reviewer, Aug. 11 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: J.S. Bach's Toccata 911/Parita 826 & the English Suite 807 (Audio CD)
I can't be so sure if Argerich's playing is really less clean than Tureck's although I think that Wanda Landowska (another woman!) could play cleaner than both, but Landowska played the harpsichord! Anyway, all of these 3 women are great in Bach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A womens contest, Aug. 5 2000
This review is from: J.S. Bach's Toccata 911/Parita 826 & the English Suite 807 (Audio CD)
Very little can be said on the performance after the previous reviews.
Bach, that composed for God, seems to be in better hands with women. Regardless of the hundreds of performances available, Argerich with Rosalyn Tureck stand out. Both are the best and the only difference is that Tureck playing is cleaner.
Buy this albun and the Goldber Variations with Tureck, and then you will be in Bach's heaven
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews