march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage snsflyout Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars16
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
15
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$15.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 30, 2016
Martha Argerich est une interprète hors de l'ordinaire et elle excelle dans ce CD de Bach.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2003
Martha Argerich combines the technnical precision that is demanded by Bach with poetic sensitivity. How she does it is beyond me. She is surely one of the all time greats.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2002
I first heard this recording over twenty years ago in a small, dusty apartment in Tel Aviv. As a serious piano student, I was accomplished in playing Bach's Well-Tempered Clavier. In fact, Glenn Gould's piano rendition of Book One was the first album I ever purchased. I was familiar with Gould's Bach interpretation, and when my Israeli friend heard my praise, he went to his cupboard and produced this recording. "You've never heard Bach played like this," he said, smiling wistfully. He played the LP and the room was suddenly alive with the internal joy and rhythmic nuance that only the best Bach performers can capture. Over the years, I have returned to this recording for creative inspiration as it sounds as fresh and vital on the thousandth hearing as the first. There is intelligence, wonder and extraordinary musicality in Argerich's technique inspired by the composer's crafty genius. She is a wonder.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2002
This is the best Bach on the piano ever recorded in studio.
Argerich is probably most famous as a virtuoso in the great romantic tradition but this single Bach disc represents her universal talent.Artisticly comparable with Gould,but with more natural control of rubato,more briliance and the most impoartant more human caracter in music.ON this recording every frase comes and goes natural in the same time with great control of sound, colour and touch. Everything on this CD is beautiful.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2002
Argerich is, of course, a genius. While these pieces are not the most technically demanding works she could have recorded (I believe there is NOTHING beyond her), she certainly provides briliant, thoughtful, and pleasing performances of these three works.
Everything seems perfectly and purposefully played while seeming spontaneous as well. This is not an easy feat. Her playing always seems urgent and fresh.
I hate to pick favorite tracks, but 1, 5, 6, 7, & 12 really stand out for me. However, if you think others are better I certainly wouldn't argue against you. Everything here is wonderful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2001
This CD along with Maria Pires plays Bach on DG label 1995, and Gould's 1955 Bach recording are the three best Bach CD's available for solo piano. Argerich's 1980 Bach album has been remastered and sounds great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2001
For someone who does so well with Romantic piano works, it is astounding how well Argerich handles Bach in this recording. With such popular Bach pieces, any performer would face established Bach keyboardists who have nearly defined these works--the famous trio of Gould, Landowska, and Tureck always come up. But Argerich is radiant in her orchestra-like handling of the works. The Toccata in C minor awakens with a mordent, like a clarion call. She takes us through it with a breathless, moving slow section. The fugue is handled in a dance-like fashion, passing through the impetuous lines of triplets, and the double-fugue that follows is rich in tone color. Her dynamic sensitivity offers an extra device for tension when sequencing and modulating. The second Partita and second English Suite, likewise, are both clear in texture, phrasing, and articulation--from the introspective Sinfonia of the partita to the frenzy Bouree of the English suite, and ending in the stately gigue. This recording is full of life wealth for the ears.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2001
I love this CD. It is moving and expansive. If you like Bach, I don't think you can go wrong with this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2000
The best way I can describe this performance is that Argerich plays like Glenn Gould, but without his background humming.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2000
I can't be so sure if Argerich's playing is really less clean than Tureck's although I think that Wanda Landowska (another woman!) could play cleaner than both, but Landowska played the harpsichord! Anyway, all of these 3 women are great in Bach.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse