Customer Reviews


276 Reviews
5 star:
 (112)
4 star:
 (66)
3 star:
 (42)
2 star:
 (32)
1 star:
 (24)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whitney Houston: The Greatest Hits...The Best Greatest Hits So Far!
Whitney Houston has suddenly passed away at the tender age of 48. She has led a tumultuous life, with drug abuse, resulting in the ultimate sacrifice: the loss of her golden voice and her life. According to Tommy Mottola, the boss at Sony, he rightly said that Whitney Houston's voice at the beginning of her career was considered the golden standard, to be imitated by...
Published on Feb. 12 2012 by Dr. Joseph Lee

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 1st disc - great, 2nd disc - forget it
I give the first disc 5 stars - all her great ballads, which is what she is truly famous for. I give the second disc 2 stars - the new material is nice, some of the mixes are nice, but ultimately a waste of time. The second disc should have been a remix album released seperately from this package. Instead the second disc should have been the original versions of these...
Published on Jan. 20 2004 by Jake Z


‹ Previous | 127 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars perpect, the greatest album, May 16 2000
By 
kim hyun min (Busan, Kyung Nam Korea (South)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
my name is you jong woo. i'm korean. many korean loves her. i like whitney's voice. it's miracle. she's all over me. the greatest hits and me, we could be in love. one disk is very very perpect love ballard. and She's also showcased as the remixee of choice for DJs on the second disc. she is top vocallist. i wll always whitney. whitney is diva. diva forever. whitney forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars boring non exciting and disappointing, May 16 2000
By 
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
i expected one cd with hits, another with great remixes. what a disappointment ! first cd is okay with hits, but not all and it features also forgotten songs that aren't really hits ! then second cd is a totally disapointing one ! the remixes are short versions ! what can u expect when it fades at the right time ? then, the original versions of hits remixed are not there.... no original version of queen of the night, always better than this foolish shorten remix. indeed, a bad point for this cd. could have been great like this : 2 cds of greatest hits and 2 cs of long versions of remixes !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every penny, every second, May 16 2000
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Whitney Houston is one of the key reasons I fell in love with music. I have loved her music ever since "The Greatest Love of All." And despite her recent personal turmoil (and several cancelled concerts over the years in my home town), I still hold Whitney Houston in the highest regard. This Greatest Hits compilation is great, whether you are a long-time or a new fan, whether you have all her CDs or own none, whether you love Whitney herself or whether you simply love that beautiful, soulful, and inspirational message that music can generate. Greatest Hits is a fantastic piece of music history that is a pleasure to own and enjoy.
This is a 2 CD set, which is easy to fathom given Whintey's success over the past almost 20 years. The first CD is entitled "Cool Down," which is appropriate given it features Whitney's slower power ballads, putting you in a calm, mellow, inspired place. While most of the songs are known to us all, of special note are the duets. "If You Say My Eyes Are Beautiful," a duet with Jermaine Jackson, is a rare, beautiful, and wondrous gem. "Same Script, Different Cast" is a beautiful and haunting ballad featuring Deborah Cox. And Diane Warren produces another anthemic ballad masterpiece with "Could I Have This Kiss Forever" featuring Enrique Iglesias. While there are bound to be some omissions, most notably missing on this CD is "When You Believe," Whitney's duet with Mariah Carey that garnered and Oscar nomination.
The second CD, entitled "Throw Down," is meant to put you uncontrollably onto the dance floor. This CD is especially unique for offering rare items that the average listener would not typically hear. "Fine" and "If I Told You That" are two new songs that are potential dance floor smashes. If you've listened to top 40 radio at all in the past year, you will be very familiar with the Thunderpuss Mix of "It's Not Right But It's Okay" and the Jonathan Peters Mix of "My Love is Your Love." Most of the rest of the mixes I could do without - I tend to prefer the originals. However, oddly, the remix of "Greatest Love of All" is an exception. This mix is executed beautifully, maintaining the power and beauty of the original, but it enables you to interpret the way you are emotionally moved into physical movement. While not dance tunes, the last two songs still "Throw Down" in that they are hugely inspirational and make a most fantastic conclusion to this set. "One Moment in Time" is Whitney's anthemic contribution to the 1988 Summer Olympics and is an uplifting, inspirational piece. And if you missed Whitney's 1991 performance of "The Star Spangled Banner" at the Super Bowl, here is your chance to hear and relive this masterpiece (for me, this song by itself is worth the price of the CD).
This CD is worth buying on a number of different levels. If you are a fan of Whintey's ballads but never purchased her CDs, this is a great way to obtain those ballads in one simple place. If you love to dance and love having unique mixes over the originals, the second CD in this set is surely for you. And for those of you, like me, who have Whintey's CDs but still went, "Oh my god! If You Say My Eyes are Beautiful! One Moment in Time! The Star Spangled Banner! " and about had a heart attack, yes, it is most definitely worth purchasing. Chances are there will be songs you don't like, and fans will be asking "Why didn't she include [such and such song]?" Despite these minor criticisms, this is undeniably an excellent compilation of Whitney's work to date, as well as a great tribute to the fans who were clamoring for rare and unique gems. A 5 star release through and through.
Thank you, Whitney, for sharing your wondrous talent with us. And thank you for sharing these beautiful, special, and unique gems of musical history. You are the greatest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A long-overdue and much-needed collection is finally here!, May 16 2000
By 
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
First & foremost, I am a die-hard fan of Whitney. Although I have all of her albums, I purchased the double CD Greatest Hits for two amazing discoveries. On the first CD, there is one track that stands out from the rest. "If you say my eyes are beautiful", a lovely duet ballad with Jermaine Jackson, is the only production in its kind that is available only on CD. This was also in Jermaine Jackson's album "Moments", which was released in 1986 only on vinyl and is now out-of-print. For years past, I heard the song on weddings and reception balls, a sure big hit that I cherished so much but never to be found in stores. Until now, Whitney's Greatest Hits' album has captivated my spirit into reviving a truly great song for the first time on CD. Thanks to Clive Davis, her co-producer, for this achievement. Adding to the praise, "Could I have This Kiss Forever" is another great debut release with Enrique Iglesias and surely will become a score hit with the Latin twist. Intriguing! And watch out for the other new ballad release with Deborah Cox entitled "Same Script, Different Cast". It's also an awesome R&B favorite. All in all, the tracks besides the new releases on this first CD labeled "Cool Down" are great ballad masterpieces from her platinum and soundtrack albums. It takes us a journey through memory lane, a chronology of Whitney's quest and popularity from the mid 80s to the 90s, from gospel singer to her rise to stardom. "The Greatest Love of All", "Saving All My Love for You", "Where Do Broken Hearts Go", "I Believe in You & Me" and the grand slam of them all, her remake of Dolly Parton's "I Will Always Love You" are among the best. While listening to her great tunes, take a moment to look at the enclosed pamphlet, which tells her great legacy. As described on the first CD, Cool Down, we listen to Whitney as angelic, sweet and graceful but strong yet powerful. Adding to the diversity and versatility of this world-renowned star, the second CD labeled "Throw Down" led to the other amazing discovery of owning this collection. Here, the mood shifts to high motion and energy as Whitney puts her star power and mystique at the club scene. Let's party! Take note of the new dance track, "If I Told You That". This is an awesome hip-hop new release with superstar George Michael. What a combination! The dance tracks are selections from maxi singles and remixes by top names like Tony Moran, Junior Vazquez and David Morales. "It's not right but it's okay", "I Learned From the Best" and "My Love is Your love" are among my favorite remixes in this collection. All in all, the double CD collection is awesome, insightful and well-polished for that distinctive voice and for one of the greatest diva artists of our times. For a reasonable price of less than 20 bucks, it's truly one of the best collections around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Five star CD gets three for false advertising, May 16 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Finally! All of Whitney Houston's best ballads all on one CD. This is a dream come true, because some of the these great songs, such as "One Moment in Time" have never before appeared on a Whitney CD. Also, other ballads such as "I will always love you" and "Exhale" appeared on movie soundtrack CD's only. Even though the price is a bit high, it's worth the money because she is such a great artist and no other CD these days has so many good songs on one disc.
However, I got to warn you - This is NOT the definative greatest hits collection they claim it to be. Four number one hits are missing: "How will I know", "So Emotional", "Dance with somebody", and "I'm your baby tonight." Any CD that leaves four NUMBER ONE SONGS off is not a greatest hits collection. Calling this greatest hits is a lie. I wonder how many thousands of fans of her up-tempo dance hits are going to be ripped off and fooled into buying this CD, because the faster songs, including the four missing number one's, appear only as REMIXES. The remixes are horrible! What happened to the original versions? To add insult to injury, "How will I know", "So Emotional" and "I'm your baby tonight" can only be found on three separate CD's, which means if you want to get all her number one hits you have buy four CD's! Talk about record company greed. Sometimes it makes me wonder if these artists are only in it for the money.
To sum it up, get this if you love Whitney Houston's ballads. But those who are looking for all of her most popular songs on one CD will not be satisfied with this collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The worst possible cd, May 25 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This cd is the same as william hung. It deserves a throw in the garbage can just like her singer. This album has bad words and whitney lost her voice completly. This is completly not worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 127 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Greatest Hits
Greatest Hits by Whitney Houston (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews