Customer Reviews


161 Reviews
5 star:
 (123)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mary Poppins; practically perfect in every way
This is one of those films that has stood the test of time and is still entertaining now as it was 40 years ago. Everyone knows the tale of the magical nanny that blows in on the east wind and into the lives of the Banks family of 17 Cherry Tree Lane. Jane and Michael Banks have had a succession of strict nannies as well as a very strict father and a mother who is always...
Published on Sept. 9 2006 by Ms. H. Sinton

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Disney Incorrect
Anyone who has a 16x9, widescreen television will be disappointed to discover that the technical information provided by Disney. They released this disc saying that it was in a widscreen ANAMORPHIC format. It is not. It is widscreen (letterbox) but it is not anamorphic so it is distorted when displayed on a widscreen television. It's disappointing because this film is...
Published on June 30 2001 by Doug Dunlap


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mary Poppins; practically perfect in every way, Sept. 9 2006
By 
Ms. H. Sinton "dragondrums" (Ingleby Barwick. U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is one of those films that has stood the test of time and is still entertaining now as it was 40 years ago. Everyone knows the tale of the magical nanny that blows in on the east wind and into the lives of the Banks family of 17 Cherry Tree Lane. Jane and Michael Banks have had a succession of strict nannies as well as a very strict father and a mother who is always out with her fellow suffragettes. Mary Poppins brings magic and fun into the children's lives, something that has been sorely lacking prior to her arrival.

Julie Andrews stars as the nanny and Dick Van Dyke as the lovable cockney Bert, (just forgive his dreadful accent) who always seems to be around at the right time for an adventure. The children find themselves having outings such as jumping into a chalk picture into a cartoon world, having a tea-party on a ceiling and dancing across the rooftops of London. Stuffed to the gills with songs such as 'Spoonful of Sugar', 'Chim Chim Cheree', 'Feed the Birds' and 'Jolly Holiday', this will have you tapping your foot throughout.

This 40th anniversary edition is on 2 discs and features lots of extras such as a documentary, commentary, footage of the premieres etc. The quality of print is very high, the colours have never looked so vibrant and the picture is razor sharp. Wonderful stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mary Poppins-Simply Marvellous!!, Dec 16 2004
By 
Robert Badgley (St Thomas,Ontario,Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This is a review for the new 2-disc Disney 40th Anniversary edition of Mary Poppins.
This is one of the best re-releases of this year.The movie is STILL(and will be for years to come) an aural and visual delight and designed for families and people of all ages.
Interweaving a wonderful story with some groundbreaking techniques and special effects Disney took/takes us on a magical ride in a recreated slice of life from 1910.
The story,by now familiar to many,involves the arrival to the Banks household of a nanny(Julie Andrews).In short order she manages to shake the prim and proper Banks household to its Edwardian core and teaches them,especially the "master" of his realm Mr.Banks(David Tomlinson),that there are more important things in life than strict adherence to schedule,rules and blind duty to ones'job.Bert(Dick Van Dyke),a friend to Mary,assists her whenever and wherever he can.
Julie Andrews plays her character with a wonderful reserve befitting the part and she sings beautifully.Whenever Mary gets too stodgy though Bert,played phenomenally by Dick Van Dyke,is always there to ease the atmosphere and put a smile on everyones' face.
The entire cast from the children,the servants to the admiral and the policeman all turn in a superb supporting job from beginning to end.
The restored print and accompanying sound track have been given the deluxe Disney treatment.Visually I have not seen as good a print of this film since I first saw it during its' premier in Toronto in late 1964.The versions I have seen over the years either on TV or on video just don't come close to this one.
My particular benchmark test was the colour and detail of the panoramic view(with special attention to the sky)when they climb the "smoke stairway" and gaze out over a late in the day city of London.
It is stunningly beautiful and was as I remembered it after all this time.That cinched it for me.
Aurally the liner notes tell us that the sound has been remastered into a Dolby 5.1 "Theatre Mix"(the original 2.0 theatrical mix is also included).
Translation:"Fantastic".
The movie never sounded as clean or as good.I couldn't help but to sing and tap my feet to all the numbers.
The set is loaded with a surfeit of extras that will satisfy even the most picky of movie buffs from footage of its' opening premiere in L.A. to a making-of special.
So grab the popcorn,get yourself seated comfortably on the sofa,turn down the lights and slip into the magical world of Mary Poppins like you've never experienced before.
Oh yes a heads up, grab the hankies for the "Feed the Birds" scene/number....you'll need it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars truly magical, April 2 2004
By 
Joe Sherry (Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mary Poppins (Widescreen) (DVD)
A film by Robert Stevenson
"Mary Poppins" is one of the most beloved movies of all time, and for good reason. This truly is a magical film. It is a mixture of live action and animation and is a wonderful musical and is quite possibly the perfect family film. Nominated for 13 Academy Awards and it was the winner of 5, including Best Actress for Julie Andrews in her feature film debut.
"Mary Poppins" is the story of, well, Mary Poppins (Julie Andrews). Mary Poppins is the new nanny for Jane (Karen Dotrice) and Matthew (Michael Garber) Banks. As a nanny, Mary Poppins is "practically perfect". She floats down from the sky holding on to an umbrella and convinces George Banks (David Tomlinson) to give her the job as the nanny. George is flustered by Mary and of course he gives her the job. The lives and experiences of the children are about to change because there is something magical about Mary. With a song and a dance amazing things happen around Mary. She can clean up a room with nothing more than a snap of the fingers and can take a journey into a picture drawn with chalk on a sidewalk.
"Mary Poppins" perfectly mixes animation (the penguin waiters!) and live action to create a magical world that is an incredible change from the London that Jane and Matthew think they know. There are excellent acting performances and the over the top Dick Van Dyke is charming in how sweet he is. The whole movie is sweet, charming, funny, and fantastic. This is a highly recommended musical for the whole family
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Though her words are simple and few, listen, listen..., March 12 2004
By 
D. Collier "Shelf-Help" (Brownwood, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mary Poppins (Widescreen) (DVD)
...she's calling to you.
In my mind, this movie is the reason why Disney is great. The rest of them - however good many of them may be - don't hold a candle (on the water) to this wonderful Disney masterpiece. This is easily my favorite Disney movie ever and one of my favorite movies of all time.
One of the things I love most about this movie is the fact that there's plenty of entertainment here for children; but there's also a lot of humor for adults. So, when the children grow up, they can have just as much, if not more, appreciation for the film. I love the way the satire starts out. Mrs. Banks comes home from her Sister Suffragettes Rally, shouting and singing for women's rights and equality with men
("Though we adore men individually,
We agree that as a group
They're rather stupid.").
Then Mr. Banks comes home from work singing about the pleasures of being a man in this age in England:
"It's grand to be an Englishman in 1910.
King Edward's on the throne;
It's the age of men!
I'm the lord of my castle!
The sovereign!
The liege!"
I still love the thought of a house which sports a naval cannon deck on top. And I have to confess when I was a child I did try the finger snap to see if it would get my room clean. (It didn't work, so I just grew up in a messy room.)
The fantastic acting performances by Julie Andrews (who received the Oscar for Best Supporting Actress - back in the days when the person who won was usually the person who deserved to win), the children, Dick Van Dyke, David Tomlinson, Glynnis Johns, Jane Darwell (though her part was very small), and the rest - cannot be overstated. I have already said that this is Disney's best film. Well, it is also boasts the finest acting ever in a Disney film.
I highly recommend purchasing this in the Widescreen format. You will see a lot more of the picture than in the standard format. Unfortunately, the widescreen version is out of print (you can still buy them used; that's how I got mine); and it looks like the standard version may also be going out of print soon. Hopefully, that means there will be a special deluxe edition with both formats, documentaries, commentaries, etc. coming out soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mary Poppins is Movie Magic!, Dec 20 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Mary Poppins (Widescreen) (DVD)
Mary Poppins, released in 1964, is perhaps the most famous and magical movie ever released by Walt Disney. Based on the character and books by P.L. Travers, it captured the public's imagination in much the same way as The Sound of Music did a year later. It tells the story of Jane and Michael Banks who write an advertisement for "The Perfect Nanny", attract the attention of Mary Poppins and end up in a whole new world of fantastic adventure. Even now it has a visual inventiveness and imagination that is both remarkable given the period in which it was made and far more appealing than many of the digitized special effects predominant in films today.
For instance, the scene of the new Nanny tidying Jane and Michael's nursery with a snap of the fingers is a pure enchantment; toy soldiers march back into their box and a dolls house is put back in order. Also the look of total disbelief on a Maids face as Nanny and children go sliding down the banister on their way to the park is a delight. The "Jolly Holiday" in the country fantasy sequence is also a masterful combination of animation and live action.
Julie Andrews once again is excellent in the title role giving a winning performance as the very British Nanny who is "practically perfect in every way". Here she sings some of the scores most well loved songs and also won an Oscar for her efforts. Her co-star Dick Van Dyke is given ample scope to display his amazing versatility, playing no less than three roles in the movie including his most well known and loved as Bert, the Chimney Sweep (and pavement artist) and Uncle Albert who enjoys having tea parties on the ceiling. David Tomlinson as Mr. Banks is suitably stuffy, later softening and becoming more comfortable in his Fatherly role with the help of "That Poppins woman". Glynis Johns as Mrs Banks is also wonderfully dizzy but quietly determined not to be the compliant appendage by fighting for her cause as "Sister Suffragette".
In addition, the melodic score by the Sherman brothers contains many popular songs that nearly everyone knows by heart including A Spoonful of Sugar, Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious ( what a mouthful!), Feed the Birds, Chim Chim Cher-ee and I Love to Laugh. The DVD includes some great options such as Sing Along With the Movie, footage of the Hollywood Premiere attended by Walt Disney and the films stars and a documentary about creating the films magic. Mary Poppins prevails as one of the all time great movie musical classics and it's not hard to see why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Movie for All Ages, Sept. 25 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Mary Poppins (Widescreen) (DVD)
MARY POPPINS was a favorite of mine as a child, but oddly enough, I enjoy it even more now that I'm an adult. Like most great children's stories, this one deals with serious issues -- like childhood loneliness and neglect -- in a warm and light-hearted way. Julie Andrews is simply perfect as the governess of the title: prim and proper yet fun-loving, too. Her singing voice is in its golden prime here, making a musical treat of each of her songs. Dick van Dyke's Bert is good-natured and fun; the role displays all of van Dyke's many talents: acting, comedy, mime, singing, and dancing. David Tomlinson is totally believable as Mr. Banks, the stern father who finally learns to appreciate his children. The reason Tomlinson's performance is so convincing is that there is a certain absent-mindedness -- even silliness -- about him even when he is strict, so that it's not so very far-fetched that he would suddenly want to take off from work to "go fly a kite." The Banks children, Jane and Michael (Karen Dotrice and Matthew Garber), are also totally convincing -- as someone else wrote, they are real children and not "cute moppets." Ed Wynn, with that bubbly giggle that itself suggests someone who floats, is cleverly cast as Mary's Uncle Albert, who suffers from "chronic laughter," making sheer delight of the tea party-on-the-ceiling scene, in which Jane and Michael learn how to laugh and enjoy themselves. (This was the second of two Disney movies in which Wynn's character gave an eccentric tea party; the first, of course, was ALICE IN WONDERLAND.) The movie is filmed in glorious technicolor, with lush settings that delight the eye as they evoke Edwardian London. Oh, and I almost forgot to mention the score, which is simply the finest ever written for a Disney musical. ("Feed the Birds, Tuppence a Bag" is one of my favorite songs ever, and it is obvious why "Chim-Chimeree" won an Oscar). MARY POPPINS is a must-see for children -- or for any adult who wants to revisit childhood with its simplicity and fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Nanny triumphs over the Governess, Sept. 22 2003
By 
Amanda Richards (Georgetown, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Mary Poppins (Widescreen) (DVD)
The first thing you notice about this movie is that Julie Andrews shines. She looks young, happy and a darn sight prettier than in The Sound of Music. She either put everything she had into the part of Mary Poppins, or had a supercalifragilisticexpialidocious time playing her. This role was obviously tailor-made for Julie Andrews and nobody else.
The second thing you appreciate is the subtitles option, which is the only way you can understand what Bert is saying half of the time, unless you're a cockney, or know one to translate for you.
Some of the British terms are quite unusual, and will fly over the heads of most.
Other little comments:
I thought the housekeeper stole the scenes she was in - really funny stuff
Some of the songs went on a bit too long for short attention spans.
In the chalk sceneries, Mary Poppins tells the children not to fall and smudge the paintings, but Bert kneels down in his white trousers and they remain immaculate. (Not complaining, just something I noticed)
There are a lot of songs you know, that you didn't know came from this movie.
Summary:
Great visual effects for the time, great acting by everybody, sing-a-long quality music, a highly entertaining classic movie for all ages. Buy it and learn to speak cockney with Bert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "You Are The Father Of Jane And Michael Banks, Are You Not?", July 31 2003
This review is from: Mary Poppins (VHS Tape)
I love the way she introduces herself and i love her confidence.She will not be dominated by anyone and in this magical story Mary Poppins is the greatest childrens character ever.
Dame Julie Andrews IS Mary Poppins, and i thinks its marvellous how Mary runs rings round the stubburn Mr Banks.
What i was surprised to hear was that when P.L.Travers (the author of the Mary Poppins Book) viewed Ms. Andrews performance she classed it "satisfactory." Don't you have eyes you stupid woman! Without Julie's outstanding performance, your character would be boring, nasty and ugly like she was in your books. Although i have to agree with her on Dick Van Dykes performance as she wanted to re cast the character of Bert as she thouht he was nothing like her Bert in her books, she's right.
But really, this movie is a CLASSIC and has hardly any faults. Though did you know that Glynis Johns (Mrs Banks) first thought Walt Disney was to cast her as Mary Poppins and when he told her that was already cast to THE Julie Andrews, she was angry and so only agreed to do the picture if she had a song as she felt Julie Andrews was taking all the songs in the picture, well theres only one thing to say to that and that is JULIE CAN SING, YOU CAN'T!!!!
The DVD has a wonderful little extra of the actual premiere of Mary Poppins which i found very interesting and also gives you a little featurette on the actual special effects. The picture is crisp and clear and the colour is vivid.
So Spit Spot! Buy this DVD to keep Mary Poppins looking "practically perfect in every way" forever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Smaller Kids Will Love It, April 26 2003
This review is from: Mary Poppins (Widescreen) (DVD)
This is a comical satire on utilitarian precision and propriety : the children rather need more playtime and more imagination. In short, they need everything Mary Poppins, the young and charmingly loving witch brought to Bank's children.
The film was shot just a few years before The Sound of Music. The rhythm of this film is quite slow and it's more like a play without much settings/background and, it's long. From the today's children's point of view, the scene about bank management board or even the bird-feeding woman may not be very inviting.
Having said that, this is still a marvelous movie. Children would like the one man band played by the chimney sweeper. Mary Poppins part was wonderful. Even Mr Bank and his so-called woman-liberalizing wife and or the captain next door are all such a big humour. Yes, there is also the tongue twister... Now that Harry Potter, The Worst Witch are so popular, winds are certainly blowing Mary Poppins' way too. I rank this next to The Sound of Music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Musical Masterpiece: Julie Andrews' Best Performance, March 26 2003
By 
This review is from: Mary Poppins (Widescreen) (DVD)
1964: Julie Andrews was awarded the Oscar for Best Actress in her performance as Mary Poppins. British-born Julie Andrews was an accomplished singer on the American musical stage, as well as a gifted actress who would later appear in such films as The Sound Of Music and Victor/Victoria. She is most known for her work in this film. To many, it is the zenith of her career; certainly it launched her career. The Disney film was based on the British novelist P.L. Traver's books "Mary Poppins" and its sequel"Mary Poppins Comes Back".
George Banks (David Tomlinson), is the typical Victorian husband who works at a prestigious bank in downtown London, whose wife Winnifred (Glynis Johns) is an active feminist, whose children, Jane and Michael have successfully rid themselves of various nannies through their mischief. When the magical Mary Poppins comes into their lives, she transforms their lives through magical going ons (becoming part of a painting, having tea in the air) and brings happiness and remedy to the home that badly needs the affectionate attention of the overworked, uptight father.
The Oscar for Julie Andrews as best actress was well deserved. Her prudish, sugary image as the "practically perfect" nanny could not have been if not for Mary Poppins. The musical, for this is a musical (which unfortunately never became a Broadway musical) contains lots of upbeat and memorable songs, tinged at times with a melancholy sentiment- "Feed the Birds" and "Chim-Chimeney" the latter which won Best Song, "A Spoonful of Sugar" and the hilarious "Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious".
A family-oriented film, but suited for child-at-heart adults and musical lovers, this film is perfect entertainment for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mary Poppins
Mary Poppins by Robert Stevenson (VHS Tape - 2002)
Used & New from: CDN$ 22.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews