biss Up to 40% Off CBC's Canada Reads 2016 Shortlist boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout Furniture All-New Kindle Paperwhite Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store Exercice Tools ca_ty_gno

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars245
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 9, 2006
This is one of those films that has stood the test of time and is still entertaining now as it was 40 years ago. Everyone knows the tale of the magical nanny that blows in on the east wind and into the lives of the Banks family of 17 Cherry Tree Lane. Jane and Michael Banks have had a succession of strict nannies as well as a very strict father and a mother who is always out with her fellow suffragettes. Mary Poppins brings magic and fun into the children's lives, something that has been sorely lacking prior to her arrival.

Julie Andrews stars as the nanny and Dick Van Dyke as the lovable cockney Bert, (just forgive his dreadful accent) who always seems to be around at the right time for an adventure. The children find themselves having outings such as jumping into a chalk picture into a cartoon world, having a tea-party on a ceiling and dancing across the rooftops of London. Stuffed to the gills with songs such as 'Spoonful of Sugar', 'Chim Chim Cheree', 'Feed the Birds' and 'Jolly Holiday', this will have you tapping your foot throughout.

This 40th anniversary edition is on 2 discs and features lots of extras such as a documentary, commentary, footage of the premieres etc. The quality of print is very high, the colours have never looked so vibrant and the picture is razor sharp. Wonderful stuff.
0Comment13 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VIDEO:

Mary Poppins pops onto blu ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 1.66:1 encode. The digital restoration by Disney is simply fantastic. Grain levels are intact and filmic. Colour reproduction is bright, bold, and accurate - especially the fanciful cartoon sequences. Contrast is dynamic and blacks are inky. Image resolution and details are excellent. Human faces and other clothing textures are impressive. You'll see individual hair follicles, wrinkles, and even makeup effects on the Senior Mr. Dawes. (4.5/5)

AUDIO:

Mary Poppins dances and sings its way onto blu ray with a robust English 7.1 DTS-HD MA sound mix. Dialogue is crystal clear and neatly prioritized at all times; effects are crisp and mischievous; and Richard and Robert Sherman's unforgettable songs have quite simply never sounded better, fuller or more engaging. Dynamic range is just average. There are even a few wonderful moments, like exploding fireworks during Step in Time, where all nine channels spring to life with active, almost-aggressive panning, and my two subwoofers thundered. (4.5/5)

TRIVIA:

In 1965, out of 13 nominations, Mary Poppins won 5 Oscars: Best Actress (Julie Andrews), Best Film Editing, Best Special Visual Effects, Best Original Song (Chim Chim Cher-ee), and Best Original Score (Richard and Robert Sherman). It was nominated for Best Picture, Best Director, Best Screenplay, Best Colour Cinematography, Best Set Direction – Colour, Best Costume, Best Sound and Best Music Score.

Mary Poppins has an estimated budget of $6 million, but grossed $102 million, which is phenomenal by today’s standards.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

Mary Poppins is a top tier catalog title we've been long waiting to see on blu ray. Thanks to the film's 50th Anniversary and the biopic about the project's development, Saving Mr. Banks, the wait is finally over. The classic live action/musical/animated picture features a stunning video transfer and a lovely multi-channel sound mix. It is a totally enjoyable movie for the entire family. You will sing along with such classics, as Chim Chim Cher-ee, A Spoonful of Sugar, Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious (I hope I spell it correctly), Feed The Birds and Step in Time. This set is way superior to the 40th Anniversary DVD release, and is highly recommended.

I hope my review is helpful to you.
0Comment10 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon December 16, 2004
This is a review for the new 2-disc Disney 40th Anniversary edition of Mary Poppins.
This is one of the best re-releases of this year.The movie is STILL(and will be for years to come) an aural and visual delight and designed for families and people of all ages.
Interweaving a wonderful story with some groundbreaking techniques and special effects Disney took/takes us on a magical ride in a recreated slice of life from 1910.
The story,by now familiar to many,involves the arrival to the Banks household of a nanny(Julie Andrews).In short order she manages to shake the prim and proper Banks household to its Edwardian core and teaches them,especially the "master" of his realm Mr.Banks(David Tomlinson),that there are more important things in life than strict adherence to schedule,rules and blind duty to ones'job.Bert(Dick Van Dyke),a friend to Mary,assists her whenever and wherever he can.
Julie Andrews plays her character with a wonderful reserve befitting the part and she sings beautifully.Whenever Mary gets too stodgy though Bert,played phenomenally by Dick Van Dyke,is always there to ease the atmosphere and put a smile on everyones' face.
The entire cast from the children,the servants to the admiral and the policeman all turn in a superb supporting job from beginning to end.
The restored print and accompanying sound track have been given the deluxe Disney treatment.Visually I have not seen as good a print of this film since I first saw it during its' premier in Toronto in late 1964.The versions I have seen over the years either on TV or on video just don't come close to this one.
My particular benchmark test was the colour and detail of the panoramic view(with special attention to the sky)when they climb the "smoke stairway" and gaze out over a late in the day city of London.
It is stunningly beautiful and was as I remembered it after all this time.That cinched it for me.
Aurally the liner notes tell us that the sound has been remastered into a Dolby 5.1 "Theatre Mix"(the original 2.0 theatrical mix is also included).
Translation:"Fantastic".
The movie never sounded as clean or as good.I couldn't help but to sing and tap my feet to all the numbers.
The set is loaded with a surfeit of extras that will satisfy even the most picky of movie buffs from footage of its' opening premiere in L.A. to a making-of special.
So grab the popcorn,get yourself seated comfortably on the sofa,turn down the lights and slip into the magical world of Mary Poppins like you've never experienced before.
Oh yes a heads up, grab the hankies for the "Feed the Birds" scene/number....you'll need it.
0Comment9 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2001
Anyone who has a 16x9, widescreen television will be disappointed to discover that the technical information provided by Disney. They released this disc saying that it was in a widscreen ANAMORPHIC format. It is not. It is widscreen (letterbox) but it is not anamorphic so it is distorted when displayed on a widscreen television. It's disappointing because this film is one of Walt Disney's crowning achievements and it's too bad that they didn't put it out in the best possible format.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2015
This concerns the 50th Anniversary Edition (blu-ray). This is another of my "feel good" movies. This movie has been digitally restored and looks nice, although it shows its age more than other restored movies, probably because of the source material, which contains a lot of special effects and animation. Still the images are sharper on the blu-ray than the DVD. This edition contains both the blu-ray and the DVD versions.

The menu which loops a sequence from the movie, looks very nice on the blu-ray, ugly on the DVD (someone at Disney needs glasses). Once you put the disk on the player be ready to press "skip" because you will be bombarded with crappy ads! Does anyone actually watch these things?

The box mentions a making-of documentary, although I can't find it anywhere.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 26, 2010
I ordered this 45th anniversary edition of Mary Poppins for my pre-school grandson, to see if he would delight in the scenes as much as his parents, his aunts, and his grandparents had done. The magic is still there, even for a kid exposed to the docile renderings on the Treehouse cable network. Julie Andrews and Dick Van Dyke perform at the top of their game. The chimney sweepers fill the rooftops better than any computer-generated hocus-pocus.
The second disc in this set takes viewers behind the scenes of the recent Broadway production of Mary Poppins. This is a revelation that theatre-goers will love. Not everyone will enjoy the lengthy conversations about adapting the screenplay to the stage. Likewise,pointing out the distinctions between the original texts in England and the Disney version may seem somewhat academic if one is not familar with the books themselves. However, for those people who love this kind of exploration, the second disc is a marvel. Best of all, the disc contains a video version of the stage play's chimney scene, in which the actor climbs the proscenium arch and walks upside down across the top of the stage- spectacular!

I loved the movie the first time around. My three children loved watching it at home on video. Now our little David is enchanted. Hooray for Mary Poppins!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMEon September 22, 2003
The first thing you notice about this movie is that Julie Andrews shines. She looks young, happy and a darn sight prettier than in The Sound of Music. She either put everything she had into the part of Mary Poppins, or had a supercalifragilisticexpialidocious time playing her. This role was obviously tailor-made for Julie Andrews and nobody else.
The second thing you appreciate is the subtitles option, which is the only way you can understand what Bert is saying half of the time, unless you're a cockney, or know one to translate for you.
Some of the British terms are quite unusual, and will fly over the heads of most.
Other little comments:
I thought the housekeeper stole the scenes she was in - really funny stuff
Some of the songs went on a bit too long for short attention spans.
In the chalk sceneries, Mary Poppins tells the children not to fall and smudge the paintings, but Bert kneels down in his white trousers and they remain immaculate. (Not complaining, just something I noticed)
There are a lot of songs you know, that you didn't know came from this movie.
Summary:
Great visual effects for the time, great acting by everybody, sing-a-long quality music, a highly entertaining classic movie for all ages. Buy it and learn to speak cockney with Bert.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 26, 2003
This is a comical satire on utilitarian precision and propriety : the children rather need more playtime and more imagination. In short, they need everything Mary Poppins, the young and charmingly loving witch brought to Bank's children.
The film was shot just a few years before The Sound of Music. The rhythm of this film is quite slow and it's more like a play without much settings/background and, it's long. From the today's children's point of view, the scene about bank management board or even the bird-feeding woman may not be very inviting.
Having said that, this is still a marvelous movie. Children would like the one man band played by the chimney sweeper. Mary Poppins part was wonderful. Even Mr Bank and his so-called woman-liberalizing wife and or the captain next door are all such a big humour. Yes, there is also the tongue twister... Now that Harry Potter, The Worst Witch are so popular, winds are certainly blowing Mary Poppins' way too. I rank this next to The Sound of Music.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2002
No doubt this is a fantastic movie. Ask anyone. But there's one thing about this production that makes me want to break the disc over my knee: Disney has encoded this disc so that every time you watch it, YOU ARE FORCED TO SIT THROUGH THE ...PREVIEWS!
The DVD standard allows the producer to prevent viewers from activating certain functions at certain times (to make a DVD-based game, for example, play according to the game rules). But, aside from the FBI warning segment, this is the first movie I've encountered that WON"T EVEN LET YOU STOP THE DISC during the previews. You can't press MENU to get to other features, and you can't press STOP. You're stuck, basically, with the temptation to press EJECT. Fortunately, the production engineers at Disney missed one trick; you can at least Fast Forward through the previews. This is a shade better than turning off the TV and waiting it out.
C'mon, Disney. This isn't a rental -- I bought your disc! And you make me sit through 5 minutes of previews for things that I either: own, or choose not to own (thank you very much). I understand Disney's desire to "cross sell" their new stuff based on their old stuff. And I don't mind watching previews, but -- every time I play the disc? Shame on you!!
After you've wasted five minutes, of your life, enjoy the movie. It's a treasure and I wish someone would make another like it. But not on a disc like this!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2001
"Mary Poppins" has been around so long that it is hard to review objectively. I saw the film in the movie theatre in 1980 when I was 14 years old, and all my expectations were surpassed. There is so much to love about it, it's hard to analyze it without evoking sentimental memories of childhood.
While not quite in the same caliber as "The Wizard of Oz", yet much better than "Chitty Chitty Bang Bang", the movie does have irresistable assets: a lovely score, great sets and costumes, as well as infectious acting, singing and dancing by all the leads. The movie itself is somewhat episodic, with no real tension or conflict (unlike the tense and scary scenes of conflict in "Wizard"), and is about 45 minutes too long for contemporary audiences (1960's audiences didn't have short attention spans as they do today, and lumbering musicals could just take their own sweet time). Despite the accolades regarding the film's special effects, some of the blending of live-action and animation is just not on par with Disney's earlier classic "Song of the South" (1946). Even the wires used to fly Mary and her cohorts are sometimes glaringly visible, especially on a great DVD print, not to mention in the movie theater. Perhaps some of these shortcomings caused the film to not receive mention on the AFI's 100 Greatest Films list. Nevertheless, "Mary Poppins" is a bona fide Disney classic, with a wonderful message about life and family.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse