summer boutiques-francophones vpcflyout Pets All-New Kindle Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars348
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$8.40+ $3.49 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 243 reviews(5 star). Show all reviews
on July 6, 2005
There are so few books, movies, and products that just really light a fire under my, well, you know where region. The movie COLD MOUNTAIN was one such thing. The novel THE BARK OF THE DOGWOOD was another such item. And of course, the ubiquitous and compelling classic that we all know------GONE WITH THE WIND. The first time I've seen this movie, I was fourteen years old. At that age, not many teenagers would even bother watching a classic or even adore it. It is a beautiful love story and not only that, "Gone With The Wind" shows how the civil war affected the people of the South. How the grace and beauty of the south changed dramatically. And what's great, Scarlett is the star. A head-strong woman who made it through the war with very much emotional stars but survived and beat the odds. Scarlett is a take-charge woman and doesn't let anything or anyone stand in her way. Unfortunately with that personality you have few friends and your loved ones sometimes loses their patience. LOVE AND STRUGGLE is the basis of this movie. EXTREMELY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon October 26, 2010
While not always a devoted fan, I could appreciate the film-making achievement and historical significance of Gone With the Wind. But now I have a whole new admiration for the classic epic given the astounding blu-ray picture quality. This 70th anniversary blu-ray package is highly recommended for fans and collectors, as it contains in the numbered red velvet box, reproductions of correspondence, art prints and the program, along with a commemorative hardcover picture book (52pg.), and soundtrack cd sampler (approx. 34 min.). The highlight of course is the 3 disc box set which contains a mammoth amount of programming, including the blu-ray feature (disc 1 - with commentary by Rudy Behlmer), the 6-hr MGM: When the Lion Roars documentary (disc 3 - dble sided dvd), and the related bonus features on disc 2 (which is a blu-ray for storage purposes only - the approx. 8 hrs. of extras have not been re-mastered to hi-def quality). Though some doc's and making-of's are on previous releases (i.e. Gable and Leigh bios, Havilland reminisces etc.), the "new" programming to this set include the Legend Lives On (featurette), The Scarlet O'Hara War (telefilm), and 1939: Hollywood's Greatest Year (a 1 hr. doc that I'd hoped would have spanned 3). This package is highly recommended for fans and film-buffs, and the film itself to those who think they've already seen it. (Reminder - the film is presented in its original frame size (ratio aspect), meaning there will be black bars on the sides of wide screens - and as a note, the audio is fine). Gone With the Wind is well worth experiencing on blu-ray.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2004
Gone With The Wind is one of my favorite films OF ALL TIME. No matter how many times I watch it, I find myself engulfed,overwhelmed,moved to tears, chilled to the bone, and amazed at the pure marvelousness of the entire thing.EVERY FREAKING TIME.
The acting is BRILLIANT from absolutely everyone.That's right, not a single performance is anything less than awe-inspiring.From Vivian Leigh as fearless and strong-willed Southern belle Scarlett O'Hara, to Clark Gable(WHY DIDN'T HE WIN THE OSCAR???????!!!?????) as the ultimate "non-gentleman" Rhett Butler, to Leslie Howard as the gentle,but slightly weak-minded Ashley Wilkes, to Olivia De Havilland as the deeply humane, and physically weak Melanie Hamilton.And, who could forget Hattie McDaniel as the feisty Mammie?THIS IS SIMPLY ONE OF THE BEST CASTS OF ALL TIME, OR DAY I SAY THE BEST????Every performance, is, I repeat, a testament to the power of acting.
The dialogue is so damn good every time-and every scene stands out in my mind as a piece of cinematic history.And to those idiots who think that Scarlett O'Hara was a "bad,selfish" person, I could just spit on you.Here is a woman who had enough spirit and bravery to go against a society of pampered Southerners, a woman who fought with her sweat and blood to keep her family's plantation, a woman who rose after every war, ever obstacle, a woman who waded through burning cannons with a pregnant woman and a baby on her own-and you call her a bad person? Maybe she was selfish, but perhaps it was this selfishness that let her see that the important things in life weren't a good repuatation, or nice hands, but honor, and family, and the well-being of loved ones. She might have acted like a spoiled brat, but her fearless actions contradicted whatever egotism she may've shown through her words.
I don't care who you are, where you're from, if your favorite movie is the matrix, I DONT CARE, this is a film that, if there ever was one, can be loved by ever single living and breathing soul.In this three hours lies a treat drenched in truth about the (corny as this may sound, its true!) endurance of the human spirit, the ties which bind human beings,and simply life-what it can bring, what it can take away, and what it can retain.Watch this absolutely timeless masterwork and relish in the power of the incredible acting, the brilliance of the dialogue,each and every scene which results in a film which is by turns witty, smart,weary, romantic, tragic,epic-ally moving and spine chilling.Brilliant beyond all words-and an asbolute masterwork which has already gone down, and will continue being known as one of the cinema's greatest pieces of art.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 12, 2015
of course a 5 star movie. it is educational, as well as enjoyable. best movie to own that is out there. movie is put together well . all I can say is buy, you won't lose with this one! it is worth the money and your time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2004
Gone with the Wind creates many strong opinions, but I daresay many of them by people who haven't seen the film, or at least not in many years. It is sort of an amalgamation of both Margaret Mitchell's book and a reworking of DW Griffith's even more controversial silent blockbuster Birth of a Nation.
I had written this off as a silly commercialized Hollywood fairly tale but recently decided to give it another look. Basically, I think the claims of racism are far overblown, especially compared to other films of this era. It seems to me that Selznick and company went to great pains to stamp out the more overtly racist themes of Griffith's famous 1915 film. For instance, Scarlett's attempted rapists were all white; real black actors have menial but still important roles; those black actors are treated with dignity and respect; and finally the "n" word probably more frequent in southern parlance of the day was replaced with the more delicate term of "darky", and never used in a scornful fashion. And while establishment opinion in the North still clings to belief that the Civil War was a most noble and unselfish effort, the truth was something much less certain. Surely slaves in the prewar South were not all treated as gingerly as in this film; but just as certainly they were also brutally repressed in the North as well (just watch Gangs of New York for a history lesson on Northern feelings towards African Americans). All wars have a side people would rather forget, and this one was certainly no different. Also on the positive side, the film does a good job of capturing this broad historic period with smart scenes amidst well designed sets. It's really quite a grand production, in color no less, with a marvelous historical and cinematic scope.
On the less positive side, the heralded performances I think are a bit overrated. Clark Gable's presence helps considerably, but he is certainly not nearly as natural or comfortable as he was in It Happened One Night. And Mitchell's sappy, soap operaesque story frequently slips nearly into the preposterous, especially in latter scenes of the film when the historic takes a back seat to the dramatic. But maybe that's what gave the film its broad appeal, as it has a little of something for everyone. I think another factor may have really launched its success: released during the cold winter of 1939, its four-hour sitting time gave depression-weary Americans a warm night on the town for a cheap price that they could all afford.
Regarding the standard edition DVD, its very serviceable but the extras are appallingly poor for a film of this esteemed history. Also, Spanish subtitles would have been nice (only has English and French).
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2014
I HAVE ALWAYS WANTED A COPY OF THIS MOVIE AND WAS VERY PLEASED WITH MY PURCHASE. THE RE-MASTERING OF VIDEO AND SOUND WAS TREMENDOUS . I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS CLASSIC TO ALL. AND THE SERVICE FROM AMAZON WAS FIRST CLASS.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2013
This movie is timeless and always enjoyable. I have always enjoyed it and now own it. One of our daughters was named after the little girl in the movie (Bonnie) - this has nothing to do with the movie but just something interesting I would throw in there. The movie has action, plot, romance, history and unfortunately also tragedy in some areas. But it is definitely one to see.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2003
Great Balls of Fire! Books, reams and such have been written about this greatly beloved film - so I'll take a stab at it to! First off, a little trivia: Scarlett was originally going to be named Pansy. (yeah. right.) TOMORROW IS ANOTHER DAY was the original working title of the novel. GONE WITH THE WIND comes from the poem NOM SUM QUALIS ERAM by the 18th century poet Ernest Dawson i.e.: "I have been faithful to thee Cynara in my fashion. I have forgot much, Cynara! Gone with the wind!". Most everyone knows that this ultra famous picture concerns a beautiful, - in this version anyway - willful, egotistically headstrong daughter of a wealthy plantation owner who uses her cunning charms - with varying degrees of success - to get what she wants during the American Civil War of 1861-1865. In the role of Scarlett, Vivien Leigh is magnificent. She conveys all the intricate qualities of this selfish, charming & fascinating Southern vixen which captivated the the imagination of thousands of the faithful readers of the 1936 novel by Margaret Mitchell. Countless actresses - and unknowns - were considered/tested for the part: Hepburn, Crawford, Davis, Shearer, Joan Bennett, Susan Hayward, Frances Dee, Irene Dunne, Lana Turner, Margaret Tallichet Loretta Young, Miriam Hopkins, Jean Arthur, Paulette Goddard, Tallulah Bankhead, Margaret Sullavan - even Lucille Ball (!) immediately come to mind. Because he was without a doubt the "King of Hollywood", it is rather ironic that Clark Gable was right for the part of Rhett Butler. But right he was! This and his performance as Gay Langley in THE MISFITS were his two personal favourites. Imagine who Rhett MIGHT have been: Ronald Colman, Gary Cooper, Warner Baxter, Fredric March & Errol Flynn....o k a y....As Melanie Wilkes, Olivia de Havilland is near perfection and Hattie McDaniel brilliantly made the role of Mammy her own. No wonder she coveted the first Oscar awarded to a Black actress! The scene where Melanie and Mammy climb the stairs towards a half-mad-with-grief Rhett (after Bonnie's accidental death) is a magnificent lesson in screen acting. As a kid, I didn't understand why Ashley Wilkes spoke with an English accent, but his acting style was right for the part. Another standout was Ona Munson (Eve Arden was considered for the part) doing a sterling job portraying that soiled-dove-with-a-heart, Belle Watling: her carriage scene with Melanie is quite memorable. Joan Fontaine, Anne Shirley, Frances Dee, Ann Dvorak & Dorothy Jordan were considered for the part of Ms Wilkes. For Ashley? Melvyn Douglas, Joel McCrea, Jeffrey Lynn, Lew Ayres, Tyrone Power, Ray Milland were all considered. Billie Burke may have been cast as Aunt Pitty & Judy Garland may have gotten to play Carreen! Legend says that this filmed grossed $2O MILLION by May of 194O - which is astounding because of the average price of movie tickets then - 35c - (!). The film was nominated for 13 AA & won 8. Vivien Leigh was personally praised by author Mitchell (whom she resembled somewhat - look at photos of young "Peggy" Mitchell) as was Olivia de Havilland and Hattie McDaniel likewise. Mitchell thought Gable was fine as Rhett, but disapproved of Howard as Ashley Wilkes. Reviews for the film were for the most part highly laudatory & the general public was enthralled: Selznick's gamble on hiring a relatively unknown Leigh at first irritated - but later delighted American audiences. It was indeed a victorious gamble. Vivien Leigh herself never cared much for Scarlett. She knew it was a great part, but thought her character was a bit of an ass. Leigh's favourite part? Where Scarlett says that she has turned out "disappointing" - concerning her mother's expectations of her - while a bit on the tipsy side.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2011
It's an outstanding epic and true filmic classic. I have seen in twice on the large screen and many times on video. The story, characters and acting is beyond. No wonder it won so many Academy Awards. It's a treasure ad infinitum.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2014
Gone with the Wind: One of the truly great movies ever made. A fantastic movie to add to your all time favourites. This really is a truly Classic movie in the true sense of the word. It offers love, war, tragedy many times over, giving, caring, killing, lies, deceit, destruction of war with fire and guns and suffering, the true strength of mankind who ends up with nothing and builds things back up again, so many emotions. Fantastic roles for Scarlett O'Hara and Rip Butler. "Frankly, my dear, I don't give a damn"....... is there anybody of our older generation who does not know where that quote came from? Buy it, you will never regret it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse