Customer Reviews


285 Reviews
5 star:
 (192)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE EPIC OF ALL EPICS
Gone With The Wind is one of my favorite films OF ALL TIME. No matter how many times I watch it, I find myself engulfed,overwhelmed,moved to tears, chilled to the bone, and amazed at the pure marvelousness of the entire thing.EVERY FREAKING TIME.
The acting is BRILLIANT from absolutely everyone.That's right, not a single performance is anything less than...
Published on June 13 2004 by adriana

versus
27 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A disappointing box set
Please note that my disappointment was in no way with "Gone With the Wind" itself, which is, as we all know, is one of the greatest movies of all time. I couldn't say anything about this wonderful film that hasn't been said already. This big, lush, box set, however, left a lot to be desired.
Let's start with the 8 original limited edition lobby card prints. They're...
Published on Feb. 17 2004 by jenbird


‹ Previous | 116 17 1829 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A question, not a review, Dec 27 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Gone with the Wind (Full Screen) (DVD)
Obviously a great movie, but this is just a question, not a review:
Is the 1.33:1 full screen aspect ratio on this movie the original one? I'd love to hear from anyone who knows. Also on other major, but much more recent movies (for ex. Eyes Wide Shut by Kubrick), why do they come out on full screen? Did Kubrick make it that way, or was it altered, and why? I've been wondering about this for a while. Many thanks for enlightening me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AN EARLY INDIE-FILM FROM THE 30's!, Dec 22 2001
By 
Darryl M. Haase "dothehucklebuck" (Cleveland, OH United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gone with the Wind (Full Screen) (DVD)
Selznick-International was one of the first independent movie studios in the 1930's, which makes "GWTW" one of the earliest and most successful independent films. Selznick eventually needed help from his Father in-law Louis B. Mayer which explains why MGM had the rights to the film after Selznick went defunct in the 1940's. "GWTW" is certainly Hollywood's greatest pageant, a feast for the eyes and ears. Martin Scorcese said that films of old Hollywood still have a way of lighting up that fantasy part of our brains, and he is right. It's cinematic theatricality at its very best. The film sags a bit post-intermission, and becomes less dramatic history and more soap opera, but that's what happens when you try to cram a 1000+ page book into a nearly 4 hour film. The only recent film to come close to "GWTW's" sweep and romance is "Titanic".
The DVD print is good, but the DVD is sorely in need of more extras: there are no interviews, only one trailer, and no screen tests. Perhaps a future DVD could contain that great 1990 documentary by Turner, "The Making of GWTW" narrated by Christopher Plummer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best movie of all time!!!, Dec 21 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Gone with the Wind (Full Screen) (DVD)
I believe this movie to be the best movie of all time, because everyone I've shown it to can relate. It's romantic, some-what funny, and an all around good movie. This is one of those movies that everyone should at least see once.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The only movie to ever own, Dec 13 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Gone with the Wind (Full Screen) (DVD)
In over 30 years of movie making, none has come close to matching, let alone defeating, "Gone With The Wind" as the best movie ever produced. Scarlett O'Hara is the heroine evryone loves to hate and Rhett Butler is the man all women detest, but all men idolize. The costuming is superb and the characters all have depth. This has been my favorite movie for 20 years and will continue to be so for more to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the finest movies ever made, Dec 13 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Gone With the Wind (VHS Tape)
I read the one star review and it seems political correctness has taken hold of some. - - - This is undoubtedly one of the finest movies made with outstanding performances by the cast. It is filled with a rich blend of characters, so complex in nature. I hadn't seen this movie in many years, and I like it even more than the first time I saw it. Absolutely outstanding !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An all time favorite!, Dec 13 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Gone With the Wind (VHS Tape)
There will probably never be another movie made like this one!
I remember the first time I saw this movie...I was blown away!
It was worth sitting through. Scarlett is my favorite character.
She's never happy where she is and longs to find something that will never be. She's strong when she has to be and does what she has to in order to get what she wants at the time. In the end, she discovers that what she had been searching for was right in front of her all along. That is so true to life! I have watched this over and over and I love it more everytime. I give the highest recommendation for this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What can you say?, Dec 3 2001
By 
LuKus McAll (Laramie, Wyoming United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gone with the Wind (Full Screen) (DVD)
Rhett Butler; Clark Gable, Scarlett O'hara; Vivien Leigh, two legendary characters performed to perfection by two great actors.
Beautiful, confused and volumptous Scarlett is desperate to find love. If not with her first love, the second to come along, Rhett. She and he confront the American Civil War head on and comes out with a couples scrapes and bruises. A few dead friends. But both are stronger and wiser.
Great great great! Anymore can be said??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant... One of the Best Films Ever Made., Dec 2 2001
By 
"britainkitten" (Reading, PA, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gone with the Wind (Full Screen) (DVD)
Gone with the Wind is, in my mind, the best movie ever made... topping even Citizen Kane in cinematic genius, style, and direction. If you have read the book, like I did, you will not be disappointed. Mitchell's cruel and beautiful vixen, Scarlett O'Hara, and southern scoundrel, Rhett Butler, are both played brilliantly. Both Vivien Leigh and Clark Gabel make their finest performances in this film. Aside from a few minor changes, the film is very loyal to Margaret Mitchell's classic novel. The film tell's Mitchell's story of a world undone and lost forever by a war, of the struggle to preserve dignity and honor, and of love and misery. A dramatic, painfully sad, and yet beautiful film that should not be missed by anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best film ever, Nov. 27 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Gone with the Wind (Full Screen) (DVD)
I have seen this movie so many times it is disgusting. Everything filmed was just beautiful. Especially Vivien Leigh as the catty Scarlett O'Hara who will do anything for a buck even going as far as almost selling herself to that nasty dog Rhett Butler. It's funny how they just fight each other all the time before they finally realize they belong to eacht other. Well Rhett knew from the very beginning that "like marries like", and should marry like. The sad thing is watching Scarlett throwing it all away for Ashley? Who would marry him? Melanie. Melanie is just too good to be true. Always looking for something good in everybody. Well she found something good in Ashley what it was I will never know what it was and I read the book to try to find out what that was and still I don't know. Even now I still can't figure out what Scarlett saw in Ashley. If you want to while a way the hours for a day rent this movie or better yet buy this movie.
...This is a great film that is not historically correct but who cares this film is the best thing that has come out of Hollywood. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gone With the Wind- A historical memory, Nov. 20 2001
By 
Matt Coffman (Colorado Springs, CO United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gone with the Wind (Full Screen) (DVD)
GWTW is an incredible movie. If you haven't seen it, you need to. The storyline is incredible, the cinemtography is breathtaking, and Vivien Leigh and Clark Gable give some of the best performances of thier careers. Yet GWTW should not be watched with any expectation of historical accuracy. GWTW is a historical memory of the south that is extremely romantic and wonderfully sugar-coated.
The Civil War plays a background part, as does most of history in this movie. This is not to say that there is anything wrong with that, but no one should expect the movie to educate them with regard to US history. GWTW also glazes over the institution of slavery, carefully portraying only those slaves that felt a familial bond with thier owners. While this was sometimes the case, history tells us that more often than not, slaves did wish to be free and few stayed on with thier owners after the war was over.
All in all, however, this was an excellent movie. It was well worth the four hours, never really dragging. Just don't use this moive as historical education about the south or the Civil War.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 116 17 1829 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa68403a8)

This product

Gone with the Wind (Full Screen)
Gone with the Wind (Full Screen) by Victor Fleming (DVD - 2001)
CDN$ 24.98 CDN$ 5.53
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews