Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars What a enjoyable "night at the movies" in our own home
Excellent viewing. The quality of the dvd was terrific! To view such wonderful classics in their glorius black & white production with such clarity is like seeing them for the first time on the big screen.
Published 14 months ago by Alex Cameron

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Terrific performance, pointless and annoying story
The lead character is so very manipulative and knee-jerk reactionary that it's a wonder anyone fellow story charadctput up with her. Her love for her fiance played by a very wooden Henry Fonda seems non-existant, and when he leaves her after an impossible humiliating stunt of hers, she suddenly can't live without him. The story is drawing-room dull, all manners and...
Published on July 11 2004 by L. A. Strom


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars How did this end?, Nov. 3 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Jezebel (Bilingual) [Import] (DVD)
I would probably recommend this movie to a classic movie fan, but not your typical movie watcher. I thought Henry Fonda did a splendid job on his portrayal of Preston; he brought dignity and sense to his character. Bette Davis did a pretty good job as Julie. I just felt that the character of Julie lacked much reason. There were a few unreasonable things in this film, but overall, I enjoyed it. The only absolutely ridiculous thing of this movie was the ending! It made me feel there should be at least 30 minutes more of film and that there was practically no closure to be had whatsoever! The plot was fairly decent until this unfortunate end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars La Belle Bette, Oct. 17 2002
This review is from: Jezebel (Bilingual) [Import] (DVD)
Bette Davis deservedly received the Best Actress award for her portrayal of Julie Marsden, a headstrong Southern belle, in this 1938 film. This is a stellar performance-Bette creates a character that is a remarkable blend of spoiled rich girl and tragic heroine, at times likeable and pitiable, but often loathsome. She manages to promote quite a range of emotions from the viewer...
The film is beautifully shot, with scenes of sumptuous plantation decors, a society ball, and bustling 1850's New Orleans life. The opening pan of a street market is wonderful. The close-ups of Bette Davis are stunning; we see her full of hope, hate, longing, joy, and misery. I can think of no other film where she looks this beautiful. The costumes are superb. There are some scenes of plantation life that I'm sure make the NAACP cringe, but one needs to place the film into the context of 1938.
The music is by Max Steiner, who one year later would write the score for Gone With the Wind. There are many other comparisons one can make between Jezebel and GWTW, as others here have noted. If the winds of casting fate had been different, Bette Davis could have been Scarlett O'Hara. Here she makes you believe she would have been outstanding.
Buy this DVD for the joy of watching a bravura performance. You will find countless other pleasures and treasures in this classic film.
...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A WOMAN CALLED JEZEBEL..., Oct. 13 2002
By 
Mark Norvell (HOUSTON) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jezebel (Bilingual) [Import] (DVD)
Warner Bros. supposedly made this film to beat MGM's "Gone With The Wind" to the box office. "Jezebel" doesn't hold a candle to GWTW but it stands firm on it's own merit---that being the fine treatment given to the story based on the old play and the performance of Bette Davis as Julie (i.e Jezebel). Whether she deserved the Oscar or not is another matter but she makes the other cast seem like cardboard cut-outs. Julie is a spoiled headstrong antebellum vixen who drives men to distraction and/or duels to the death in this case. She shames herself and her family with her extremes until she must repent by heroic means. Not a weeper as some may think, but a Southern drenched tale of irony set around the time of the Civil War. Davis is pretty here and beautifully costumed. She flounces around with hoop skirts a-whirling and eyes a-flashing and her accent is properly proper. A young Henry Fonda and a stalwart George Brent round out the suitors who duel for Julie ending in tragedy. I find this film a matter of taste but I still give it 5 stars. It's a genuine classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a great precursor to "Gone With the Wind", Sept. 4 2002
By 
Karen Sampson Hudson (Reno, NV United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jezebel (Bilingual) [Import] (DVD)
"Jezebel" is a marvelous vehicle for Bette Davis, and won her an Academy Award, although it may have prevented her from starring as Scarlett O'Hara in Selznick's "Gone With the Wind." Although it features a rather a pot-boiler of a plot, set in New Orleans against the gathering stormclouds of Civil War America, Davis's Miss Julie shines as a headstrong, passionate girl, determined to flout convention to have her way.

Yellow fever, endemic to the New Orleans environment with its undrained swamps and bad sewers, strikes at the heart of Miss Julie's world, and she grows as a character and wins redemption in the way she meets a crisis.
Davis is simply superb and makes the whole production come alive in this well-deserved Oscar winning role. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An entertaining drama..., Aug. 19 2002
By 
ehakus (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jezebel (Bilingual) [Import] (DVD)
Jezebel is a very entertaining and interesting movie which invites a lot of comparisons to Gone With the Wind, for both are about headstrong girls in the old South. Although not as well known as Gone With the Wind, Jezebel should be, for it is at least as good, if not better.
In Jezebel, Miss Julie (Bette Davis), a headstrong and somewhat spoiled Southern girl, intentionally flounts the conventions of her time and manipulates people for her own amusement. But, after she humiliates her finacee, Preston (Henry Fonda) by wearing a red dress to a ball to which unmarried women only wear white, he feels she has gone too far with her selfishness and insensitivity to others and breaks off the engagement. Finally, Julie/Jezebel is able to redeem herself for her actions when Preston falls ill with yellowjack, a deadly fever.
Anyhow, even though the plot of Jezebel may make it seem like an average melodrama, the movie is far better than most because of Bette Davis' brilliant performance as Miss Julie (which won her an Oscar), the script, which mixes in other themes about the old South, and the direction, by William Wyler.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AFI's Greatest Love Stories: #79 Jezebel, July 26 2002
By 
Lawrance M. Bernabo (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Jezebel (Bilingual) [Import] (DVD)
The tagline for the film "Jezebel" was "The South's Greatest Love Story," which certainly reflects the same sort of audacity Robert E. Lee evinced at the battle of Chancellorsville since pretty much everybody in the United States was reading "Gone With the Wind" in 1938 and wondering when David O. Selznick was going to cast someone as Scarlett O'Hara and start making the movie. Bette Davis was not going to get to play Scarlett so instead she Julie Marsden, another Southern belle with a fiery temper. The Academy certainly did not think she was playing a second-rate Scarlett O'Hara, because Davis earned the Oscar for Best Actress that year.
Since it is impossible not to hear the echoes of Margaret Mitchell's novel in the plot of "Jezebel," just enjoy the ride. It seems that Julie is upset with her fiance Preston Dillard (Henry Fonda), and intends to embarrass him at the Olympus Ball, the main social event in New Orleans where their engagement will be formally announced. Instead of wearing the traditional white gown worn by unmarried women, Scarlett shows up in a Julie dress, I mean Julie shows up in a red dress (unfortunately this is a black & white film, but you get the idea). However, her gambit backfires, the engagement is broken, and three years later Ashley, I mean, Preston arrives at Miss Julie's plantation with his bride Melanie, I mean, Amy (Margaret Lindsay). The climax of the film comes when a yellow fever epidemic sweeps New Orleans and strikes down Preston. Will Miss Julie risk her life to care for the man she loves? Hey, this is the south's greatest romance, is it not? By its own admission.
You might find Fonda a bit stilted as a dashing Southern gentleman, but this is Bette's film from start to finish. Both director William Wyler and Warner Bros' Studios helped fashion a superior character study with solid production values. Wyler would go on to direct Davis to other noted successes in "The Letter" (1940) and "The Little Foxes" (1941). Of course, Vivien Leigh would win the Oscar the following year and the two roles certainly have in common the fact they could not possibly have been viewed with more a critical eye by movie audiences.
Best Romantic Lines: (1) "I'm terribly sorry to be late. I had trouble with the colt....So sorry, but you know, when a colt gets high-handed, teach him his manners right now or ruin him."
(2) "Wasn't that memory more real than anything she had to give to you? Oh, don't be cross with me, Pres, just tell me. You must." (3) "I'm askin' for the chance to prove I can be brave and strong and unselfish. Help me, Amy. Help me make myself clean again as you are clean. Let me prove myself worthy of the love I bear him."
If you like "Jezebel," then check out these other films on the AFI's list: #2 "Gone With the Wind." Why? Sheesh, were you not paying attention to anything I said above?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Redeemed by Yellow Jack, March 10 2002
By 
This review is from: Jezebel [Import] (VHS Tape)
This is an excellent film bolstered by superlative production values and above all an exceptional cast. However, make no mistake that this is Bette Davis' film all the way. Bette Davis is the complex Julie Morrison, the self-destructive Southern belle. The story takes place in pre-Civil War upper class New Orleans where gentlemen defended the honor of a lady's name over pistols. Bette Davis brilliantly flaunts these conventions in wicked fashion for mere amusement even though she realizes the abyss she is spiraling herself into. Henry Fonda is good as the very stoic and unbending Preston Dillard. He is the one man whom Davis will ultimately frustrate as he eventually refuses to be maneuvered as one of her pawns. William Wyler directed this film in grand fashion with cinematography by Ernest Haller, art designs by Robert Haas and a good score Max Steiner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful film!, Aug. 30 2001
This review is from: Jezebel [Import] (VHS Tape)
"Jezebel" is a really great classic film. I highly recommend it . Bette Davis is wonderful in her role, so is Henry
Fonda, her lover in the film. This film has some of the best acting in it I've ever seen. I'd give it more stars if I could.
I'm a big fan of Bette Davis' , and in this film, as in all her others, she always gave her absolute best performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Campy potboiler with great acting, Aug. 7 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Jezebel [Import] (VHS Tape)
Bette Davis is great, best actress ever. Only movie I like Henry Fonda... come on, Miss Julie (Davis) creates a scandel by wearing a red dress? Fiance leaves her because of it? But the acting is excellent and the stuff about Yellow Jack is quite good, creates a scary mood. I love some of the cat fight type stuff, especially like it when Miss Julie lets Southern friends berate Northerners at a dinner with people from each area, is scolded by her moma for allowing the conversation, demurely bats her eyelashes, and explains how she'd never restrict her guests' conversation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars SHOT DAVIS TO SUPERSTARDOM, Aug. 1 2001
This review is from: Jezebel [Import] (VHS Tape)
JEZEBEL added yet another unsympathetic role to Bette Davis's lengthening list. The story of a perverse and selfish girl named Julie, the film takes place in the years just before the Civil War - 1852, to be exact. Miriam Hopkins played the role of Julie on Broadway, and while the plot is trite, Davis gave a knock-out performance; this undoubtedly started their legendary feud - you see, Hopkin's interpretation wasn't nearly as praised by the critics when they viewed her in the Owen Davis melodrama - which is ironic in a sense - Hopkins hailed from Bainbridge, Georgia! I appreciate Wyler's perfectionist direction which aids the basically trite plot immeasureably (without the zing Davis gave Julie, it would have been a very mossy affair indeed and probably a yawnable bore.) For her fine acting in JEZEBEL, Bette, in all fairness, earned her Oscar. A handsomely produced movie which withstands the passage of years due to the care and craftmanship given it; it was Davis's finest performance to date. Henry Fonda had to take time out in December of 1937 to be with his wife Frances during the birth of their child - a daughter named Jane. Wyler kept Bette's famous kinetic mannerisms in check and he encouraged her to explore uncharted depths of her acting ability. Davis fell in love with Wyler during shooting and instinctively knew he would make her a star of the first calibre due to his expertly inspired directing. As most classic movie buffs know, the dress Bette wore in the picture was russet brown; red photographed grey in black and white film! This is one film which would indeed be a good candidate for expert colorization!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa7266240)

This product

Jezebel (Bilingual) [Import]
Jezebel (Bilingual) [Import] by William Wyler (DVD - 2000)
CDN$ 21.87 CDN$ 19.88
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews