Customer Reviews


132 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ian Fleming shaken, not stirred
This was the first Bond movie I ever saw in the theater, Dec.31, 1969. For a young kid like me, it was the greatest way on earth to usher out the Sixties. Years of Bond hype, Bond toys, and Sean Connery worship finally came to a head. Yet this was the new guy, a somewhat blasphemous situation to be in. Still, no one ever entered a movie theater with higher...
Published on June 17 2004 by Rob

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not Bond at his best
They say some people love this movie and some hate it. I'm in the latter camp: the film feels very dated, and the acting seems forced. Not my cup of tea, and I consider myself a Bond fan
Published 6 months ago by PeterInVancouver


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ian Fleming shaken, not stirred, June 17 2004
This review is from: On Her Majesty's Secret Service (Special Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
This was the first Bond movie I ever saw in the theater, Dec.31, 1969. For a young kid like me, it was the greatest way on earth to usher out the Sixties. Years of Bond hype, Bond toys, and Sean Connery worship finally came to a head. Yet this was the new guy, a somewhat blasphemous situation to be in. Still, no one ever entered a movie theater with higher expectations.
Let me just say this: from the opening credits I was transported to a wonderland of excitement and delight. The music, the villain, the fights, the women, and especially George Lazenby made it a great, great, great Bond movie. To this day, I regard it as possibly the film I have enjoyed more than any other I have seen. Briefly, let me dissect what made it such a great 007 film:
1.The Villain-Telly Savalas should have been Blofeld many more times. He is menacing and a good physical opponent for Bond. Savalas was doing many villains at this time in his career (Dirty Dozen, etc.) mainly because he was so good at it. Telly's Blofeld is very true to Ian Fleming. Along with Robert Shaw and Gert Frobe, I rate him among the best of the Bond villains.
2. The fights-the editing is outstanding, creating fast, violent brawls. Lazenby is quite formidable and believably dangerous-the way Bond should be and hasn't been since. The best Bond fight scene that stands alone is certainly with Oddjob, but the numerous fights in OHMSS are the most realistic and violent.
3.The Women-Diana Rigg (need we say more)-a real actress and the fantasy of every pubescent boy watching The Avengers. Also plenty of eye-candy in the chalet of Blofeld. And throw in Frau Bunt who seems resurrected in the Austin Power movies-she's a pure Fleming character: an evil sexless matron.
4.The music-definitely high-style John Barry. It is a departure from his earlier Connery films and very original. It's just great adventure music and the main title is damn dangerous to be listening to when driving your car. For fun, my kids and I have synchronized it to driving the mountain route in Sega Gt 2002-it's the perfect soundtrack. As an Album alone OHMSS is a proud possesion in my record collection.
5.Finally, (and ladies and gentlemen, I could go on and on about this) dear Mr. Lazenby. How anyone could be at the top, with the highest profile movie persona in the world, and then drop to almost total obscurity is lamentable to the most Shakespearean proportions. George was so young (stil in his twenties!) during OHMSS, he could have been Bond into the mid-nineties. I saw him playing a Bond-like character in some cheap John Stamos movie and he was still exciting to watch-too bad Stamos was the star. Bond must provoke intrigue, sophistication, sex, and violence. George Lazenby had it all. To you, Mr. Lazenby, wherever you are, I lift my glass in a toast to your James Bond of OHMSS.
I promised to be brief and so I end with so much unsaid about this terrific movie. New Year's Eve 1969 was an unforgettable movie experience. How many films can you remember the exact date you first saw them?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars James Bond 007, Nov. 18 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Éxellent film,
Cela est un des meilleur film de James bond, George Lazenby interprete bien son role, a mon avis. Ce film me rapelle de bon souvenirs, je suis bien heureux de l'ajouté a ma collection de L'Agent double Zéro Sept (007). Le film est aussi en Francais,pour ceux que sa intéresse. La qualité des image est exellente.
Merci Amazone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nothing is better than BOND!, July 9 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A Classic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Underrated Bond. Comes out well on Blu-Ray., Jan. 30 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
One of the most underrated Bonds. Sure, Lazenby was not the best Bond but he could not be faulted because of his lack of acting experience. He performed adequately in this epic Bond adventure. Though this film was filmed in the late 60s, the transfer to Blu-ray is amazing and has stood up well - especially the the mountain ski and chase scenes - it is as if they filmmakers they were making an epic movie that would stand the test of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not Bond at his best, Jan. 16 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
They say some people love this movie and some hate it. I'm in the latter camp: the film feels very dated, and the acting seems forced. Not my cup of tea, and I consider myself a Bond fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bond has seldom been this good., June 15 2013
By 
One singular sensation... "One singular sensa... (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Like many of the recent reviewers of this movie, this is, unquestionably my favourite. The Daniel Craig movies are the only rivals it has. Poor Sean Connery. He seemed so right, but now we know that he wasn't the James Bond for the ages.

Lazenby was shabbily treated by almost the entire production crew, and still managed in most scenes to be the best Bond. When he failed, it was clearly because the director's simply ignored him and concentrated on the special effects and, now and then, the women. In the case of Diana Rigg, that was just fine. She knew her way around a set and is still the best "Bond-girl" ever. Even Halle Berry pales by comparison. Time, however, has been cruel to her wardrobe. The skating costume in particular is now only worth a few giggles, not the sex appeal it was meant to have. But the lady herself is stupendous. And Lazenby, with only a commercial for acting experience, was able to keep up with her. Why not have cast him in the next Bond film? He wasn't known, so had no other offers, and when the Bond people dumped him and refused to even send him on the publicity tours, they killed his career. But he is the best. Trouble is, that outside of the sections directly involving Rigg and precious few others, this was a weaker than usual script. And not even Connery could have carried off the kilt sequences that are thrust on Lazenby.

And Lazenby and Craig have also been by far the least sexist and emotionally immature of the Bonds. Unless Dalton's dour Bond is considered by some to be a mature rendering. But I see him as a spoiled brat of a Bond, unable to do anything but sulk.

P.S. I disagree with some of the other comments made in previous reviews regarding Telly Savalas. I can't see him without also seeing a lollipop in his mouth, and that doesn't scare me at all.

The weakest Bond? Let Pierce Brosnan and Timothy Dalton fight it out over that one. And they each got more than one chance at the part, and had stronger scripts to work with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very underrated bond film, the biggest sleeper hit in the entire bond series, Feb. 4 2013
Loved the movie, almost as good as Connery's early films and way better than most of Moore's films, heck even Brosnan and Dalton's. George Lazenby passes as a decent Bond in my book but the movie itself is phenomenal and the ending is perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A unique and exciting James Bond movie has been overlooked!!, July 22 2009
By 
Stephen Pletko "Uncle Stevie" (London, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
XXXXX

This is the sixth "official" (meaning EON productions) movie in the James Bond series.

It is based on the 1963 novel of the same name by the late Ian Flaming. This movie follows the plot of this novel quite closely.

This is the only Bond movie to star George Lazenby as fictional MI6 agent James Bond, code number 007. (Sean Connery had quit after starring in five Bond movies.)

After "Dr. No" (1962), this is the only Bond movie with solely instrumental opening credits theme music. (This music is still quite thrilling to hear after all these years.)

Yes, Ernst Stavro Blofeld, head of SPECTRE (SPecial Executive for Counter-intelligence, Terrorism, Revenge, and Extortion) is Bond's nemesis in this movie. In fact, this is the second in what is considered to be the "Blofeld Trilogy." (This means that the Bond movie before this one had Blofeld and the Bond movie after this one had Blofeld. In all three cases, Blofeld was played by a different actor. In this movie, the legendary Telly Savalas plays a superb Blofeld.)

What is especially unique about this movie is that Bond meets, falls in love with, and eventually marries Contessa Teresa "Tracy" di Vicenzo (well-acted by Diana Rigg). Note that Rigg is the main Bond girl but there are twelve more. These dozen Bond girls are Blofeld's unwitting "Angels of Death."

During the Bond and Tracy courtship, there is the song "We have all the time in the world" sung by the incomparable Louis Armstrong. This song is special since this is his last recorded song.

I liked the little things the writers put into this movie. I'll mention just a few of them:

(1) The gun-barrel sequence was slightly different from the ones Bond fans were used to seeing at that time. (2) At the end of the opening sequence, Bond actually talks to the audience. (I don't think this has occurred in any other Bond movie.) (3) During the opening credits sequence, there are outtakes from previous Bond movies. (4) In one scene in this movie, Bond visits his office and takes out from his desk drawer gadgets from the previous Bond movies "Dr. No," "From Russia with Love," and "Thunderball." (Interestingly, this movie has minimal gadgets.) (5) In another scene, a janitor can be heard whistling the theme from "Goldfinger."

There is much debate about George Lazenby's James Bond. Personally, I liked him as Bond since he looks and moves like Bond. Due to the nature of the double plot, he had to be both sensitive and ruthless. He pulls it off. Unfortunately, Sean Connery was so closely identified with the role at the time such that people had a hard time seeing Lazenby in the role. (Lazenby, despite being offered a seven-movie contract deal, quit the role on advice from his agent.)

The only problem I had with this movie is that it take a long time to set up and viewers may get bored because of this. But the wait is worth it! The last hour of the movie is essentially one long, thrilling action sequence. After watching this accompanied by the specially-composed instrumental music (described above), you might feel like going out and saving the world from evil!!

Beware that this movie ends on a sad note but the ending is realistic considering the nature of Bond`s job.

This movie was filmed on location in Switzerland, Portugal, and London, England.

It grossed eighty-seven million dollars worldwide (that's a respectable five-hundred and thirteen million in today's dollars). It was one of the highest grossing movies worldwide at that time.

The DVD (released in 2009) is flawless in picture and sound quality. This movie has been digitally restored and I'm sure the picture is just as good (if not better) than when it was released forty years ago. There is one extra, an audio commentary.

Finally, here is some information to consider. This DVD is actually the first disc of the two disc "Ultimate Edition." Bond fanatics may want to purchase this two-disc Ultimate Edition since the second disc has "the best collection of special features ever assembled for Bond." (Unfortunately, the Ultimate Edition is no longer available but can be purchased second-hand.)

In conclusion, this is a unique and exciting James Bond movie that has been overlooked!!

(1969; 2 hr, 20 min; wide screen; 32 scenes)

<<Stephen Pletko, London, Ontario, Canada>>

XXXXX
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars le premier James Bond 007, Jan. 19 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
J'avais eu le plaisir de voir le film quand il est sorti .
J'ai encore pris plaisir à le revoir.
Le premier de la série 007 (James Bond) film qui est un peu oublié
et c'est dommage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars On His Lazenby's Secret Service, July 12 2004
By 
DEAN M. Dent (SAN LEANDRO, CALIFORNIA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: On Her Majesty's Secret Service (Special Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
The most underrated movie in the biggest film franchise of all time,OHMSS is highly regarded by 007 movie fans as the best movie.One of the reasons it hasn't topped Goldfinger ,due to the fact James Bond was not portrayed by Sean Connery, but an Australian model in his first acting job.
George Lazenby took on the role of 007 when Connery exited after You Only Live Twice (1967).Although lacking Connery's charisma (like the later Bond actors), Lazenby was a superb choice and did a wonderful job despite filling some big shoes.
But what really makes this movie so great is the story itself.Based from one of Ian Fleming's last Bond novels,It deals with Bond taking a leave from MI6 to track down Ernst Stavro Blofeld (Telly Savales).He teams up with Italian crime boss Draco (Gabriele Ferzetti) who offers to help Bond in exchange for him to marry his daughter Tracy (Diana Rigg).Bond goes undercover to Blofeld's mountaintop lair in Switzerland to uncover Blofeld's new plot of world domination,all the while in an uncharacteristic move, he falls in love with Tracy and marries her.
OHMSS spectacular scenes includes chases on skis, cars and bobsleds,as well as the destruction of the villian's lair.The most disturbing image of all Bond movies is the end scene after Bond and Tracy's wedding.
Although a hit at the box office in late 1969, it didn't perform as well as previous Bond films.Lazenby also departed the role, fearing that Bond pics would disappear after a while (!!!).Connery would return for one last time in Diamonds are Forever(1971), while Lazenby became a footnote in the Bond legacy.Many have wondered if Connery would've stuck it out to play in OHMSS (or Lazenby doing DAF).Either way,OHMSS will always be the most debated if not the most spectacular Bond film of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

On Her Majesty's Secret Service (Special Edition) (Bilingual)
CDN$ 39.98 CDN$ 18.21
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews