Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Easter Island
I spent a year on Easter Island (Rapa Nui)in service to the United States. The people were very friendly and willing to talk about their island. The movie was relatively accurate concerning their past, including the cannibalism. If you lived on an island that is roughly 9 by 16 miles and that island had been deciminated by ecological ignorance, cannibalism might seem...
Published on Aug. 19 2001 by Paul J. Lang

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars good movie
it doesnt play in my dvd machine. It only plays in my laptop and home computer. so i kept it only for a presentation
Published 9 months ago by Gertie Gaete


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars The "Easter" Egg Race, May 25 2003
Ce commentaire est de: Rapa Nui (VHS Tape)
This movie arouses violent controversy...you either like it or hate it.
I like it.
It mixes faithful ethnographic research with a fairly interesting story (culmonating in an egg-race to beat any other). Alright, the acting is poor and the plot has some tropical-romance cliches, but the film-makers respect the facts of Easter Island's prehistory (as told in books like Aku-Aku) without the need to introduce any white explorers or other people with whom we are supposed to identify.
Nor has any attempt been made to saddle the actors with hokey native accents; they speak English with their own accents - usually New Zealand - and get on with saying whatever they have to say in unadorned fashion. Just the way it would have seemed to us if we had been part of that society. None of that "Me Tarzan, you Jane" syntax. The actors are all Polynesian, except Morales and Holt, and they seem ethnically convincing.
The love-story seems intrusively modern, but there's no reason to think such things didn't happen in ancient times. It ends up like a combination of Animal Farm and Lord of the Flies.
The masterpiece in this genre is Tabu (1931); but the 1990's were a low point in film, and Rapa Nui is one of the better efforts of the decade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thought-provoking and cinematically rich, Jan. 21 2002
By 
Lisa A. Leone (United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Rapa Nui (VHS Tape)
I don't think this is a historically accurate account of Easter Island, which has perplexed historians for a long time, but I still think it's worth seeing as a thought exercise. The Moai raise lots of questions and this film gives a possible explanation.
The most compelling aspect of the film (other than the breathtaking scenery) is the struggle between the two "tribes" as exemplified by Esai Morales' character and the ordeals he faces as a proud and fierce member of the lesser tribe, which is made to work in service of the ruling tribe. You can feel Esai's pain to be in service to those who are destroying the land that they must live upon. Imagine putting all of your energy into a pursuit that you're not sure will pay off, but that you're sure is destroying you...
I recommend this film to anyone who is interested in other cultures, especially so-called primitive cultures, and broadening his or her prespective of the world we live in. It won't give you the answers, but it will help you form more questions. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that the love story was perhaps too convenient.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Easter Island, Aug. 19 2001
By 
Paul J. Lang (Rio Linda, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Rapa Nui (VHS Tape)
I spent a year on Easter Island (Rapa Nui)in service to the United States. The people were very friendly and willing to talk about their island. The movie was relatively accurate concerning their past, including the cannibalism. If you lived on an island that is roughly 9 by 16 miles and that island had been deciminated by ecological ignorance, cannibalism might seem like a good idea at some point. It was not a continuing thing. The movie was Hollywoodized for entertainment purposes but was well done and the scenery was very familiar. There were two distinct races and they were the long ears and the short ears. Generally archeologist feel that one race was Polynesian and the other was South American indian. The long ears were generally exterminated in the civil war. Places were accurately named. The statues were carved on the sides of Rana Raraku(S?) and the bird men spent much of their time on the larger volcano called Rana Kao(S?) Once a year the stalwarts of the island did race to "Bird Man's Island" to bring back an egg. I believe it was for the glory and special treatment the winner recieved for the following year. I enjoyed the movie thoroughly.-----PJ
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Scenes from the Class Struggle in Polynesia, Oct. 1 2000
By 
Luis Hernandez (New York, New York, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Rapa Nui (VHS Tape)
While it lacks some important facts that were the primary reasons for the destruction of Easter Island's decline, the film "Rapa Nui" makes a modest attempt to try to recreate life on the most isolated piece of land on earth.
Called "Rapa Nui" by its' Polynesian inhabitants, the island was named "Easter Island" after being discovered by a Dutch schooner on an Easter Sunday in the 18th century. Produced by Kevin Costner ("Dances With Wolves"), and directed by director Kevin Reynolds ("Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves") "Rapa Nui" stars a young cast and features breathtaking scenery.
Jason Scott Lee ("Dragon: The Bruce Lee Story") and Esai Morales ("La Bamba"; "My Family") star as members of rival tribes. When Jason's character falls in love with a woman (Sandrine Holt) from the opposite tribe, troubles, rivalries, and tensions arise as both men attempt to win her love.
Filmed entirely on location on Easter Island, the film has a feeling of authencity as we can see the island's famous "moai" statues everywhere. While the birdman race, and the roles several minor characters play in the film can detract from the main story, the film makes an nice attempt to recreate the greatest civilization to arise from Oceania.
The island (annexed by Chile during the 19th century) has a blend of Latino/Polynesian cultures where Spanish and Rapa Nuian are spoken, the filmmakers really didn't cover the island's deforestation, which is believed to be the main culprit for the island's collapse. Regardless, the film allowed an anthropology student as myself to get a view and feel of Rapa Nuian culture as it could have been. Seeing it on film is much more better than seeing it in a textbook.
Fans of Thor Heyedahl's book "Kon Tiki" will probably like the film, because it explores the theory that Easter Islander's original inhabitants could have come from the South American mainland or from another Polynesian island chain. While there is substantial fact that Easter islander's made contact with their closest island neighbor, Pitcairn Island (famous from the "Bounty" mutiny) which is over 2,000 miles away, I only wish the film could have ended with a conclusion the Lee's and Holt's characters safely made it to terra firma when they set sail from Rapa Nui.
Overall, Rapa Nui will appeal to anthropology and history buffs everywhere. Pick up and check out this film instead of watching reruns of "Gilligan's Island" on syndication.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Rapa Nui - very good, June 14 1998
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Rapa Nui (VHS Tape)
I'm becoming a Kevin Reynolds fan. The Beast is his 1988 war epic, beautifully done and under appreciated. Rapa Nui is in that league, an epic story set on Easter Island, isle of the gigantic stone statues. The premise is simple: There are two groups on the island: the dominant Long-Ears, and the subervient Short-Ears. The former have the latter carving out the huge stone statues, to assuage the gods, and to preserve the tenuous balance of life on the island. Jason Scott Lee is the grandson of the ailing leader of the Long-Ears, and is the ostensible candidate to replace him. Before any change in leadership can occur, one man from each Long-Ear tribe has to compete in a swimming race to capture and retrieve the eggs from an actic tern's nest, situated on a small island offshore. What makes Rapa Nui so gripping is its completeness in its depiction of life on that Island. It's clear that Reynolds and Tim Rose Price read Thor Heyerdahl's exhaustive study of the island. The writing isn't the greatest, but the movie moves along, with a great Steward Copeland score set to lush cinematography. Rapa Nui works as an adventure story, a romance, and a sly attack on government by theocracy. Definitely worth renting. END
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A timeless film. The values expressed demonstrate ..., Jan. 3 2000
By 
John K. Reed (Harrisburg, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Rapa Nui (VHS Tape)
how little man has changed over the course of history to today. The class struggles and prejudices that existed oh so many years ago are still just as prevalent and destructive today as they are portrayed in this film. This film also demonstrates how much harm unwise leaders can visit upon citizens when the citizenry is less than thoughtful and introspective with regard to the policies set forth by the governing body. Yet through it all the power of love is more than ignorance can conquer. Perhaps the most telling aspect of the film is that we (mankind) have learned next to nothing from our collective history. The same stupidity still has a far too prevalent presence in our society.
Historically accurate or not (who cares) the film is thought provoking, action packed and dramatic. Kevin Costner (Producer) is to be commended for a n outstanding film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good movie, Nov. 1 2000
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Rapa Nui (VHS Tape)
Some aspects of this film are great: the scenery, the action (exhausting just to watch!), and a peek at a primitive culture destroyed by deforestation. Unfortunately the characterization almost destroys the film. Jason Scott Lee's character is completely oblivious to the class warfare happening around him; he's so focused on his love interest, he makes the most ridiculous decision about who should rule the island after winning the birdman contest (sorry about spoilers, did anyone think he wouldn't win?). His girlfriend is also next to useless. On the other hand, Esai Morales' character was the real hero though he is the antagonist to Lee's character. At least Morales' character cares about his people's suffering and fights for them. Watch this film, enjoy it, just be warned about its weaknesses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good plot woven into accurate Rapa Nui history and legend., Nov. 27 1999
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Rapa Nui (VHS Tape)
After visiting Easter Island (Rapa Nui) I wanted to see the movie. For the most part, the movie takes the actual known facts about Rapa Nui history and creates the story around them. Much of Rapa Nui history is still a mystery, so the "gap" filled in by the authors is both entertaining and possibly how history really unfolded. Personally I do not like movies that change history to make them more entertaining, but there was very little of that here. The only thing that was known to be wrong was that the Virgin Cave is really at the other side of the island, but that is only a small detail. Definately an exciting film, but I still recommend visiting the island!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An exciting thriller, and Jason Scott Lee is HOT!, May 23 1999
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Rapa Nui (VHS Tape)
Hey, I'm a local girl and I just love Jason Scott Lee. But he's not the only reason why I like this movie. It's about Easter Island, which was once called Rapa Nui. This is a very thrilling film, and you get a small sense of what Polynesian culture was like in old times. I can't say if it's accurate or not, but it's very interesting. Also, Jason Scott Lee, Esai Morales, and Sandrine Holt are three very beautiful specimens of the human race! Buy it, it's great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hot chicks!, March 24 1999
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Rapa Nui (VHS Tape)
Lets get right to it. Sandrine holt is hot and she (and virtually every other girl in the film) is topless throughout. Is this a great movie? Not as such, but it has tremendous entertainment value just the same. I'm waiting for the DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rapa Nui
Rapa Nui (DVD)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews