Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Some of my favourites
Klaatu (the album) is very good but Hope is by far my favourite. I am not really into albums with an over riding story but this one plays out really well. This story (a space opera I suppose) really has me listening and feeling for the characters. The music is excellent and varies from rock to orchestral in an organic way. My wife talked though most of the music, when I...
Published 12 months ago by Earmotion

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars incredible sound, lackluster music
Klaatu sound like a cross between Supertramp and the Alan Parsons Project, with the absurdist songwriting and production touches of Todd Rundgren. Except that this stuff is mostly very earnest, with none of the tongue-in-cheek of Rundgren's stuff. The first, self-titled album is pretty inconseguential and dull, except for the unbelievable production and sound quality -...
Published on Nov. 9 2000 by Sam Theiner


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Some of my favourites, April 8 2013
By 
Earmotion - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Klaatu/Hope (Audio CD)
Klaatu (the album) is very good but Hope is by far my favourite. I am not really into albums with an over riding story but this one plays out really well. This story (a space opera I suppose) really has me listening and feeling for the characters. The music is excellent and varies from rock to orchestral in an organic way. My wife talked though most of the music, when I broke this out of the packaging for the first time, but even she was silenced by the sad tale of the light house keeper. While most people really like the last cut (Hope) I always found it a bit too emotionaly sticky. The sound dynamics of these remastered albums has been criticized by other reviewers but I found the dynamic range very wide, unfortunately causing me to constantly adjust the volume when I play it in my car, due to road noise obscuring the quieter passages. At home, however, this plays out nicely and enhances the mood of the music. The sound quality overall is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Reunited Beatles ?, Feb. 6 2004
By 
Dean A. Lisi (Ellicott City, MD United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Klaatu / Hope (Audio CD)
This rumor started LONG before John Lennon was killed. The media suggested KLAATU could, maybe .. be the 4 lads ....close but sadly they were not ...what they were/are is a bunch of extremely talented musicians that made some great "Beatlesque" music .... hey Oasis does it ....Badfinger ..did it...TEARS for FEARS even did it .. Don't listen to Klaatu because you want them to be the Beatles .. listen to them because they're freakin really good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Prepare for a Symphonic Rollercoaster Ride!, April 9 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Klaatu / Hope (Audio CD)
The best songs of this uneven Mop Top imposter collection will bring back memories of the most pleasing melodies of the 60s, set to kitchen sink arrangements with lyrics as meaningless as any ever committed to vinyl. One minute you're listening to the greatest Beatles bootleg never uncovered, the next an incomprehensible piece of tripe that sounds like McCartney being sucked into a blender playing a Casio harpsichord. Standout tracks include Calling Occupants, Sub-Rosa, We're Off You Know, Loneliest of Creatures, and Hope. The highs will give you a nosebleed, but have the remote ready at all times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Far ahead of their Time, July 20 2010
This review is from: Klaatu / Hope (Audio CD)
I first heard these Albums when i was in my Teens,at the time when Kiss,Black Sabbath,etc. were prominent.There were Rumors that the Beatles had reformed.The Carpenters had released"Calling Occupants".
At the time i only liked the "heavier" Guitar-driven tunes.
Listening to these Albums now,the best expression I can think of, to describe these works is "THE BEATLES ON STEROIDS".

RTK In NWT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars que es klaatu????, March 11 2004
By 
joemil marti (santo domingo rd) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Klaatu & Hope (Audio CD)
klaatu es un grupo de rock canadiense (un trio)el cual emergio a mediados de los 70s con un estilo muy pero muy influenciado por la ultima etapa de los beatles.tanto asi que todo el mundo penso que en realidad klaatu eran los beatles que se habian vuelto a unir bajo ese seudonimo.la edicion original del cd no hace nada por contradecir esta leyenda ya que no incluye informaicon alguna sobre la banda ni fotos tampoco.la musica que incluye este cd viene siendo como algo parecido a donde los beatles se quedaron ,unos arreglos e instrumentaciones marivillosas muy parecido tambien a elo.de este magnifico grupo solo eh escuchado su primer album klaatu(o 3:47 est)nunca eh oido el hope pero segun comentarios es un tipo de rock sinfonico a la queen.aqui en esta edicion vienen los dos incluidos.lo recomiendo a los fanaticos de los beatles y electric light orch.excelente produccion,excelente calidad de sonido,excelente musicalidad ,pero klaatu despues de todo no son los beatles (en los 70s) es solo un grupo canadiense de muy buena calidad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thanks for the memories., Oct. 24 2003
By 
Patrick Burnett "penngos" (San Francisco, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Klaatu/Hope (Audio CD)
I, too, was first drawn to Klaatu by the rumor that they were the secretly reformed Beatles. I bought their first album, "Klaatu" and pored over it, looking for clues or proof. Certainly, some of the Fab Four's orchestral imagination was in evidence, swirly, brassed-up pomp & circumstance a la "Sgt. Pepper", but, in all, the sound belonged only to Klaatu themselves.
I went on to buy "Hope" and, many years later, "Magenta Lane". For the most part, I loved the trippy, happy music that often told wonderful, lighthearted stories, like "Anus of Uranus", "Sir Bodsworth Rugglesby III" the story of the only man whose been to "Hell and come back alive". But they were capable of much more serious and thoughtful work, as well.
Klaatu was, without a doubt, a product of the 70's. Such lush, pensive music was a staple of bands like Led Zeppelin, Marillion, Rush, Genesis and Styx, but could not be produced today. But if you like that sound and you're open to trying new, old things, give them a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You all forget to mention ..., Sept. 1 2003
By 
den_east (Edmonton, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Klaatu / Hope (Audio CD)
All I want to say about Klaatu is they were a great "Art - Rock" band. When music meant more than being the "flavor of the week". Now-a-days you'd be hard pressed to find any kind of modulation in pop or rock. All the reviews here are good and "American" which begs me to ask ... How come no one mentions they were from Toronto Canada ??? It's time the U.S. took notice of Canadian talent and mention that status in their reviews. Cheers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic Reaction, Aug. 22 2003
This review is from: Klaatu / Hope (Audio CD)
People were very curious about this band for a while when they thought these guys might have been the Beatles in disguise. They fooled a lot of people and their debut record sold very well for a while. But as soon as it was discovered who they really were or weren't in this case, Klaatu practically became a footnote in music history. Forgotten was the fact that these guys had put out a very nice album that was every bit as good if not better in some respects (Taboo I know) than the Beatles latter day material. But unfortunately who you are is all that matters with most people too.
I wouldn't classify this band as great, admittedly these guys were mimics in a lot of ways but they were good mimics too. They never really carved out a path to call their own either but if people had cared a little more about the music these guys did put out instead of who made it then they would have had a lot more success than they did. But then again how many similar stories like this could be told too? Remember the Yes and Starcastle similarities... Yes and who??? lol
Taking nothing from the greatness of the Beatles at all but the public has always been a fickle crowd with a very short memory and the truth is that once your established you can almost put garbage out and have it called great. But don't confuse them with the fact that this album would most likely be double platinum and considered some of the Beatles finest had it really turned out to be them.
If you enjoy music more than who makes it then put this in your CD player and sit back and enjoy. Klaatu put out some classy stuff. And if you are not a total Beatles fanatic who knows every tune by heart then you may not even know the difference, as many others didn't once upon a time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars We Are Your Friends, May 15 2003
By 
David Bradley "David Bradley" (Sterling, VA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Klaatu / Hope (Audio CD)
Allowing Klaatu to be perceived for several months as the Beatles reunited under some mysterious guise (or perhaps promoting the concept outright) may have helped sell a few hundred thousand records, but it also blinded much of the world to a simple fact: KLAATU was a great LP in it's own right.
If anything, I like KLAATU better than I did when it was released several lifetimes ago. It sings of a time when Pop stars tried to make actual Art, when records had meaning beyond which soda company would bid highest for the rights to every hit so they could use it as background for their latest 15 second commercial. Klaatu may not have had the talent of the Beatles or Pink Floyd, but they recorded at a time when any serious talent took the time and the dedication to put together something special, worth repeated listenings and more thought than your typical year 2003 hip-hop-rap-with-a-samba-beat-and-a-guitar-track-sampled-from-Yngwie-Malmsteen type garbage.
The hit--a minor hit, as I recall--was "Sub-Rosa Speedway," I think, but there's a lot more to KLAATU than that. The opening tune, the cinemographic "Calling Occupants of Interplanetary Craft," is worth the price of admission; the shimmer of "California Jam" and "Hanus of Uranus" build toward the single, which was a Masterpiece.
That's Masterpiece, with a capital 'M'.
"Sub-Rosa Speedway" may be the most under-rated single in Pop history, a piece of symphonic beauty McCartney would have been proud of. The lyric is like nothing in Top-40 history. Almost every tool developed in Pop history is used to perfection: horns, strings, power chords, melodic bass lines, a great vocal--they even steal the "chooga-chooga" backing vocals from "I Am The Walrus."
KLAATU is great, "Sub Rosa Speedway" is a classic, and Klaatu deserved more than a two record deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Close, but no cigar., March 12 2003
By 
JHD (United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Klaatu / Hope (Audio CD)
I'll confess up front: my perceptions of Klaatu were formed by the original US release on vinyl, way back in the olden times.
The sound I remember from that LP was nothing short of stunning. Previous experience with Capitol's repackaging of classic albums prepared me somewhat for less than ideal reproduction, but this CD hurts a bit worse than most, because it falls short of such a high standard to begin with.
About the only things Capitol got right were that they mostly left the bass alone, and they did not attempt to reposition any of the sound sources or tinker with the ambience. This CD, especially in the tracks from the first album, will still make the walls sway and your skull throb.
On the other hand, unless your hearing has been impaired significantly more than mine has, you'll need to turn the treble way, way down. The original album's sound was crisp, but it wasn't sibillant! And, the dynamic range has been so compressed that a lot of the more subtle effects on the first album come out rather squashed. Then, there's the sacrilege of snipping the two mouse squeaks...the one that ends the first album, and the one that opens the second album...down to one. Creativity by committee, no doubt.
None the less, this is a good CD to have if you want both albums handy on a single disc.
Musically, no one can fault the variety of styles represented on the first album (Klaatu, now also known as 3:47 Est). Once in a while, though, the lyrics become just a little too precious, even for the mid-Seventies. But the playing is precise, the vocals are right on target for the subject matter, and the arrangements are creative and sometimes downright surprising.
The second album, Hope, starts off as promising as the first. It's lively and witty, right up through the pointedly satirical "Long Live Politzania."
As it works its way toward a dreadful end, however, the album bogs down badly. The title track itself...well, there's just no hope. Not many groups could carry off something that heavy; Klaatu didn't.
Instead of being the affirmation it was intended to be, "Hope" comes across as lifeless and forced. The guys probably should have rung up Yes and gotten their advice. If the lyrics are going to get preachy, you have no choice but to make the music itself all the more interesting. Didn't happen here.
Even so, this is a good CD to have in your collection. There's a lot to like about Klaatu as a group. But in retrospect, perhaps it wasn't such a good career move to attach the band's name to a planet that got wiped from the face of the Universe in only their second album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb5362a8c)

This product

Klaatu / Hope
Klaatu / Hope by Klaatu (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews