Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Prepare for a Symphonic Rollercoaster Ride!
The best songs of this uneven Mop Top imposter collection will bring back memories of the most pleasing melodies of the 60s, set to kitchen sink arrangements with lyrics as meaningless as any ever committed to vinyl. One minute you're listening to the greatest Beatles bootleg never uncovered, the next an incomprehensible piece of tripe that sounds like McCartney being...
Published on April 9 2004

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars A package appropriately named......... "Hope"
If memory serves, when 3:47 E.S.T. (aka Klaatu's first LP) was issued in 1977, discussion focused less upon a rumor ("This could be the Beatles!") than upon a question ("Could this POSSIBLY be the Beatles?"). Hopes may have initially risen when "Calling Occupants of Interplanetary Craft" was released as the first single, but any serious Beatles fan realized by the third...
Published on March 22 2002 by Kevin Gill


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Prepare for a Symphonic Rollercoaster Ride!, April 9 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Klaatu / Hope (Audio CD)
The best songs of this uneven Mop Top imposter collection will bring back memories of the most pleasing melodies of the 60s, set to kitchen sink arrangements with lyrics as meaningless as any ever committed to vinyl. One minute you're listening to the greatest Beatles bootleg never uncovered, the next an incomprehensible piece of tripe that sounds like McCartney being sucked into a blender playing a Casio harpsichord. Standout tracks include Calling Occupants, Sub-Rosa, We're Off You Know, Loneliest of Creatures, and Hope. The highs will give you a nosebleed, but have the remote ready at all times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars que es klaatu????, March 11 2004
By 
joemil marti (santo domingo rd) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Klaatu/Hope (Audio CD)
klaatu es un grupo de rock canadiense (un trio)el cual emergio a mediados de los 70s con un estilo muy pero muy influenciado por la ultima etapa de los beatles.tanto asi que todo el mundo penso que en realidad klaatu eran los beatles que se habian vuelto a unir bajo ese seudonimo.la edicion original del cd no hace nada por contradecir esta leyenda ya que no incluye informaicon alguna sobre la banda ni fotos tampoco.la musica que incluye este cd viene siendo como algo parecido a donde los beatles se quedaron ,unos arreglos e instrumentaciones marivillosas muy parecido tambien a elo.de este magnifico grupo solo eh escuchado su primer album klaatu(o 3:47 est)nunca eh oido el hope pero segun comentarios es un tipo de rock sinfonico a la queen.aqui en esta edicion vienen los dos incluidos.lo recomiendo a los fanaticos de los beatles y electric light orch.excelente produccion,excelente calidad de sonido,excelente musicalidad ,pero klaatu despues de todo no son los beatles (en los 70s) es solo un grupo canadiense de muy buena calidad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thanks for the memories., Oct. 24 2003
By 
This review is from: Klaatu/Hope (Audio CD)
I, too, was first drawn to Klaatu by the rumor that they were the secretly reformed Beatles. I bought their first album, "Klaatu" and pored over it, looking for clues or proof. Certainly, some of the Fab Four's orchestral imagination was in evidence, swirly, brassed-up pomp & circumstance a la "Sgt. Pepper", but, in all, the sound belonged only to Klaatu themselves.
I went on to buy "Hope" and, many years later, "Magenta Lane". For the most part, I loved the trippy, happy music that often told wonderful, lighthearted stories, like "Anus of Uranus", "Sir Bodsworth Rugglesby III" the story of the only man whose been to "Hell and come back alive". But they were capable of much more serious and thoughtful work, as well.
Klaatu was, without a doubt, a product of the 70's. Such lush, pensive music was a staple of bands like Led Zeppelin, Marillion, Rush, Genesis and Styx, but could not be produced today. But if you like that sound and you're open to trying new, old things, give them a listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic Reaction, Aug. 22 2003
This review is from: Klaatu / Hope (Audio CD)
People were very curious about this band for a while when they thought these guys might have been the Beatles in disguise. They fooled a lot of people and their debut record sold very well for a while. But as soon as it was discovered who they really were or weren't in this case, Klaatu practically became a footnote in music history. Forgotten was the fact that these guys had put out a very nice album that was every bit as good if not better in some respects (Taboo I know) than the Beatles latter day material. But unfortunately who you are is all that matters with most people too.
I wouldn't classify this band as great, admittedly these guys were mimics in a lot of ways but they were good mimics too. They never really carved out a path to call their own either but if people had cared a little more about the music these guys did put out instead of who made it then they would have had a lot more success than they did. But then again how many similar stories like this could be told too? Remember the Yes and Starcastle similarities... Yes and who??? lol
Taking nothing from the greatness of the Beatles at all but the public has always been a fickle crowd with a very short memory and the truth is that once your established you can almost put garbage out and have it called great. But don't confuse them with the fact that this album would most likely be double platinum and considered some of the Beatles finest had it really turned out to be them.
If you enjoy music more than who makes it then put this in your CD player and sit back and enjoy. Klaatu put out some classy stuff. And if you are not a total Beatles fanatic who knows every tune by heart then you may not even know the difference, as many others didn't once upon a time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars We Are Your Friends, May 15 2003
By 
David Bradley "David Bradley" (Sterling, VA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Klaatu / Hope (Audio CD)
Allowing Klaatu to be perceived for several months as the Beatles reunited under some mysterious guise (or perhaps promoting the concept outright) may have helped sell a few hundred thousand records, but it also blinded much of the world to a simple fact: KLAATU was a great LP in it's own right.
If anything, I like KLAATU better than I did when it was released several lifetimes ago. It sings of a time when Pop stars tried to make actual Art, when records had meaning beyond which soda company would bid highest for the rights to every hit so they could use it as background for their latest 15 second commercial. Klaatu may not have had the talent of the Beatles or Pink Floyd, but they recorded at a time when any serious talent took the time and the dedication to put together something special, worth repeated listenings and more thought than your typical year 2003 hip-hop-rap-with-a-samba-beat-and-a-guitar-track-sampled-from-Yngwie-Malmsteen type garbage.
The hit--a minor hit, as I recall--was "Sub-Rosa Speedway," I think, but there's a lot more to KLAATU than that. The opening tune, the cinemographic "Calling Occupants of Interplanetary Craft," is worth the price of admission; the shimmer of "California Jam" and "Hanus of Uranus" build toward the single, which was a Masterpiece.
That's Masterpiece, with a capital 'M'.
"Sub-Rosa Speedway" may be the most under-rated single in Pop history, a piece of symphonic beauty McCartney would have been proud of. The lyric is like nothing in Top-40 history. Almost every tool developed in Pop history is used to perfection: horns, strings, power chords, melodic bass lines, a great vocal--they even steal the "chooga-chooga" backing vocals from "I Am The Walrus."
KLAATU is great, "Sub Rosa Speedway" is a classic, and Klaatu deserved more than a two record deal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Close, but no cigar., March 12 2003
By 
JHD (United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Klaatu / Hope (Audio CD)
I'll confess up front: my perceptions of Klaatu were formed by the original US release on vinyl, way back in the olden times.
The sound I remember from that LP was nothing short of stunning. Previous experience with Capitol's repackaging of classic albums prepared me somewhat for less than ideal reproduction, but this CD hurts a bit worse than most, because it falls short of such a high standard to begin with.
About the only things Capitol got right were that they mostly left the bass alone, and they did not attempt to reposition any of the sound sources or tinker with the ambience. This CD, especially in the tracks from the first album, will still make the walls sway and your skull throb.
On the other hand, unless your hearing has been impaired significantly more than mine has, you'll need to turn the treble way, way down. The original album's sound was crisp, but it wasn't sibillant! And, the dynamic range has been so compressed that a lot of the more subtle effects on the first album come out rather squashed. Then, there's the sacrilege of snipping the two mouse squeaks...the one that ends the first album, and the one that opens the second album...down to one. Creativity by committee, no doubt.
None the less, this is a good CD to have if you want both albums handy on a single disc.
Musically, no one can fault the variety of styles represented on the first album (Klaatu, now also known as 3:47 Est). Once in a while, though, the lyrics become just a little too precious, even for the mid-Seventies. But the playing is precise, the vocals are right on target for the subject matter, and the arrangements are creative and sometimes downright surprising.
The second album, Hope, starts off as promising as the first. It's lively and witty, right up through the pointedly satirical "Long Live Politzania."
As it works its way toward a dreadful end, however, the album bogs down badly. The title track itself...well, there's just no hope. Not many groups could carry off something that heavy; Klaatu didn't.
Instead of being the affirmation it was intended to be, "Hope" comes across as lifeless and forced. The guys probably should have rung up Yes and gotten their advice. If the lyrics are going to get preachy, you have no choice but to make the music itself all the more interesting. Didn't happen here.
Even so, this is a good CD to have in your collection. There's a lot to like about Klaatu as a group. But in retrospect, perhaps it wasn't such a good career move to attach the band's name to a planet that got wiped from the face of the Universe in only their second album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Radiohead of the 70's?, July 19 2002
By 
Kidamadeus "kidamadeus" (Warner-Robins, Georgia United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Klaatu / Hope (Audio CD)
...maybe not, but they sure came close! What strange songwriting by this most bizarre of bands. Ranging from psychedelic to hard rocking to progressive to just bizarre--I don't know if listening to this is a guilty pleasure, or if it really is as good as I think it is.
I won't bother with Beatles comparisons, others have written about that. I will say that the music contained here lies somewhere between post-Sgt. Pepper era Beatles, early Alan Parsons Project, Meddle to Animals era Pink Floyd, and (yes) Radiohead. Then again, other songs remind me of other bands: "California Jam"(Beach Boys), "Anus Of Uranus" (Crack The Sky), Sir Bodsworth Rugglesby (The Boston Symphony meets The Muppets). It is just a strange mix of demented music.
What is most amazing to me about this CD is the production of the music. The sound quality is just awesome, with all sorts of effects, guitars and keys swirling around inside your headphones. Now keep in mind that I say this about the double album CD version. I have heard that this is actually a very flawed mix compared to the individual remasters. I have not heard the other versions, but I can say that I think the double album version is great. (I may have to buy them seperately to hear what everyone's been talking about!)
Anyway it is in the production of sounds that draws my comparison to Radiohead. To me, listening to this CD for the first time was much like listening to "OK Computer" or "Kid A" for the first time. There is a lot to listen to, and I mean that in a good way.

At the price that Amazon has this available for, I would recommend the two-fer package. If you want to check the remasters individually, I would recommend the following:
Klaatu: (a.k.a. 3:47 EST) Buy this one if you are more interested in the more rocking "Beatles-ish" sound.
Hope: Buy this one if you are more interested in the "Pink Floyd-ish" sound.
Hope this helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A package appropriately named......... "Hope", March 22 2002
By 
Kevin Gill (Clifford, Virginia United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Klaatu / Hope (Audio CD)
If memory serves, when 3:47 E.S.T. (aka Klaatu's first LP) was issued in 1977, discussion focused less upon a rumor ("This could be the Beatles!") than upon a question ("Could this POSSIBLY be the Beatles?"). Hopes may have initially risen when "Calling Occupants of Interplanetary Craft" was released as the first single, but any serious Beatles fan realized by the third listening that the vocals were simply not those of the Fab Four. What's more, why on earth would the reunited Beatles have reverted to their 1967/Magical Mystery Tour era sound? The Beatles were all about musical progression, constantly moving forward. By contrast, the Klaatu songs were a ten year leap backward. Such a lame catering to their past would have been anathema to the Beatles. While the first Klaatu album may have helped fan the reunion flames (aided by the reissued "Got To Get You Into My Life" rising to #7 in the U.S. pop charts, Paul McCartney & Wing's phenomonal 1976 success, and Paul Harvey's "good day" announcement that the former Fabs had actually gathered one weekend to broach the reunion topic), it quickly dissipated into irrelevance. Wishful thinking has its place in life, but fraud benefits no one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The "Left-Over Beatles" NOT!, March 5 2002
By 
Rockin' Randy (Munster, Indiana United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Klaatu / Hope (Audio CD)
This is my 3rd KLAATU CD purchase and I really like this band alot - for what they really are. For those of you who are not really familiar with all of the hype surrounding this band, there are alot of reviews, opinions and such comparing them to the Beatles. Originally, when the band released their first album, no one really knew who they were or where they came from. Rumors were circulating that the band was comprised of the 3 remaining Beatles after the tragic death of John Lennon - supposedly they sounded similar to the Beatles. Whoever started those rumors must have been on a "Magical Mystery Tour" of their own because the only thing that even comes close (and use the word "close" loosly) is the production on a couple of the songs. The vocals aren't even close to sounding like the Beatles. So, if you're looking for a great "original" sounding band with a bit of an "Abbey Road" production flair, check these guys out. If you're looking for the reincarnated Beatles, don't waste your time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!, July 3 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Klaatu / Hope (Audio CD)
Putting the first two Klaatu albums on one CD was a smart move on the part of Collector's Choice Music. One flows beautifully into the next. If you loved these two albums when they first came out, purchase this CD. The reproduction on this CD is incredible. Forget your scratchy LPs - I don't remember my old albums sounding this good. Yes, we all know the untrue rumours that these were the Beatles together again. But, with the sound reproduction on this CD, you'd almost think it was the Beatles. Kick back and relax to the 16 tunes on this CD which will - take you to space and back again; take you to mythical places and allow your fantasies to come alive; and take you on one heck of a musical journey. If you like Klaatu, the Beatles and Pink Floyd - may I suggest another CD to purchase: British Rock Symphony - the music of the Beatles, The Rolling Stones, Led Zeppelin, Pink Floyd & The Who as performed by Roger Daltry, Paul Rodgers, Tommy Shaw, Alice Cooper, Ann Wilson and more. Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Klaatu / Hope
Klaatu / Hope by Klaatu (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews