Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (74)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Record, Perfect Sound!
One of Mr. wonders best. Now in DTS HD 96/24 what more could you ask. Beautiful warm sound. No compression. This format is really the best way to enjoy your music. This was a excellent album to put out in the first batch. anyone who has heard this record knows what a masterpiece it is.
The Blu ray Audio discs give a much richer sound then any other format. There is...
Published 8 months ago by Stephen Bieth

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Love's In Need
"Love's In Need Of Love Today " is such a strong song, and before its time... how did Stevie Wonder come up with this intuitive understanding of the universe?
Sadly, the CD does indeed lack the warmth of the vinyl or of better remastering. What's up with Motown anyway?
Published on April 23 2004 by A. Caplan


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Record, Perfect Sound!, Nov. 7 2013
By 
Stephen Bieth (Mississauga/ Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
One of Mr. wonders best. Now in DTS HD 96/24 what more could you ask. Beautiful warm sound. No compression. This format is really the best way to enjoy your music. This was a excellent album to put out in the first batch. anyone who has heard this record knows what a masterpiece it is.
The Blu ray Audio discs give a much richer sound then any other format. There is no question about that. My problem is why are they so hard to find?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yes it works, Jan. 5 2014
By 
Terrance Humphries (Pleasantville, Nova Scotia Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
For us audiophiles these titles really do work and I suspect this is as good as this particular release is ever going to sound. Sir Duke really pops
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wicked Sound, April 10 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I am an audiophile with a lot of vinyl. I thought I would give a couple Blu-rays a try and was very impressed especially with this one. Excellent sound stage!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Star...., Jan. 14 2012
By 
Breadmanwalking (Toronto, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Songs In The Key Of Life (Audio CD)
Got this recently and I have to say that it was very enjoyable
hearing some of these tracks for the first time in a decade....
"Another Star" is a great disco cut, if you ever need one for a
party. It still amazes me to this day all of the parts Stevie
plays in this production. He certainly didn't get hung up on his
lack of sight. The guy is an inspiration to us all....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, Sept. 29 2003
By 
Patrik Lemberg (Tammisaari Finland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Songs In The Key Of Life (Audio CD)
I've given this recording five stars for what the music is; I am comparing the album to other Stevie Wonder albums. This is the best I've heard.
A lot of Wonder's hit material come from this double-set, like "Sir Duke", "I Wish" & "Isn't She Lovely" ("Superstition" is not included here, though). Everybody on our planet (including YOU) have heard "Isn't She Lovely" by now. It has probably been played every day on different radio stations since its release. The only difference from the radio versions is that on this album you get the additional three minutes that often are left out.
A huge amount of time is spent on the sounds and the perfection in performance; it's certainly not made in a rush. Extraordinary things have been done in the recording-studio to accomplish certain sounds - a lot of choirs are used, a lot of ultra-funky synthesizers are being used, a lot of different percussion are used throughout and on "Black Man" 15 teachers can be heard teaching history to 30 children. Hundreds of people participated in the musical performance on this recording - including Herbie Hancock on "As" and George Benson on "Another Star".
"Joy inside my tears" is a highlight. Its refrain goes on and on for about four minutes at the end, and once the song stops, it feels like it didn't repeat enough; The song is VERY entertaining despite its composional simplicity, which is the case with most of the songs. The bonus track "All Day Sucker" is about as funky as anything will ever be - very original considering it's 1976. Stevie Wonder should have been given, and should be given a Grammy every year for this album.
...and last, for those who have the nerve to ask... No, "Pastime Paradise" was not written by either Coolio or Ray Barretto - it's written by, and orinally performed by Stevie Wonder, and it can be heard at its best on "Songs In The Key of Life".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Songs in the Key of Life, July 21 2011
This review is from: Songs In The Key Of Life (Audio CD)
It was just as I remembered it from when I was in my teens when the record album came out. Yes, I memorized almost all the words to all the songs, now, my 15year old son loves it...Thanks for making "once lost" music albums available again in great quality CD format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So Lovely, So Funky, July 10 2004
This review is from: Songs In The Key Of Life (Audio CD)
Beautiful, rich color and soul. Kicking up the blues into funk, improv, fusion, and prog. Huge fidelity recoding. Songs are so catchy and well-written. You'll be singing the songs before the first of the 2 discs are even finished. A masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I couldn't belive..., July 5 2004
By 
Andrew Mello (Leominster, Ma USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Songs In The Key Of Life (Audio CD)
I walked in to record town with 40 dollars that fatefull day. Totaly disgusted with the music sceen today i drifted in to the back of the store. I looked through the artists and stevie wonder's name appeared. Suddenly somthing came over me and i had songs in the key of life in my hand and i was walking to the cash register. I don't know why i bought it, i don't know what came over me. All i know is that this is one of the best albums of all time. Trust me it wont dissapoint you at all, it will inspire you to do greater things. Don't think, just buy it.
Fav. Songs : Another Star, As, Knocks me off my feet, summer soft, sir duke, if it's magic, ebony eyes, isn't she lovely, have a talk with god, i wish, love's in need of love today, saturn, village ghetto land, pasttime paradsie.
THERE ALL EXCELENT!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars infidel is stupid!, June 25 2004
This review is from: Songs In The Key Of Life (Audio CD)
stevie wonder's songs in the key of life was released in 1976
a creative masterpiece long before u (infidel) and the ugly
foolish justin timberlake was even born. i suggest that u
research legendary artists from the 40s 50s 60s and the 1970s
2 learn what real music is all about because u r foolishly
out of touch with real music legends!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ignore songlife's review, June 25 2004
This review is from: Songs In The Key Of Life (Audio CD)
it is apparent that u songlife have an incredibly foolish
nature when it comes down 2 stevie's important issues such
as slavery and race in his music. these are important topics
that need be addressed and stevie did it with truth and honesty.
if u r black-well then u r a brained washed negro. if u r white
u have never walked in black peoples shoes 2 understand the
painful effects of slavery and how it still affects black people
even 2day right now at this moment!if u r white, u would not
dare trade places with us black people because u couldn't handle
the stress,strife and racism that we black people have 2 endure
on a daily basis for over 450 years and counting.yes-songs like 'pastime paradise' and 'BLACK MAN'are essential and important 2 stevie's career-or betteryet 4 me and stevie 2 make u more upset about the issues of blacks being oppressed buy stevie's 1971 album 'where i'm coming from'and listen 2
'i wanna talk to you'or stevie's 1980 album-'hotter than july'
and listen 2 'cash in your face' or the track that stevie had
written and produced for the group third world called
'you're playing us too close' from the 1982 album
'you've got the power'/or the track 'its wrong'(apartheid)
from stevie's 1985 album,'in square circle'/or the track
'dark'n lovely' from stevie's 1987 album 'characters'/or the
track 'conversation peace' from stevie's 1995 album
'conversation peace'/now with all that being said i suggest 2u fool- stop living in a 'mickey mouse-disneyland'attitude
because racism is alive and well-because these issues are
important 2 stevie's music-YOU IGNORANT FOOL!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Songs In The Key Of Life
Songs In The Key Of Life by Stevie Wonder (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews