Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars But they only did TWO ALBUMS!!!!!
....But they only made TWO ALBUMS!!!!! However this album makes up for the period when they didn't have no newer music out. Liked the liner notes inside. The music and song lineup is very well done. I've noticed a trend of these kinds of albums lately when artists made two albums for a label. Wait a while before you put out one for them. Hopefully, their new album...
Published on May 27 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm...They Only Had Two Albums
Pretty surprising to see Wilson Phillips have a "Greatest Hits" album. They only made it through two albums before they broke up. Still, the girls had good voices and some great songs. Their first album was a smash going 5x platinum and is a wonderful pop record. Their second unfortunately didn't live up to it and although it wasn't really a flop, it did nowhere...
Published on March 9 2003 by Aaron


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars But they only did TWO ALBUMS!!!!!, May 27 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
....But they only made TWO ALBUMS!!!!! However this album makes up for the period when they didn't have no newer music out. Liked the liner notes inside. The music and song lineup is very well done. I've noticed a trend of these kinds of albums lately when artists made two albums for a label. Wait a while before you put out one for them. Hopefully, their new album will get them back out there big time--it's good to hear that they're back!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ALL ABOUT THE HARMONIES., May 13 2004
By 
S. Quinto (Guatemala, Guatemala) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
The Wilson Phillips are all about the harmonies, their vocals are just supreme. Carnie, Chynna and Wendy are three talented ladies. Their self-titled debut album produced by Glenn Ballard is the main source for this long-awaited Greatest Hits. The 5 singles released from that record are here included in their radio airplay version, a delight for any fan w/o the singles. "Hold On" will always be their uplifting anthem all time classic, "Impulsive" it's a very moving and fast pop song, "You're In Love" is a tame melancolic ballad of letting go, "Release Me" heartbreakin up-ballad, "The Dream Still Alive" one of the most uplifting song ever made, the singles released from their second album where, not as succesful as their predescesor, "You Won't See Me Cry" a romantic ballad that does not achieve the emotion from any of the previous songs release, "Give It Up" an uptempo song, that sounded dated by 1992, "Flesh and Blood" was the most intimate and best single release of their sophomore album, but the only one to not hit the HOT 100, after that the group disbanded til 2004, but this album sure gives you a perfect view of the previous work of the Wilson Phillips as a groups and as individuals, highlighting the solo single from Chynna "Nacked and Sacred" a defenitly underrated song, this album is a must have to any POP fan, and does fullfil the appetitte for true hits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, April 19 2004
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I gave this CD four stars & did not give it five stars because if an Artist/Band is/are going to release an album based upon their greatest hits, I think it's necessary to have all of the original singles on them w/ remixes of each one included. To me, that's nearly the perfect CD comprising of smash singles. I love so many of the songs on this album & I am so happy Wilson Philips was able to put out a record like this...especially since they really are no longer working as a group & haven't been for years. All three ladies are talented & have gorgeous voices; there's just no doubt about it. The most striking track on this record is Chynna Phillips' "Naked And Sacred" because it's such an emotional, acoustic, romantic, & sensual ballad. It deeply touched me when I first listened to the full song! Pillips' vocals shine throughout it.
Overall...a really neat & unique album. A couple of live performances on it (which make it even better) & different versions of the singles (radio edits, lp versions, remixes; etc.) go wonderfully with it. Inside of the package, you'll find a biography of the commercial success that Wilson Phillips have had. Very interesting...& decant photography inside.
1. "Hold On" (Single Edit) (5/5)
2. "You Won't See Me Cry" (Lp Version) (4/5)
3. "You're In Love" (Single/Radio Edit) (5/5)
4. "Impulsive" (Single Edit) (4/5)
5. "Give It Up" (New Extended Radio 7") (5/5)
6. "Release Me" (Single Version) (4/5)
7. "The Dream Is Still Alive" (AC Remix) (5/5)
8. "Flesh And Blood" (Single Edit) (5/5)
9. "Daniel" (Lp Version) (2/5)
10. "A Conversation With Wilson Phillips" (4/5)
11. "Hotel California" (Live In Japan) (1/5)
12. "Hold On" (Live In Japan) (3/5)
13. "Naked And Sacred" (Lp Version) (Chynna Phillips) (5/5)
14. "Miracle" (Lp Version) (The Wilsons) (2/5)
15. "Everything I Need" (Lp Version) (The Wilsons) (2/5)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Singles versions here!, Oct. 27 2003
By 
Frank Gaertner (Atlanta GA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
A couple of other reviewers wrote reviews asking why a greatest hits CD was necessary when they only had seven top 40 hits. Well, believe me, there are plenty of other "greatest hits" CDs out there with only one or two top 40s on them! Regardless, what makes this CD important for fans is that it includes the single versions of all their hits. The single versions of "Hold On", "Release Me", "Impulsive", "You're In Love" and others were all edited versions of the album tracks, and I was very happy to have these versions available on CD. That said, some of the filler material is pretty lame, especially the interview. But their version of "Daniel" is a highlight of the "Two Rooms" project and it's good to have it with their other hits. If you want the versions you heard (and still hear) on the radio, this is the place to get them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Love them then.....alittle less now, June 28 2003
By 
jaime l. long (Northern, michigan United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
When they only had 2 albums why a Greatest Hits? I noticed a couple extra songs on there. I love them as a group and so disappointed when they split. I think the Greatest Hits album a bit much. Get those girls back together and start harmonizing again. Miss them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wilson Phillips are AMAZING!!~, May 22 2003
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Wilson Phillips (Carnie & Wendy Wilson and Chynna Phillips) have put together a very good collection of songs with this release!! Here is a track by track review :
HOLD ON - This is the song that started it all! Penned by Chynna Phillips, along with Carnie Wilson & Glen Ballard, this song is very uplifting, and so damn catchy!! The hook is arranged VERY well and is one of those hooks that sticks in your head all day! Love this song! AMAZING! (5/5)
YOU WON'T SEE ME CRY - This song was the first release from the second album SHADOWS & LIGHT. This single didn't do as well as the previous ones, but still remains as one of Wilson Phillips' best tracks to date! (5/5)
YOU'RE IN LOVE - This song is amazing! It soared to #1 on the Billboard Hot 100 for a reason! The chorus is very catchy! It's a song that we wish we could all feel the same way about a particular somebody! (5/5)
IMPULSIVE - This song features Wendy on the lead vocals... and she's great! Another hit from our favorite Wilson Phillips! Shot to #4 on the Billboard charts. (5/5)
GIVE IT UP - This song was the second release from SHADOWS & LIGHT. Not as good as their other tracks. It's an uptempo song with horns that were inspired by Earth Wind and Fire's songs. (3/5)
RELEASE ME - Awesome!! Another one of Wilson Phillips' best tracks! This was their 2nd single release from the debut album WILSON PHILLIPS. It's one of the only songs in which they sing together the whole way through. It's written solely by Chynna, Carnie and Wendy, and was the first song they ever wrote together for SBK Records! (5/5)
THE DREAM IS STILL ALIVE - This song features Carnie's lower-toned vocals. It's a very good song! It charted at #12, but apparently (according to Carnie) didn't get the recognition deserved!! The chorus sticks on you.(4/5)
FLESH AND BLOOD - This is a very sad song. Wendy & Carnie take lead on this song as a song to their estranged father Brian Wilson. Explaining it doesn't do the song justice. You have to hear it for yourself. (4/5)
DANIEL - This is an amazing cover!! Originally an Elton John song, the girls do a completely awesome version of this classic! Elton & Bernie told Carnie it was one of the best covers they have ever heard!! Great song! (5/5)
CONVERSATION WITH WILSON PHILLIPS - They talk about their music and the single "You're In Love"
HOTEL CALIFORNIA (LIVE) - This song was done live in Tokyo I'm assuming in late 1990 early 1991, maybe even 1992 Not sure sorry! it's a very good version though!! (3/5)
HOLD ON (LIVE) - This is great live! It shows that Wilson Phillips are not a studio trick! Their harmonies are great! (5/5)
NAKED AND SACRED - This is Chynna Phillips' solo single of her solo album NAKED & SACRED. This is a great song!! I love it so much!! If you can find a copy, I strongly suggest checking out Chynna's release! It is absolutely AMAZING!! It's out of print, which is a shame, but try to find it used! Anyway, back to the song IT'S GREAT!! (5/5)
MIRACLE - This is The Wilsons. Pretty good (3/5)
EVERYTHING I NEED - Another Wilson's track. The record flopped because of no promotion, so these two songs may be unknown to you. (3/5)
OVERALL : Great for any Wilson Phillips fan!! You've got a majority of the good material here!! Songs like "Someday I'll Be Next To You," "Over And Over," "This Doesn't Have To Be Love," and "It's Only Life" are also good too! Look for the Wilson Phillips' new CD out 2004!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hmmm...They Only Had Two Albums, March 9 2003
By 
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Pretty surprising to see Wilson Phillips have a "Greatest Hits" album. They only made it through two albums before they broke up. Still, the girls had good voices and some great songs. Their first album was a smash going 5x platinum and is a wonderful pop record. Their second unfortunately didn't live up to it and although it wasn't really a flop, it did nowhere near what the first one did.
This album's highlights are the singles from their debut. "Hold On" was a #1 hit and also the #1 single of 1990 and has a great, positive message. "Release Me" also hit #1 as did my personal favorite by them "You're In Love." "Impulsive" is also a great pop tune and made the top 10. "The Dream Is Still Alive" was the 5th single and managed to go top 20. Another top 10 hit is on here which is "You Won't See Me Cry" from their second album "Shadows and Light" as is the top 40 hit "Give It Up."
I recommend Wilson Phillip's debut. It has all of the good songs and is what made Wilson Phillips what they were in the first place. This isn't a bad buy if you want the singles from their second album included, but otherwise, it's not needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Love It!, Jan. 23 2003
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
My heart almost breaks when I look at the cover of this album because they are still like a family after all these years. This is a neat album and I am so in love with Chynna's "Naked And Sacred"...these ladies are great together!
1. "Hold On (Single Edit)" (5/5)
2. "You Won't See Me Cry (LP Version)" (5/5)
3. "You're In Love (Single/Radio Edit)" (5/5)
4. "Impulsive (Single Edit)" (5/5)
5. "Give It Up (New Extended Radio 7")" (5/5)
6. "Release Me (Single Version)" (4/5)
7. "The Dream Is Still Alive (AC Remix)" (5/5)
8. "Flesh And Blood (Single Edit)" (5/5)
9. "Daniel (LP Version)" (3/5)
10. "A Conversation With Wilson Phillips" (4/5)
11. "Hotel California (Live In Japan)" (2/5)
12. "Hold On (Live In Japan)" (5/5)
13. "Naked And Sacred (LP Version)" (5/5)
14. "Miracle (LP Version)" (2/5)
15. "Everything I Need (LP Version)" (2/5)
Kewl album!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My first Wilson Phillips CD! I am hooked! Woo!, Nov. 22 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
After all the ... from britney spears and christina, I found a Cd worth talking about and listening to. On the very first day I bought it, I told myself it was ..., but when I opened it, put it in my cd walkman, I was like Oh, my God! This is the most beautiful music I ever heard! I listened from start to finish! What I think: This was the best music since I heard Celine Dion's That's the way it is. My favorite song from this was Hold on and The dream is still alive. I bearley even knew this, but the girls put their solos on this thing too. I love Chynna's naked and sacred. It's beautiful. None like Justin Timberlake's stupid ... solos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hits? What Hits?, Nov. 2 2002
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Do not get me wrong, Wilson Phillips were hit makers. Smash hits even, three number one singles in fact. The girls had perfect pop number ones in the empowering "Hold On", the passionate "You're In Love", and the liberating "Release Me". They also went top five with "Impulsive", and top twenty with "The Dream Is Still Alive" and "You Won't See Me Cry". Their last certified top forty hit single was the bouncy "Give It Up". That's a total of seven top forty smash hits. Seven tracks? That's hardly strong enough to base a hits collection around, but they did it, with a heavy bit of padding.
The flop eighth Wilson Phillips single "Flesh & Blood" is included, for instance. It's not a suprise that it flopped, it's hardly a good song. "Daniel", an Elton John cover, was pulled from an Elton tribute collection for this album, along with, of all things, an old interview pulled off the b-side of the "You're In Love" single. Also culled from that same single is a live perfomance of "Hold On" recorded in Japan. The Eagles' "Hotel California" gets a live reworking from the girls, also recorded in Japan, it was pulled off the single for their last top twenty hit "You Won't See Me Cry".
The last three tracks included are the failed tracks of the girls various solo projects. Chynna Phillips' self-penned mid-tempo "Naked & Sacred" is a lovely pop song, and should honestly have done better than it did. Carnie & Wendy Wilson's collaboration with their father, Beach Boy legend Brian Wilson yielded some pretty nice songs, but really, the songs aren't as good as the trio's material or even Chynna's solo song.
Coming together, the album isn't bad, it's just weird. Wilson Phillips don't need a hits collection, especially if they're going to bad it with dull live versions and an interview. Their singles were great, but not in great enough number to deserve a collection like this. They should've waited.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Greatest Hits
Greatest Hits by Wilson Phillips (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews