Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unexpectedly good
Cat Stevens has, over the years, had a bad press. On his conversion to Islam, he repudiated all his recordings as Cat. Unfortunately there were many other critics who were happy to join in the frenzy of repudiating Cat Stevens albums. The most common criticism was that his most popular tunes sounded like nursery rhymes. Maybe that was born of jealousy at the sheer...
Published on July 14 2003 by Gavin Wilson

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Not Mobil Fidelity
Do not get sucked in like I did, I thought that I was buying a "Teaser and the Fire Cat" Lp from the "Mobile Fidelity" label as advertised and that's not what I received from Fun Records! The old adage apply s if it sounds too good it probably not true!
Published on Nov. 28 2011 by kirby


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unexpectedly good, July 14 2003
By 
Gavin Wilson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Teaser And The Firecat (Audio CD)
Cat Stevens has, over the years, had a bad press. On his conversion to Islam, he repudiated all his recordings as Cat. Unfortunately there were many other critics who were happy to join in the frenzy of repudiating Cat Stevens albums. The most common criticism was that his most popular tunes sounded like nursery rhymes. Maybe that was born of jealousy at the sheer attractiveness of so many of his melodies.
In recent times, Cat has undergone a minor revival, partly triggered by the inclusion of 'The Wind' in the magnificent ALMOST FAMOUS movie, and partly due to the excellent remastering of all of his Island albums.
I have previously reviewed one of his greatest hits albums on amazon, and given it an unexceptional rating. But coming to 'Teaser ...' for the first time, I'm very favourably impressed by the quality and consistency of the album. The guitars come out of the remastering process particularly well.
The highlights for me are 'The Wind' and 'Moonshadow', both in much the same musical vein. I hadn't previously realised that Rick Wakeman played the piano on 'Morning has Broken', but in retrospect the piano noodlings are so obviously from the same hands that played 'The Six Wives of Henry VIII'.
There's plenty of evidence of Cat's religious uncertainty and pining, mixed in with some romantic soul-searching too. This may have been an album originally destined for 1970s UK bedsit-land, and today it remains a highly attractive, tuneful recording from a troubled artist that can equally be taken as summer's day entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one of his best, April 29 2003
By 
This review is from: Teaser And The Firecat (Audio CD)
I am a true Cat Stevens fan and enjoy this cd very much. Its' words envoke the senses and feed my soul with it's warm soothing sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you, Amazon.com Reviewers!! Great album!!, April 4 2003
By 
Mandy (Kearny, NJ) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Teaser And The Firecat (Audio CD)
Up until a couple of weeks ago, the only Cat Stevens CD that I ever owned/heard was his Greatest Hits. Don't get me wrong - it is a wonderful compilation, but there are only so many times one can listen to the same songs over and over again. I assumed those were his only good songs, as I usually find with many other greatest hits albums. I stumbled upon this listing, saw how people were raving about this album, and decided to purchase it. All I can say is THANK YOU to all of the reviewers for convincing me to make this purchase! I now know that Cat Stevens' musical greatness extends beyond his Greatest Hits album.
This album is WONDERFUL. I can't stop listening to it. I highly suggest listening to it through headphones...the drum rhythms are great, and some of the songs have really cool sounds and vocals sewn into the melody that will surprise you! Please do not hesitate to purchase this CD (this time you'll be thanking me for it!). ENJOY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars HIS BEST ALBUM, April 2 2003
By 
Pieter Uys "Toypom" (Johannesburg) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Teaser And The Firecat (Audio CD)
This legendary album contains at least four classics: Rubylove with its prominent bouzouki and verses sung in Greek is atmospheric and beautiful; Morning Has Broken sounds like a medieval hymn, a gentle lilting ballad with spiritual undertones; Moonshadow is a moving and melodic love song, while Peace Train, though less immediate, will grow on you. I don't know if Cat Stevens can be considered a "heavyweight" in the singer/songwriter genre, but he certainly reached a creative peak with these beautiful compositions. Never quite as melancholy as Nick Drake, nor as psychedelic as Donovan, Stevens touched all the right chords here with these simple but timeless songs, the sparse backing and his lovely vocals. This is definitely his best album and the music has stood the test of time very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars makes you feel wonderful, Oct. 25 2002
By 
Jeff (Minneapolis, MN USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Teaser And The Firecat (Audio CD)
oh this cd makes me feel happy. his voice is so soothing and there is no reason to skip any tracks on this cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A flawed masterpiece, April 2 2002
By 
John Moulis (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Teaser And The Firecat (Audio CD)
This is the album which consolidated Cat Stevens's career as a serious singer/songwriter. Released in late 1971 as a follow-up to the phenomenally successful Tea For the Tillerman it was a more adventurous recording which included several surprises. The Greek-language interlude in Rubylove made him a favourite in the Greek community and the semi-reggae rhythm of Changes IV and commercialism of Tuesday's Dead broadened his appeal beyond the singles-buying public who made songs like Father and Son and Peace Train number one hits. The Wind and How Can I Tell You are classic love ballads while If I Laugh was given a heavy workout on school radio stations. Peace Train became an anthem during the arms race of the early 1980s while Morning Has Broken was one of Stevens's most successful singles.
Universal Music have done their best to restore this recording after several complaints about the original CD release. The master tape was mixed through an enhancer (as was common at the time), however the settings were overbiased resulting in a "spitty" type sound. While this wasn't a problem on the original LP it was emphasised with the higher resolution of CD. Although the remastered version has been re-equalized and the bass boosted the faults in the original recording can still be heard. Nevertheless the sheer quality of the actual music still shines through. Cat Stevens was one of the distinctive voices of the 1970s and remains one of the most influential singer/songwriters of our time. Teaser and the Firecat is a musical triumph and is definitely a desert island disk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, Aug. 13 2001
By 
R.T. MCCLURE (CARMEL, IN United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Teaser And The Firecat (Audio CD)
This, along with Tillerman and Jakon, is Cat Stevens at his best. These albums proclaim the early 70's. I recommend this album to any fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Teaser and the firecat, July 19 2001
This review is from: Teaser And The Firecat (Audio CD)
This is the best Cat Stevens origional albumn. Every song on Teaser and the Firecat, have the few popular tracks to satisfy the not so knowledgable Cat fan as well as many more tracks that are a little more obscure and satisfy the abid fan. All in all, not one song on this album is to be skipped over. Cat expresses how eclectic of a song writer he really is with this album by including feel good songs with sorrowful love songs and policically charged song, giving everyone the true experience they are looking for when putting on a CD. I advocate that this is Cats Best Solo album in all!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Teaser and the Fire Cat, Nov. 26 2007
By 
This review is from: Teaser And The Firecat (Audio CD)
Many music lovers born before 1970 grew up with these beautiful melodies and vocals playing on the car radio, in the kitchen, at lots of parties and during romantic moments with their boy or girlfriends. A great mix of lyrics and music, some low and gentle and others that rock! Work with this much depth puts the current offering of violent, obscenity-laden 'trash it all' rap rhymes to shame!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not Mobil Fidelity, Nov. 28 2011
Do not get sucked in like I did, I thought that I was buying a "Teaser and the Fire Cat" Lp from the "Mobile Fidelity" label as advertised and that's not what I received from Fun Records! The old adage apply s if it sounds too good it probably not true!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Teaser And The Firecat
Teaser And The Firecat by Cat Stevens (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews