Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just a few pointers!
Firstly, i'd like to say that this is an excellent album to start out with if you are new to pink floyd! Secondly, in reply to the person that said they only altered one track. ALL of the tracks are different! I'll explain: ONE OF THESE DAYS on "Meddle" goes straight into the next track without any break or pause in the record. Here it is edited from the...
Published on Sept. 13 2001 by comfortably_numb

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Please delete this from the Pink Floyd discography!
I'm not sure why this obsolete collection is still here. I'm not even going to get into how stupid the idea of a Pink Floyd greatest hit album is, but six tracks? That's a collection? Christ, the songs here are taken from only five albums (dumber yet - these are Floyd's most perfect and classic albums, and they're all essentials - collecting one track from each of these...
Published on Aug. 1 2003 by Itamar Katz


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just a few pointers!, Sept. 13 2001
By 
comfortably_numb (Wolverhampton, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Collection Of Great Dance Songs (Audio CD)
Firstly, i'd like to say that this is an excellent album to start out with if you are new to pink floyd! Secondly, in reply to the person that said they only altered one track. ALL of the tracks are different! I'll explain: ONE OF THESE DAYS on "Meddle" goes straight into the next track without any break or pause in the record. Here it is edited from the original master with the proper fade out. MONEY, we all know is a completely different recording from the one on "Dark Side Of The Moon". SHEEP from "Animals" is also the faded out version. SHINE ON YOU CRAZY DIAMOND is edited to include the second part of the song from "Wish You Were Here" (which, in my opinion, should have been done anyway!). WISH YOU WERE HERE on the album of the same name goes into SOYCD PART 2 without a pause in the record, hear it is changed to how it would have been if released as a single...which leads me to ANOTHER BRICK IN THE WALL PART 2, which is the original single mix with the "The Wall" ending. In short, all of the tracks on this album (except for MONEY) are heard the way the band heard them when they originaly put them down onto tape, before they glued them together in a seamless mix on the albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not bad Floyd compilation holdover disc, June 20 2004
By 
Terrence J Reardon "Classic rock guru" (Lake Worth, Florida, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Collection Of Great Dance Songs (Audio CD)
Pink Floyd's 1981 best-of A Collection of Great Dance Songs is fair-good if you ask me. Released in November of 1981, the album has a nice mix of songs from 1971-81. Half of the tracks are altered in one way or the other on ACOGDS, so it is a pretty good collectors album for people who have most Pink Floyd albums, as opposed to a lot of other compilation albums that are boring because the songs are the same exact version as they were on their original album. The reason for this album was that Floyd's label in America, Columbia wanted a best-of. Since Floyd were not a band known for hit singles, they were a band known for hit albums. The Floyd album covers, this one included, are always cool to collect. There are a whole lot of Floyd compilations, but I'd have to say this is one of the best and was the only best-of to hit the US Top 40 hitting #31 and going Gold in two months, eventually Double Platinum. This compilation starts with the standard version of One of These Days (a/k/a One of These Days I am Going to Cut You Into Little Pieces) is a good classic spooky song, which is always a good song to be on an album and is the version from Meddle. Money is great. The version of Money on Dance Songs is done by guitarist/vocalist David Gilmour (as he plays guitars, bass, keyboards, drums, vocals and produces himself save Dick Parry's saxophone) because Capitol/EMI in the US and Canada would not let the band have the rights to the song so Dave re-recorded this track note for note(some parts of the solos are different and you can tell the recording is from 1981). Sheep is the original version found on the album Animals. Shine on You Crazy Diamond is altered here to include Parts 1, 2, 4 and 7. Wish You Were Here is the regular standard version. Another Brick in the Wall (Part 2) has the single mix intro and the album version ending so a unique version here. If you want to get a good Floyd compliation but don't want to pay $30 for Echoes, get this collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Cynical Older Brother of "Echoes", May 20 2004
By 
This review is from: A Collection Of Great Dance Songs (Audio CD)
This 1981 compilation album is a treat for collectors; it was released to hold off hungry fans waiting for a new Pink Floyd album while the band was on tour performing the infamous stage shows for their blockbuster "The Wall." And the wait would be prolonged further as self-appointed leader Roger Waters began turning "The Wall" into a feature film project. This six-track collection did indeed sell, but needless to say it didn't satisfy the Floyd fanbase. But now in 2004, collectors will enjoy this album as a forgotten curios.
1971's "Relics" was mainly an oppurtunity to package singles and some unreleased material into an album, so it doesn't qualify as a "best of" album. Then again, neither does this. Pink Floyd's trademark cynicism even carries into their compilation albums--Floyd were definitely not a dance band, which was part of the joke. The sarcastically (carelessly?) titled "A Collection of Great Dance Songs" is down to the bare essentials, packing only six of the group's most well known songs due to time constraints of vinyl at the time. The version of 'Money' however is a re-recording due to business reasons, in which guitarist David Gilmour plays all instruments, including drums, except saxophone, played by the loyal Dick Parry. This version is slightly more rough and raw than the original polished version from "Dark Side of the Moon," making it a must-have item for die hard collectors. This album also features a special seamless sequence of 'Shine On You Crazy Diamond' into 'Wish You Were Here,' twenty years before the 2001 "Echoes" compilation could tinker with them. The version of the smash hit 'Another Brick in the Wall (Part 2)' is the version most popularly used on radio at the time, without unnecessarily including the intro 'The Happiest Days of Our Lives,' which was the case with "Echoes." The album cover, featuring dancers tied down to a lonely field, is probably Storm Thorgeson's best artwork for Pink Floyd.
The whole attitude of "A Collection of Great Dance Songs" is much more honest than that of "Echoes." One can compare the titles and see that; one is cynical, one is nostalgic. Both were empty gestures, but this album was released at the right time due to the band's circumstances..."Echoes" however, is what many see as the closing chapter of Pink Floyd's career, which would be an acrimonious disappointment to end one of the most innovative bands of all time with an uninspired best-of set. And though "Dance Songs" was not exactly an inspired release, it is a great collector's piece, and still did not attempt to summarize the "best of" Pink Floyd in one album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good Floyd compilation of note with some rare versions, May 13 2004
By 
Terrence J. Reardon (South Carolina and Mass., USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Collection Of Great Dance Songs (Audio CD)
Pink Floyd's 1981 best-of A Collection of Great Dance Songs is fair-good if you ask me. Released in November of 1981, the album has a nice mix of songs from 1971-81. Half of the tracks are altered in one way or the other on ACOGDS, so it is a pretty good collectors album for people who have most Pink Floyd albums, as opposed to a lot of other compilation albums that are boring because the songs are the same exact version as they were on their original album. The reason for this album was that Floyd's label in America, Columbia wanted a best-of. Since Floyd were not a band known for hit singles, they were a band known for hit albums. The Floyd album covers, this one included, are always cool to collect. There are a whole lot of Floyd compilations, but I'd have to say this is one of the best and was the only best-of to hit the US Top 40 hitting #31 and going Gold in two months, eventually Double Platinum. This compilation starts with the standard version of One of These Days (a/k/a One of These Days I am Going to Cut You Into Little Pieces) is a good classic spooky song, which is always a good song to be on an album and is the version from Meddle. Money is great. The version of Money on Dance Songs is done by guitarist/vocalist David Gilmour (as he plays guitars, bass, keyboards, drums, vocals and produces himself save Dick Parry's saxophone) because Capitol/EMI in the US and Canada would not let the band have the rights to the song so Dave re-recorded this track note for note(some parts of the solos are different and you can tell the recording is from 1981). Sheep is the original version found on the album Animals. Shine on You Crazy Diamond is altered here to include Parts 1, 2, 4 and 7. Wish You Were Here is the regular standard version. Another Brick in the Wall (Part 2) has the single mix intro and the album version ending so a unique version here. If you want to get a good Floyd compliation but don't want to pay $30 for Echoes, get this collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars THEY AREN'T DANCE SONGS!!!!, Sept. 16 2003
By 
Coady Goodman "human" (New York City) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Collection Of Great Dance Songs (Audio CD)
A Collection of Great Dance Songs is fair-good if you ask me. It has a pretty nice mix of songs. Every song is altered in one way or the other on ACOGDS, so it is a pretty good collectors album for people who have most Pink Floyd albums, as opposed to a lot of other compilation albums that are boring because the songs are the same exact version as they were on their original album. The songs aren't dance songs, though. But it doesn't matter. And, of course, the Floyd booklets are always cool to collect. There are a whole lot of Floyd compilations, but I'd have to say this is one of the best. However, ACOGDS is not exactly made for Floyd first-timers or beginners. I have almost every Pink Floyd album, so I needed this album. Die-hard Floyd fans should have this album, and maybe some beginners, because ACOGDS is a nice mix of Floyd music. People who only want the song "Another Brick in the Wall" might get this, because The Wall album is two discs, and it's a good 30 bucks where I live. As Amazon indicates, you can get ACOGDS for $1.41 and up via Amazon.
"One of These Days" (formerly "One of These Days I am Going to Cut You Into Little Pieces") is a good classic spooky song, which is always a good song to be on an album. "Money" is great. As you probably already know, ACOGDS's version of "Money" is done by David Gilmour, except for the cool saxophone playing (Does Gilmour do the drums, too?). "Sheep" is a definite awesome song with some great guitar. I recommend you get the album Animals, which has "Sheep" and a lot more great music. "Shine on You Crazy Diamond (Parts 1 and 2)" is the only song on ACOGDS that might actually be a dance song, if any of them. Nevertheless, it is a good song. "Wish You Were Here" is, as you should know, about Syd Barrett, along with "Shine on You Crazy Diamond". "Another Brick in the Wall (Part 2)" is better played with "Happiest Days of our Lives" and Part 1. But it is still fine the way it is, and Part 2 is all you really need if you just want "Another Brick in the Wall".
Here's a list of the album, and the rating I gave it in my review of the album, each song originated from:
1. One of these Days: Meddle (5 stars)
2. Money: Dark Side of the Moon (5 stars)
3. Sheep: Animals (5 stars)
4. Shine on You Crazy Diamond: Wish You Were Here (5 stars)
5. Wish You Were Here: Wish You Were Here (5 stars)
6. Another Brick in the Wall: The Wall (5 stars)
As you can see, ACOGDS's songs were taken from some of the best Pink Floyd albums.
One good thing about ACOGDS is that you can take each song and use and treat it like a demo to each of the albums the songs originated from. That way you can decide which of the albums you want. This is good for Floyd beginners. But anyways, all of the albums are great, so you can't lose.
I give ACOGDS 4 out of 5 stars for it's nice mix of Pink Floyd classics.
BOTTOM LINE: A NICE ALBUM TO HAVE.
Thank you for taking the time to read my review.
-Tabucky
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Please delete this from the Pink Floyd discography!, Aug. 1 2003
By 
Itamar Katz (Ramat-Gan, Israel) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Collection Of Great Dance Songs (Audio CD)
I'm not sure why this obsolete collection is still here. I'm not even going to get into how stupid the idea of a Pink Floyd greatest hit album is, but six tracks? That's a collection? Christ, the songs here are taken from only five albums (dumber yet - these are Floyd's most perfect and classic albums, and they're all essentials - collecting one track from each of these is a teaser, not a compilation), and even those aren't close to being well represented - how can you have a Floyd collection without Time, or Comfortably Numb? - and many of these aren't the original versions. Not one is superior to the original, by the way - so they only have some value purely as collectors' items for Pink Floyd fanatics. The version of Money presented here, due to copyright problems, is a re-recording done solo by David Gilmour in 1981, and it doesn't come close to the original. Sheep also sounds terrible, but I'm not sure exactly what's wrong with it. Another Brick In The Wall pt. 2 - It's that awful single mix version that was used in the video and was thankfully shelved when the new compilation was released. As for Shine On You Crazy Diamond - the mutilation this track went through is absolutely brutal. It was cut in every corner.
Bottom line - if you're a beginner I'd recommend getting the classic albums - Dark Side, With You Were Here and The Wall - rather than a compilation, but if you really want one the new collection, Echoes, is a great improvement and makes this one truly outdated. If, on the other hand, you're willing to actually spend 18 bucks on this thing for sheer collectors' value - than you're a bigger Floyd fan than I am. And I salute you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Whats all the fuss about?, Aug. 12 2000
By 
Mike "mike9x" (Stamford, CT USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Collection Of Great Dance Songs (Audio CD)
Granted the title of the cd is a joke, like mayjoe pointed out. I mean these songs are not really dance songs, and they only bothered to change one of them (money). But the bottom line is these songs are awesome. Forget the title of the album, just think of it as a greatest hits album. I recommend however that you purchase the albums in which these songs came from however because as a greatest hits album this wouldn't do PF justice (although you would have to have 100 songs on th album to do PF justice) and you will be a lot happier with those mindblowing albums. Bottom line is don't spend your money on this-- instead get the wall, DSOTM, WUWH, Animals, Meddle. Anyway I gave this album 5 stars because the songs are awesome, and thats all that matters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars good songs, bad album, Aug. 4 2000
This review is from: A Collection Of Great Dance Songs (Audio CD)
i never took the title to this cd seriously, i really thought it was a joke. if it was meant to be an album to dance to, then they failed miserably. "one of these days" is a great PF song, but then it goes into "money", these 2 songs do not sound good together. "Sheep" is another good song and then the always good "Shine on you crazy Diamond." but again they screwed up "another brick in the wall" just doesn't fit there. the songs are good, but the album sucks, so i recommend you buy the original albums and listen to these songs in the form that they were truly meant to be heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Buy the albums, June 2 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: A Collection Of Great Dance Songs (Audio CD)
Pink Floyd is an album oriented band. These songs are great songs, but their whole albums are better than any individual song. This version of money isn't as good as the one on Dark Side of the Moon and they took Shine On You Crazy Diamond (Which was split into two songs on Wish You Were Here) and condensed it into one. Just buy their normal albums. If you want to truly experience Pink Floyd, spend a some more cash - you will not regret it. As I said Pink Floyd album is better than a Pink Floyd song and there are so many other amazing songs by the Floyd. This collection really doesn't do Pink Floyd justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Only for new Floyd fans, Oct. 9 2000
This review is from: A Collection Of Great Dance Songs (Audio CD)
First of all, the members of Pink Floyd really hate compillation albums which leads us to the title, A Collection of Great Dance Songs (which they really ment as a joke, folks). Secondly, the only reason the diehard Floyd fan who has every album needs this is for the new version of Money. All the instruments and vocals and mixing were re-recorded by Gilmour for this release. Basically, if you can live without that - you can live with this album if you have already got everything else in the Pink Floyd cataloge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Collection Of Great Dance Songs
A Collection Of Great Dance Songs by Pink Floyd (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews