march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage SmartSaver Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Music Deals Store sports Tools Family

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars28
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$6.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 10, 2016
Great acting, great action. What more can I say, for the price it is worth the expenditure. Western movie buffs will really appreciate this flick. Gregory Peck and Omar Shariff turn in excellent performances. Buy it, you will not regret it....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2014
From May of 1969 comes a gritty western with all the flavour of the Old West.
The cast of characters,both main and supporting is superb.
Gregory Peck,a good guy and Omar Sharif,a bad guy as only he could play it.
Even Cat Woman,the beautiful Julie Newmar is in this one.
You'll see a cast of characters like none you've probably ever seen in a western.
There's Lee J. Cobb,Burgess Meredith,Telly Savalas,Edward G. Robinson and the list goes on and on.
They would do just about anything to get to the fabled Indian gold and they do.
Murder and mayhem abound and make this a great one.
Highly recommended and one that you will want to view again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2016
Used to own the VHS copy but then the VHS player died. This was a great purchase for a classic western film. The box and box art was a bit budget feeling, however the important part is the playback and disk quality which is easily the same as any other dvd movie. Great stuff!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2005
This is a brilliant movie. However, be aware, that the version that I was shipped (February 2005) from Amazon.ca, is NOT the version described here. THERE IS NO WIDESCREED VERSION on side 2. There is no side 2. I would check before ordering.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2003
And it's a good one. The movie doesn't stick strictly by any version of the legend. It varies from the McKenna account as much as it strays from all the others. Still, Edward G. Robinson plays a great Adams. For me the most memorable scene has most of the characters sitting around a camp fire. One of them recognizes Adams as 'The Adams', and they all persuade him to tell the story of how he came to find the gold, how the massacre happened, and how it was lost. A great scene, even if it weren't about the Lost Adams Diggings legend. Adams sat around a lot of camp fires in the 1870s and told that story, probably about the way Edward G. Robinson tells it in the movie.
The final episode is pure fabrication, but spectacular enough to make up for it. This one's a winner and you don't need to care or know about the Adams legend of lost gold to appreciate it.
The McKenna version of the legend actually centers on Jacob Snively, the German or Duchman in Adams' tale. Snively fought at San Jacinto, served as Paymaster General for the Republic of Texas, raided commerce on the Santa Fe Trail as a 'land privateer' for the Republic and drifted west in 1849. The German found his talent by striking gold and starting several gold rushes in Arizona and New Mexico. (Snively was killed by Apaches in 1871) J. Frank Dobie's book combines several conflicting accounts given by Adams. John Brewer's story, (another survivor) varies considerably from the other accounts.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2001
In the mid sixties, I imagine that some big shot executive probably called a meeting, and said...'I have such a killer cast lined up for this new movie I am imagining! All I need is a couple of million dollars, and a half way decent script!' That is basically all this movie is. A movie with a GREAT cast(i.e. Gregory Peck, Omar Sharif, Telly Savalas, Julie Newmar, Burgess Meredith, and Edward G Robinson), a huge budget for the time, and a poor script at best.
The story is about the gangster Colorado, who kidnaps Marshal McKenna. He believes that McKenna has seen a map which leads to a rich vein of gold in the mountains and forces him to show him the way. But they're not the only ones who're after the gold; soon they meet a group of "honorable" citizens and the cavalry crosses their way too - and that is even before they enter Indian territory.
There is lots of action: shootouts, underwater fight scenes, and an exciting ending that almost makes you forget about what a waste of talent the rest of the movie was!
I can't say that I didn't like this movie, because I did, but I can't say I really liked this movie either. It is just that type of movie that you either love...or hate! You make the descision!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2000
I am not going to categorize and compare this western in the more
appropriate context because it's very special for any Russian male in
my generation (I am 33).
The only Westerns we were allowed to see
were produced by East German studio DEFA with only one star - the
Yugoslav hunk Goiko Mititch. And mostly only one plot - the greedy
prospectors come to take the Indian land and the feathered patriots
put on the warpaint, flex their muscles - they all were very athletic,
unlike the whites who were depicted as the degenerates in every sense
- and gallop to sweep the terrain clean of that capitalist scum.
But
we were grateful even for that substitute, tired of seeing the other
Red Against White flicks - the films about the Russian Civil War
heroes killing the White Guards by hundreds for the sake of Mother
Russia's communist future.
And then "Zoloto Makkeni" was
imported. Why? The message was clear - "Look at these gold-crazed
American bastards! Preachers, journalists, merchants,
bandidos,soldiers, adventurers - all of them are ready to sell their
Momma's for a speck of golden dust! And this time they testify
themselves, not our East German friends." -
But who cared about
all that? The authentic American Western! With the real Indians
instead of East German Olympic Team painted in gouache! The film's
mildly idiotic background commentaries did not make us flinch - they
fit into the didactic tradition we were used to.
And the opening
song! It was translated in Russian and sung in the film by the
Russia's much-adored sweet-voiced drunk Valeri Obodzinskij. In the
restaurants, at a campfires, in a streets the young males were singing
- Vnov, vnov zoloto manit nas! - The gold lures us again and again! -

I was 8-9 year old at that time. Seen the film weekly. The boys in
the playground asked in a whisper: - Do they show something there?
You know...- And I told them: - Oh yeah! The Indian girl...--
They really do! Wow!- Well, speaking about childhood traumas...Once I
took my mother along and seeing the bathing scene she suspected what
was coming and obscured my view with her hand....But seriously, the
remastering crew did a superb job. The sights, the sounds - perfect!
These were the times they were still happy to shoot in mostly natural-
maybe slightly enhanced - colors, without these annoying tints and
shades of today, when they seem to dip the freshly shot rolls of films
in a can of blue paint.
I do not know how I would see the film today
without that cinematic abstinence/communist background. Who can tell?

But I am so fond of it that even being between the jobs - a period
where every dollar counts - I HAD to buy the disc. And I do not
regret..
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2006
I'm another person who got pulled by the 'widescreen' label in Amazon's ad. This is a pan and scan version only, unfortunately clipping a marvellous film's beautiful photography. Save your money and wait for the widescreen version, if it ever comes out.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2003
One of my all time favorites I was really glad when it was released on dvd. This western has it all. Lots of action, big name stars, and gorgeous scenery. This movie is why I bought a big screen (55inch) tv. You just can't appreciate this kind of cinematic splendor on a 27 inch screen. The opening sequence is terrific. The gunfight between Gregory Peck and the old indian chief is awsome in surround sound making the richoteing bullets bouncing off the canyon walls puts you right in the middle of the action. Omar Sharif pulls it off rather well as a mexican bandit. Gregory Peck...well shucks he's good here to as the marshal shanghaid to lead a band of misfits and cutthroats to an unbelievable valley of gold.
If there's anything for me to critize I guess it would be some of the hokey special effects. I still laugh every time I see the obvious models used in the near death scene on the creaky bridge. Still I can overlook some minor faults in such a great western. Not perfect yet few movies are. I give it 5 stars for sheer entertainment.
One other bit of critique is to the 5.0 soundtrack. Why leave out the subwoofer? It would have been great in the final earthquake sequence.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2000
Mackenna's Gold seemingly has it all; an outstanding cast, magnificent scenery, breath-taking action and a haunting soundtrack. Unfortunately, the plot is so convoluted it makes a pretzel look like a straight line.
Gregory Peck and Omar Shariff are the headliners, as their personal battle provides the major subplot to the search for a valley of gold called "The Lost Adams." They are almost too ably assisted by a stellar supporting cast including Telly Savalas, Richard Kiel and Julie Newmar.
The basic plot is typical of many westerns; disparate characters setting aside their differences to search for riches. However, there are so many characters, so many sub-plots and so many twists, turns, and double-crosses that a moment's inattention can cause the viewer to lose track of what is happening. This can be a very enjoyable film to watch, but it does require some effort on the part of the audience.
The movie is very violent and contains a good deal of adult content. Parents are cautioned to take a good look before letting younger children watch.
Mackenna's Gold may be a bit too long, too complicated and too violent, but it successfully provides a mature variation on the classic horse opera and will be a welcome change of pace for fans of the genre.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse