Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only movie ever produced about the Lost Adams Diggings
And it's a good one. The movie doesn't stick strictly by any version of the legend. It varies from the McKenna account as much as it strays from all the others. Still, Edward G. Robinson plays a great Adams. For me the most memorable scene has most of the characters sitting around a camp fire. One of them recognizes Adams as 'The Adams', and they all persuade him to...
Published on Oct. 1 2003 by Jack Purcell

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ONLY FULLSCREEN VERSION AVAILABLE?
This is a brilliant movie. However, be aware, that the version that I was shipped (February 2005) from Amazon.ca, is NOT the version described here. THERE IS NO WIDESCREED VERSION on side 2. There is no side 2. I would check before ordering.
Published on Feb. 22 2005 by BRIAN STEFFENSEN


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ONLY FULLSCREEN VERSION AVAILABLE?, Feb. 22 2005
This review is from: MacKenna's Gold (Bilingual) (DVD)
This is a brilliant movie. However, be aware, that the version that I was shipped (February 2005) from Amazon.ca, is NOT the version described here. THERE IS NO WIDESCREED VERSION on side 2. There is no side 2. I would check before ordering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars False Advertising, April 28 2006
By 
Barry E. Boothman "westshire" (Fonthill, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: MacKenna's Gold (Bilingual) (DVD)
I'm another person who got pulled by the 'widescreen' label in Amazon's ad. This is a pan and scan version only, unfortunately clipping a marvellous film's beautiful photography. Save your money and wait for the widescreen version, if it ever comes out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only movie ever produced about the Lost Adams Diggings, Oct. 1 2003
By 
Jack Purcell (Placitas, NM USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mackenna S Gold (VHS Tape)
And it's a good one. The movie doesn't stick strictly by any version of the legend. It varies from the McKenna account as much as it strays from all the others. Still, Edward G. Robinson plays a great Adams. For me the most memorable scene has most of the characters sitting around a camp fire. One of them recognizes Adams as 'The Adams', and they all persuade him to tell the story of how he came to find the gold, how the massacre happened, and how it was lost. A great scene, even if it weren't about the Lost Adams Diggings legend. Adams sat around a lot of camp fires in the 1870s and told that story, probably about the way Edward G. Robinson tells it in the movie.
The final episode is pure fabrication, but spectacular enough to make up for it. This one's a winner and you don't need to care or know about the Adams legend of lost gold to appreciate it.
The McKenna version of the legend actually centers on Jacob Snively, the German or Duchman in Adams' tale. Snively fought at San Jacinto, served as Paymaster General for the Republic of Texas, raided commerce on the Santa Fe Trail as a 'land privateer' for the Republic and drifted west in 1849. The German found his talent by striking gold and starting several gold rushes in Arizona and New Mexico. (Snively was killed by Apaches in 1871) J. Frank Dobie's book combines several conflicting accounts given by Adams. John Brewer's story, (another survivor) varies considerably from the other accounts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate Movie Marvel, July 19 2003
This review is from: MacKenna's Gold (Bilingual) (DVD)
Although, it has been trashed in the West, it was one of the biggest hits in India in those days. Movie audiences still feel its magic as one of the finest epic tales. And, I have not seen any other movie as many times as this. Every now and then, its re-release in the local movie theater sees it run for atleast 6-8 weeks.
There is a gorgeous charm that emanates from this movie. And that is reflected by the Grand Canyon, Colrado river, those Apache Indians, the haunting music,J.Lee Thompson, Tell Savalas, Omar Shariff and my man Gregory Peck. May His Soul Rest in Peace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Golden Classic, April 29 2003
By 
This review is from: MacKenna's Gold (Bilingual) (DVD)
One of my all time favorites I was really glad when it was released on dvd. This western has it all. Lots of action, big name stars, and gorgeous scenery. This movie is why I bought a big screen (55inch) tv. You just can't appreciate this kind of cinematic splendor on a 27 inch screen. The opening sequence is terrific. The gunfight between Gregory Peck and the old indian chief is awsome in surround sound making the richoteing bullets bouncing off the canyon walls puts you right in the middle of the action. Omar Sharif pulls it off rather well as a mexican bandit. Gregory Peck...well shucks he's good here to as the marshal shanghaid to lead a band of misfits and cutthroats to an unbelievable valley of gold.
If there's anything for me to critize I guess it would be some of the hokey special effects. I still laugh every time I see the obvious models used in the near death scene on the creaky bridge. Still I can overlook some minor faults in such a great western. Not perfect yet few movies are. I give it 5 stars for sheer entertainment.
One other bit of critique is to the 5.0 soundtrack. Why leave out the subwoofer? It would have been great in the final earthquake sequence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars LOOK AT ALL THE GREAT ACTORS IN THIS FILM:), April 5 2003
This review is from: Mackenna S Gold (VHS Tape)
I LOVED THIS FILM WHEN I WAS A PROJECTIONIST AT THE DEFUNCT "RAMONA" MOVIE THEATRE IN HIGH SCHOOL. I STILL LIKE THE TITLE SONG BY JOSE FELICIANO "OLD TURKEY BUZZARD" AVAIL ON WESTERN MUSIC CD COMPILATIONS.
TODAY I RECD A SILVER COMMEMORATIVE INAUGURAL COIN FROM OUR (WYOMING) GOVERNOR, WHO LIKES "OLD WESTERNS, WHERE YOU CAN TELL THE GOOD GUY'S FROM THE BAD" I THOUGHT THE PERFECT THANK YOU WOULD BE "MACKENNAS GOLD"
--- SILVER AND GOLD STAND THE TEST OF TIME AS DOES "MACKENNAS GOLD" THE SCENERY AND BLUE SKIES GIVE THE FILM AND OLD FILM LOOK, BUT A GOOD LOOK, CAN YOU SMELL THE WESTERN SAGEBRUSH?
A GOOD COMPANION FILM WOULD BE "THE TREASURE OF THE SIERRA MADRE" WITH HUMPHREY BOGART?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Fun Western, Jan. 12 2002
This review is from: MacKenna's Gold (Bilingual) (DVD)
I loved this movie. I always had a thirst for lost gold and buried treasure and this flick quenches my thirst, what's more it is just great fun. Gregory Peck and Omar Sharif are good guy-bad guy. A few cameos by Eli Wallach, Burgess Meredith and Edward G. Robinson. The only hokie parts are when they stop at a watering hole and take a swim in obviously Hollywood doctored water,and some minaturized earthquake scenes. Overall though this movie is great escapism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This is a good movie!, Dec 21 2001
By 
WLR (Chicago, Illinois United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: MacKenna's Gold (Bilingual) (DVD)
I don't understand why Leonard Maltin and one or two of the customer reviews are so dismissive of this movie. I agree that it's not the Magnificent Seven or the Good, the Bad, and the Ugly, but this is a very well made movie. It plays in the light hearted style of a fable or campfire tale and is not pretentious. You couldn't ask for a better cast or production values or special effects. The plot is simple but that's part of the charm of this movie. I guarantee that 90% of western fans will enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars MacKenna's Gold, Nov. 17 2001
By 
Grant (Fresno, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mackenna S Gold (VHS Tape)
In the mid sixties, I imagine that some big shot executive probably called a meeting, and said...'I have such a killer cast lined up for this new movie I am imagining! All I need is a couple of million dollars, and a half way decent script!' That is basically all this movie is. A movie with a GREAT cast(i.e. Gregory Peck, Omar Sharif, Telly Savalas, Julie Newmar, Burgess Meredith, and Edward G Robinson), a huge budget for the time, and a poor script at best.
The story is about the gangster Colorado, who kidnaps Marshal McKenna. He believes that McKenna has seen a map which leads to a rich vein of gold in the mountains and forces him to show him the way. But they're not the only ones who're after the gold; soon they meet a group of "honorable" citizens and the cavalry crosses their way too - and that is even before they enter Indian territory.
There is lots of action: shootouts, underwater fight scenes, and an exciting ending that almost makes you forget about what a waste of talent the rest of the movie was!
I can't say that I didn't like this movie, because I did, but I can't say I really liked this movie either. It is just that type of movie that you either love...or hate! You make the descision!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Doc, Nov. 13 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Mackenna S Gold (VHS Tape)
This is one of those Westerns thatboarders in the Si-Fi.Don`t take that the wrong way, itis a most entertaining flim.A Mother-lode of gold awaits thebravest person who can avoid deathat the hands of some irate indiansand gold crazed white men.There is an interesting scene whenMackenna is looking at a vein ofgold that must be sixty feet high,with nuggets all over the groundas well. Another is a skinny-dipping Julie Newmar afterMackenna. Don`t worry the water is quite murky and details are consealed by that.All in all this is a great movie,enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

MacKenna's Gold (Bilingual)
MacKenna's Gold (Bilingual) by J. Lee Thompson (DVD - 2001)
CDN$ 14.99 CDN$ 11.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews