Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars honest, sweet, and relatable
i thought this was a really good movie. The third part with ellen and sharon was my favorite and the part that i identified with the most. i love the part right before the love scene when ellen asks sharon why they are watching TV. i love how sharon turns the TV off. it is so cute. i have always liked 'Thank You' by Dido but this movie made me like it even more. i didn't...
Published on April 16 2004 by kristen

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Politically correct, but bland...
As much as I admire what this movie tries to be, the end result is not terribly impressive. This series of 3 short stories deals with various lesbian issues over a span of time. The first story is about an elderly lesbian couple and the lack of legal rights for same-sex partners. The second story is about "being yourself" and draws an interesting parallel between the...
Published on Aug. 8 2003 by GLBT


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars honest, sweet, and relatable, April 16 2004
By 
This review is from: If These Walls Could Talk 2 (DVD)
i thought this was a really good movie. The third part with ellen and sharon was my favorite and the part that i identified with the most. i love the part right before the love scene when ellen asks sharon why they are watching TV. i love how sharon turns the TV off. it is so cute. i have always liked 'Thank You' by Dido but this movie made me like it even more. i didn't relate as much to the second part but thought that all the actresses did a great job. the first part was sad and i'm glad that they put that in the movie. one of my favorite movies!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Performances!, Nov. 14 2000
This review is from: If These Walls Could Talk 2 (DVD)
In a time where America is on the brink of breaking down the walls of segregation of gays and straights comes a movie that provides not only historical educational insight but also an entertaining and beautiful view of delicate and powerful relationships! The first story is the most compelling of the three, Vanessa Redgrave gives a performance for the ages as a woman who loses her lover of fifty years only to endure an inappropriate battle with her dead lovers relatives. Brilliantly executed and directed, it pulls on your heart strings and makes you think just how terribly prejudice people can be for no reason at all. The second story is set in the confusing and often socialogically brutal early 70's featuring a group of lesbians fighting college campus politics. Michelle Williams plays a confused young woman who falls for Chloe Sgveny at the opposition of her fellow lesbian friends. It's not as emotional as the first presentation but it presents a good point on how people take someone too much at face value, losing sight of the soul they were in love with initially. The third segment is kinda fun to watch simply because Sharon Stone is very relaxed with her role. Ellen Degeneres doesn't fit the role she plays but I understand why she was in this. The intensity of the movie fizzles with the last segment unfortunately and doesn't depict as strong of an issue as the first two segments. Overall, considering this movie makes such a bold statement for homosexuals everywhere, it really makes you think a little bit about how future generations will continue to fight and change the way things are for gays and lesbians-making the world a better place for us all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Super beau film, Feb. 25 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: If These Walls Could Talk 2 (DVD)
Évocation d'une sublime tendresse entre deux êtres. Très belle prestation des deux actrices principales. Constat des barrières des époques toujours présentes avec plus de libertés dans un contexte actuel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, Aug. 18 2013
By 
Courtney Beatty (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: If These Walls Could Talk 2 (DVD)
Lots of great actresses! Just like the first one it shows the same issue in 3 different eras. In this case it deals with same sex relationships. Very moving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Memories, March 26 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: If These Walls Could Talk 2 (DVD)
I saw this movie Years ago and it had a huge impaced on my life and I had forgotten the name of it . A friend helped me figure out the name and I searched for it on you r site and was happy to have found it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Politically correct, but bland..., Aug. 8 2003
By 
This review is from: If These Walls Could Talk 2 (DVD)
As much as I admire what this movie tries to be, the end result is not terribly impressive. This series of 3 short stories deals with various lesbian issues over a span of time. The first story is about an elderly lesbian couple and the lack of legal rights for same-sex partners. The second story is about "being yourself" and draws an interesting parallel between the women's group that excludes the lesbians (because they're too radical) and the lesbians who exclude the cross-dresser. The final story is about two lesbian Yuppies who want to have a baby and mostly consists of Sharon Stone dancing around in her pajamas and being "wacky."
Although these are all interesting issues, the movie itself is strictly by-the-numbers. There's nothing original or creative about any of this; the acting is mediocre, the dialogue is mediocre, the cinematography is mediocre... it's more of an exercise in pro-lesbian propaganda than an actual movie.
Mind you, I agree with everything it's saying, but that doesn't change the fact that this is a film that plays it TOO safe. All our protagonists are flawless, endearing people, while all the "normal" heterosexual people are ugly, narrow-minded, and hypocritical. Also, the lesbians are all slim and attractive while the heterosexuals are all overweight. It's this sort of thing that makes you realize that "If These Walls Could Talk 2" isn't nearly as progressive as it would like to be.
Here is a film that takes no real chances and has no real passion for any of its characters. A bad movie is a bad movie, no matter how positive the message that it's trying to convey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Part 2!, Nov. 21 2010
This review is from: If These Walls Could Talk 2 (DVD)
Great movie. I especially like how they showed the different couples and different ages. My favorite part was the second part with Chloe and Michelle. So cute!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Movie Ever, April 8 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: If These Walls Could Talk 2 (DVD)
This is the best thing I believe Ellen has done. The whole movie is AMAZING, and imparticular the third part of the trilogy with Ellen Degeneres and Sharon Stone; they complement eachother so well here. It took me a few times before I caught onto what I believe is the most important message in the movie. Kal and Fran (Ellen and Sharon) are discussing bringing a baby into a world with violence and prejudice. Fran: Our kid is going to be teased and have to defend us... Kal: Well, hopefully when our kid is old enough to know what discrimination is, the world will have changed a bit. Fran: And if it doesn't? Kal: And if it doesn't, is an interesting question because IT ALWAYS HAS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars * * A lesbian masterpiece!!! **, Jan. 20 2004
By 
Britney (Manhattan, NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: If These Walls Could Talk 2 (DVD)
This is by FAR one of the greatest lesbian movies I have ever seen!! I laughed and I cried. I loved it! In my opinion, this was Sharon Stone and Ellen DeGeneres's BEST performance yet!!
I liked the whole movie but the 3rd segmet was my absolute favorite. Fran and Kal (Stone and DeGeneres) were the most adorable Lesbian couple. They were sweet and funny and complimented each other well. I have watched this about 30 times and it never gets old. They are a middle aged lesbian couple struggling to have a baby, via artifical insemination. The things they go through to bring a baby into this world are difficult, but they have each other to lean on through it all. Their love is very real and believable and they have a few steamy moments with each other that are very *HOT* : ) I highly recommend it if you want great movie to curl up with on a rainy day. I like to watch it alone because you can really get into the charachters of the movie. You start to feel like you are right there with them. The only thing I wish is that it was LONGER!! Especially the last segment with Ellen and Sharon. It would have made a *GREAT* movie. It ended too soon, but I loved every minute of it!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Most authentic, Nov. 10 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: If These Walls Could Talk 2 (DVD)
I believe that this movie depicts the most authetic lesbian relationships that I have seen in a long while. It was genuine and moving and I would recommend it to anyone who wants to see real women in real relationships!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa985742c)

This product

If These Walls Could Talk 2
If These Walls Could Talk 2 by Martha Coolidge (DVD - 2000)
CDN$ 9.93
Usually ships in 3 to 4 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews