Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Performances!
In a time where America is on the brink of breaking down the walls of segregation of gays and straights comes a movie that provides not only historical educational insight but also an entertaining and beautiful view of delicate and powerful relationships! The first story is the most compelling of the three, Vanessa Redgrave gives a performance for the ages as a woman who...
Published on Nov. 14 2000 by Star Sailor

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The disappointment.
While the 1st part is very touching and intelligent, simply great cinema, the next 2 parts are just pathetic.
The 2nd looks like an exuse to show 2 sexy girls do it. We have erotic movies for that thank you very much. The last part is completly shallow and childish. The script is written so badly! The idea of that one is really an important one, too bad this silly,...
Published on Jan. 11 2003 by juliablueangel


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Performances!, Nov. 14 2000
This review is from: If These Walls Could Talk 2 (DVD)
In a time where America is on the brink of breaking down the walls of segregation of gays and straights comes a movie that provides not only historical educational insight but also an entertaining and beautiful view of delicate and powerful relationships! The first story is the most compelling of the three, Vanessa Redgrave gives a performance for the ages as a woman who loses her lover of fifty years only to endure an inappropriate battle with her dead lovers relatives. Brilliantly executed and directed, it pulls on your heart strings and makes you think just how terribly prejudice people can be for no reason at all. The second story is set in the confusing and often socialogically brutal early 70's featuring a group of lesbians fighting college campus politics. Michelle Williams plays a confused young woman who falls for Chloe Sgveny at the opposition of her fellow lesbian friends. It's not as emotional as the first presentation but it presents a good point on how people take someone too much at face value, losing sight of the soul they were in love with initially. The third segment is kinda fun to watch simply because Sharon Stone is very relaxed with her role. Ellen Degeneres doesn't fit the role she plays but I understand why she was in this. The intensity of the movie fizzles with the last segment unfortunately and doesn't depict as strong of an issue as the first two segments. Overall, considering this movie makes such a bold statement for homosexuals everywhere, it really makes you think a little bit about how future generations will continue to fight and change the way things are for gays and lesbians-making the world a better place for us all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars honest, sweet, and relatable, April 16 2004
By 
This review is from: If These Walls Could Talk 2 (DVD)
i thought this was a really good movie. The third part with ellen and sharon was my favorite and the part that i identified with the most. i love the part right before the love scene when ellen asks sharon why they are watching TV. i love how sharon turns the TV off. it is so cute. i have always liked 'Thank You' by Dido but this movie made me like it even more. i didn't relate as much to the second part but thought that all the actresses did a great job. the first part was sad and i'm glad that they put that in the movie. one of my favorite movies!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars * * A lesbian masterpiece!!! **, Jan. 19 2004
By 
Britney (Manhattan, NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: If These Walls Could Talk 2 (DVD)
This is by FAR one of the greatest lesbian movies I have ever seen!! I laughed and I cried. I loved it! In my opinion, this was Sharon Stone and Ellen DeGeneres's BEST performance yet!!
I liked the whole movie but the 3rd segmet was my absolute favorite. Fran and Kal (Stone and DeGeneres) were the most adorable Lesbian couple. They were sweet and funny and complimented each other well. I have watched this about 30 times and it never gets old. They are a middle aged lesbian couple struggling to have a baby, via artifical insemination. The things they go through to bring a baby into this world are difficult, but they have each other to lean on through it all. Their love is very real and believable and they have a few steamy moments with each other that are very *HOT* : ) I highly recommend it if you want great movie to curl up with on a rainy day. I like to watch it alone because you can really get into the charachters of the movie. You start to feel like you are right there with them. The only thing I wish is that it was LONGER!! Especially the last segment with Ellen and Sharon. It would have made a *GREAT* movie. It ended too soon, but I loved every minute of it!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Compacently bad., Aug. 23 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: If These Walls Could Talk 2 (DVD)
I caught this on HBO one night. And the three segments, though varied in subject matter, were all quite bad in quality. The first segment is about an old lesbian whose partner dies. She has no legal rights to her partner's will or estate, and the vignette basically examines this. Vanessa Redgrave stars and I think she won an Emmy for this, whatever that means. Critics have called it the best, but I find it to be the most lifeless and limp- perhaps because of its supposed prestige. Redgrave never uncovers her character's loaded feelings of grief, frustration, and longing and instead comes across as a sort of grumpy victim, though I don't exactly blame her given the stifling staginess and uninteresting script. It's a boringly conceptualized segment. The second segment is about lesbian hippies. And this is the best one. Michelle Williams and Chloe Sevigny give awesome performances. I didn't know too much about either actress prior to seeing this segment, but I'm dang impressed by their work here. Chloe Sevigny is amazing as a butch biker. She creates a lifeforce onscreen in the exact way that Regrave did not. It's too bad that the segment is terribly written and the sex scenes are way overdone (complete with high pitched guitar solos straight out of a bad porno). But the acting makes it worth it. The last segment is colorfully directed and well acted by Ellen DeGeneres (note how I'm excluding co-star Sharon Stone from this assessment) but undeniably unsexy and creepy given director Anne Heche's faux lesbianism. Let's face the content itself though: moments of hilarity, attributed to DeGeneres's comic timing, mixed with moments of Pier 1 vapidity and rambling monologues and annoying, vacuous characters. If These Walls Could Talk 2 consists of three segments with diverse subject matter but of very uniform bad quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Across the years, July 29 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: If These Walls Could Talk 2 (DVD)
I thought this movie was wonderful with something to appeal to the senses in each of the three segments. It may sound a bit cliched but during this movie I cried, laughed and got annoyed, all intense emotions. The first segment with Vanessa Redgrave was the most appealing to me. It captures the poignancy of losing a life time partner while still examining the heart breaking reality of having to live a secret for a whole life time. The middle segment was the hardest for me to appreciate. I am so tired of women trying to "outlesbian" each other that I spent a lot of time feeling annoyed, but this is still a real issue. Divided camps of fems and butches, moderate and radical feminists still prevail. I disagree with some reviewers on the last segment. It was very funny at times and the relationship protrayed by Ellen Degeneres and Sharon Stone looked so real. Life can't be all serious and traumatic, the lightness of the last segment did not take away from the serious side of the challenges facing lesbians over the years
A wonderful film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Extremely interesting, May 10 2003
By 
SandyWells "sandywells" (Galveston, TX United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: If These Walls Could Talk 2 (DVD)
For any of you who saw "The Hours", you're going to see where the writer of that film/book got some of his timeline ideas. Not only did "Mrs. Dalloway" by Virginia Woolf influence him linearly, but so did this film, clearly.
I saw "The Hours" first, now this and it features three stories throughout time that happen to occur in the same house. I didn't make the full connection until I saw Vanessa Redgrave and then I remembered her performance as Mrs. Dalloway.
I am most interested in how the stories are told, although not in a single day like "Mrs. Dalloway" or "The Hours", yet I can't help but feel that this piece had a tremendous amount of influence over the style.
Chloe` is beyond beauty in this film as well as in the film "Boys Don't Cry", except it was interesting to first see her in that movie as a very feminine woman, and in this one as the butch. She has a soft seductiveness either way that is extremely spell binding and captivating. I don't think I've ever seen a woman on screen so able to arouse with her silence and gentleness.
Vanessa Redgrave also has such elegance, even in her grief, that her words and manner wins your heart just like she did in her other film as the character Mrs. Dalloway.
Sharon Stone injects new hope into lesbians with her vivacious character who just is *so* in love with the witty Ellen Degenerous. The love scene between the two was a bit over powering, seeing Sharon in that position, I can only surmise what Ellen herself must have felt like during the filming. I'll bet when she got home Anne had some questions for her!
I wondered, in hindsight, if those love scenes may have egged on Anne's stressful change of life? The fear of possibly "psychologically" or "emotionally" losing Ellen may have triggered her episode and created such anxiety and distress for her internally, exposing her fear of losing the one true love of her life. Seeing this, I feel it may have caused the entire collapse of their relationship and her sanity temporarily as other doors began to close, squeezing her out. Just an observation.
Food for thought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Incerdibly Touching, March 14 2003
By 
J. A. Stickles (Earth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: If These Walls Could Talk 2 (DVD)
I thought "If These Walls Could Talk 2" was great, with the great performances. Thank god for HBO, I've seen it many times on it, and it's sort of a guilty pleasure. I can't help but watch it everytime it comes on. I thought every story was very moving, with the perfect cast to pull it all off. I thought the first segment was very touching, but I couldn't really relate to it, so it was hard to really get into it. However, I thoroughly enjoyed the second and third segments. The second segment with Michelle Williams, Nia Long, and Chloe Sevigny were fantastic. It struck a chord in me, I realized how biased the world can be towards one another. I liked the irony of one lesbian being incredibly ignorant to another, because they weren't "lesbian" enough. It revealed to me how cynical we all can be. I disagree with a lot of the reviews about the third segment, I thought it was great! It was humorous and heart-felt. It is by far, Ellen DeGeneres's best performance. Sharon Stone was so comical, which the enitre movie needed. Ellen and Sharon had great chemistry, in my opinion. The seemed very believable, from the passion towards one-another, to the commitment of trying to conceive. They were a truly loving and commited couple, which I respected very much. I recommend this movie to anyone, lesbian, gay, bi, or straight, it's a terrific movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The disappointment., Jan. 11 2003
While the 1st part is very touching and intelligent, simply great cinema, the next 2 parts are just pathetic.
The 2nd looks like an exuse to show 2 sexy girls do it. We have erotic movies for that thank you very much. The last part is completly shallow and childish. The script is written so badly! The idea of that one is really an important one, too bad this silly, kitchy... let's face it, stupid, part ruins it. And the sex scenes with Ellen and Sharon aren't even sexy, very badly done.... Perhaps the fact that the director was dating Ellen at the time is the reason. Speaking of the director, as much as I adore Anne Heche as an actress (and she was truly great in If Walls Could Talk 1 btw) direct she should not!
Huge disappointment after the first movie about abortions became one of my all time favorites, dealing with its subject in a great way, gives you chills and leaves you to think of it for a long time.
Watch this one just for the great 1st part (which is the only reason I gave this movie 3 stars), and to see Jen from "Dawson's Creek" naked doing it with another lovely girl...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Saw it on HBO, Had to Buy It For Myself, Jan. 9 2003
By A Customer
I remember when If These Walls Could Talk 2 first aired, 'cause I remember seeing the poster for it up in bus shelters around the city. Being that I didn't have cable televsion, I wasn't able to watch it... until now. And I loved it so much, that I went out and bought it on VHS.
Segment 2 is what drove me to purchase it. I've got two words for you: Chloe Sevigny. I had seen her in femme mode in the gossip pages and in "Boys Don't Cry." But I had never seen her in butch mode until ITWCT2, and she really melted my butter. The chemistry between Sevigny as Amy and Michelle Williams as Linda is almost overwhelming. And for those many people who were drooling over the so-called sex scene in "Muholland Drive", you should really check out what goes down between Amy and Linda in this segment. Ouch! Too hot!
Okay, beyond the bedroom sparks, Segment 2 raised a number of issues that gives viewers something to thing about, esp. in the realm of self-acceptance.
Segment 1 was superb but painful to watch due to what Redgrave's character, Edith, has to endure on top of the death of her partner. Segment 3, as much as I like Ellen Degeneres and Sharon Stone, was a tad grating - I found their performances annoying and there seemed to be absolutely no chemistry between the two of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great movie..., June 26 2002
This review is from: If These Walls Could Talk 2 (DVD)
I will start off by saying I am not a lesbian, but thouroughly enjoyed this film, and it made me think about the idea much more deeply than I had before. I also felt a connection, and understanding. I have never been one to be prejudice agianst people, but I think I was naive. This movie really opened my eyes to a lot.
I liked this movie, and each segment, but they didn't seem to work together as in the first ITWCT movie. Sure, they all dealt with lesbianism, but all with such differnet angles.
The first segment I have seen many, many times... and I still cant get past it without crying. It was superbly acted by everyone! Vanessa was amazing, I can't think of a word to describe how moving her perfromance was. Elisabeth Perkens was magnicificent. Didn't we all want to slap some sense into her and her husband. Even the little girl acted very well. You got a sence that she instinctively knew what was going on, and with a child's "honesty" and naivity (don't think thats a word, but you get the idea) tried to comfort Vanessa in the only way she knew.
The second part didn't speak to me that much. I'm not sure why, but I didn't enjoy it all that much. The scene with the friends trying to change Chloe was horrid and almost painful to watch though. That was the only moving scene for me. As for the lovemaking scene, and I speak for the one in the 3rd segment also, I thought they were tastefully done, and showed the beauty of two women, not the male "eroticicsm" factor we normally see of two women. It was beautiful.
The third segment was nice to watch, but was far out of place. It was the only segment in either of the movies that was comical. It seemed a bit light and superficial. Some moments were great, like the turkey baster! And what was with them at the park. If I saw two people, no matter who repeatedly coming to watch children there, none of which were their own, I frankly wouldn't feel comfortable. Anyways, good movie, an eye opener!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

If These Walls Could Talk 2
If These Walls Could Talk 2 by Martha Coolidge (DVD - 2000)
CDN$ 9.93 CDN$ 6.60
Usually ships in 10 to 14 days
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews