Customer Reviews


100 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved this movie
this movie has to be one of the best baseball and love movies I have ever seen. It is perfect for a date because the guy can get into the baseball part and aa little bit of the love story and the girl can get into the love story and a little bit of the baseball story without feeling let down
Published on July 10 2004 by M. A. Miller

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars "Clear the mechanism."
My son, a former college pitcher, absolutely adored this film--not because of the overall story, but because of the head games pitchers play on the mound. And to its credit, FOR LOVE OF THE GAME vividly depicts a day out on the hill for a major league pitcher at the twilight of his career, Detroit Tiger ace Billy Chapel (Kevin Costner). My son instantly identified with...
Published on April 24 2003 by D. Mikels


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I loved this movie, July 10 2004
By 
M. A. Miller (Rome, GA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
this movie has to be one of the best baseball and love movies I have ever seen. It is perfect for a date because the guy can get into the baseball part and aa little bit of the love story and the girl can get into the love story and a little bit of the baseball story without feeling let down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Costner should stick to baseball and Westerns, June 26 2004
By 
Nicholas M. Lamarca "Book & Movie fan" (West Seneca, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If Costner stuck to baseball movies and westerns he would be fine. This was a really good movie. It is actually a cross between a chick flick and a sports movie. The baseball scenes are expertly done and the other part of the storyline is expertly woven into the movie. I really enjoyed this movie and think lots of other people will too. Even if you've read the book, you should still see this movie. Just my opnion though, I could be wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not a baseball fan, Jan. 18 2004
By A Customer
I am not a baseball fan but i can tell you this movie is really good it is really deep full of emotion. I don't know anything about the game basball i live in England but yet i was able to really enjoy it bcoz it doesn't really focus on the game but on the personal life of a successful baseball player. Brilliant buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bon film, May 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Le film For the love of the game a été reçu en bon état et conforme à l'annonce du vendeur. Le DVD fonctionne très bien.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars for love of the game, Dec 16 2003
By A Customer
this was a great movie about a mlb pitcher, in possibly his last game, looking back on the last 5 years of his life with his gf, jane. i thought kevin costner was great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Costner's "perfect" as a baseball player, Dec 1 2003
This review is from: For Love of the Game (VHS Tape)
I agree with everything in Chad Spivak's review - I think this is a great movie to watch MORE than once, but I didn't see anything mentioned about the great music that goes along with the story. I especially liked "Paint It, Black" and Garth Brook's "It Don't Matter to Me".
I have this in video, now I'll be getting it in DVD too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Focus, Focus, Lose out on Life, July 26 2003
By 
Carol Mathieu "bloomingdalekid" (Camarillo, CA United States) - See all my reviews
For Love of the Game is one of my favorite movies of all time. Usually sports themes aren't among my favorite, but this film is about so much more than sports... it's about life. It's about figuring out what life is all about before it's too late. What's important? Why waste your best years on a game, where sports agents will throw you away before your prime? It's about love, and throwing that away for "The Love of the Game." Buy it, enjoy it and learn about focus, love and what's really important in life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars "Clear the mechanism.", April 24 2003
This review is from: For Love of the Game (VHS Tape)
My son, a former college pitcher, absolutely adored this film--not because of the overall story, but because of the head games pitchers play on the mound. And to its credit, FOR LOVE OF THE GAME vividly depicts a day out on the hill for a major league pitcher at the twilight of his career, Detroit Tiger ace Billy Chapel (Kevin Costner). My son instantly identified with Chapel's talking to himself between pitches, trying to get inside the head of the batter (What's he expecting? Fastball or breaking ball?), hoping that his next pitch will throw the batter off balance. And finally, Chapel's ability to completely shut out all noise and distractions ("Clear the mechanism," he says to himself.) was very effective.
And those are the highlights of the movie. Unfortunately, FOR LOVE OF THE GAME is a compilation of flashbacks centering around a contrived love story that has been rehashed and recycled thousands of times. Director Sam Raimi gives us a story about the on-again/off-again relationship between Chapel and Jane Aubrey (Kelly Preston), a magazine exec. Chapel is unwilling to make a commitment, while Jane's pessimistic insecurity about the relationship becomes downright annoying. Costner is so wooden in these scenes he appears to be going through the motions, while Preston whines and pines like a high school sophomore. The final scene between the two of them, in the airport, is uncomfortable to watch.
John C. Reilly turns in an admirable performance as grisly veteran catcher Gus Sinski, and the soothing voice of Hall of Fame broadcaster Vin Scully lends wonderful credibility to the drama as Chapel makes a bid to pitch a perfect game. I only wish FOR LOVE OF THE GAME had confined itself to the action on the mound; there wasn't much action going on anywhere else.
--D. Mikels
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Just a bad bad movie, April 21 2003
By A Customer
This movie lacks everything that a decent movie requires.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars What the...?, Feb. 23 2003
Every great director makes a misstep at some point in their career. "For Love of the Game" respresents the nadir of Sam Raimi's filmography. This is the kind of film I would have NEVER expected him to helm, but alas. I think he made it to show Hollywood that he can make a "normal" movie every once in a while.
No zombies, hardly any blood, no crazy camera movements, no suspense, no cool special effects, no Bruce Campbell and no scares. What's the point? This isn't a Sam Raimi movie. This is sentimental stuff from the Hollywood dream factory. I'm glad he got back on his feet for making "the Gift" after completion of this waste of celluloid. Do us a favor, Sam. Stick to what you're good at. Don't allow Hollywood executives to think that if it's not "normal," it's garbage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa3056708)

This product

For Love of the Game
For Love of the Game by Sam Raimi (VHS Tape - 2001)
Used & New from: CDN$ 1.40
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews