Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A Ninja Girl Kick!
In this anime seven pretty Japanese girls are invited into the Magic Mirror Bus, the go-anywhere anime studio operated by Jubei, and kick the crotch area of Japanese anime characters. It's a rather unique fetish, but Jubei does it well: you get to see the shy, funny expressions on the faces of the girls as they're asked to kick, and the camera angles (including those...
Published on Feb. 9 2003 by Johnny Dark

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Magical Ninja Girl...cool!
From seeing this for the first time, you wouldn't think this was one of those 'magical girl' shows. A closer look, though, reveals just about every element a 'magical girl' show needs: cute teenage girl as the lead, an otherwordly 'mascot' who also bestows upon her the power to transform into a super-heroine, the trinket that enables her to change, and her...
Published on March 12 2001 by C.W. Fitch


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A Ninja Girl Kick!, Feb. 9 2003
In this anime seven pretty Japanese girls are invited into the Magic Mirror Bus, the go-anywhere anime studio operated by Jubei, and kick the crotch area of Japanese anime characters. It's a rather unique fetish, but Jubei does it well: you get to see the shy, funny expressions on the faces of the girls as they're asked to kick, and the camera angles (including those all-important "low angle" shots). It's great to see these shy, laughing girls try to overcome their inhibitions and kick out with all their might. A great item for fans of the ball-kicking fetish known as "tamakeri."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cute and Entertaining, Oct. 18 2002
By 
starrdragon (Castle of Eternity) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jubei-Chan the Ninja Girl Volu (DVD)
I first saw the trailer for Jubei-chan on one of the vollumes of Outlaw Star, and in my head it clicked and said that I should see this little mini seris. I am glad I did. The 13 episode seris all starts with this volume. If you don't watch this one you will have no Earthly idea what is happening in the rest of the seris.
300 years ago the great swordsmen Yagu Jubei lost his life in the desprate fight against the Ryojoji Shinkagario. Before he died Jubei told his trusted friend Koinosuke Odago to find his succesor. When Koinosuke asks Lord Jubei how he will know the individual that will carry out his sword, he answers "A big pair of bouncy bon-bons" (sub version).Just prior to Jubei dieing he hands Koinosuke an eye patch, in the shape of a heart. He said that the pupil who wears the Lovely Eyepatch would aqurire his skills.Then Jubei dies. For the next 300 years, surviving on his spirit alone, Koinosuke Odago takes up the quest to find the succsesor of Yagu Jubei.
Then you meet Jiyu "Jubei" Nanohana, a 14 (?) year old 8th student who just moved to a new town. Along with the struggles of being a new student in a middle school, Jiyu has attracted the attention of 2 middle school boys, Shiro, and Bantaro (AKA Ban.
When Jiyu gets lost on her way home from school, she runs into Koinosuke. Koinosuke dose his best to convice Jiyu to behold the Lovely Eye Patch. Jiyu, being a normal teenager refuses to listen to Koinosuke. But when a new evil force appears and attacks Sai Nanohana (jiyu's dad), as if on cue Koinosuke appears, and puts the Lovely Eyepatch on Jiyu. Then Jiyu transforms into the great warrior Yagu Jebei The Second. After defeateing her first new enemy, Jiyu refuses to yeild the eyepatch.
How will Koinosuke convince a pluky, loudmouthed, smart alleck teenager that she is the savior of the world? And will Jiyu listen the what Koinosuke was to say? Watch this and you will find out
If you are a fan of Sailormoon, then you will more than likely enjoy this. It has the magical girl plot. The reason that I only gave it 4 stars is because, a little too much time is spent on the DVD with Shiro and Ban fawnning over Jiyu. After a while that starts to get a little boring. Other than that the DVD is well worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good ghab, June 13 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Jubei-Chan the Ninja Girl Volu (DVD)
this is a good anime and it is funny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Adorable!, Feb. 6 2002
By 
Lloyd V. Williams "Lloyd Vincent" (Washington, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jubei-Chan the Ninja Girl Volu (DVD)
**screams like a little girl**
i love it. It's hilarious. Most silly animation I've seen. Voices (subbed version) are exellent! This anime goes from humor to drama to action and back again in 5 minutes, it's amazing.
Content wise there's nothing wrong with this anime aside from a couple boob jokes. No nudity, profanity, or blood.
the storyline is relatively compelling, but not super. The episodes seem to center more on entertaining the viewer than progressing the storyline.
The dubbed version is even good with the exception of Jubei's voice. She's supposed to be like 14 or 15 years old and her English dub over voice make her seem like she's 25 or so.
On a final note, the DVD menu for scene selection is the most organized I've seen, some dvd's put a very poor effort into this aspect of their product, resulting it it being hard to figure out where you need to start playing at. Say if you stopped at episode 2, then the next day went back to watch the rest, it was very easy to find your place. If anyone has ever tried to use scene selection on the DVD of Angel Sanctuary, you know what I mean.
Report Card
Animation: A
Characters: A+
Storyline: B+
Voices(sub): A+
Voices(dub): B
--------------
Overall: A
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome action packed humor!!, July 27 2001
By 
Amazon Thrall (Oswego, IL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jubei-Chan the Ninja Girl Volu (DVD)
Man this title threw me off. I thought it was going to be a bit like Shadow skills, but it was way better than that. The humor reminded me of a mix 'tween Maze and Those who Hunt Elves. The characters are awesomely funny! Of course my fave is the father but hey they're all great. Definately picking up Vol 2!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny and satisfying, July 19 2001
This review is from: Jubei-Chan the Ninja Girl Volu (DVD)
As soon I saw the trailer for this on one of my Escaflowne DVDs, I had decided that I was going to get the first DVD and see how this series was. And by the first DVD, or rather, the first episode, I was totally and utterly hooked into this new series!
First, you learn the sercret of Yagyu Jubei, the greatest swordsman, and how he died and passed the Lovely Eyepatch, containing his abilities, onto his suitable successor. And what's more, his disciple, Koinosuke Odago, had to search for 300 years to find the right person.... Jiyu Nanohana! Unwilling and unwanting, Jiyu (known as Jubei by her friends and family) does not really want to inherit the powers of the Lovely Eyepatch.. and Koinosuke must make her see that she must, in order to protect herself and others from the Ryujoji clan, who wants to rule the world with the power of the sword!
I am an all-out anime fan, and like any kind of anime, so I immediately liked this one. But if you're the type for "gloomy" anime, this "may" (and i mean may) not be something for you.... But then again, the sword fights are always fun to watch, and the humor will always keep you laughing.
So, if you do decide to buy it, I hope you enjoy it as much as I did! And as Vash the Stampede would say, Love and peace to everyone!! ^_~ ja!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jubei-chan, June 11 2001
This review is from: Jubei-Chan the Ninja Girl Volu (DVD)
I luv this dvd its so funny. =^o^= I am usually a comedy type person so as soon as I saw my first ep. where The Silent Ninja Clan attacks the Nanohana household I knew I had to get this series. After I started to collect it and saw the warning about staying as far away from the tv as possible and watch in a well lit room during a insite of the fight that was ocuring I became a Jubei ... and needed to get all 4 of them asap. The animation is funny because it goes from good to bad in secs on perpose. The plot is u sorta typical storyline tho I guess sorta like a mix of stuff. The comedy is funny tho and stuff is linked together throughout the series like the Jubei-Yaki n stuff. The fighting sceens are so cool because it doesnt do that fake... where they stand still then attack then the bad guy falls down. They acually clash swords and move and just the right speed panning the view in and out so u can see it from dif angles. The ending has got to be the most suprising thing tho =^o^=. Hmm let me think...In con if u liked anime like Excel Saga or Dragon Half of stuff thats just funny like that then u will like this series. I give it the big happi kitty face stamp o aproval
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not for the Novice Anime watcher!, May 9 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Jubei-Chan the Ninja Girl Volu (DVD)
If you are not used to the general oddness and hilarity with the comic relief of the basics of anime (Fushigi Yuugi, Cowboy BeBop and Princess Mononoke), then you may not understand some of the more "off-topic" tangents that happen in Jubei. Either way, this has a great plot with fantastic fight scenes and is some of the more well drawn anime out there. Jubei just doesn't understand that, even if she doesn't like it, she is the samurai successor.... and ignoring it just won't work.
This is one to watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, April 15 2001
By 
theoctohat@hotmail.com (Seattle, WA United States) - See all my reviews
Oh my god, this is the funniest anime that I have ever seen! I laughed so hard that my stomach hurt, and I almost wet myself. It's about an absent-minded 8th grade girl who happens to have inherited the awesome powers of the greatest swordsman in the land, but she doesn't even know it. I admit, it does sound kind of cheesy, but the overall humor makes up for any flaws that the series might have. Ah, I laughed, I cried (from laughing too hard), this is definately the greatest anime that I have ever seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars GOOD ONLY IF THEY TOOK OUT ASH POKEMON WANNA BE, April 9 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Jubei-Chan the Ninja Girl Volu (DVD)
Anyways, there's this guy who happens to look at Ash in Pokemon, (dont get carry away and buy this because you like Ash). Anyways, he is like a rebel in school, joined with 2 of his friends (not to mention really monkey looking friends). Ash wannabe has a chinese Character on his shirt and it always changes everytime to describe his mood like "Sad", blah blah. it was funny for the first few minutes but it was over doing it. HE happens to like the star of the show, Juyu hana something, a 13 years old girl moved from toyko with her father to some country side living. The ash guy saw her biking and fell in love with her, he kept saying that he wants to give her a love letter through out the film. Ash and his friends walk in a strange way to show their toughness. The comedy is good, anime style. Juyu hana nickname is Jubei, what her father calls her. earlier in the show, some fighting scene of a famous samurai JUBEI. He died, and before he died, he asked his assistant to pass on a lovely eyepatch to someone who fits it and once fit, the person will transform into him (within soul). JuBei was found by the Assistant (after 300 years after the famous samurai died.. how can he live that long? well , the assistant will not fail his duty till he finds someone like jubei.) The famous samurai jubei has enemies of his own, they were from another school which happens to still exist. that school of samurai want to find anyone who is jubei to fight. Happens to stumble upon the girl. The enemies are the teachers from her new school. so she always defeat them after school when she wears the lovely eyepatch............ I say rent it first. DUBBED is not very good at all! Plus that ash guy, get him out, ! he is really annyoning just like that master grandpa in RANMA!! THE MUSIC IS GREAT (WHEN SHE TRANSFORMS into a ninja girl) she is great, but only appears once in awhile, too bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jubei-Chan the Ninja Girl Volu
CDN$ 52.98 CDN$ 20.35
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews