Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
BRILLIANT!
Published 8 days ago by M.A.Smelt

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Fooled by a trailer, once again
How many of you think this is a comedy? I rented this movie after seeing a trailer, with the distinct impression that it was. It is not! Who is responsible for putting the trailer together? Whoever did it, what a deceitful job! They took a few funny moments of the film, spliced them together and came up with this misrepresentation. This movie is in fact quite sad...
Published on Jan. 21 2002 by Manola Sommerfeld


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 14 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: East Is East (Widescreen) (DVD)
BRILLIANT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No one does humour like the Brits, March 6 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: East Is East (Widescreen) (DVD)
Loved this movie on TV so much I bought the DVD so I could watch it again any time I want. Superb take on cultural struggles between the generations in working class northern England. Sad, funny, poignant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars East Is East Review, March 25 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: East Is East (Widescreen) (DVD)
A character driven, well acted movie with every character having their unique personality, making a social statement in a very entertaining way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining., April 26 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: East Is East (Widescreen) (DVD)
Learned a lot about different cultures and people, as well as being very entertaining.
Terrific acting, with actors who are familiar to me in other roles.
Can recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not exactly what I expected, July 9 2011
This review is from: East Is East (Widescreen) (DVD)
I was expecting this movie to be more of a comedy - a fun side of cross-cultural families. The side portrayed - a tense and physical aspect - may be true, but not what I was expecting nor wanted to view, given my expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it love it!, Feb. 21 2011
By 
B. Montgomery "short story" (Vancouver, BC Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: East Is East (Widescreen) (DVD)
Excellent movie. Good acting, cinematography. Good story line. Not far off reality at all. "Weat is West" is going to be released in February 2011. Should be fun!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars an important message for ALL ethnic groups!, April 1 2005
By 
waived wench "waived wench" (Toronto, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: East Is East (VHS Tape)
This film is funny and a comment on the changing face of England in the 1970s. There have been accusations that the film is racist in its portrayal of the South Asians depicted in it, but why has nobody ever taken the negative portrayal of the English into account? As somebody of British descent, I could be just as easily offended by the stereotype of the English people as crass, ignorant and racist, but I recognize that, in this story, there is a degree of truth(I'm left with the impression that many of the people I've discussed the film with don't get the Enoch Powell reference). And I think if we get offended, we miss the point. When I saw the film, my impression was that its theme was the dangers of forcing your children to be something that they are not and the pitfalls of clinging to your past. Both the Pakistani and English characters in this film are guilty of that. I think this film has a valid message that everyone, regardless of their ethnic origin, can share.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A drama - comedy about a multicultural family, May 5 2004
By 
MC (Schloß Holte, Germany) - See all my reviews
This review is from: East Is East (Widescreen) (DVD)
How to get a heap full of problems caused by a multicultural family? - Put together a strict religious Pakistani man and a woman coming from a British working class family!
The film „East is East" is very interesting because it shows a multicultural family, the Khans, and their problems. At the beginning you are involved in the actions immediately, because the conflict between the father and the rest of the family is represented very well. This conflict is about the Muslim tradition of the father and the rest of the family, who wants to live the British way of life. The father, George, forces the typical Pakistani tradition upon to all of his children. Therefore the children are not allowed to live their own life. The consequence is a strong and at the same time humorous rebellion against the father.
The plot is plausible and easy to follow. The film has a good mix between humorous and dramatic scenes. Furthermore, the variety of characters is the most positive aspect of the film for me. George for example is a character who is lovely and sympathetic, but he can also become violent. Each member of the Khan family occupies a different position along a cultural fault line. Especially the seven children have interesting characters. One of them is gay and flees from his arranged marriage. Moreover there is a party-loving rebel and another child is a very religious Muslim. The only daughter wants to live as a boy and loves to play football.
The only negative aspect for me is the end of the film. It is very superficial and does not fulfil the viewers expectations since you do not know if the father really changes his attitude.
But I think the film is very good, because it describes the typical problems of such a family. If you are interested in this kind of family conflicts, the film will entertain you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A definite must see movie!, April 10 2004
By 
Linda "funtosell04" (Mill Valley, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: East Is East (Widescreen) (DVD)
In the same vein as Bend It Like Beckman and Monsoon Wedding, East is East tells the story of one family and the traditional but very different family values that each member shares. It's a simple story but told from all view points and through out the movie you wonder how will it all come together! United States fans of the British soap Eastenders will want to take note that the actor Jimi Mistry who plays the son Tony was also Dr. Fonseca!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, but very serious, April 5 2004
This review is from: East Is East (Widescreen) (DVD)
Another example of great British film. In 1971 a mixed Bangladeshi-English family lives in Manchester, UK. The Bangladeshi father is a respected member of the community, but still clings to his Bangladeshi heritage. He does not see that his children are totally assimilated. While loving and respecting their father, they are also full English. The complications are absolutely hilarious. The father tries desperately to bring his children back into the Bangladeshi community, but everything goes wrong for him. His oldest son proves to be gay, his younger sons have English girlfriends. One of them is creating erotic art. The crisis point for the father comes when even the son who is a devout muslim turns against him. Only then is he forced to accept the new reality of his children. (...)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

East Is East (Widescreen)
East Is East (Widescreen) by DVD (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 69.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews