Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Look at my package!
I myself am not a huge fan of Sandra Bullock, but I do respect her a lot more after viewing this film. Like most guys, I was made to watch this for the sake of a woman. I thanked her right after the credits.
Bullock is forced, by court order, to under go detox after a series of bad drunk moments. She tackles a very sensitive subject head on in this film and really...
Published on Oct. 14 2003 by whistler6

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Addiction counselors review: Too polished, addiction is not this pretty
*I have been an addictions counselor for 5+ years working in treatment centers and various outpatient services.

PROS
1) I show this movie to my clients because it does manage to communicate some of the challenges addicts in recovery face, in a way that is comedic and PG rated (few scenes with actual drug use that might trigger someone in recovery...
Published 5 months ago by High-Tech Prepper


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Look at my package!, Oct. 14 2003
By 
"whistler6" (Not Inbred, TN United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 28 Days (Special Edition) (DVD)
I myself am not a huge fan of Sandra Bullock, but I do respect her a lot more after viewing this film. Like most guys, I was made to watch this for the sake of a woman. I thanked her right after the credits.
Bullock is forced, by court order, to under go detox after a series of bad drunk moments. She tackles a very sensitive subject head on in this film and really shows a side of her talent that is incredible. Of course, she has a superb cast behind her including Steve Buscemi and an always great Viggo Mortensen.
Trust me this is not a "chick flick". It is a funny and touching story that I never would have thought by the title. Pick it up, you can thank me later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Unappreciated Movie, Sept. 1 2003
This review is from: 28 Days (VHS Tape)
Most people haven't seen this movie, which is a shame, since it's one of Sandra Bullock's best movies, and also features Viggo Mortensen (of Lord of the Rings), who is almost unrecognizable, but definitely hot, as baseball player Eddie. The other actors are wonderful too, even the minor characters shine. This movie has some great moments of humor, but also delivers some great life lessons. It's also interesting to see Sandra Bullock do drama, which she pulls off wonderfully. I would highly recommend this film to everybody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 28 days is great, Nov. 4 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: 28 Days (Special Edition) (DVD)
This is a fantastic film!
OK, so I only bought it because Viggo Mortensen features, but I was pleasantly surprised.
Sandra Bullock was fantastic, giving a fantastic performance as Gwen, and Viggo was hot, hot, HOT as Eddie.
This film gives a sometimes lighthearted look at rehab, but the message is touching and the actors performances are great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of Sandra Bullocks shining moments, Aug. 16 2003
By 
Dragonsgrrl (Olympia, WA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 28 Days (Special Edition) (DVD)
We love Sandra Bullock movies in this house. This one is no exception. Sure there are a couple of cheesy moments, but for the most part, this one is probably her best, performance wise. It's not easy to play a believable addict without resorting to over-used Hollywood cliches, and she plays it well without overdoing it. A few nice examples are the sugar-addiction that most addicts experience when giving up the drug of choice. The gum-wrapper chain was also very close to the truth. That nervous "sober" energy needs to be used up somehow! I was married to an alcoholic and everything she went through looked very familiar to what my ex-husband experienced. Anyways, even if you are not familiar with addiction, this is still a very entertaining movie, as are all her other movies. I would recommend this movie, ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Standard Bullock Film, July 25 2003
By 
J. M. Zuurbier (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 28 Days (Special Edition) (DVD)
If you like Sandra Bullock, you will like this movie, plain and simple. 28 DAYS is about a woman named Gwen (Sandra Bullock) who enters rehab after she gets before and during her sisters wedding, destroying a cake, and crashing a limo into someone's house. She enters rehab and there is a lot of conflict when she doesn't mingle well with the other patients, and refuses to participate in their chants or chores. Eventually she comes around, befriending others in her group. Through flashbacks we see where Gwen's problems may have come from. There is plenty of comedic moments in the movie, making it funny, but the movie also has a dramatic edge. It's a fun Bullock film fans of the actress will love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Addiction counselors review: Too polished, addiction is not this pretty, Feb. 25 2014
By 
High-Tech Prepper (Saskatoon, Saskatchewan) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 28 Days (Special Edition) (DVD)
*I have been an addictions counselor for 5+ years working in treatment centers and various outpatient services.

PROS
1) I show this movie to my clients because it does manage to communicate some of the challenges addicts in recovery face, in a way that is comedic and PG rated (few scenes with actual drug use that might trigger someone in recovery.

2) Its a comedy meaning it may cheer up the person watching it while blending in some serious issues.

3) Effectively demonstrates the core family issues, relationship issues as they relate to addiction and the stages of growth of addiction.

CONS
1) The characters are too polished. No one looks as good as 90% of these people when entering a treatment center. Everyone is so clean even when they are overdosing or blind drunk, soooo fake!

Not believable from an experienced counselors perspective at all, but its cute I guess...

It could have been a lot more realistic and gritty while retaining the comedic element but the producers likely realized this wouldn't create mass appeal. In this respect it is somewhat limited as a therapeutic tool.

2) There isn't much resolution in the film, no grand message that a person walks away with, which I suppose is a lot like life itself... but for a 100 minute comedy like this (which can drag on at times) you would think they could try to drive home some memorable moral...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good movie with some strong performances, Feb. 3 2004
By 
K. J. Blake "Super Reader" (Phoenix,AZ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 28 Days (Special Edition) (DVD)
I liked this one- am finally adding it to my video collection.
Sandra Bullock is a believable drunk who has a very tough time relating to anyone and everyone. Was nice seeing someone who is not overly likeable in movie like this.
Nice performance by a clean cut and hunky Viggo Mortenson livens this up.
For a double downer line up of sobering drama
see Meg Ryan and Andy Garcia in When a Man Loves a Woman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Santa Cruz & Gum Wrapper Chains, Nov. 27 2003
This review is from: 28 Days (Special Edition) (DVD)
Sandra Bullock's character goes to rehab. She hates it at first then sees she should be sober. Its a funny movie thats not very preachy and it has good characters. The dvd has cool features like how to make that gum wrapper chain thing, and actual scenes from Santa Cruz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars cliche but fun!, May 31 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: 28 Days (VHS Tape)
I really enjoyed this heart pulling tale of bad girl finds her way to a better life. It takes a very real subject and makes it entertaining without being preachy. It does have it's points where it's a bit cliche granted!! It's a little sad but fun and the entire character venue makes this film all the better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty damn charming, Feb. 5 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: 28 Days (Special Edition) (DVD)
Didn't expect much from this film, but it turned out to be very interesting and not overly sentimental. Steve Buscemi has an excellent role as a veteran counselor, and of course, Sandra Bullock is appealing no matter what she does, which is some fine acting in this case. Good movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

28 Days (Special Edition)
28 Days (Special Edition) by Betty Thomas (DVD - 2000)
CDN$ 9.99 CDN$ 5.00
Usually ships in 9 to 12 days
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews