Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So Here I Am Once More
"So here I am once more, in the playground of the broken hearts."

So let it be written, the first words on the first full length album by the singer Fish and the band Marillion. Indeed, early Marillion is so heavily associated with their original singer that it is futile to try to separate them. Early Marillion, meaning the first four crucial albums, are...
Published on March 23 2010 by LeBrain

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars greats songs but poor drumming
As a bass player I am probably more sensitive to this than others but the drumming on this album is really very amateurish. I am a fan of both pre and post Fish Marrilion and really feel that this album could have ranked alongside any of their other classics but the drumming distracts my ear to the point that I play this album rarely, A great pity because as a lot of...
Published on June 19 2003 by Bret


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Their own identity already!, June 7 2003
Let me start the review by writing that I don't agree with those who criticize this fantastic work by saying that it suffers a lot from Genesis influence. I'm comfortable on doing so because Genesis (with Peter Gabriel) is my other big favorite band. For a first original record from a band back in the early 80's, Script For A Jester's Tear has already that unique sounding Marillion would then continue to produce.
The lyrics and vocals from the charismatic lead singer Fish are probably the main reasons for the very own identity of this album, together with a very gifted guitar player - Steve Rothery, and some wonderful moments on the keyboards by Mark Kelly.
High quality music throughout the entire album, starting with the title track - a song with a very special place on the heart of every Marillion aficionado. "He Knows You Know" has strong lyrics, "The Web" has great changes of tempo, "Garden Party" is one of my favorite Marillion songs (the video is definitely my favorite), "Chelsea Monday" combines in perfection Fish touching lyrics together with Steve's guitar. As for "Forgotten Sons", try to listen it with headphones (this recommendation applies to the entire album, very well produced): Fish's duet with the newsreader works perfectly, and the final section with the children's chorus is tremendous.
The 2CD edition is highly recommended in this case: the EPIC "Grendel" or the lovely "Three Boats Down From The Candy" will tell you why...
Finally, one last word for the cover work by Mark Wilkinson. It has a significant part on what made of this album such a progressive rock reference of the 80s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic, March 3 2003
On first listening it may sound rough and unfocused . BUT , when you acquired its taste , it is an EXCELLENT collage of pieces .
surprising how anytime you listen you discover new layers and corners .
Marillion was always suspected to imitate Genesis ( they are aware and strongly deny ) But it is unimportant . the originality , authenticity and unnique , different taste makes this a perfect piece .
The guitar , keyb's and singing is impeccable .
there is a strong sense of POWER , despite the somewhat melancholic tunes .
It is a real charmer , and an eternal record .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest albums of all time!, Feb. 9 2003
Marillion begun with Script for a Jesters Tear, a very moving album that any desperate, lonely, heart broken young man can relate too. This one packs a punch! Fish is a great singer and anyone who loves real music will need to own this album. The double cd is great with an extra cd of b sides and alternative versions of songs, plus a huge ooklt full of pictures and stories. Marilion are one of my favorite bands of all time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Solid debut, Nov. 9 2002
By 
M. Fonseca "carmarthen" (Thunder) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Some people say this is the best Marillion album. I disagree. For me, MISPLACED CHILDHOOD fills this position.
In SCRIPT FOR A JESTER`S TEARS, Marillion still sounded too much like GENESIS for my taste, but it was obvious since the star that the guys had something special, mainly their singer, Fish (Derek William Dick). This guys sing with passion and it does not sound a fake passion.
The tunes are all regular and keyboard driven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I am still listening, Sept. 8 2002
By 
GEORGE (Qc, Canada) - See all my reviews
This album came to the surface with song "He knows you know" on the radio. Too bad they did not play the other ones.
Best guitar I ever heard on the song "The web". "Forgotten sons" guitar at the end is pretty good too.
Lyrics are great and expressed the discomfort of soul. I guess I am not the only one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, May 17 2002
By 
Thomas Paine "Tom" (Elmhurst, Il United States) - See all my reviews
I bought this album the day it was released in London back in '83. I was eagerly awaiting this LP after the wonderful singles that set the stage and I couldn't have been any more overwhelmed upon hearing their maiden voyage in full length form.
The lyrics and vocals of Fish are incredible and the music is magical. And the great thing is that this album, along with the next 3, still stand the test of time.
They are all, as Fish would say, "brilliant".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't forget these sons..., May 15 2002
By 
Steven Cain (Temporal Quantum Pocket) - See all my reviews
While Marillion were always dogged by the Genesis Clone label, they really were an excellent band in their own right. The quality of the songwriting and musicianship is particularly strong on this, their magical debut.
The first thing to grab you about Marillion is the haunting cover art of the superb Mark Wilkinson, who continued to work with fellow genius, Fish, after the big fella left Marillion. (Their lavishly illustrated book Masque is an absolutely essential purchase.)
Script is one of those rare albums where every single track is a classic. Yet this double CD version is most definitely the one to go for, as Disc 2 contains further indispensible classics, such as Market Square Heroes (2 versions), the breathtaking Three Boats Down From The Candy (which perhaps more than any other track truly encapsulates the very core of Fish-Marillion's magic) and the epic Grendel, which has been described as their Supper's Ready.
Just as Genesis carried on in name only when Peter Gabriel left, so too Marillion continued to (legitimately) use the name after Fish moved on. However, in each case, however well the remaining band members rallied and put out solid albums, a large part of the original magic left with the lead singers.
If you only ever buy one Marillion album, let this be it... but... why stop at only one?
I agree with reviewer Jorge that it is sad there had been no previous reviews of such a fine and defining album. It would be a tragedy if the original band and this magical album should be forgotten.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Clutching at matureness, Dec 19 2001
By 
jorge (Guadalajara, México) - See all my reviews
It's sad to find no reviews on this album, considering it as the peak on the evolution of this group, wich was suddenly and sadly interrupted when Fish decided to leave Marillion. Having other excellent albums, like 'Misplaced Childhood' or 'Fugazi', Clutching at straws shows the total engagement between all members in the band. Fish and his deep and emotional lyrics, and the finesse of all the members as well, shows us the great moment they were through.
If you buy this CD (buy the one with the bonus CD), you will listen what the next album was going to sound like, and you can compare it with 'Seasons End', which has some of the same tracks, but arranged to be played with the new vocalist.
This is my personal favorite album from this outstanding band.
You should get it !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not What I Expected .., Feb. 14 2003
This is the re-mastered edition of "The Script for a Jesters
Tears". I purchased this CD because I lost my original one
in a house-fire. Unfortunately, the "alternate versions" of
the Tracks offered are rather disappointing and fall short of
the true 'Heavy Metal' style which characterised the original
release.
I especially am disapointed with "Market Square Heroes" (both
versions on this disc) which takes out the feeling Fish had put
in the original release. If you can find it, get the original
CD and not the new remaster one. The Tracks on the FIRST CD are
all the original ones. But the ones on the SECOND CD are rather
disapointing. It would be better to buy "B-Sides Themselves" for
the original tracks on the second CD. ( If this review has helped you please click on the button!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb0349750)

This product

Script for a Jester's Tear
Script for a Jester's Tear by Marillion (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews