Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful records and good customers service!
Thanks! Sound of album so good as he only could be and the packaging is safe.
Could you always pack items like now you do it? Because the way to Russia
is very far and something may be damaged. Parcel contain two cardboard boxes:
frustration-free package with vinyl & a big box. Please, do so ever. All great!
Published 10 months ago by Mikhail Bukhtoyarov

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Transcendent Music; Horrible Remix (get the original mix)
First of all, the music here is unique, inventive, and INTENSE (spiritually and volume-wise). To any curious parties, you owe it to yourself to have: this CD, The Inner Mounting Flame (their first), and The Lost Trident Sessions (their long-lost third studio album).
The music is beyond five stars.
Now, for those of you who have heard this album before, avoid...
Published on Oct. 20 2002 by Kourous Xnasasis


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful records and good customers service!, Aug. 28 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Birds of Fire (Vinyl) (LP Record)
Thanks! Sound of album so good as he only could be and the packaging is safe.
Could you always pack items like now you do it? Because the way to Russia
is very far and something may be damaged. Parcel contain two cardboard boxes:
frustration-free package with vinyl & a big box. Please, do so ever. All great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great guitar work and great music, Feb. 22 2004
By 
This review is from: Birds Of Fire (Audio CD)
this is one of the best cds i have ever gotten. i love milesdavis when mclaughlin was with him, so i looked up mclaughlins stuff. i found mahavishnu orchestra and listened to the clips and read the reviews for it. i am currently listening to it and it is great. it is even better than i expected it to be, and i expected it to be a five star to me.
Now i need to get intermounting flame. someone who made a review said the remastered was crappy, but that is the one i got and i am blown away by it. if you have heard jeff beck's Wired, or Blow by Blow, this is like it but way heavier and better, even though i love Wired and Blow by Blow. I heard some of Shakt with Mclaughlin, dont get it, this is much heavier and energetic.
From,
bootsysrubberband
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mahavishnu Played Fusion, Oct. 31 2003
By 
This review is from: Birds Of Fire (Audio CD)
The Mahavishnu Orchestra are widely known for breaking new ground in the world of popular music. They (unsurprisingly) upset many jazz purists (one of them would be musician Wynton Marsalis), while conversely, offering new ways of looking at jazz. This band may have been responsible for helping listeners (particularly of the younger crowd) ease their way into works of "pure" (for lack of a better term) jazz, but saying that largely undermines the integrity and musical power that The Mahavishnu Orchestra possessed. So to be more specific, this band may have helped broaden the appreciation of jazz, especially to a younger audience, while also (and more importantly) blowing the minds of many with their own dazzling musicianship.
Led by guitar virtuoso John McLaughlin, the Mahavishnu Orchestra specialized in blending rock with elements of jazz, Eastern, R&B, classical, country and other elements to form an indescribable brand of music. Not only that, every musician in this band were virtuosos, so the band were not without exhibiting feverish flights of aggression and intensity. However, this band were one of the rare breed of virtuosos who displayed a sense of taste, passion and fluidity in their virtuosic displays, and could rarely be criticized for dryness, or exhibiting nothing more than virtuosic chops all by itself. Another gift this band seemed to possess was a certain accessibility to their music -- it was complex and technical, yet, it could be very addictive, and utterly inviting.
These tracks (which were all composed by John McLaughlin) all seem to be exercises in spirituality. Birds are creatures that fly - they seem to soar above everything. Fire = passion, inspiration, stamina, energy - a life-affirming source. This is transcendent, high-energy music played with soul, passion and purpose. The title track features a main lick, which gives off a slightly ominous, but penetratingly regal sound, while drummer Billy Cobham's crash cymbal seems to add a bit more atmospheric relevance to it's mystical aura. This main lick in an assumed 9/8 meter features McLaughlin (guitar) and violinist Jerry Goodman dueling to the point where the two respective instruments sound indistinguishable - the two seem to become one. On a personal note: I've listened to this one track on repeat for two hours straight, and I could have easily kept it on repeat -- it was THAT addicting.
The band softens things up with tracks like "Thousand Island Park" and "Hope." The former sounding like an unconventional cross between Indian classical and folk-country music (very hard to describe), which is very beautiful and soothing, though it isn't without some lightning-fast soloing. The latter sounding like a mix of Oriental, classical and instrumental ballad. On "One Word," the band really lets loose with a forbidding and frightening fire that will send many running for cover. For the majority of the first half, the band seems to play in a straightforward R&B-rock jam: John uses the wah-wah (or what I call the 'wow-wow') pedal to tasty effect, and bassist Rick Laird lays down some solid grooves underneath it all, and later, the rest of the musicians trade licks with one another on their respective instruments. The second half is where it gets more intense, as tension is built from drummer Billy Cobham, as he gets a solo spot. Here, he exhibits his drumming skills, which start off smoothly, then escalate in speed and dynamics. Upon hearing this, you know to expect some sort of explosion ahead. Then, John McLaughlin (and band) kick in with a 13/8 meter, and for the rest of the song, this 13-rhythm continually increases in speed to reach a hair-raising climax. Within this 13-rhythm, closer inspection will reveal an almost mathematical technique in McLaughlin's guitar line: a 6-5-4-3-2 -- 6 strokes/notes on the first line, 5 on the second, 4 on the third, 3 on the fourth and 2 on the fifth. That pattern is repeated throughout.
Much of the album is hard to describe in mere words, so this review is pretty much over. This album is recommended to all rock music fans, particularly if you're a fan of Hendrix or King Crimson. Prog-rock fans will probably love it, since it seems to fall closer to that category, than it does pure jazz. If you're new to the Mahavishnu Orchestra, this is probably the best place to start, then pick up 1971's INNER MOUNTING FLAME.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars with the fire birds a swirling, June 17 2004
By 
Albrecht von mERzbau (by the little green man) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Birds Of Fire (Audio CD)
you thought mr jan hammer was only around for the cool clean pleated linen and soothing lucre of miami vice?
tsk, tsk..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Jazz/rock fusion album, April 12 2003
By 
James Demestihas (Reno, NV. United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Birds Of Fire (Audio CD)
I had the pleasure of seeing them live back when this album was new. Also on the bill was Frank Zappa and the Mothers reunion.
Unbelieveable show in NY.
Unfortunately it felt like they were in a hurry to get off the stage and for Frank to come out.
This is an all time great must have CD for any guitarists, drummers, or fusion fans. It also had me rush to buy Billy Cobhams album Spectrum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars McLaughlin = genius, April 7 2003
This review is from: Birds Of Fire (Audio CD)
Jazz doesn't always have to be melodic. McLaughlin and crew were wonderful at injecting nontraditional sounds, instruments, and noises into jazz to make it uniquely their own. The Eastern influences were what first sucked me into Mahavishnu's works. The edge kept me there. If you like edgy fusion jazz, such as Brand X, Weather Report, etc., you will like this. And vice versa.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A requirement for your Fusion education, April 7 2003
This review is from: Birds Of Fire (Audio CD)
For those who don't believe jazz has an edge... For those who believe that bands like Weather Report were the direct ancestor of what is known as "smooth jazz" and/or the downfall of civilization as we know it... For self-proclaimed "purists." This album might change your perspective a bit. McLaughlin and his crew are heroes, and are not written, but burned, into the great book of jazz in the heavens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Joe Pass thru a Marshall, March 13 2003
By 
This review is from: Birds Of Fire (Audio CD)
Whoa...Even though this is a 30 year old album,it hasn't been topped.Jazz guitar off the wheels on a crazy train!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Transcendent Music; Horrible Remix (get the original mix), Oct. 20 2002
By 
This review is from: Birds Of Fire (Audio CD)
First of all, the music here is unique, inventive, and INTENSE (spiritually and volume-wise). To any curious parties, you owe it to yourself to have: this CD, The Inner Mounting Flame (their first), and The Lost Trident Sessions (their long-lost third studio album).
The music is beyond five stars.
Now, for those of you who have heard this album before, avoid this remastered version like the plague. The original mix was tinny and thin, but gave a good overall impression. Bob Belden's remix overemphasizes lead instruments to the point of distorting them and ruining their timbre. On the title track, you can barely hear the drums, bass and rhythm ostinato.
If you have the CD of the original mix, keep it and be happy.
If you have a good sounding copy in another format (vinyl or cassette), make an MP3 CD....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Speed metal, before there was speed metal, Sept. 13 2002
By 
N. Jacobs (Fish Creek, Wi USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Birds Of Fire (Audio CD)
I am a metal fan, first and foremost, but have been checking out other types of music for a while. I've heard that this band featured great musicians, namely Billy Cobham and John McGlaughlin, so I decided it would be a good purchase. I AM BLOWN AWAY BY THIS ALBUM!!! This must have influenced some of my favorite metal bands, like Megadeth and Metallica in their most productive years. Mahavishnu takes you on a roller coaster ride through jazz fusion, much like a Metallica song like "Master of Puppets" does. An awesome listening experiance for anyone listening to top notch musicianship and energetic songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Birds Of Fire
Birds Of Fire by Mahavishnu Orchestra (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews