Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars A visceral view of Vietnam
Regarded by many as the best Vietnam War movie of them, the first half of the film is absolutely riveting as Oliver Stone's platoon descends upon a remote village which eerily recalls the My Lai massacre. It is such a visceral movie. You can just about smell the cleaning of the latrines. However, the second half of the movie gets bogged down in the quagmire as Stone...
Published on May 10 2004 by James Ferguson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars standing the test of time...?
I was watching Platoon for the umpteenth time the other weekend when my flatmate came into the room and told me that Platoon had been a great movie, but that it had not maintained its status over the course of the last 15+ years. I can see what he means, the concept isn't great, Charlie Sheen's performance isn't particularly commanding, the key Viet Cong village scene is...
Published on March 9 2004 by marty mcfly


‹ Previous | 118 19 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars INNACURATE, SLANDERING, OVERRATED,, Sept. 13 2001
By 
Antonio De La Cruz (Bayamon, PR USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Platoon (VHS Tape)
The fact that "Platoon" could be treated as Godspell regarding the Vietnam War is a sad commentary on the reading habits,single mindedness and stubborn resistance to evaluate and re-evaluate history.
So many GOOD books offered here in Amazon!Rather than read what the new understanding of the Vietnam experience is -in particular related to the US servicepersons - we choose to obtain knowledge from a film that uses the power of image,sound and dramatic manipulation to present a distorted view of the Vietnam War hoping to advance a political viewpoint.
No serious Vietnam War/Military History/US History scholar considers "Platoon" as "Vietnam as it really was".For example, Stephen Ambrose refute the idea put forward by movies and some books like "Platoon" of the dope smoking, baby killing green machine.In fact as time passes,more facts come to light and political axes stop being grinded, it is predicted that a new more accurate portrayal of the Vietnam War fighting man will emerge in movies.
Robert Hemphill in his book " Platoon: Bravo Company " dispels all the lies and exagerations in Oliver Stone's portrayal" Platoon".Hemphill was none other than the company commander of the unit shown in Stone's movie.The 25th Infantry Division's veterans of the Tropic Lightning Association including those who served under Hemphill have disavowed that movie.
Granted....special effects and the technical advisement of Dale Dye(Saving Private Ryan,Band of Brothers and many more)made this movie very realistic in the way combat was depicted and actors were made to look as if they were humping the boonies.Thats it.
Thanks to Amazon's offers of books by Harry G. Summers( "Vietnam War Almanac" and " Historical Atlas of the Vietnam War"),Eric Bergerud( "Red Thunder,Tropic Lightning: The World of a Combat Division in Vietnam-the 25th Inf.Div precisely)and B.G.Burkett ("Stolen Valor: How the Vietnam Generation was Robbed of its heroes and history")I learned this:

Atrocities were a matter of official policy by the Hanoi goverment following the doctrines of Lenin,Mao and Ho himself regarding the way to raise to power and holding to it.Counter revolutionaries,reactionaries,puppets of the Yankee imperialism,exploiters were the label used for victims of Communist "people's justice".No Uniform Code of Military Justice to break,no court martials or boards of inquiry to face.

Drugs? Vietnam was the command with less drug rate until 1969-1970 when it began to raise.The drug problem started during the withdrawal phase from 1969 to 1971-72 but only as a reflection of an Armed Forces wide problem-not confined to South Vietnam- which was in turn due to what was happening in society as a whole.About 90% of all of those who ever served in S.E Asia have come and go before that.Total % of users were in the 10 to 12 %.Defeat by the north Vietnamese? No major campaign was lost in the war.No Bataan,no early phase of the Battle of the Bulge.What happened between March 1973 and April 1975 did not included US servicemen,except during the evacuation of Saigon and the Mayaguez incident.

I learned a LOT from these and other books.People,try to learn something new,too!The best way to honor those who faced Communist totalitarism in the jungles of S.E. Asia is to get the facts.In times like these we are living through, Freedom loving people worldwide can not afford to dishonor those who fought so you won't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars There was no «innocence» to lose in the first place., Aug. 28 2000
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Platoon (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
«Loss of innocence?» - There was no «innocence» to lose in the first place! This movie contains the most incredible collection of totally disgusting characters I have ever seen. I had to force myself to watch it all the way to the end, in the hope that, against all probability, I might at last come upon some redeeming feature. In vain: the cheap sentimental platitudes eked out at the very end for the sake of placating what's left of dignity in the viewing public will only deceive the thousands and thousands of gullible suckers who helped this whole thing become a commercial success in the first place. I am not talking about the war and the violence, nor am I talking about whether it was warranted or not. That is just the context, - a context that's been shown much better and much more dramatically hundreds of times before in literary works as well as in movies. I am talking about the way the human characters involved in that context are pictured as reacting to the situation. The utter vulgarity of their language and of their attitudes to one another is clearly the artificial creation of sick minds that feed with relish on that sort of thing: even escaped convicts, if caught in such a tragically serious situation, would have behaved in a more civil way. My impression is that the sinister jokers responsible for this movie (let their names be erased and forever forgotten) must have had their brains stewed in tobacco smoke for a very long time before they could come up with such a totally gratuitous and unreal human monstrosity. Worse still: after reading the many ravingly favorable reviews praising this movie (including those of current high priests of cinematic taste like Roger Ebert and Leonard Maltin), I must say that I cannot but have serious doubts about the sanity of a population that seems to have lost its reflex to vomit even when presented with such patently nauseating garbage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An unpleasantly violent movie, March 5 2002
By 
Katie Vento "tipiinc" (miami, florida USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Platoon (VHS Tape)
I bought this movie for my partner, it is his favorite movie and the original was gnarled by the VCR. I watched a fraction of the movie and found what I saw extremely distasteful. If you find violence towards children and the mentally challenged offensive I recommend that you avoid this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Jack55, June 30 2003
I first saw Platoon in a theater in Waikiki as a member of the 25th ID, which is the same division depicted in the film. A big chunk of the audience also seemed to be from Schofield Barracks. They cheered wildly at some parts, like whenever a charcter refered to "grunts" or killing VC. We were all very young and had no way to know what Vietnam was really like. I enjoyed the move. It's entertaining and well acted, but is very much more of a work of fiction than I at first realised. I came to this opinion after reading the book "Platoon - Bravo Company" by Robert Hemphill. He was Oliver Stone's company commander in Vietnam. His book paints a much more honorable picture of the unit and is much closer to my peace-time impression of the US Army than Stone's criminal/irresponsible characters. Read Hemphill's book and skip this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointment, Oct. 2 2003
By 
Ce commentaire est de: Platoon (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
I had heard so many great things about this movie. When I finally saw it, however, I could not make much of it.
The film has every Vietnam war film cliche in the book. The new recruit, the crazy commander, the rape, the pillaging, the final showdown where most of the character deaths happen...and I found it predictable in a lot of parts. Not to mention the plenty of inaccuracies found through out - the uniforms, the dialogue, the weaponry, the fact William Defoe gets blown away in equipment that should have protected him, then comes back as if he's OK.
There was one point in the movie that I liked. In the final scene, Oliver Stone put himself in the movie playing a Colonel. Then a suicide soldier of the VietCong throws himself into the HQ and blows himself up, killing everyone inside. That gave me some pleasure...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Over rated and Untrue, Nov. 8 2003
By A Customer
This is Stone's hollywood view of what occurred in Vietnam. More guilt trips than truth. As a 2 year in-country vet, I believe it is deplorable that he fails to note that the mission itself was an honorable one and so was the performance of the American soldier. He managed to contribute to the stereotype of the Vietnam soldier as a baby killer and drug addict, which is not the truth.This film does not belong in the same catagory as "The Longest Day".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Platoon, more like Platoverated., June 13 2004
By 
M. Gibb "thing187" (Auckland New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This film is all bits and pieces and does not come together as a whole. The acting is terrible for the most part and especially bad in the case of the lead "Charlie Sheen". A couple of memorable looking scenes and some shock value plot points got this film splashed on the cover of every magazine and on to the Academy awards. Full Metal Jacket came out roughly the same time and is the far better movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One-Sided, April 29 2004
By 
Scott Burley (Saratoga, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Love it or hate it, this is the quintessential Vietnam movie. Personally, I've never understood why. The movie has only one message: War is Hell. So what else is new? I really don't want to spend 2 hours watching it. Perhaps Stone was trying to acheive a level of surreality, but it comes across as unbelievablity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 118 19 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Platoon
Platoon by oliver stone (DVD)
CDN$ 5.06
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews