Customer Reviews


380 Reviews
5 star:
 (329)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the greatest rap album ever made.
The year is 1994, a solo debut is on the rise for a 20 year old Nasir Jones, who witnesses ready to be told stories from his apartment window in Queens. He needs to make money, get out of this lifestyle he has been living for years and show the world his talent. Illmatic was originally supposed to be his only released cd, after this, he was going to retire and take his...
Published on July 11 2004 by Cameron

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars edited
Everyone whose heard this album knows its straight 5 mics,but when u make it edited.damn.just wrong.It was the mistake in description by supplier.
Published 9 months ago by midnight321


‹ Previous | 137 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars worst rapper ever (along with eminem and d12), April 30 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Illmatic (Audio CD)
this album sux because its nas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nas is the best rappa, he out blows all, Jan. 25 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Illmatic (Audio CD)
I found out about Nas when I played Tony Hawk's Underground, when I heard his "World is Yours" song. A week later I bought Illmatic, it was a great album. I had always liked fitty but he couldn't match Nas at all, he blew me away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ANYONE WHO SEZ THIS IS ONE OF RAPS FINEST HAS NO CLUE, April 23 2004
This review is from: Illmatic (Audio CD)
BEFORE I START MY REVIEW --- the majority of ppl that are going to read this are those d&ckheads who have reviewed this...so this will most likely get many negative results...but after u read this u will realise that anyone who rates this album a 5star hip hop classic one of the finest, is not a rap fan... ON TO THE REVIEW..........
if you think that this album is one of the finest in rap/hip-hop (if not the best) then dont call yourself a rap fan. this cd is not too bad, however, there are far better than the majority of u idiots havent heard of before, and your saying that this album is better. for example, the best underground rapper is ESHAM, along with his group, NATAS. check out there high rating albums on amazon (closed casket, kkkill the fetus, boomin words from hell, dead flowerz, bruce wayne, multikillionaire, wicket world wide, AND DOUBELIEVENGOD - which has been rated in the top 3 cds OFF ALL TIME OF ANY KIND NOT JUST RAP). have a listen a some of these and im sure your opinion will change about this album being one of the greatest hip hop albums ever. ESHAM and NATAS albums are better than all of 2pac and biggie's any other mainstream rapper that everyone rates high. there are far more underground rap classics especially from detroit, that most of these reviewers wouldnt have heard of before because they are mainstream listers. CHECK OUT THE UNDERGROUND. SUPPORT THE UNDERGROUND AND KILL THE MAINSTREAM. check out these ESHAM / NATAS classics before you call this album one of the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Most over rated, under rated cd ever!, Dec 24 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Illmatic (Audio CD)
What was the source thinking calling this the most under rated cd ever? Its under rated because of the trashy lyrics over the supreme beats of Gangstarr's Premier. This joint belongs nowhere in the same category as Mobb Deep's Infamous or Raekwons Built Strictly for Cuban Links. Buyer Beware! Nas' flow is choppy and raw. With It Was Written producing two decent cuts that were both radio, Nas on his first album talks about all that back to Africa fake hard core rap. This album is just about as bad as his acting in Belly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pac Never Liked You, Get The Picture, July 10 2004
By 
Kevin K. Krapf (Milwaukee, WI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Illmatic (Audio CD)
This album lacked good beats which is a pattern for Nas along with beat-stealing. This guy, like Jay-Z make me sick. They both steal from 2pac even though Pac clearly never liked either one of them. Nas and Jay-Z sample far too many beats and lack creativity. Neither one are worth a damn and bring down the value of the east coast rap scene. That's why the westcoast is number 1, they can't hold a flame to Dre, Xzibit, Ice Cube, Too Short, or even Daz, Kurupt, Shaq, or Warren G. I'm sure if I guy that didn't like me spit on the mic about my cred or lack thereof, I wouldn't steal his beats in order to get the spotlight. Nas will never be as good as 2pac and more people need to realize that Nas is foul. His bad songs definitely outweigh the good which in undisputable. Ooooooooh, I'm a loser named Nas and I need to steal the beat from Cream's "Sunshine Of Your Love" in order to release my first single for my album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A non-biased view from a hiphop fan, Dec 30 2001
By 
"evilfate" (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Illmatic (Audio CD)
I'm always hearing how wonderful this album is, but i have no idea why.
I am a hiphop fan, i know what im talking about, but this album is not anything special at all.
The beats are terrible, old-school, with no depth.
Secondly, the lyrics, well, they may be fantastic, but his delivery is poor.
I'm probably going to get lynched for this, but this is just not that good an album, if you want the definitive nas, get stillmatic.
If you really want truly fantastic lyrics, not helium throated vocals, with unlistenable beats, check out Roots Manuva,
The Big L, AND KRS-1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Overated, Sept. 13 2002
By 
This review is from: Illmatic (Audio CD)
Illmatic is probably one of the best lyrical hip hop cds out there. The beats are not as impressing as I thought that it would be. With people ranting and raving about the best hip hop album of all time with only 10 songs? The beats are not impressing, all that is good is rymes. If u want a good classic rap cd, I suggest Death Row's Greatest hit. THat is a good cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Over-Rated, July 21 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Illmatic (Audio CD)
Nas is a below average MC. Hova is the G.O.A.T--end of story. Dont waste your money on this--buy Blueprint, Unplugged, and Best of Both Worlds instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good but fake, Jan. 26 2004
By 
"realmatic" (Queensbridge, ny United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Illmatic (Audio CD)
This album is good but it is not true. Nas just steals Cormega's life stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars wake up amazon!, Jan. 4 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Illmatic (Audio CD)
I find it very disheartening that you did not post my review of this album. I kept it clean and everything I said related to Nas. Just because I gave it a low mark you wish to only show the positive so that it does not effect your sales. Also please choose your top 10 Cds of the year honestly instead of horrible albums which you obviously must have a large back stock of that you want to sell. If you are not going to allow everyone to voice their opinions through reviews that just get rid of them altogether.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 137 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Illmatic (Vinyl)
Illmatic (Vinyl) by Nas (LP Record - 1994)
Click for more info
Usually ships in 3 to 6 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews