Customer Reviews


445 Reviews
5 star:
 (360)
4 star:
 (36)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (20)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the first Beatles masterpiece
RUBBER SOUL remains a milestone in The Beatles' recording careers. It ushered in their most celebrated and sophisticated musical phase that is unrivalled to this day.
In the 20 months since The Beatles landed in America to the time the band recorded this album, rock 'n' roll had undergone a revolution, sparked by The Beatles themselves. The British invasion...
Published on May 24 2005 by Allan Tong

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars In America, many of us really crave the American version
According to your editor's review: "The album was softened up in its original 12-song American edition to jibe with the Dylan/Byrds folk-rock sound..."
I strongly prefer the American edition that fit the time so well. One key reason to listen to a CD is to recapture what it felt like to be alive then--here, not there. The UK version is jarring and lacks...
Published on June 5 2004 by Samuel D. Burns


‹ Previous | 1 245 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the first Beatles masterpiece, May 24 2005
By 
Allan Tong (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rubber Soul (British) (Audio CD)
RUBBER SOUL remains a milestone in The Beatles' recording careers. It ushered in their most celebrated and sophisticated musical phase that is unrivalled to this day.
In the 20 months since The Beatles landed in America to the time the band recorded this album, rock 'n' roll had undergone a revolution, sparked by The Beatles themselves. The British invasion inspired Bob Dylan to go electric, while The Beatles converted the L.A. folk quartet, The Byrds, to replace their acoustic guitars with electric music. Add to this the whiff of American grass and you get the influences which shaped the late-1965 Beatles.
Above all, the Beatle's songwriting takes a big leap forward with RUBBER SOUL. For the first time John, Paul and George avoid the cliched boy-meets-girl songs and address introspective themes. Though RUBBER SOUL was widely viewed as Just Another Beatles Album in late-1965, some listners took notice of the words with as much care as they did Dylan albums. Some started to use the word "poetry" to describe Beatles music.
The album opens superbly with the funky Drive My Car which features a sharp vocal by Paul and a gorgeous bass influenced by Motown. John's Norwegian Wood is one of the record's highlights and introduces the sitar to Western ears. It obliquely tells of an affair John once had. You Won't See Me could've easily been a single. Paul's song, it is simply structured but strong. Nowhere Man was actually pulled as a single in the U.S. and is the first Beatles song not to talk about love or girls. John looks in the mirror and finds himself lost in a lyric that was one of his best (Dylan covered it many years later). George's Think For Yourself also steers away from the love song and features Paul playing the distinctive fuzz bass. The Word preceeds All You Need Is Love and discusses love not in boy-girl terms but universally (at a time when the Anti-War Movement was growing). Michelle closes side 1 in style. Love it or hate it, it is a fine love song with another great bass line.
Side 2 opens and closes with two disposable songs, What Goes On? and Run For Your Life. RUBBER SOUL would have been far better with the double-sided single, We Can Work It Out and Day Tripper, taking their place. However, the rest of side 2 shines with Girl and I'm Looking Through You -- John and Paul's complex views about women which are light-years away from She Loves You -- and In My Life which the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation recently named as the best song of all time. In My Life is a milestone in Lennon's career, featuring a nostalgic but bittersweet lyric. Lennon has never been this candid with his audience. Word is merely a leftover from the Help! sessions, though George's If I Needed Someone features the chiming Rickenbacker put to good use.
Today, RUBBER SOUL remains fresh. Amazingly, it was rush-recorded in two weeks with most of the songs written in the studio. John and Paul are at the height of their powers, while George is keeping pace with two songs instead of his customary one (or none). The album's acoustic sound allow's the band's maturing lyrics to be heard, while the arrangements are simple, yet intelligent. Few Beatles albums can rival RUBBER SOUL in songwriting. The sound of the album sounds unified which will pave the way for their next two albums, Revolver and Sgt. Pepper. RUBBER SOUL is The Beatles' first masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful quality, Jan. 13 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A wonderful album, and the quality of the 180 gram vinyl is incredible. This is my first 180 gram album and it was quality enough to determine that 180 gram is the way to go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TERRIFIC, June 12 2004
This review is from: Rubber Soul (British) (Audio CD)
one of my favourite beatles albums containg such gems as michelle and norwegian wood.disregard the one star reviews and buy this cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars excellent, Aug. 25 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Rubber Soul (Audio CD)
surement un des meilleurs des beatles du beatles a son meilleur,le genie de lennon et mcartney et le son est excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of there best.., July 29 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Love it, great album, vinyl sounds great. It is on heavyweight vinyl, the outer sleeve is pretty thick. Good inner sleeves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Evolution, Sept. 4 2000
By 
Matthew McDowell (The College of New Jersey) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rubber Soul (British) (Audio CD)
There are a certain group of music fans in this world who believe that musical groups should not be allowed to evolve and experiment with new materials; the same old thing should be repeated over and over again. That's the problem we have with music today: you're either a clone of the Backstreet Boys, Limp Bizkit, or Matchbox 20; there is no "alternative" anymore, and people seem to like it that way. So, therefore, it makes sense that the Beatles could not exist in the world of today. The world of mid-sixties was quite a radical time, and the Beatles, with their previous pop successes, seem willing to take up the mantle of trying something new. Hence, we have "Rubber Soul", the very first "alternative" album ever; heck, it was the first important album ever. Before it, success was judged on singles and individual songs, and their positions on the charts (unfortunately also the case today). Then the John, Paul, George, and Ringo came out with this: an actual album that was to be taken as a whole, not as parts. And when you think about, is there a "She Loves You" or an "I Wanna Hold Your Hand" on this album? Doubtful. Keeping the philosophy of "whole" in mind, the four young lads now had the freedom to experiment with such instruments as the sitar (name a pop artist that uses a sitar!) and experiment with many different genres of music. In the process of making this album, they revolutionized music altogether. I recall reading Brian Wilson's comment on "Rubber Soul." It was true. With "Rubber Soul," the Beatles had unknowingly upped the ante, and turned rock and roll into a hotbed of creativity. It should also be noted that the Beatles were not content with revolutionizing music as we knew it. Throughout the next five years after "Rubber Soul," they put out "Revolver", "Sgt. Pepper", "Magical Mystery Tour", the White Album, "Let it Be", and "Abbey Road." Each of these albums (with perhaps the exception of "Let it Be") raised the bar even further; each album was more risky and more "alternative" than the next. And while "Rubber Soul" may not be the Beatles's best album, it may very well be the most important album in rock history, as it was indeed the very first of its kind, and curved the course of music forever. All other bands have been trying to catch up ever since.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EXCEPTIONAL TALENT! THIS DESERVES EVEN MORE STARS!, Aug. 28 2000
By 
BeatleBangs1964 (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Rubber Soul (British) (Audio CD)
This is one of my favorite Beatles albums. When this was released in late 1965, the Beatles were already experimenting with different musical styles. The songs on this collection run the full gamut of expression and styles from the highly romantic ballad "Michelle" to the highly danceable "Wait" and "Drive My Car." The lyrics are nonpareil and remain so to this day. The blend of guitar, drum and harmonies remains flawless and unrivalled. "In My Life" is truly an exceptional work of art. It is a musical masterpiece. The lyrics evoke strong feelings and the gentle harmony provides a pleasant contrast to the strong feelings expressed in the lyrics. I always felt it was a shame that most of these songs did not get a lot of radio play (e.g."Wait," "You Won't See Me," "Run for Your Life.") The work contained on this album is of impeccably high caliber and it is something to be heard and treasured to this day.
If I could, I would rate this one more stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great pop. One of the true pioneer records., Aug. 23 2000
By 
"bman20k" (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rubber Soul (British) (Audio CD)
Rubber Soul's one of the very first records that started challenging artists to make proper, full length statements that helped usher in the album era. And it did so because the songs were all of a higher caliber (aside for What Goes On) compared to everyone else's regular album tracks. Six tracks even wound up on the Red Album, and the 11th track (In My Life) was just voted the greatest song of all time in Mojo magazine. One of the people that put it at #1 was Brian Wilson, someone who adored this album. That should account for something.
So is this essential? Easily. This is not only an essential Beatle album, but an essential rock and roll album.
Although I will say this, the Beatles' run of classics (Revolver through Abbey Road) all trounce this. This is a classic album, and it is deserving of a 5 star mark, but this is not a run away classic like the other Beatle albums. So don't expect that.
It might be a good starting point for a Beatles collection, it's got a lot of the sophisticated music of their later years (Nowhere Man, In My Life) while still harking back to their Beatlemania (The Word, Run For Your Life) days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Songcraft at its finest, July 16 2004
By 
Stephen W. Low (Nelson, Nelson New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rubber Soul (British) (Audio CD)
This is an elegant collection of songs that was a starting point for music. Here excellent music composition was combined with thought provoking lyricism and affective production. The guitars, pianos and bass play complementary melodies to the tunes, resulting in one flawless package that simply doesn't date.
Along with Pet Sounds and Mr Tambourine Man (Byrds) here is a the new intellectualism of Bob Dylan combined with a production that emotionally frames it's lyrical content. Every track is a winner, although 'Run for your life' is somewhat lightweight. 'Norwegian Wood', 'In my Life', 'Nowhere man' and 'Girl' are probably the finest examples of songcraft here. Anyone interested in music must have this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comparison of 1987 CD and 2009 Remastered Stereo CD, Oct. 3 2009
By 
From the Musician's Pen (Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Rubber Soul (Audio CD)
The repackaging is neat, with new pictures and a booklet, and a mini documentary on the CD... which makes it difficult/impossible to copy songs from the CD (which was easy to do with the older CD). The older CD cover photo looked more natural while the remastered version looks more green and has a larger image which gets a bit cropped. Old plastic covers are replaceable while the new covers can't really be replaced if they wear or tear.

Overall they did an excellent job remastering this CD and staying true to the original CD mixes. The bass guitar is louder and there is more noticeable bleed of reverb between the 2 speakers. I'm not sure if it's a modern reverb effect added or just that you can now HEAR the original reverb a lot more than ever before.

Some noticeable different things are:
Nowhere Man: the 1987 version has distorted vocals while the newer one definitely sounds cleaned up (you can hear George's harmony clearer) and the vocal reverb bleeds a lot to the other speaker.

Micelle: newer version has a lot more bleed from opposite speaker and significantly louder/cleaner drums and backing vocals.

What Goes On: the 1987 version left Ringo's vocal more bare in the one speaker, while the newer version has more bleed of the rhythm guitar beneath Ringo's vocal.

Girl: the old version has bass guitar in both speakers while the new one has bass in one speaker.

I'm Looking Through You: the old version has bass guitar bleeding into the vocal speaker, and the keyboard and lead guitar riff blend together to create ONE sound. On the new version you can clearly hear the keyboard as distinct from the lead guitar. Although it's cool to finally hear how it was done, to me it also takes away a little magic from the sound.

All the rest are true to the old CD mixes, just a bit louder and clearer/cleaner.

I've yet to compare it to the mono remastered CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 245 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb5922798)

This product

Rubber Soul (Vinyl)
Rubber Soul (Vinyl) by Beatles (LP Record - 2008)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews