Customer Reviews


294 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (85)
3 star:
 (40)
2 star:
 (32)
1 star:
 (69)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars very good movie
the storey line was good, and the historical aspect well not
true, but not looking for that.
this is a storey from ww2 regardless of who participated,
it was entertaining and i got my money's worth.
das boot obviously was the better.
plenty of stories to be told of ww2, keep the movies coming.
Published on March 25 2004 by schackdaddy

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars THE WORST
This movie attempts to present itself as an historically based submarine adventure. Unfortunately, it is grossly inaccurate historically, to the point of being insulting;especially to the Brits. They seized an enigma device before we even entered the war. The submarine warfare is so over the top it's absurd. If you want to see crazy stunts and over the top action I'd...
Published on June 20 2003


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars THE WORST, June 20 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: U-571 (Widescreen) (DVD)
This movie attempts to present itself as an historically based submarine adventure. Unfortunately, it is grossly inaccurate historically, to the point of being insulting;especially to the Brits. They seized an enigma device before we even entered the war. The submarine warfare is so over the top it's absurd. If you want to see crazy stunts and over the top action I'd recommend a good Bond film. If you want to see a great WW2 submarine flick, see Das Boot. Forget about this turkey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pas complètement bilingue anglais-français, Nov. 25 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: U-571 (Widescreen) (DVD)
Les sous-titres étaient en anglais lorsque les Allemands parlaient alors que le reste du film était en français. j'aurais souhaité des sous-titres français en tout temps. Il ne manque pas d'action dans ce film. C'est très bon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Worrying Film, June 1 2004
By 
This review is from: U-571 (Widescreen) (DVD)
This is a very ordinary (and no more than that) WW2 submarine film. In the 1950s it would have been a B-movie; special effects are better now, of course, so it's a 'blockbuster'. It barely merits one star, but the system won't allow none at all. But that's not the point, of course.
The worrying thing is the revisionist history it contains. We are getting used to it in Britain, but Hollywood constantly rewrites history to favour the Americans, and often at our expense. "The Patriot" was disgraceful enough in attributing to 1770s British troops atrocities committed by WW2 Germans against French civilians (at Orodour), but at least Hollywood was trying to establish in blatant terms who was "good" (Americans) and who "bad" (British) for the purpose of the film. "U 571" goes further than that, because it rewrites history to give credit to people who do not deserve it, and by implication to take credit from those that do.
It's the feeling that some people don't think this matters that worries me. Imagine the outcry in the US if anyone made a film showing the Royal Marines capturing Iwo Jima and raising the British Flag. Or how about how the British fought and won the Battle of the Bulge?
It does matter. Really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Run in the opposite direction! Please!, Nov. 26 2003
This review is from: U-571 (Widescreen) (DVD)
I think the title of this review says it all. I lost count of the historical inaccuracies after the first ten minutes! Of course, the Germans were the brutal bunglers who cheated on zeir frauleins und vipped zeir dachsunds! No really, steer well clear of this disaster. If you wish to view a TRUE account of the Battle of the Atlantic as the sailors saw it, watch "Das Boot: The Director's Cut"...or better still, the unabridged version of the same movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Short and bitter, Nov. 5 2003
By 
John Devlin (FL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: U-571 (Widescreen) (DVD)
In a nutshell; I will have to reinforce the comments of several previous reviewers. The film combined significant historical inaccuracy with a series of very clumsy rip offs of the dramatic high points of the film Das Boot. Viewing the original requires a three hour time commitment, but it is truly one of the best action/suspense flicks ever made. Watching this one consisted of boredom interspersed with moments of despair involving the poorly done "cut and paste" plagiarism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This movie should go below crush depth as soon as possible., April 28 2004
By 
C. FAN (Sacramento, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: U-571 (Widescreen) (DVD)
Technically accurate? How much is technical accuracy worth when the whole story is a monsterous lie?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Insulting Revisionism, May 7 2004
This review is from: U-571 (Widescreen) (DVD)
Firstly, I should like to pay tribute to the crew of HMS Bulldog, the British Navy vessel who actually did perform the heroic deeds portrayed in this insulting film. When Enigma really was captured, America hadn't even been forced into the war yet. Britain and her allies, on the other hand, had been fighting since the summer of 1939. I find it worrying when history is revised in this way. It happened with Pearl Harbour, Saving Private Ryan and The Patriot too. When and where does Hollywood/America stop? Your own history is sufficiently full of stirring deeds to make this theft of heroism unnecessary. In answer to those who have stated that us 'Limeys' need to lighten-up and the film is purely entertainment, I feel I have to disagree. It's naive to adopt this POV when one realises the well-documented effect of Cinema on society. Great Britain and a few staunch allies stood alone for almost 3 years before the Japanese attack on Pearl forced the US into the war. We too, fought on more than one front. North Africa and the Far East, for the benefit of the earlier critic who mentioned that the US Navy was fighting in two oceans as opposed to only one. As for the tiny sop at the end of the credits, well I ask you, who reads the credits? The damage has already been done. So, what comes next, one wonders? America triumphs at El Alamein? The USAF wins the Battle Of Britain? Oh, sorry, I forgot . . . Just read that's already happening, in a new film starring Tom Cruise!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good but not Das Boot!!!, June 20 2004
This review is from: U-571 (Widescreen) (DVD)
The problem with this film is the story and not the special effects. The special effects on this one are great but the story is kinda screwed up. No matter how hard a director trys there will never be another Das Boot. I recommend getting Das Boot instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars DON'T WASTE YOUR LIFE OR MONEY, June 19 2004
This review is from: U-571 (Widescreen) (DVD)
Leaving aside the MASSIVE AND GROSS historical inaccuracies which yet again fail to acknowlegde the fact that it was the UK not the US who got the first enigma machine - this is still a TERRIBLE film
Wooden acting, submarine film cliche after sumbarine film cliche, complete lack of suspense, obvious plot, boring direction and I have to say some rather weak special effects make this a truly painful experience to sit through.
What was Matthew Machonahy thinking off i ask you? If he wanted to make a war movie then surely there must have been a better script floating around hollywood than this? It feels as if the story was written committee style by a load of second rate writers who had no clear idea what they were trying to say!
Please I beg you don't waste your time or money on this film - it will leave you reaching for the bottle of jack daniels in a vain attempt to try and wipe your memory clean of this most excruciateingly dull film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars THE BRITISH CAPTURED THE ENIGMA MACHINE, April 17 2004
By 
Terry Silver (The All-Valley Karate Tournament) - See all my reviews
This review is from: U-571 (Widescreen) (DVD)
That's right - don't be fooled by this revisionist film that lifts a few scenes straight out of the vastly superior "Das Boot". I hate movies that decide to make history fit their stupid plots, and "U-571" is no exception. No Americans were involved in the seizure of the enigma code, and this movie will only serve to misinform many people. Aside from that, this is a decent action movie that steals from all submarine movies to preceed it. Also of note: Jon Bon Jovi's cameo is very funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

U-571
U-571 by Jonathan Mostow (VHS Tape - 2000)
Used & New from: CDN$ 1.42
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews