Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best CD of All Time!!!!
This album is great!!!
Every song I rate is 4-5 stars.
1. Telegraph Road: Great album opener, it is an epic, very
long. Starts out with nothing first, then comes along with a
true story. And then the song has a great ending to it. This is
my favorite song on the entire CD.
2. Private Investigations: Nice acoustic work! I love the loud...
Published on July 1 2005 by Telegraph Road

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Rather weak
After three more or less great albums, Dire Straits released "Love over gold" in 1982. This album is not at all comparable to the earlier stuff and only the song "Telegraph road" reach former heights. In fact, "Love over gold" is a rather boring album and the material lacks the attractiveness of tunes like "Sultans of swing" and "Tunnel of love" to name a few. I would say...
Published on Aug. 14 2003 by L. B. Ivarsson


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best CD of All Time!!!!, July 1 2005
By 
Telegraph Road (Fallon, Nevada, United States of America) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Love Over Gold (Audio CD)
This album is great!!!
Every song I rate is 4-5 stars.
1. Telegraph Road: Great album opener, it is an epic, very
long. Starts out with nothing first, then comes along with a
true story. And then the song has a great ending to it. This is
my favorite song on the entire CD.
2. Private Investigations: Nice acoustic work! I love the loud
heavy metal guitar. A must listen to if you are a heavy metal
fan!
3. Industrial Disease: I love this song! It has great lyrics
and great music. Sometimes I repeat this song because it it so
funny. My favorite part is where Doctor Parkinson speaks.
At first I didn't like this, but later, it grew on me and I like
it a lot. Great work.
4. Love over Gold: One of my favorite songs on this! Nice song,
I love the ending. I think this is one of the best acoustic songs
of all time!!
5. It Never Rains: Perfect way to close this album!! This has
some of the best heavy metal riffs I have ever heard. Nice lyrics
and sometimes I repeat this track again! One of the best DS songs
ever recorded.
Overall, the best 80's album ever!!
Dire Straits are one of the greatest bands of all time!!
Buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wow, April 19 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Love Over Gold (Audio CD)
By far the best Straits album. and thats saying alot because all the albums were great with the exeption of communique wich was OK.The first time i heard telegraph road i waws in awe. Its one of the best songs i have ever heard. It just tells a fantastic story. Private Investigations is different but still very good. Knopfler does not really sing this song he mainly talks it but the lyrics are great and its just kind of creapy. Industrial Disease is also different but still very good, and is probably the worst song on the album.And Love over gold and It never rains are also amazing songs.There may only be 5 songs but they are five inspired and well written songs.A must have for any Dire straits Fan or any Mark knopfler fan.Get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars rock and roll craftmanship, Nov. 21 2003
This review is from: Love Over Gold (Audio CD)
This is probably the most adventurous of the Dire Straits CDs, featuring long, complex instrumental solos, especially by leader Mark Knopfler whose guitar playing is a wonder. "Telegraph Road", one of Knopfler's best songs, is an epic tale in 14 minutes. "Private Investigations" starts slow and boring with semi-spoken lyrics but has a spectacular three-guitar, keyboard, and drum instrumental finale. The bass lays down a heavy slow rhythm, Knopfler's classic acoustic carries the melody, and the rhythm guitar and piano add powerful dramatic riffs.
I was wowed too by "It Never Rains" which features Knopfler consciously singing like Dylan but then doing his own thing with a long, rocking finale that features a ringing guitar pitched high enough to make your ears tingle. "Love on Gold" was recorded about the time that Dire Straits was Dylan's back up band, so the Dylanesque touch is legit. Did Dire Straits influence Dylan?
There are only five songs (41 minutes of music) on this CD. The complexities of each song make up for their lack of numbers and the instrumentation is as good as any I've ever heard. These guys can play their instruments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate 80s 'art' album, Sept. 4 2003
By 
"kiwimuzo" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Love Over Gold (Audio CD)
This was the first Dire Straits album I heard, more than 20 years ago - and it still gives me goosebumps today. Despite the fact that it only has a few songs, it is all class - anarchic social commentary, insightful story, whimsical, lyrical ballad... all set amidst a deep texture of subtle instrumental colours.
'Telegraph Road' is perhaps the most interesting 20+ minute song to make it onto the charts. If you shut your eyes, you can "see" the town around it being constructed in rapid retrospect, and it's easy to sense the ensuing loneliness of being cooped up in an urban sprawl.
'Private Investigations' is a reflection of the activities of the urban underworld. However, it is the different timbres created within each section which make it interesting - the best way to listen to this is to put on the headphones and turn up the volume. Mark Knopfler's effortless acoustic guitar playing is a real gem, and the conversations with the vibraphone are particularly effective.
'It Never Rains' is a truly wonderful out-take. It begins all innocent and smurf-theme-like, but builds up as the resentment in the lyrics takes over, to the point where the growling electric guitar spits venom at the end.
Self-righteous, judgemental, sarcastic, intolerant of fools - this album speaks savagely of a time when power-dressing, huge shoulder pads, too much hair and over-the-top make-up were the fashion statements, and clawing your way to the top was the predominant occupation. Hence it is still a timely voice today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Second Best Dire Straits album, July 28 2003
By 
Odd Magne Granli (Southern Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Love Over Gold (Audio CD)
When most people think of Dire Straits, they tend to either say "Romeo & Juliet" or "Sultans of Swing", or "Walk of Life" And "Money for Nothing". Few of those I meet actually mentiones this beauty.
Love Over Gold is a fantastic album from Dire Straits. Telegraph Road has to be one of the best songs ever, its a ride you will never forget once you hear it. Atmospheric, cold and dark, this album is perfect night music. Telegraph Road, Private Investigations are best heard together, as a whole, with Love over Gold coming afterwards. The more ironical and jokingly Industrial Disease doesnt quite fit, as it breaks the relaxing tone the rest of the record sets, but its a good song. The ending song It Never Rains is a very fitting end song, it kinda works like a finale for a story without the rest of it. However, nothing can take away that Telegraph Road is the star of the show, and its hard to describe what it sounds like. Its unlike anything that Dire Straits ever have done, although it retains some of the well known sounds and lines of their earlier and later songs. Its a "Epic" if I may use a word like that, but I think its right on place.
The whole album comes out as yet another wonderful Dire Straits work, only surpassed by Brothers in Arms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The essential final 4th chapter od Dire Straits, May 6 2002
This review is from: Love Over Gold (Audio CD)
Two years later the legendary "Making Movies" and after touring the world for almost 24 months, Dire Straits come back to studio, where they did record stuff to release one double album who became one, since that Mark Knopfler was (for the first time) the only producer for a D.S. work.
Five songs for a total time of 42 minutes show that Dire Straits want to put an end to the entertaining rock'n roll of "Making Movies". The first single the misleading "Private Investigation" where the Mark's acoustic guitar and soundtrack's atmosphere flow into each other nearly to display that Dire Straits' music can still demonstrate there are many aspects you can grasp.
"Telegraph Road"'s 14 minutes represent the new imagine that the band wants to get, the alternation between the rests and musical breaks, less singing, songs get swell, a dimension remanding to the 70's format of the song. "Industrial Disease" (the only rhythmic episode of the album) where you hear half tones and underground melodies and the entire band goes on with the talk they interrupted with "Skateaway". The title-track is a song based on the Mark's acoustic guitar brilliant whims and the rest of the group gives the decorative support to the leader.
The final introspective and velvety solemn gait of "It Never Rains" closes this album, and I (as you and a great deal of rock connoisseurs)cannot help labeling it a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Una gran OBRA MAESTRA de una gran banda., Sept. 17 2001
This review is from: Love Over Gold (Audio CD)
Love over gold es uno de esos discos en los que se confirma lo importante que es el armado de una obra como una GRAN OBRA CONCEPTUALMENTE hablando, no simplemente la recolección de distintos temas en un "greatest hits", cosa que asegurara grandes ventas, pero a la vez grandes injusticias con temas excluidos de ellas por sellos discográficos(nunca por sus autores). Y Dire Straits no es la excepción, es una gran banda y este disco es una gran muestra de ello. Telegraph road (1), esta perfectamente diagramado, los cambios de ritmo parecen matematicamente planeados, solos de guitarra perfectamente alternados con silencios y un potente piano que hacen que el tema paresca mas corto que los 12 minutos que realmente dura. De Private Investigations (2) que puedo decir, es ese tema que nos cambia el ánimo y hasta fisicamente (en la piel y los ojos). Pero como Dire Straits es esa banda tan especial, rompe el clima al que se llega con los dos primeros temas(especialmente el segundo), con los potentes y festivos riffs de Industrial disease (3), el tema más up del disco, que nos permite relajarnos y distendernos un poco , pora prepararnos para ese temaso que le da nombre al disco, Love over gold (4), que es simplemente una gran obra de arte, de esos temas para escuchar en el living con auriculares o en la ruta al amanecer, no importa, simplemente arte. Termina pronto, con It never Rains (5), y uno entiende que tenia que terminar ahí, con ese tema. Esa primera inpresión que daba un disco con solo 5 temas, desaparece, y uno sabe que un disco puede ser excelente con solo? 5 grandes temas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very different sound for Dire Straits., Aug. 21 2001
By 
Matt "mattfl1" (FL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Love Over Gold (Audio CD)
This album is quite a departure from what you'd hear on the first three Dire Straits albums. If it weren't for those trademark knopfler vocals, they could almost pass for a different band. A good way to compare this to previous albums would be to call this one "thicker." The guitars are louder and more distorted, and the drums are a lot more present in the mix. Everything's a lot more 'airy' sounding. Also, you have the addition of keyboardist Alan Clark, who provides some really cool atmospheric sounding synth throughout the album. Knopfler's guitars sound heavier--definitely not the same thin Sultans-Of-Swing-Strat-Tone from before.
"Love Over Gold" consists of five songs totaling 40 minutes long, the shortest of which is around six minutes. My favorite track is the first one...it's an epic, clocking in at around 14.5 minutes. The progression of the song is great, and in listening to it I'm always reminded of how talented a songwriter Knopfler really is. All of the songs are good, but if I had to pick a least favorite, it'd probably be "Industrial Disease."
I have a copy of both this release and the original, and I must say the remaster does sound a bit better. Although this album doesn't contain my absolute favorite Dire Straits content, I must say it is my favorite album in terms of how it was recorded. The sound on this album is breathtaking at times--you really owe it to yourself to get the new remastered version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stellar compositions., July 16 2001
By 
Themis-Athena (from somewhere between California and Germany) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Love Over Gold (Audio CD)
Mark Knopfler obviously loves to write passacaglias - pieces of music that start with a very basic theme, played by only one or very few instruments and, often over repeated crescendos and slow-downs, increasing in volume and instrumentation to a rousing finale, performed by either all instruments or the instrumental lead "voice;" in Knopfler's case of course his trademark Fender Strat. "Brothers in Arms" has elements of a passacaglia, and so does "Speedway to Nazareth" on his latest solo release, "Sailing to Philadelphia." His greatest achievement though, not only in this regard, has to be "Telegraph Road," the opening track of "Love Over Gold." In a little over 14 minutes, the song rises from a simple opening melody, evoking the loneliness of that man walking along a deserted track at the beginning of the song's story, to a final guitar solo which is among the most ambitious and evocative pieces of music written by anyone in recent decades, anywhere and in any musical category. In between, there are no less than two other guitar solos, each of them over a minute long; dramatic centerpieces in their own right in any song but this one. And like the song's instrumentation, its lyrics trace the story of civilization from that one man walking along a track to a modern city, with six lines of traffic (three lines moving slow), unemployment, desolation and anger; so apparent in Knopfler's coarse vocals in the final verse and echoed with even greater force in the instrumental finale.
"Telegraph Road" is followed by the sinister "Private Investigations," reminiscent of Alan Parsons's interpretation of the Poe classic "Tales of Mystery and Imagination" (listen to that steady beat underneath the instrumental part and tell me you don't hear the "Tell Tale Heart"), and as daring and elaborate in its composition as "Telegraph Road." Both pieces are made possible by the advent of Alan Clark and his skills as a pianist; and yet, here as there it is Knopfler's guitar play that takes front and center stage. Next is the wicked "Industrial Disease," followed by the album's title track, and last, "It Never Rains," Knopfler's bow to Bob Dylan, rendered in an interpretation so true to life that you inadvertently feel yourself transported back by a decade or more and expect him switch into "The Times They Are A-Changin'" any second. One may wonder why the record, given its mostly gloomy and cynical mood, was not named for one of the two equally stunning and dark first tracks. Perhaps, however, the answer lies in the title song's last verse: "It takes love over gold and mind over matter to do what you do that you must, when the things that you hold can fall and be shattered or run through your fingers like dust."
The album's cover rightly (although somewhat unnecessarily) describes "Love Over Gold" as "one of Dire Straits' most ambitiously conceived projects to date" and points out that it "reflects almost a year's worth of meticulous attention." Short of his film music (which he was not to start writing until a year later, with "Local Hero"), this album was the closest yet that Knopfler has come to classical composition; not just in the record's first two masterpieces but right down to little details like the xylophone air underneath the title track. It was a hard act to follow, even for a Mark Knopfler; and his virtually only choice was to take his music into other, and more diverse directions ("Brothers in Arms"). Listening to the remastered CD version of "Love Over Gold," you almost forget that unlike its mega-selling successor this recording was not "made for CD;" which in itself speaks volumes to the quality of the sound engineering and production and, more importantly, to the indeed "meticulous attention" given to every single instrumental and human voice of every single track on the album. In all of its 41+ minutes, and although it does not reflect as wide a range of musical styles as Knopfler's later work, "Love Over Gold" is one of the most complex pieces of recording he ever produced. It may have taken the release of "Brothers in Arms" to propel Dire Straits to worldwide fame forever. But it is impossible to listen to "Love Over Gold" and not recognize the unique talent of a man who, having found an initial foothold in the musical scene through the success of his band's first three albums, here made it clear once and for all just how much more the world had yet to expect from him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars revvs up nostalgic memories of beginning of civilization, Jan. 24 2001
By 
Soups (Houston,TX,USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Love Over Gold (Audio CD)
Well, hardcore fans of Dire Straits, this is the best Dire Straits album I have heard ! And the "Telegraph Road" will always be etched in my memory as the best song I ever heard of any rock band. There is an aura of "story-telling" in all the Dire Straits songs, which is the most highlighted in the "Telegraph Road". The lyrics revv up images of what it must have been like, when the first cities where formed - when "urbanisation" started. It constantly reminds you of the things that people forgot and gave up in the rush of city-life. This nostalgia is pronounced in the end when the protagonist promises his girl-friend that he willl take her away "From all these signs saying sorry, but we are closed. All the way down the Telegraph Road" A must-listen for any Dire Straits fan. Much as the lyrics are beautiful, so is the almost 5 minute long guitar tunes at the end of the song. The guitar captivates me and makes me wishing for more of it when it ends!
-soups
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Love Over Gold
Love Over Gold by Dire Straits (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews