Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars What a wonderful album!!
These are classics that will live for centuries to come.
One has to wonder why Stevens has virtually gone into hiding nowadays. He has a lot of talent to offer.
Published on May 12 2004 by J. McAndrew

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Wrong Songs Have been chosen.
It is missing some songs. First of all, the 1st track of the album is Another Saturday Night, a song that was originally and performed by Sam Cooke. Great songs like Sad Lisa, Novim's Nightmare, Here comes my baby, Rubylove and Miles from Nowhere and If you wanna sing out, sing out are SADLY missing. And there are stupid tracks like Ready, Two fine people and Another...
Published on July 20 1999


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars NOSTALGIC, May 15 2002
By 
William C. Diemer "wcd53" (Salisbury Mills, New York USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
GOOD ALBUM FROM START TO FINISH. I HAVEN'T HEARD SOME OF THESE
SONGS FOR AWHILE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Stuff Here, March 13 2002
By 
Nat Koenig (Lafayette, IN USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Being a Cat Stevens fan, this C.D. lays the landmarks for his best music. All classics! I can't stop listening to Peace Train. It gives me goose bumps every time! I highly recomend this to any Cat fan! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This will take you back in time..., Oct. 24 2001
By 
This review is from: V1 Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Cat Stevens represents some of the very best folk/rock talent of the mid-to-late 1970's.... The lyrics and melodies remind us of the relative innocence of the time. We thought we were wild, but in truth we were just babies crying out against injustice and begging for love, peace and understanding. This music will take you back. This is the way music was meant to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Superceded by newer compilation, but for 1 collector's track, March 1 2001
By 
R. Riis "rriis" (NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Great though this is (with phenomenal sound quality, too), it falls short compared to the "Very Best of Cat Stevens" released last year, which covers his full career in the same excellent sound. Trouble is, this CD contains the 1975 hit "Two Fine People" available nowhere else. Completists know : isn't this always the way?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Sounds of Innocence, Feb. 28 2001
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Cat Stevens' music always reminds me of childhood. The innocent sweetness of many of his somgs, including the timeless "Morning Has Broken," convey the impression that the writer still saw the world with the wide-eyed wonderment of childhood. "Another Saturday Night" is prehaps his most-played song on the radio, but is least representative of this collection, as it has more of a commercial, 'hit' feel to it. "Father and Son" is reminicent of the Harry Chapin classic on the same subject, but has a softer, more wistful tone. Virtually every song in this collection was a hit; the interesting thing is that most of them were compressed into a period of perhaps three years, at the beginning of the '70s. My biggest regret is that this collection has nothing from the wonderful but overlooked "Izitiso." If I could add "(Remember the Days of the)Old Schoolyard" along with one or two others, this would be the perfect one-album/CD collection of Cat Stevens' best and most representative work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Superb but short, Feb. 25 2001
By 
"pspa" (Boston, MA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This might have been excusable in the LP days, but surely with all the room on CDs many more songs should be included on any Cat Stevens compilation, just for starters, the great song covered by Rod Stewart "The First Cut is the Deepest," "Sad Lisa," "Tuesday's Dead" and so many others come to mind. Still, the songs on here are great great folk rock, a mix of joy bittersweet and melancholy all delivered impeccably and in the Cat's singular style, and the inclusion of Two Fine People (apparently not available anywhere else) is a wonderful bonus. I just love the line, Although time may fade and snowmen sleep in the sea. What does it mean? Does it matter? If you only buy one CD of the Cat I suppose this is as fine as any, but I wish someone would put out a more definitive "hits" disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent cat stevens greatest hits CD!, April 23 2000
By 
Jason Ross (Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada!) - See all my reviews
This review is from: V1 Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This collection has all of his very best in one great music compilation ever with most of Stevens popular hits from the seventies. The songs on here are really good classics like "Wild World", "Two Fine People", "Oh Very Young", "Peace Train" and "Moonshadow"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great ... but Sorry, it's not Complete, March 28 2000
By 
This review is from: V1 Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Like most compilations, this one skims over a musician's career. Yes, it captures many great moments but my all-time favourites are missing such as 'Sad Lisa', 'Where do the children play' and 'Rubylove'. Nevertheless, it does contain 'Two fine People', and 'Sitting' which are not on a CD compilation I bought titled 'Masterpieces-The Best of Cat Stevens' in 1990 (no longer available). 'Greatest Hits' was purchased on vinyl in 1982, and it is still worth having in your collection. However, if you are considering getting into the music of Cat Stevens, buy each of his individual albums. You will find that many of the album tracks are brilliant, if not better, than the hit singles. I love Cat Steven's music, he was one of the greatest gifts to the music world. But I have to be honest, I hate 'Wild World' - it's all that radio ever plays! Radio just doesn't do him justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great ... but Sorry, it's not Complete, March 28 2000
By 
This review is from: V1 Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Like most compilations, this one skims over a musician's career. Yes, it captures many great moments but my all-time favourites are missing such as 'Sad Lisa', 'Where do the children play' and 'Rubylove'. Nevertheless, it does contain 'Two fine People', and 'Sitting' which are not on a CD compilation I bought titled 'Masterpieces-The Best of Cat Stevens' in 1990 (no longer available). 'Greatest Hits' was purchased on vinyl in 1982, and it is still worth having in your collection. However, if you are considering getting into the music of Cat Stevens, buy each of his individual albums. You will find that many of the album tracks are brilliant, if not better, than the hit singles. I love Cat Steven's music, he was one of the greatest gifts to the music world. But I have to be honest, I hate 'Wild World' - it's all that radio ever plays! Radio just doesn't do him justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Moonshadow., March 22 2000
By 
Jason Stein (San Diego, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: V1 Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This is as classic as greatest hits can get. Everything famous that Stevens did is here. Classic recordings such as "Moonshadow", "Peace Train", "Wild World", "Father & Son" and "Another Saturday Night" are all here. A must have for any rock collector.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Greatest Hits
Greatest Hits by Cat Stevens (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews