Customer Reviews


131 Reviews
5 star:
 (82)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Micro-Budget Masterpiece
This movie is too much fun. This is schlock of the highest caliber. Peter Jackson's considerable talent is on full display in his debut feature film. The camera work and the editing are amazing. The physical schtick is impeccably timed and photographed. Despite the nothing budget, the technical aspects of this movie are outstanding.
Peter Jackson stars as...
Published on June 18 2004 by stu

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad! (For a Beginning)
I must admit, Peter Jackson's earlier films (Dead-Alive, The Frightners, and Meet the Feebles) made me cautious about seeing The Lord of the Rings. Not everyone can make Citizen Kane or Blood Simple the first time. Bad Taste is a lot like El Mariachi in how it makes you wonder just how much money do you need to make a movie? If you watch the movie as a "serious" sci-fi...
Published on Feb. 4 2004 by Bobby Z. Thomas


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Lives Up To It's Title!, Oct. 7 2002
By 
Daniel V. Reilly (Upstate New York, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bad Taste (Widescreen) (DVD)
With Peter Jackson's newfound fame as Director of the Lord of the Rings trilogy, maybe a new audience will discover this minor masterpiece, about an intergalactic fast-food chain's ("Crumb's Crunchy Delights") efforts to make human flesh the new snack craze. After the space-going gourmands decimate a small town, a four-man team of Government agents, (Kind of a New Zealand Men In Black, only scruffier..)come to town to stop the aliens. Let the fun begin....
I can't remember the last time I had as much fun watching a movie. Bad Taste is just a BLAST! The effects are top-notch, and they're even more impressive when you consider the low-budget the filmmakers had to work with. The plot is incredibly inventive, and there's even a catchy theme-song I've been humming for the last two days. The DVD is kinda sparse with the extras: A text Bio on Peter Jackson (Which is pretty interesting), and a trailer. There's a two-disc version available, but I just couldn't see spending Twenty more bucks for a "Making-of" featurette.
Bad Taste left a good taste in my mouth! HIGHLY recommended for people with a good sense of humor and a strong stomach.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, Sept. 27 2002
By 
B Waters (United States) - See all my reviews
Peter Jackson has become a household name due to his perfect movie "The Fellowship of the Ring", and his fame will only grow with it's two sure-to-be-perfect sequels. But few know of the genius Mr. Jackson demonstrated in his first feature film, "Bad Taste". At first no company would fund his movie. He and his friends paid for it themselves and filmed it on weekends over the course of four years. Later in filming, when studios saw how good it was going to be, funding was provided to finish it. Because of the tight budget, the friends were forced to work in front of AND behind the camera, filming and producing as well as acting. Peter Jackson even plays two main characters, because he "ran out of friends"! Watching the movie, one could never guess that a group of friends got together and just made it by themselves. The effects, acting, and end product are just as good as the work of fully funded professionals. The movie got Jackson a start, and he is now on track to become a legend. "Bad Taste" is, however, not for everyone. Aliens eat brains, vomit is drunk in a bizarre ceremony, and dozens of aliens are slaughtered by guns, knives, and even a chainsaw. If you like or can even get past over-the-top gore, you will love this movie. "The Boys", a group af men trying to save the world, are classic. They display the zaniness of Monty Python and pack more weapons than James Bond, but still remain the average guy you see on the street every day. Most producers work their whole lives without making something this good. Most people have never heard of the movie, which is sad. It deserves to reside among the classics, like "Young Frankenstein" and "Monty Python and the Holy Grail". It is every bit as good as them. Every fan of comedy and/or science fiction must see this movie. You should see it even if you're not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Splatter flicks don't get much better than this., Sept. 16 2002
Bad Taste is a tour de splat, an epic gorefest of the low budget kind. It is also hilarious. Peter Jackson (of Lord of the Rings fame) wrote, directed, and starred in it with a bunch of his mates who got together to film it on weekends over the course of three years. The plot is fairly simple: A group of aliens is taking samples of human flesh to bring home to their corporate headquarters, which is considering adding a new dish to their fast food franchise's menu. A group of agents attached to the New Zealand government's office of extraterrestrial affairs has to stop them. This involves lots of incredibly gory action scenes with lots of dark humor.
The DVD transfer is very good and the extras are fascinating. A young, beardless, and thinner Peter Jackson explains his lifelong obsession with making movies and special effects and you get a real appreciation of his genius for special effects work and directing. It's easy to see why New Line was willing to allow him to take on the biggest, riskiest project in film history. He has a talent for doing things on a shoestring and making them look as if they were expensive.
I recommend this film to anyone with an appreciation for dark comedy, splatter flicks and horror movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yum. Crunchy., June 22 2002
By 
"madnessmark" (Maple Grove, MN) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bad Taste (Widescreen) (DVD)
Bad Taste is probably one of the most violent films you will ever see. Brains go flying, limbs all over the place, constant blood and a lot more fun treats. But what makes Bad Taste so tasty is the fact that all this is used for the pure sake of comedy.
The film starts out with four guys investigating some strange happenings in a town called Kaihoro (which translates to 'eat hungirly'). When strange people start showing up in blue shirts and attack them, they get a little suspicious. When they follow one of them to a mansion, they discover just what is going on and why everyone in Kaihoro is gone. Now, it's up to them to shoot them all up. I won't give away anymore than that.
While the violence is fun and makes me laugh most of the time, the bulk of the film is spent on gun play. I must say, this film does to a good job at it and it's not what you would expect in a gun fight. Also, it should be noted that the director, Peter Jackson, plays to major roles in the film. See if you can spot him yourself.
The DVD does even more justice to Bad Taste. You can listen to it in Dolby 2.0, 5.1 and DTS. The extras even hold up well too, offering the original trailer and a bio on Peter Jackson with filmography. Plus, the insert in the package has 20 facts on the show. These were really fun to read. You can even find the ingredients to the 'alien puke'.
Overall, Bad Taste is one fun film that has a lot of replay value and instantly become a hit with many people. Who ever knew something so gross could become something so funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Crumb's Crunchy Delights, June 4 2002
By 
While Director Peter Jackson may have gained international recognition as the director of LORD OF THE RINGS, many horror fans knew him first from this highly entertaining 1987 splatter comedy. This film is a real testament towards Peter Jackson's talent and love for the genre... the movie was filmed on a shoestring budget on weekends for four years. Reminiscent of other successful horror comedies like RE-ANIMATOR and BASKET CASE, BAD TASTE is a truly eccentric film that has gone on to become a cult hit.
The film has something to do with an alien army that takes over a secluded town in New Zealand. The government has no other choice but to send in "The Boys" to stop those pesky extraterrestrials from turning mankind into the next ingredient on their fast food menu. Led by the evil Lord Crumb, the aliens wage a no-holds barred war against "The Boys" that culminates in an outrageously extended attack on a house that's reminiscent of the climactic showdown in DEAD ALIVE.
BAD TASTE is simply one of the most entertaining horror films that I've ever seen. The action sequences are surprisingly well staged (considering the limited budget) and the graphic violence is presented in such an exaggerated and goofy manner that you can't possibly take it seriously. The film is filled with so many hilariously sick jokes and sight gags that you won't possibly believe that what you're seeing on the screen is actually happening. Peter Jackson handles all the action wonderfully, with a particularly impressive scene filmed on the side of a cliff standing out as the most remarkable (reportedly, this scene was very dangerous to shoot).
While Peter Jackson would top himself a few years later with the release of his over-the-top zombie masterpiece DEAD ALIVE, BAD TASTE first showed genre fans that the New Zealand director could deliver the goods in both the gore and the comedy departments. BAD TASTE is an unforgettable film that comes highly recommended to cult film fanatics. Anchor Bay Entertainment's new release on video and DVD features the quote "From the Director of LORD OF THE RINGS." It's really funny to think how many unsuspecting viewers will sit down to view this bizarre flick on the basis of that quote alone... I envy their ignorance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Peter Jackson's gore-filled comedy debut film, April 13 2002
By 
Sean (Lakeland, Fl.) - See all my reviews
Peter Jackson is a genius. I cannot say enough about that. This may be "Bad Taste" but it's just too good to pass it up. Peter KNOWS how to get people's attention. Just look at the movie cover. An alien flipping you off with an AK-47 and the title "Bad Taste" ? GENIUS!!! As many people in the past, they had to rely on the old Magnum Video version with the cheesy Movie rating system on the back. The sound was no so good, and the picture was a little dark and blury at times. Now that Anchor Bay (Those guys rule!) have re-released it along with many other cult classics not to mention Eurohorror movies all in DVD format in their glorius letter-boxed UNCUT versions. Another thing that amazed me were the special effects and how he used them. Chainsaw dismemberments, machetes though the neck, sledgehammers bashing people's brains out, ripping off various limbs...It just doesn't stop. And all of this is done for the comedy effect. The guy who keeps holding his brains in with a belt, the rocket missle accidently hitting and exploding the cute-looking sheep, and then there's that weird blue vehicle that has a cardboard-like figures of The Beatles from the cover of "Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Heart Club". I'm not going to ask what THAT was all about, but it was just funny. People, this is a classic. Pick it up and become a devoted Peter Jackson fan such as myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Another disappointing DVD, April 13 2002
By 
The movie is good, for all the reasons you can read by other reviewers. I'm not reviewing the movie so much as I am the Limited Edition DVD, though. This edition is something of a waste of money.
There are two DVD's, but I can hardly understand why - the second DVD is just a single documentary (Interesting, but not hugely insightful) that could fit easily on the first DVD. There really aren't any extras, and the 16-page booklet is comprised of interviews which are apparently already available on the internet at a website listed in the book (I forget it, but I imagine you can find these interviews in your spare time with minimum expense). The quality of the film isn't much better than a VHS copy, either. When I bought it, I imagined that maybe there would be more reasons for the DVD than I could see just from the advertising. Sometimes, they don't tell you that the DVD contains a commentary track or deleted scenes, and you find it out for yourself. But that wasn't the case here.
It's a great movie, but I would recommend that you search for a less expensive copy first before you spend your money on this DVD, unless you're either a huge Jackson fan or you can't find any other copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Must be seen to be believed, March 19 2002
This review is from: Bad Taste (VHS Tape)
Oh my God, where do we begin with this one? Disgusting? Hilarious? Gross-out? Yes to all three and more. The plot is about as thin as a supermodel and the budget is on the same level as a class of school children's milk money.
An alien race is trying to get humans for their restaurant franchise. The commandos spend the movie killing them. Blood and guts galore in this one to be sure.
Director Peter Jackson wrote, directed, and stars in this. He's the guy with the glasses that spends the entire movie trying to hold the back of his head together (his brain keeps falling out).
I made the mistake of eating a supreme pizza watching this during the 'barf cocktail' scene. A dude pukes a green fluid into a large punchbowl and it is passed around like a delicious McDonald's Shamrock Shake. It is steaming and has what appears to be cornbeef and corn floating in it. If the sight doesn't get you, maybe the sound will. They are drinking it up but are making puking and gagging sounds as they drink it. It was enough to make me lose my appetite, and I can sit through anything.
The finale is our boy Peter going down the chief alien's throat with a chainsaw, of course he winds up coming out the alien's butt with a scream of victory and delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Where the prestigious LORD OF THE RINGS guy started..., March 6 2002
By 
Steven Grogan (Troy, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bad Taste (VHS Tape)
I saw this movie based on a rave review I read in FAngoria magazine and boy it sure as hell doesn't let down. Pete Jackson does an amazing job with a budget that looks to be lower than the first EVIL DEAD film (which was $... by the way). He pulls off mindblowing camera tricks and gore stunts, carving his way through a wisp of a plot about some aliens (disguised as humans) who have come to Earth to steal human corpses for their intergalactic fastfood chain. Jackson would develop more substantial plots later, and I suspect this fun little mindless flick was just his way of showing off his action direting muscle, as well as earning some bucks to put into his next film. BAD TASTE combines the splat-stick humor of EVIL DEAD films and trhe in-your-face attack of TEXAS CHAINSAW MASSACRE for a crazy ride. To check out a real scream of a hilariously sick film, check out Jackson's MEET THE FEEBLES. And don't acuse the poor guy of selling out with the LORD films...it's good to see a horror director break into the mainstream...although I hope he goes back to this kind of stuff someday!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Tastes Better Than it Smells, Jan. 19 2002
By 
Jacob A. "braintoad" (vista, ca United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Bad Taste (Widescreen) (DVD)
(First off, this is not a movie for the average viewer. Only horror nerds, and people who like cult films need apply.)
From evil dead to attack of the killer tomatoes, I am pretty much a pro at low budget horror movies. This movie, which i think was Peter Jackson's debut (now famous for Lord of the Rings, and Dead ALive) is actually quite a bit better than i had expected. The film itself is not overly groteque, but rest assured it has its moments, and when it is graphic the special effects are pretty... good. The story isn't to in depth and basically only 2 things happen, the aliens show up and the heroes fight the aliens, but whats there is good enuff. Peter Jackson ,who plays derrik (the coolest of the good guys) and robert (anh ... alien) is pretty funny... SFX wise the film is pretty cool. the aliens look like the guy on the cover, and have a neat hunched over walk. The fight scenes are quick and when guns are involved, not very interesting.
The movie itself, looks very good for an old indie film, the transfer is very crisp, and the widescreen bars aren't very big. Sound wise, there is no especially grand music, but the dialogue is easily heard and the music sounds fine and doesn't detract from the movie. As for extra's, there is a trailer and a bio on peter jackson, not real exciting. THe special edition has a booklet and a making of feature if you're really into extra's.
All said and done the movie is significantly better looking tahn it's low budget breathren. Story wise, it's not a Mind blower, but it has soem dumb fun and some cool special effects.(At one point Derrick gets a chainsaw, goodnes follows)... So if you like goofy, cheasy-gory, horror movies, This one is definately worth the cash. Oh and by the way, the comapny changed the origional cover of this film, to what you see now. The origional had the alien holding up only one finger. Can you guess which?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bad Taste
Bad Taste by Costa Botes (DVD - 2004)
CDN$ 29.98 CDN$ 12.74
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews