Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Sounding South Pacific Album
This remastered Original Soundtrack Album of South Pacific is very wonderfully done. Lush, beautiful orchestrations go hand in hand with the wonderful singing found herein. Mitzi Gaynor is as nicely suited to the part here as Mary Martin was in the original Broadway version. Rossano Brazzi is wonderful as well, even though his singing is dubbed in by Giorgio Tozzi. Bill...
Published on Jan. 19 2002 by Pope

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SOUTH PACIFIC: ANOTHER BOTCHED REMASTER FROM RCA
The 1958 film version of Rodgers and Hammerstein's SOUTH PACIFIC won an Oscar for its spectacular 6 track Stereophonic Sound Mix, which can be heard on the recent DVD release from Fox Video. Unfortunately, this RCA Victor remastering is from a 40-year-old 2-channel tape, which, while a slight improvement over the earlier CD mastering, simply pales by comparison to the DVD...
Published on March 15 2001 by hcampo


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SOUTH PACIFIC: ANOTHER BOTCHED REMASTER FROM RCA, March 15 2001
By 
"hcampo" (Culver City, Ca.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: South Pacific (1958 Film Soundtrack) (Audio CD)
The 1958 film version of Rodgers and Hammerstein's SOUTH PACIFIC won an Oscar for its spectacular 6 track Stereophonic Sound Mix, which can be heard on the recent DVD release from Fox Video. Unfortunately, this RCA Victor remastering is from a 40-year-old 2-channel tape, which, while a slight improvement over the earlier CD mastering, simply pales by comparison to the DVD sound. Why RCA didn't remaster this popular album from the original 6 track masters is a mystery. If they had done so about 30 more minutes of music from the film not on the original album could have been accommodated on the CD in addition to the vastly improved sound. Unfortunately, this is typical of today's music industry. They keep doing it over and over until it is finally done right, all at the consumer's expense. Ironically, the DVD can be had for about the same money as this outrageously overpriced CD, with both picture and superior sound. Chalk up another botched effort to RCA/BMG.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Sounding South Pacific Album, Jan. 19 2002
By 
Pope (United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: South Pacific (1958 Film Soundtrack) (Audio CD)
This remastered Original Soundtrack Album of South Pacific is very wonderfully done. Lush, beautiful orchestrations go hand in hand with the wonderful singing found herein. Mitzi Gaynor is as nicely suited to the part here as Mary Martin was in the original Broadway version. Rossano Brazzi is wonderful as well, even though his singing is dubbed in by Giorgio Tozzi. Bill Lee steps in here to sing Lt. Cable's songs and is nice... he also did C. Plummer's voice in The Sound of Music.
This new remastered CD is well worth its price and sounds better than ever. Lush gorgeous stereo sound-what are you waiting for?
The Original Cast Album, with Mary Martin and Ezio Pinza, though, will always hold a special place in my heart and is truly the definitive version of South Pacific, but this soundtrack album is definately not bad. It does, of course, put the new TV soundtrack of the Glenn Close production to shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Why Do They Do This?, Sept. 24 2002
By 
Charles Idarola (San Jose, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: South Pacific (1958 Film Soundtrack) (Audio CD)
There are two things I would like to hear done with this CD ... The first is to add more music. Most musicals of this nature have an overture, main titles, intermission, and exit music. Why can't all this be included? It's all on the DVD so I know they have access to it.
Secondly, why can't the music be presented in chronological order? While listening to the CD I want my mind to visualize the scene that the music comes from in the order it happens in the film. One explanation always heard is that they want to retain the original album concept. NONSENSE! The vinyl was limited to time and space on each side. The CD can hold almost 80 minutes if they really want to, so they certainly can add more to it and present it as the authors intended.
Why not take advantage of the medium they're using and do it right!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you are trying to capture the magic of the 1958 movie, June 25 2007
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: South Pacific (Audio CD)
Original play recordings will always win out for the people that saw it. However I grew up with this movie and there is no other version for me. I have visions of the people and the story as the different song comes up. It was the lyrics to "Some Enchanted Evening" that actually convinced me to get married. And even today I find my self singing "Younger Than Springtime" to my wife. However I do not look it. I even did a review of the movie the day that Ray Walston ...Luther Billis died. [South Pacific (1958) ASIN: 6305283362]. I will mot go through all the songs on this album. Just if you pick one album this is it. And if you like other versions then you should still add this to the collection for contrast.
One day you will want to make this your own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Number two, but very fine in its own right, March 6 2001
By 
"pspa" (Boston, MA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: South Pacific (1958 Film Soundtrack) (Audio CD)
In my book nothing can match the original Broadway cast with Ezio Pinza and Mary Martin. That said, the soundtrack of the movie, with the lovely Mitzi Gaynor and Giorgio Tozzi doing a very creditable job dubbing, is fine in its own right. Gaynor, though perhaps not a great singer, is infectiously enthusiastic and has a great delivery. While I prefer Pinza, Tozzi is quite good too. The one place where the film version falls down in my opinion is in the Bloody Mary songs, but that is not a significant detraction. Recommended, but if you want just one, go for the Broadway Cast, especially now that it is available with remastered sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MItzi Gaynor is wonderful and underappreciated by some, June 9 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: South Pacific (1958 Film Soundtrack) (Audio CD)
I'm glad to read some of the reviews correcting the conventional wisdom that Mitzi Gaynor does not compare to Mary Martin. She is perfectly suited to the part of Nellie Forbush and does a superb job singing (and acting in the film). Of course Mary Martin is great - that goes without saying, but in this part, Mitzi Gaynor, while different, of course, is every bit her equal - and the orchestrations and other voices are as good as, and in some cases (the orchestration, for one), better than the Broadway version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars South Pacific, Aug. 3 2001
By 
Valmai M. Luttrell (Huntington Beach, Ca United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: South Pacific (1958 Film Soundtrack) (Audio CD)
Read my review of My Fair Lady and this will tell you all how wonderful this is. Years ago South Pacific - this one - was the first record I bought for my first stereo console. Have the video and saw the movie numerous times. The music is fantastic and you are so involved with this wonderful CD. Also taped this for my sister in Australia.It isn't just my love for the show - it is so well done and these CD's are fabulous. Val Luttrell - and Amazon is #1 in the music area/ Service great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars This CD falls flat, July 12 2005
By 
Joseph P. Durham, Jr. (West Monroe, Louisiana) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: South Pacific (1958 Film Soundtrack) (Audio CD)
This is the same recording of this show which was released on vynal as an "original soundtrack recording" which of course, it was not really.
The main title isn't the same as in the movie, and the finale isn't the same. this album also leaves out the overture, intermission and exit music which can be found on the video.
They are coming out with more complete soundtrack albums all the time, why can't they come out with this one?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Version, Oct. 16 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: South Pacific (1958 Film Soundtrack) (Audio CD)
This by far is the best version of South Pacific I've heard. It puts to shame the new tv movie version with Glenn Close, who can't pull off the little hick act at all. Another advantage the original movie version has over the other is that the original includes the song "Happy Talk", but the other doesn't. Even the background chorus in the original triumphs over both the cast version and the new tv version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

South Pacific (1958 Film Soundtrack)
South Pacific (1958 Film Soundtrack) by Alfred Newman (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews