Customer Reviews


129 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Epic low budget film
The story is about some girl that inherits a motel that is near one of the portals of hell. The story doesn't keep you interested. Very incoherent, leaving you not kowing what the hell these people are talking. What will keep you interested in the film is the many ways people get killed in freak accidents. There's some guy that gets whipped and gets acid thrown at him;...
Published on March 25 2004 by Jose Angeles

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars id give it 3.5 if i could
oh where to start, i guess with the good, the movie delivers what most people expect, lots of goey gore. each death is not short and the director loves to focus on the slow mutilation of the victims, spiders slowwwwwly eat a person, acid erodes a face, someones crucified and at least one eyeball is gouged out. all is done in plain site for the viewer so get to see all the...
Published on Oct. 26 2011 by Sorpse


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars id give it 3.5 if i could, Oct. 26 2011
This review is from: The Beyond [Import] (DVD)
oh where to start, i guess with the good, the movie delivers what most people expect, lots of goey gore. each death is not short and the director loves to focus on the slow mutilation of the victims, spiders slowwwwwly eat a person, acid erodes a face, someones crucified and at least one eyeball is gouged out. all is done in plain site for the viewer so get to see all the goodness. This is basically all i got from this movie though, even though there is so much death and gore it still somehow felt slow, we're waiting for what we all know is coming to happen and it takes the whole movie to do it and then when it does its not quite the climax i was waiting for. you know i really had this movie hyped up in my mind because of all the attention it gets in the horror world but for me its one that falls short of its reputation, unfortunatly. However because of the good attention to gore i wont be so quick to dismiss mr. fulci quite yet as i have ordered 'zombie' off ebay and am once again in eager anticipation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Epic low budget film, March 25 2004
By 
Jose Angeles "some dork" (Chazzwuzzles USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Seven Doors of Death [Import] (DVD)
The story is about some girl that inherits a motel that is near one of the portals of hell. The story doesn't keep you interested. Very incoherent, leaving you not kowing what the hell these people are talking. What will keep you interested in the film is the many ways people get killed in freak accidents. There's some guy that gets whipped and gets acid thrown at him; apainter that falls off a ladder; a plumber that gets his eye popped out by a mysterious hand from nowhere; a dog that bites a blind lady (she was a ghost or something) in the neck, creating a waterfall of blood; a guy that gets his face eaten by fake looking yet cool spiders; acid pooring on some guy's face and changing colors. Then there's the final zombie takeover where a couple heads get blown off. This is Fulci's most epic accomplishment because of the creepy atmosphere and graphic violence. Any true horror fan probably has seen this or atleast knows about this film.Don't try to hard to understand the story because there really is no substance to the film. You might get bored if you try and sit through the whoel story, paying attention to every muttered word. Just mindless creative violence that makes good eye candy is what you get. Really makes you appeciate low budget films on a new level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars TGG Direct DVD, April 19 2014
By 
Keith Little - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Seven Doors of Death [Import] (DVD)
This film length in this version is 1:24:11, English Dolby Digital 2-channel, widescreen 1.85:1 and it has 4 chapter stops, some bios and fun facts, and some promotional pictures for other dvds by the company. It looks great and I would give it 5 stars for that alone but I find the film as a whole to be less satisfying so I gave it 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Olld school horror movies are the greatest, Feb. 14 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Seven Doors of Death [Import] (DVD)
I don' know exctly what it is with those movies but they still shine! Dark, gory, with a weird mood... impressive. Understand me, this is not scary. It's not good. It's not memorable but it's still great entertainment for whoever likes that type of old horror...
Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Most have in Italian Horror. A classic, Aug. 12 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Beyond [Import] (DVD)
Ok the voices are cheezy, but this film was one of the first Italian zombies movie! Incredible special effect (Not CGI) and great atmosphere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Blu-ray package of a cult classic., Oct. 17 2012
"The Beyond" is a fascinating horror fantasy thriller to watch. It's got a lot of atmosphere but the premise makes very little sense. Still, the late director Lucio Fulci (City of the Living Dead, The House by the Cemetary, Zombie) gives it a lot of style to make up for a very thin story. In one way, "The Beyond" is about great fantastic, horrific set-pieces. Which most of them are great expect for the face eating-tarantulas sequence, which it is gory but unintentional hilarious moment. There is a few moments of unintentional funny scenes as well and it seems that some of the actors have a tough time keeping a straight face! It is extremely well shot, some imaginative moments and make-up effects are excellent.

The two-disc set from Arrow Video is very good. The movie is region free expect for the bonus disc on DVD, which it is region 2. Blu-ray has an sharp anamorphic Widescreen (2.35:1) 1080P transfer and an digitally remastered DTS 5.1 HD Sound (Also included in the original English Mono sound and Italian Dub track). Blu-ray also includes two interviews actresses featurettes with Cinzia Morreale (She is credited as Sarah Keller in the movie) and Catriona MacColl and two commentary tracks. Commentary one is by actress:MacColl and the late actor:David Warbeck, which it is a total hoot. Commentary track two is new, which it is by film journalist Calum Waddell and Antonella Lulci. It is an informative commentary track, a must for the fans as well. Antonella is the director's daughter. Disc 2 has additional special features, it is on DVD but it is region 0, it will work on a region free DVD Player, on certain computers and even possibly on XBOX. I played my region 0 DVD, i never had trouble playing region 0 on my XBOX. The disc 2 special features are great, it includes more featurettes from the cast & crew including an fascinating featurette with U.S. Distributor is one of the highlights. Also the alternative color pre-credit sequences and the original theatrical trailer. The collector's bookelt is also great and the blu-rau cover has four different reversible sleeve cover. I am quite surprise with the quality that Arrow Video puts out. I am looking forward to get more Blu-rays from them in the future. I do have "Deep Red" from Arrow Video as well.

"The Beyond" is a pretty good movie, it is very flawed at times. But Fulci has style, his style is much different than Dario Argento. "The Beyond" is a great looking picture. The third act is the best thing about the film with some of the most memorable horrific images with an eerie conclusion. Techniscope. Grade:B+ for the movie. Grade:A- for the picture quality and sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING, Oct. 8 2007
This review is from: Seven Doors of Death [Import] (DVD)
My personal Fulci favorite. It's artistic, original, scary, gory, violent & well shot. As always the story is unique. The film creates and builds an eerie feeling. The gore is top notch. This is a must have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Its all about the visuals in The Beyond, June 25 2004
By 
Duncan C. White (Austin, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Beyond [Import] (DVD)
And the visuals are astounding. The camera and the director breathe in and revel in every shot, their attention is totally unwavering and they have an eye for the beauty in the scenes, actors, and in the horror as well. Frankly, I couldnt take my eyes off it if I tried, it demands your attention.
Find me any film let alone a horror film from 1983 that looks so crystal clear, so well framed, and so well filmed, its impossible. This film is timeless in that respect, if you told someone this was a 1980's period piece that was filmed in the late 1990's they'd believe you.
Like all Italian horror of the time, the emphasis wasnt put on the script, which is being generous to some of the scenes.
The visuals rule the day though and win out, the quality of all these elements puts you in a forgiving mood for the lesser qualities of the film.
Haunting in a good way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars If this is the best of Italian Horror then shoot me., June 16 2004
By 
C. Ream "xdelusion" (Bluffton, Ohio) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Beyond [Import] (DVD)
Ok, it is obvious that the majority of Italian horror fans feel that character developement, good story, and most importantly, good acting are not iportant factors when creating a horror movie. This film is considered by many Italian Horror films to be one of the best, if not the best Italian horror movie ever shot. Though the story isn't to bad, the acting and the character developement are NO WHERE to be found! There are TONS of scenes where you the victum had seconds if not minutes to escape some slowly approaching zombies or what ever, but rather decided to screw around until they were killed, transformed or what ever. It's almost as if Lucio did this on purpose so that he could squeeze an extra long gore sceen into the picture. Like where the young girl walks in to see her mom collapsed on the floor, with her face being slowly eaten away by acid...
...you would think she'd run away, but rather, she decides to make her self at home. I can NOT stand idiotic moments in horror films like that.
On a good note, the gore in this movie is AWSOME for the most part. There are a few sceens that could use some serious work, but for the most part, most scenes turn out great!
It is too bad for Lucio, his films were definatly visually disturbing, and at times almost creepy, if it were not for the comlpletely un-creepy sound tracks, horrible acting, and over abundance of moments where the victum could have escaped, but chose not to apparently.
Your better off with Zombie, or Zombie Hell House, two of his other films that are still imperfect, are MUCH better than this over rated piece of crap...
...that happens to have kool death scenes! :)
Buy it for the gore, but don't expect to enjoy everything in between.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Uncut? yeah right, June 5 2004
By 
Skylor Howard (Las Veags, NV United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Beyond [Import] (DVD)
This is not uncut, at least the version I received was not. The only place you'll see the uncut footage is in the Necrophagia video in the extras. I am so angry right now that they butchered this great movie. The movie itself I give a 5, I had to rate it as a 2 though for the version I received. Still angry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Seven Doors of Death [Import]
Seven Doors of Death [Import] by Lucio Fulci (DVD - 2003)
Used & New from: CDN$ 21.20
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews