Customer Reviews


130 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (13)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Epic low budget film
The story is about some girl that inherits a motel that is near one of the portals of hell. The story doesn't keep you interested. Very incoherent, leaving you not kowing what the hell these people are talking. What will keep you interested in the film is the many ways people get killed in freak accidents. There's some guy that gets whipped and gets acid thrown at him;...
Published on March 25 2004 by Jose Angeles

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars If this is the best of Italian Horror then shoot me.
Ok, it is obvious that the majority of Italian horror fans feel that character developement, good story, and most importantly, good acting are not iportant factors when creating a horror movie. This film is considered by many Italian Horror films to be one of the best, if not the best Italian horror movie ever shot. Though the story isn't to bad, the acting and the...
Published on June 16 2004 by C. Ream


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Epic low budget film, March 25 2004
By 
Jose Angeles "some dork" (Chazzwuzzles USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Seven Doors of Death [Import] (DVD)
The story is about some girl that inherits a motel that is near one of the portals of hell. The story doesn't keep you interested. Very incoherent, leaving you not kowing what the hell these people are talking. What will keep you interested in the film is the many ways people get killed in freak accidents. There's some guy that gets whipped and gets acid thrown at him; apainter that falls off a ladder; a plumber that gets his eye popped out by a mysterious hand from nowhere; a dog that bites a blind lady (she was a ghost or something) in the neck, creating a waterfall of blood; a guy that gets his face eaten by fake looking yet cool spiders; acid pooring on some guy's face and changing colors. Then there's the final zombie takeover where a couple heads get blown off. This is Fulci's most epic accomplishment because of the creepy atmosphere and graphic violence. Any true horror fan probably has seen this or atleast knows about this film.Don't try to hard to understand the story because there really is no substance to the film. You might get bored if you try and sit through the whoel story, paying attention to every muttered word. Just mindless creative violence that makes good eye candy is what you get. Really makes you appeciate low budget films on a new level.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Its all about the visuals in The Beyond, June 25 2004
By 
Duncan C. White (Austin, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Beyond [Import] (DVD)
And the visuals are astounding. The camera and the director breathe in and revel in every shot, their attention is totally unwavering and they have an eye for the beauty in the scenes, actors, and in the horror as well. Frankly, I couldnt take my eyes off it if I tried, it demands your attention.
Find me any film let alone a horror film from 1983 that looks so crystal clear, so well framed, and so well filmed, its impossible. This film is timeless in that respect, if you told someone this was a 1980's period piece that was filmed in the late 1990's they'd believe you.
Like all Italian horror of the time, the emphasis wasnt put on the script, which is being generous to some of the scenes.
The visuals rule the day though and win out, the quality of all these elements puts you in a forgiving mood for the lesser qualities of the film.
Haunting in a good way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars If this is the best of Italian Horror then shoot me., June 16 2004
By 
C. Ream "xdelusion" (Bluffton, Ohio) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Beyond [Import] (DVD)
Ok, it is obvious that the majority of Italian horror fans feel that character developement, good story, and most importantly, good acting are not iportant factors when creating a horror movie. This film is considered by many Italian Horror films to be one of the best, if not the best Italian horror movie ever shot. Though the story isn't to bad, the acting and the character developement are NO WHERE to be found! There are TONS of scenes where you the victum had seconds if not minutes to escape some slowly approaching zombies or what ever, but rather decided to screw around until they were killed, transformed or what ever. It's almost as if Lucio did this on purpose so that he could squeeze an extra long gore sceen into the picture. Like where the young girl walks in to see her mom collapsed on the floor, with her face being slowly eaten away by acid...
...you would think she'd run away, but rather, she decides to make her self at home. I can NOT stand idiotic moments in horror films like that.
On a good note, the gore in this movie is AWSOME for the most part. There are a few sceens that could use some serious work, but for the most part, most scenes turn out great!
It is too bad for Lucio, his films were definatly visually disturbing, and at times almost creepy, if it were not for the comlpletely un-creepy sound tracks, horrible acting, and over abundance of moments where the victum could have escaped, but chose not to apparently.
Your better off with Zombie, or Zombie Hell House, two of his other films that are still imperfect, are MUCH better than this over rated piece of crap...
...that happens to have kool death scenes! :)
Buy it for the gore, but don't expect to enjoy everything in between.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best DVD commentary EVER!, May 15 2004
By 
euronerd (Elwood, Victoria Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Beyond [Import] (DVD)
No matter what your feelings may be regarding the quality of "The Beyond" as a movie, this DVD is worth the price of purchase for the commentary by the film's hapless stars David Warbeck and Catriona MacColl. If you're sick to death of narcoleptic commentaries by tedious filmmakers describing camera set-ups or Hollywood stars blowing smoke up each other's arses, this is the commentary for you. Fresh from a boozy lunch, Mr Warbeck and Ms MacColl affectionately recall the horrors of working in the Italian film industry, (...) about their co-stars and create an extraordinary portrait of director Lucio Fulci all the while name-dropping furiously and trying to outdo each other in admiring their own performances. Warbeck is especially endearing as he reels off a string of off-colour jokes at the film's expense and MacColl is very entertaining particularly when her ladylike reserve is upset during the gore scenes which she obviously has trouble watching. All of this is delivered by two chums clearly delighted to be sitting down together having a good old chat after all this time. It's DVD commentary as it should be: entertaining. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mondo Beyondo Condo..., April 23 2004
This review is from: The Beyond [Import] (DVD)
Liza (Catriona MacColl) has just moved into her new hotel in Louisiana. She has no idea that it was built on one of the seven gates to hell. If that weren't bad enough, a guy named Sweik was crucified there (in room 36) back in 1927, and buried in the basement. Liza hires Joe the plumber to fix a leak in the basement that is now more like a small lake. Joe finds the source of the leak, tears down a wall, and gets his eyes popped out by an extremely gross-looking Sweik zombie! One day, Liza almost runs over a beautiful blind woman and her dog. It's immediately clear that this woman is privy to things about the hotel that Liza knows nothing about. Is she a blessing or a curse to Liza? It's hard to tell. Many strange, ultra-gruesome deaths begin happening. Anyone / everyone associated with the hotel is murdered in some grizzly, supernatural way. Liza slowly sinks into the horror she's inherited. A growing army of zombies are on the march! Liza is helped by a doctor (David Warbeck). Together, they face the shambling, rotting minions. As in all Fulci dead-fests, no one is safe and anyone could perish at any time. The gore-factor is high, but the story held my interest throughout. A real skin-crawler! Grab it and let it grab you...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gore, Brains, Zombies, Blood, What more could one ask for?, April 13 2004
This review is from: Beyond [Import] (VHS Tape)
Although The Beyond was nowhere near as well done as Fulci's horror masterpiece Zombie, with its vague plot intermixed with some grossly cheesy scenes, (the blonde blind girl, whom I assume was a ghost, playing that creepy tune on the piano whenever the main character had an epiphany, and the literal tearing apart of the face of a man by a gang of tarantulas, although well executed with much pus and blood, was a bit difficult to suspend my disbelief for)it was still highly enjoyable to watch, if only for the gore. And gore there was. Punctured eyeballs, nails driven through the back of skulls, crucified artists with deliciously large amounts of blood squirting from hammered wrists, a blood drenched, face mutilating, blood gushing mauling by a german shepard,stigmata,bullets from a revolver being blasted through the foreheads of bloodthirsting zombies,acid turning faces into bubbling bloody liquid, and more punctured eyeballs made for a gorehound holiday. In fact, this movie should be watched if only for the classic scene in which a little girl gets the entire top of her skull blown entirely off, creating one of the most shocking and expertly simulated deaths in the history of horror cinema. Yes, that vision will be with me for quite a long time.
If you are a horror fan of the likes which stand disgusted before the cinematic sycophantic Blockbuster jokes risibly attempting to pass themselves off as "horror," that has been vomited out by Hollywood in this modern day of artistic degeneracy, then you will no doubt appreciate the uncensored, boundary breaking audacity of Lucio Fulci's "piece de resistance."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The most see for gore fans!, April 3 2004
This review is from: The Beyond [Import] (DVD)
The Beyond is sure the best of Fulci.This is a gory movie.If you like gory movies this is probably in the "must see" category.In the 50's 60's Fulci directed(or writed)a lot of Comedies,but in the 70's he took to us 'The Lizard in The Woman's Skin",and "Dont Turture the Duckling" that are thrillers if i know right.The people of Italy liked the style of Fulci and they liked Dawn of the dead too,so Fulci made a sequel titled as Zombie(AKA Zombie 2 in Italy),thats a big success again.Fulci made other horror movies like:Manhattan Baby and The Gates of Hell(City of the living dead),and Beyond.
In Beyond,Fulci made new heights on the "apocalypse feeling".
The Beyond's Story:
A painter in the hotel opens one of the 7 doors of HELL(not death!),but the basement(where it is)is walled up.60 years later,Lisa a young girl inherit the hotel,and the gate opens again!
This film has very graphic,and gory effects(spider scene)but if your a fan of this type of a movie,YOU MUST SEE THE BEYOND!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Ha Ha Ha Ha, March 8 2004
By 
The Gizman "sWo" (illinois United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Beyond [Import] (DVD)
Thats basically what happens when you watch a Feluci film. You laugh. Ocular-trauma is funny. Random Taranchulas devouring a man are funny. Zombies being killed by a stab wound to the kidney is not. Its shamefull. Any ways, it can't possably be that good of a movie if its cut and edited "Beyond" incoherency and released under a different title. If you want zombie movies with plot, watch and play Resident Evil, if you want zombie movies because of zombies, thats deffinently Romero's "Holy Trilogy". thats zombie movies with human behavior and the "what if" or "what would you do?" theme.
Feluci movies should be more like Baseball, Feluci is the starting pitcher and someone else should close the game/end the movie. His films are like most Japanese horror films, great endings that make no sense:
Zombie: how did the zombies make it to the main land?
City of the dead: what did they see? who cares
Zombie 3: did you even make it to the end of that movie?
the Beyond: i've erased that movie from my memory as i did with house by the cemetery
1. night of the living dead
2. dawn of the dead
3. dawn of the dead (2004) and its not even out yet
after that who cares, Day has to be in there somewhere, comon'! its a Savini masterpiece!
go watch your movies now.
R.I.P. Joe the plummer, he was a pimp
"i,ve built a path.....for Joe"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best fulci movie i've ever seen!, Feb. 27 2004
By 
justin tunny (otterburne man, canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Beyond [Import] (VHS Tape)
"I can't see why people would badmouth this movie."I said to my self as I scrolled over the liner notes on the back of the Anchor bay copy of The Beyond.Although I did not spend much time doing this,on account of the fact that I wasted almost no time to get myself up to my room $ pop it into my tv/vcr combonation.I found the picture to be pretty damn good! & I would like to thank Anchor Bay & Grindhouse Releasing for distributing it.I strongly suggest you pick up a copy ( vhs or dvd ).The Trailer makes for a pretty good video.And even if your not a hardcore Fulci fan, you should be able to respect this horror classic.And to all the fulci fans out there, keep fighting the good fight against censorship,I have been fighting that very same fight ever scince I became a Fulci fan when I saw his imortal classic Zombie. & to all you only new horror disciples, in the great words of another reveiwer on this site "Stop badmouthing movies you no nothing about, go to blockbuster, rent Freddy.vs.Jason & leave us the hell alone!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I finally "got" it, Feb. 15 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Beyond [Import] (DVD)
Like many of the bad reviews here I was extremely disappointed when I first saw this. After years of reading blabberings from magazines and things like Blackest Heart Media calling it the greatest horror film ever and a lost masterpiece I couldn't wait to see this. Well I bought that big tin box edition and I threw the thing in my DVD player. I expected the Fulci standards of bad music, a story that doesn't make much sense, bad dubbing with equally bad lines and loads of gore and that's what I got. But I was let down! It seemed so half done and lazy, just an excuse to show some gore effects and cool camera work, I couldn't hardly stand it, I wanted to like it but couldn't.
Then a year later I sat down to watch it again and something just clicked. It is hard to explain why this movie is becoming one of my all time favorites. As other reviewers say the film throws one horror experience at you after another with no explanation as to why its happening and nothing logical following it. It's almost like one of those old Warner Bros Looney Tunes cartoon where Daffy Duck is being tormented by a pencil changing his surroundings every two seconds and drawing cannons in front of his face or erasing bridges under his feet. The characters are in the hands of Fulci, and he's going to throw tons of zombies at them, killer dogs, flesh eating spiders, jars of acid that are able to knock people down and tip themselves over, more zombies, then toss them into an apocalyptic landscape where every direction is the same scene, they run in one direction and end up at the same point, that's a nightmare!
If you're going in expecting the usual movie experience of characters, a plot, and a story that wraps itself up you will not only be letdown but leave the film very confused. Know that this is Fulci doing an exercise in pure horror and just that!
Now that out of the way I must say the effects are brutal and great! The zombies are Fulci's zombies; they actually look like corpses and walk probably how a corpse would, fantastic zombies! This has everything that Romero/Savini got you crazily obsessed over in the genre and delivers it in splattery loads. The soundtrack, while some people love these soundtracks, I think they're absolutely the cheesiest things ever, but that's why I like them so much. Also a big player in this film is the lighting and camera; this is probably the most beautiful confusing zombie/apocalypse/gore film you'll ever see. Some shots of the zombies in the hospital morgue are so beautiful I'd like to have giant stills of them on my wall, same with one scene where the blind girl is sitting in the dark, her eyes appear to be glowing (with many thanks to contact lenses, but hey now, it's a good shot). Anyways, enough blabbering, go ahead and buy this already.
Oh yeah death metal pioneers Necrophagia (yes that is Phil Anselmo playing guitar) have an ancient cheesy video on here, death metal 80s style, an entire genre of music inspired by films like these, whether you think that's good or bad (I love death metal myself) its a pretty fitting tribute. Also if you want to search out for some more underrated horror check out the Coffin Joe trilogy, buy the box set, those films are great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Seven Doors of Death [Import]
Seven Doors of Death [Import] by Lucio Fulci (DVD - 2003)
Used & New from: CDN$ 21.21
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews