Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exploring modern sex issues and its consequences
The current twenty-something generation's sexual culture is explored in this film in a way that reveals the relational highs and lows of dating culture and the consequences of sexual activity in the night club context. I loved the conversations that I have had with friends when we have watched this movie. It helps lift some of the taboos and allowed for frank sexual...
Published on Jan. 1 2003

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Interesting idea, TERRIBLE execution
All I can say after having watched this movie is, "What the heck?..."
So a group of guys goes out to a bar to meet up with a group of girls. We all know what that's like, right? And let's be honest here, more than a few of us know what's on the mind at this point. And, in fact, we're right: People - *gasp* - have sex.
Then the tricky twists arise. Well, too...
Published on Nov. 11 2002 by Dennis!


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars Interesting idea, TERRIBLE execution, Nov. 11 2002
By 
Dennis! (Washington, DC USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Body Shots (Widescreen/Full Screen) (DVD)
All I can say after having watched this movie is, "What the heck?..."
So a group of guys goes out to a bar to meet up with a group of girls. We all know what that's like, right? And let's be honest here, more than a few of us know what's on the mind at this point. And, in fact, we're right: People - *gasp* - have sex.
Then the tricky twists arise. Well, too many for there to be any real resolution to any of them.
By far, of course, the "date rape" plot line is the most powerful and socially relevant. Did she consent? Was she even capable of consenting? Or, to the contrary, did she actually scream "NO" repeatedly?
Now THAT would have been a good plot line to follow. We're interested. We see the conflicting points of view, and it's fascinating to know that there is NO other witness, and it's his word against hers. While the movie does take this plot line adequately through -- including to its less-than-satisfying conclusion -- it muddies up the progression of this situation with a HUGE slew of otherwise irrelevant and horribly uninteresting sex twists.
Of the four or five couples who end up having sex that night, we really do only really care about the one, right? I mean, in terms of plot line develpment, I don't think we really care about the particular kinky perversions of Batgirl. And yet we're told about it anyway.
All in all, it seems to me that this movie spends too much of its time trying to work "sex sex sex" into its reels -- probably in an effort to draw viewers who really don't care about the meaty date rape plot line -- and the end product suffers as a result.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exploring modern sex issues and its consequences, Jan. 1 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Body Shots (Widescreen/Full Screen) (DVD)
The current twenty-something generation's sexual culture is explored in this film in a way that reveals the relational highs and lows of dating culture and the consequences of sexual activity in the night club context. I loved the conversations that I have had with friends when we have watched this movie. It helps lift some of the taboos and allowed for frank sexual discussion. It is also a wonderfully shot movie. Every scene is well planned. Unfortunately, one of the less strong strands of the story becomes the focus, and the real loving relationship is lost in its aftermath.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars body shots, May 25 2004
This review is from: Body Shots (Widescreen/Full Screen) (DVD)
tara reid is so hott in this dvd but i think its a boring plot
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Idea, poorly created, July 21 2003
This review is from: Body Shots (Widescreen/Full Screen) (DVD)
Body Shots is an interesting premise. Mix reality tv (at the the time) like the Real World, fill it with hot young actors, make sure there is a movie plot, make sure there is a lot of sex, and watch it fly. Well unfortunatly thats what they did.
Body Shots is about a group of eight adults, four men and four women who all have different opinions on sex. It's Friday so they all decide to go clubing. The next day all of them got some, but unfortunatly some not in the way they wanted. After the initial club scene where they got drunk they wake up the next day. The latter part of the film ends up focused on the incidenet between Jerry O'Connell and Tara Reid as she claims he raped her. However they were both so drunk they don't remember what happened.
Overall the movie is Ok at best. The only really redeeming value is that we got to see some of Tara Reids Naughty Parts. Past that the movie features a lame been there done that plot, weak sex, poor acting, and overall not what was expected from what seemed like an interesting idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars NOT QUITE, April 25 2003
By 
"danep280" (Grand Blanc, Michigan United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Body Shots (Widescreen/Full Screen) (DVD)
I have the movie Body Shots it started out just about them having sex. About the middle of the movie the plot just changed It suddenly became about a mystery and trying to solve it. Great acting (Tara Reid, Amanda Peet) TERRIBLE ENDING does not even have an ending you expect the movie to start after the credits. I liked what they were doing with the movie at the beggining but then it got jumbled and confusing. If you like rape sex movies with bad plots then this movie is for you if not dont waste your time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Superficial treatment of a serious subject, Sept. 3 2002
This review is from: Body Shots (Widescreen/Full Screen) (DVD)
This film flounders by taking the serious subject of date rape and trying to mix it with the twenty-something licentious overdrive of "Sex in the City". Written by David McKenna ("American History X") and directed by Michael Cristofer ("Original Sin"), this screenplay has potential that is dissipated by trying to make it too sexy and hip.
The story starts with Sara (Tara Reid) coming to a friend's house in the middle of the night in her nightgown with face bloodied, claiming to have been raped by her date. We then shift to the events that preceded the alleged attack, as we meet our eight yuppies whose raging hormones are searching desperately for release by means of drunken stupefaction. Interspersed, we receive asides from each of the characters giving their honest and somewhat immature views on sex and relationships. This part of the film is utterly vapid and self indulgent, full of gratuitous sex and nudity, seemingly just to impress us with how shallow and hedonistic these young people are.
After a night of wild and lascivious dancing, everyone gets blotto and hooks up with someone for meaningless flesh pounding. Sara, who has been involved all night in dancing that can only be described as coital pantomime with pro football player Mike Penorisi (Jerry O'Connell), decides to take him home in a taxi after he finishes beating up a guy who bumped into him in the bar.
Fast forward to the present and each participant gives a flashback description of the events, Sara describing being forcibly raped despite her protestations, and Mike describing an nymphomaniac using him to get revenge on her ex-boyfriend and who became infuriated when he called her by the wrong name. The evidence supports both views, with Sara's behavior before the incident clearly provocative and slutty, and her emotional and physical state afterward extremely sincere and convincing. The picture is further clouded by the fact that both were extremely drunk and the reliability of their statements is questionable.
The rape storyline is fertile ground for an excellent drama, but Cristofer draws away abruptly just when the story gets interesting and returns to soliloquies of the various characters giving their reflections on the events that just occurred. The film thus leaves the viewer extremely unsatisfied with the outcome.
Ultimately, the film seems to be trying to make the point that this event was inevitable given the dangerous and irresponsible behavior of the characters. Cristofer tries to infuse the story with the moral that loving relationships are better than promiscuous drunken encounters, but his final scenes are too abstruse to make the argument with any power.
This is a good showcase for some young talent. Most impressive is Tara Reid, best known as Vicki in "American Pie". Reid gives a gut wrenching performance, sexy when she needs to be and utterly devastated after the incident. Sean Patrick Flannery is also good as the nice guy who feels that he has to act like a sex obsessed jerk to fit in with his friends. He has a couple scenes with Amanda Peet that are heartfelt and touching. Peet gives a surprisingly good dramatic performance that is a far cry from the ditzy parts for which she is getting known lately. Jerry O'Connell does well as the jock with the untamed libido. Ron Livingston is outrageously abrasive and droll as Trent, the obnoxious dweeb with an overblown sense of self importance.
This could have been a good film, but it takes the wrong approach to a serious contemporary subject. I rated it a 6/10. While the moral of the story is constructive, the presentation overemphasizes the very behavior it is criticizing, and neglects the true human interest story by skirting the serious issue. Some respectable acting performances, especially by Tara Reid, are reduced by the film's superficiality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Good Attempt, July 19 2002
By 
Troy Miles (KY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Body Shots (Widescreen/Full Screen) (DVD)
"Body Shots" was a very interesting movie...you have to agree with that! I thought the acting was surprisingly very well done, especially by Tara Reid. I have always thought she was just some pretty teen actress who was just put in movies because of her looks, but she really proved she can be a serious actress in this movie. The subject matter is very mature and there are times when you are not for sure if they are taking a serious stance or a light-hearted one. I do think some of the sex scenes were uncalled for...especially Brad Rowe's scene because it makes his character look like a total hyprocrite! "I don't do one night stands..."
I think the movie did center around sex way too much. Sex is totally overrated and this movie proves that point!! You have to see this movie to believe it, I think I might actually buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Shallow and Unfilling, June 24 2002
This review is from: Body Shots (Widescreen/Full Screen) (DVD)
BODY SHOTS is the kind of film that, probably, speaks to a generation. The real question is, "What is it saying?"
A group of four males and four females (Amanda Peet, Tara Reid, Sean Patrick Flannery, Jerry O'Connell, and more) get together for a night on the town, and, as is rarely the case in reality, all of them manage to 'hook up' (think 'sexually' here) in one way or another, but to what end?
One part art film, one part twentysomething film, one part point of view testimonial film ... BODY SHOTS never answers any of the questions it poses, nor does it honestly attempt to. None of the principals appear to be even remotely committed to a serious exploration of relationships, and the characters randomly speak out of scenes directly to the audience ... trying to expound a view on relationships, intimacy, and ... well, just about everything.
What's overwhelmingly disappointing is that four-fifths of the way into the film, an actual story develops, but the director and screenwriter have spent so much time exploring the nature of sex that there's little believability in such an 'engineered' situation. And, even the corner the filmmakers paint themselves into receives no resolution.
Without one unifying voice to tie the disparate threads together, BODY SHOTS sadly ends up being about little more than 103 minutes of wasted film ... with some gratuitous sex throw in to keep you interested.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Was It Or Wasn't It, You Have To Decide..., June 14 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Body Shots (Widescreen/Full Screen) (DVD)
Body Shots is a movie shown in sequences about a group of good looking 20 something year olds and focuses on their sex lives. The main storyline or focus seems to be on whether or not one of the women, Sara, played excellently by Tara Reid was a victim of date rape or not, as is made for the viewers to decide as both her, and her date's/attacker's versions are each told. Jerry O'Connell plays her date/attacker. It also shows the selfishness or me me me attitude that seems to be prevolent these days, when after Sara stumbles into her friends apartment late one night, bruised, cut, and looking as if she was attacked, claiming that she was just raped, her best friend doesn't seem all that concerned, and more interested in her own affairs. Tara's performance is outstanding, especially the scene in the hospital, in which she painfully and shakingly, describes her version of what happened to the authorities. It is a very moving scene, especially when you start to see her bottom lip start to quiver as she is describing the events, you can tell that it really shook her up. Had this been someone like Hillary Swank, or some other Hollywood "favourite", they would have garnered rave reviews for that scene alone, let alone the whole performance, but because it was Tara Reid, who for some unknown and totally unfair reason seems to be a media scratching post, and never gets the credit or praise she deserves, an excellent performance is not only not acknowledged, but by some is even criticized. What movie were they watching? Or were they just on a personal vendetta? The conclusion of the movie, Hell, what conclusion?, is the reason for only 3 stars. It leaves the viewers to make up their own minds on what did or did not happen, and it would have been much better if they would have been courageous enough to decide on a conclusion one way or another, preferably, with all the violence against women these days, with the conclusion that it was date rape and give the scum bag what he deserved. There were other decent performances, especially by Amanda Peet and even by Jerry O'Connell who plays the conceited football player who was Tara Reid's "date". A more raunchy or explicit version of the "He says, She says" storyline, that leaves viewers the task of making up their own minds. So if you want to see or buy it...you decide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Stupifyingly Bad., April 9 2002
By 
Dustin Dunaway "Cool Channel Films" (Denver, CO United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Body Shots (Widescreen/Full Screen) (DVD)
This movie is pretty brutal. Irritating characters talk to the camera and tell you the laws of dating as if they could maintain a relationship for more than Mardi Gras weekend. At one point a character says "Sex without love equals violence." No, this movie without alcohol equals violence.
A group of guys including Jerry O'Connell (I liked him better when he was the fat kid), head out to hook-up with some fly honeys, yo. But that's all whack, yo. Ahem. Obnoxious, isn't it. Jerry goes home with Tara Reid and they have sex. Or was it [violation]? There is a lot of other sex, but the story seems to focus...actually it doesn't focus at all. It's just a series of vignettes. ... I like Tara Reid when she's herself, but she's played so many unlikable characters I'm beginning dislike her. Ditto for Amanda Peet.
Highest recommendation to avoid. If you need dating tips, try [someone else].
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Body Shots (Widescreen/Full Screen)
CDN$ 53.66
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews