Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good follow up but not as good as the 1st!
Let me start off by saying that I loved creepshow, I was somewhat dissapointed with this one. I bought a box set called 3 from the mind of Stephen King, just for this one. But I figured out that the other two (children of the corn and maximum overdrive) where alot better! anyways, the first story starts of with a wooden indian coming to life and seeking revenge. this...
Published on March 16 2004 by Zacc

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A negative review by a talented "loser"!
Ok, I wrote a review of CREEPSHOW 2 not that long ago, and I just read a review by "Tyreek, from the United States of America" who I think called me a "loser" and with "low-quality" opinions". Whatever, TYREEK youre a low quality writer! I can say anything I want about this film! And you, with your poor "taste" of films, can't...
Published on March 5 2004


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good follow up but not as good as the 1st!, March 16 2004
This review is from: Creepshow 2 (Widescreen) (DVD)
Let me start off by saying that I loved creepshow, I was somewhat dissapointed with this one. I bought a box set called 3 from the mind of Stephen King, just for this one. But I figured out that the other two (children of the corn and maximum overdrive) where alot better! anyways, the first story starts of with a wooden indian coming to life and seeking revenge. this story is called Ol' chief woodenhead. then next story is "the raft" this one is probably my favorite one of them all. its about four friends whose vacation to a lake turns into a nightmare! and the last story is about a lady who runs over a hitchiker and he comes back to life and haunts her. and by the way the creep looks nothing like he did in the first! Rated R for horror violence, language, and some nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 1st one stinks and the other 2 rule, March 5 2004
By 
Michael Costa "redchefcosta" (Marquette, MI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Creepshow 2 (Widescreen) (DVD)
I was a little scared at first cause the Indian story sort of stunk, but the other two stories were great. If you are a horror movie fan go buy this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great movie! even better than the 1st one imo!, Nov. 7 2013
This review is from: Creepshow 2 (DVD)
my all-time favourite movie! call me crazy if you want but personally i think this one is better than the original. i got this version of creepshow 2 at my local hmv, and there are some pro's and only 1 con:

PRO'S:
fantastic movie, it's my all-time favourite movie EVER!!!
picture quality is extremely clear, almost looks like a blu-ray
case design is cool

CON:
hardly ANY bonus features, a trailer and thats it!

if you're a die-hard horror fan such as myself, then get this movie if you don't have it in your collection. many people don't know this, but the guy who did the make-up effects on the original creepshow, tom savini actually plays the creep in this movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A negative review by a talented "loser"!, March 5 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Creepshow 2 (Widescreen) (DVD)
Ok, I wrote a review of CREEPSHOW 2 not that long ago, and I just read a review by "Tyreek, from the United States of America" who I think called me a "loser" and with "low-quality" opinions". Whatever, TYREEK youre a low quality writer! I can say anything I want about this film! And you, with your poor "taste" of films, can't even spell director George Romero's last name! RAMANO! He's not a Soprano, you know! Anyway, later people. Hopefully you should think wisely by reviewing a good movie and not a bad one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Meh..., May 18 2010
This review is from: Creepshow 2 (Widescreen) (DVD)
I am a big fan of the first Creepshow and was so excited to watch this. When I watched it I suppose my hopes were a little high but I have to say this movie bares little resemblance of what made the first Creepshow so great. Instead of the 5 stories from the first you get three. It had it's moments of awesome but I deeply felt that it failed to carry it's way all the way through. The first story is called Old Chief Wooden Head. It was okay, not great. The second story is base on Stephen King's short story 'The Raft'. Not the greatest adaptation of his works but it translates nice to the movie. The last story was entitled The Hitchhiker. Out of all the movies this one had my favorite parts. Pretty crazy.
Don't get me wrong this movie wasn't terrible. It just wasn't great. If you really liked Creepshow you might get a kick out of this, but be warned do not expect the same thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Some Critical People Have No Taste!, Feb. 28 2004
By 
"tyreek" (United States Of America) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Creepshow 2 (Widescreen) (DVD)
Whom ever these losers are with these low-quality opinions need to leave the real citisisum to the real movie buffs. I think that these two can really scare the pants off their viewers'. I love creepshow like annie wilks loved paul shelton. Ha!, that one's for stephen. I think that this goes down in the history of good horror's. No one these days can scare people like King and Ramano. I hope that stephen king's new horrow series on abc can capture the horror essence of the old classics. Jesus!,no one can scare us today like King did when I was a kid. Even as a woman today I still get chill's from his classic and wonderfully crafted horrors. Keep up the good work king and ramano!!!!
Your die hard and truthful fan,
Quashana Denise Singleton
Ps: Should have gotten 10 stars! **********Now!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A dissapointing show of a movie, Feb. 17 2004
This review is from: Creepshow 2 (Widescreen) (DVD)
I'm a fan of the original CREEPSHOW; it was fun, scary, good music, and was smartly directed by horror master George Romero. This uninexusable sequel doesn't even cut the first act; there is hardly any enjoyment, flatly directed and acted, the music sounds like something from a 70's porn movie, and there is only three stories! The first CREEPSHOW had five stories!
CREEPSHOW 2 is not terrible, or even bad, it's just uninspired. The (only) three tales helped proved this theory. The narrator is The Creeper, who looks more like a comedian then a scary host in the first one.
Anyway, the first tale is OL' CHIEF WOODENHEAD. A revenge tale with a wooden Indian coming to life to kill the thugs who murdered his beloved owners. It has its moments, but none that stand out. Not really scary, but I was glad the wooden Indian got payback. It's not even the best story.
The second tale is better, but still has some flaws. THE RAFT has four teenagers visiting a secluded lake for some fun. But the fun turns into a nightmare when one by one all fall victim to a large, oily-like substance in the lake. It sounds like a very scary campfire story to tell, but director Michael Gornick does a poor job at following George Romero's footsteps by building a pretty good written story to life. He doesn't even have the actors motivated in this tale, because they're acting is terrible. It does has some scary moments. It could be the best tale, if the film was good.
The last story is pretty suddled at best. THE HITCHHIKER, who many consider to be the best tale, should't even belong in a CREEPSHOW film because it's too simple. Simple is a understatement, as a cheating wife accidently runs over a hitchhiker. Her self-concerned state foolishly has her leaving the scene. Her mistake has her being stalked by the ghoulish man, but she can't help by shaking him off! The only highlight is the line by the dead hitchhiker: "Thanks for the ride lady!" But everything else is dull. Oh yeah, watch for Stephen King as a truck driver in this one!
I was pretty dissapointed by CREEPSHOW 2. All the hair-raising fun from the original is non-existent here. Even though Romero wrote the unstirring screenplay, he was badly needed as director to bring a real comic-book atmosphere like he did for the original. There's hardly any here except for a animated segment involving a boy and his gigantic venus flytrap. Pretty standard stuff, as was the film.
I reccomend the first CREEPSHOW ten times more then this one. Although, it's essential to view if you like the first movie. Just beware!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars More flesh Please. What?! No charge? Thank You Creep!!!, Feb. 3 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Creepshow 2 (Widescreen) (DVD)
A Second piece of human flesh!!
Really!!
Go on!!
Buy it!!
Ok. First the facts, The Creep [Tom Savini] throws newspapers at a street market, and this kid came [Big deal] saw the creep.
Then he [the creep] turned around and gave him a Creepshow magazine [Similar to the Original Comic in part 1]. and..
Hey I can't give you any more info about it.
Buy it!!
And find out for yourself!!!!!
Heh, heh, heh, heh!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good transfer, great value, Jan. 13 2004
By 
This review is from: Creepshow 2 (Widescreen) (DVD)
The MOVIE
Taking a different direction than it's 1982 predecessor, this fairly standard, but fondly remembered horror compilation makes up for it's lack of frights with pure entertainment. Lacking much of the E.C. Comics style of the first movie (except for the rather poor animated intermissions) initially takes away some of the charm, but it saves the best for last.
"Ol' Chief WoodenHead", unanimously agreed to be the weakest of the three stories on offer, is almost saved by a charming yet sad performance by George Kennedy. This is a typical revenge story with not a single interesting or unpredictable twist. Most of the violence takes place off camera, and it is actually a bit of chore to sit through.
"The Raft" is one of the foremost guilty pleasures in horror. Four friends are stalked by a man(and duck)-eating blob in an off-limits lake. Who will survive? Those familiar with these sorts of moral tales will hardly be surprised by the ending, but will not be any less amused with it's abrupt simplicity.
In "The Hitchhiker" an annoying, unfaithful woman gets her just desserts, though at the expense of an innocent life. By the end of this story I am always a little bored, probably because the colorful, perfectly-lengthed "The Raft" precedes it, but it is still my favourite. In my opinion it features the most interesting gore effects, and will always be remembered for the hitchhikers immortal, extremely quotable single line of dialogue.
The DVD
As for the DVD itself - this is no special edition, but it's as much as we can expect from a movie such as this. Frankly, we should be grateful it is on DVD at all, and has not been forgotten in the dusty vaults of VHS where it probably belongs. Surprisingly, the widescreen enhanced transfer on offer is extremely clear and mostly scratch-free for a movie of it's age and budget.
The mono sound track on offer is not so impressive, but once again, it could be a lot worse. A movie such as this does not need a 5.1 mix; there are very few opportunities for surround usage - the whole thing is basically dialogue with occasional music to suit the mood.
The extras are basically non-existent, with only a trailer and photo gallery, but at the price this DVD is going at, nobody is really in a position to complain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Second issue lacks charm, wit, and style of the first., Jan. 5 2004
By 
Chadwick H. Saxelid "Bookworm" (Concord, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Creepshow 2 (Widescreen) (DVD)
Although Stephen King (who authored the source stories and appears briefly in an episode) and George A. Romero (who wrote the script) are hyped in the advertising, neither contributed much to this latter day sequel (made five years after Creepshow did modest business in theaters and on video), and it shows. Three stories and a wrap around (instead of five) are offered. Old Chief Woodenhead has an old school cigar store Indian going on a vengeful rampage, The Raft is a variant of The Blob, and the whole thing is almost saved by The Hitchiker, where a hit and run driver is menaced by the unstoppable spectre of the man she swatted with her car (it was this story that Romero had to fall back on if the They're Creeping Up On You episode in Creepshow 1 had proved to be unfilmmable). Each story (save for the last one) is a passable tale of the macabre far better suited to Laurel's then running Tales from the Darkside television program. Romero's longtime cinematographer Michael Gornick directed this after cutting his teeth on said TV show, and it shows. The stories seemed paced with commercial breaks in mind. While not a complete failure, it is far removed from the fun of the first movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Creepshow 2 (Widescreen)
Creepshow 2 (Widescreen) by Michael Gornick (DVD - 2002)
CDN$ 43.13
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews