Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars one of my favorite movies of all time
i went through alot of trouble to see this movie when i was a kid. my mom let me rent it after i looked for it all over the place. i searched everywhere and then i found it at a blockbuster. she said for me to rent it but that she had to watch it with me because she didnt want me watching r rated movies. so i said okay and we went home to watch it and after time after...
Published on Aug. 7 2003

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Movie ok... Dvd transfer --Yuk!--
The movie is ok... I'll let others write that review, this review is aimed at the dvd quality. This transfer is poor at best. In some cases it's not just soft focus, it's outright blurred! Sound is ok, some "hiss & pops". Watch it on a cable channel with substandard reception and you'll experience the same quality video/audio. It's unfortunate movie...
Published on Feb. 17 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent coming of age film / River's talent, May 18 2004
This review is from: A Night in the Life of Jimmy Reardon (Widescreen) (DVD)
I remeber this movie in 1988 quite well because I was transfixed by River Phoenix's character. Based on the novel by Bill Richert "You never said goodbye" Phoenix plays Jimmy a smooth talking charming kid from a working class family who moves to the richer side of town. Hangs with these rich kids who are the type to die if they ever lost their money. While trying to impress and win the heart of the one girl who ever really got to him his girlfriend Lisa ( Meredith Salenger) before she moves to Hawaii. He gets himself into hard situations and troubles just about every relationship he has by sleeping with his best friends ( Mathew Perry) girlfriend, has sex with his mothers best friend. Then smashes his fathers car up in the course of one night. River's character in this film is the type that has a charisma that makes it hard for people to say no to or stay mad at. A funny teen angst movie excellent performance by River Phoenix they couldn't of casted anyone else for this role. One of my favorite 80's coming of age films worth viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars one of my favorite movies of all time, Aug. 7 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: A Night in the Life of Jimmy Reardon (Widescreen) (DVD)
i went through alot of trouble to see this movie when i was a kid. my mom let me rent it after i looked for it all over the place. i searched everywhere and then i found it at a blockbuster. she said for me to rent it but that she had to watch it with me because she didnt want me watching r rated movies. so i said okay and we went home to watch it and after time after time of having to put my hands over my eyes (and peaking through my little fingers and smiling) jimmy started getting it on with joice fikkit on the floor and mom said for me to go to my room and i was unable to finish the movie.
then finally i go to a friends and we rent it on her dads card because he didnt care what we watched. then of course i could rent it at home because "mom, ive already seen it". this movie was out of print for years but now its on dvd.
jimmys got this holden caufield, rebel without a cause thing with him. in the process of trying to get what he wants he screws things up i guess thats why as 23 year old ive grown to connect with jimmy. i think anyone who has chased the person they love out the door after they chased them out knowing that the person will never come back can appreciate this movie. i think anyone who enjoyed catcher in the rye would appreciate this movie and yes even though i dont like connecting old movies to new ones because i like the old ones better. i think if you liked igby goes down youll find a place in your heart and your movie collection for jimmy.
a past one night stand informs jimmy falsly that she needs his college fund so that she can get an abortion and now jimmys got 36 hours to get his life situated. during this 36 hours jimmy can have any girl he wants but jimmy doesnt want just any girl what he wants is lisa. jimmy finds out his girlfriend lisa is moving to hawaii and he is bound for an all male business school. once jimmy can get the money for the plane ticket he will be destined for a life in hawaii with lisa where she has declared she will go all the way with him.
during these 36 hours jimmy manages to get himself into more trouble than most could manage in years. (based on the book "jimmy reardon" also titled "arent you even gonna kiss me goodbye" by william richert) if you find this book get it when you see it, it is VERY hard to find. i searched for about 10 years and i just got a copy today
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Coming of Age Movie., Feb. 12 2000
I had mixed feelings before viewing this movie, because many critics called it a bomb and Phoenix, himself, did not like making this movie. This turned out to be a very good movie. Pheonix, looks so natural in the role as if he wasn't even acting (like all his other performaces.) I had the same "bittersweet" type feeling at the end of this movie like I did in "Stand by Me." Strangeley, I find movies like this a sense of inspiration. "A Night in the Life of Jimmy Reardon" is directed quite well, has good supporting performaces, but it's Phoenix who makes it so great. The ending with the "Nothing is beyond you" poster is very cool. RIP Phoenix. e-mail DEATHSQUAD'S HWANG at tommyfresh@webtv.net
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not River's best,but interesting., Aug. 10 2001
By 
Mr Ghostface (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: A Night in the Life of Jimmy Reardon (Widescreen) (DVD)
A hard film to review this one. I'm tempted to say it's a crock of ..., but I'm a Phoenix fan. And while the direction is uninspired (and at times downright sluggish), Phoenix is as usual engaging. The supporting actresses are all very unique and decidedly quirky - particularly amusing is the underused Louanne as Susie, and Matthew Perry in an early role as Phoenix's best downtrodden friend is amusing.
Director Richert worked with Phoenix again in Gus van Sant's My Own Private Idaho, this time acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Movie ok... Dvd transfer --Yuk!--, Feb. 17 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: A Night in the Life of Jimmy Reardon (Widescreen) (DVD)
The movie is ok... I'll let others write that review, this review is aimed at the dvd quality. This transfer is poor at best. In some cases it's not just soft focus, it's outright blurred! Sound is ok, some "hiss & pops". Watch it on a cable channel with substandard reception and you'll experience the same quality video/audio. It's unfortunate movie studios rip DVD users off like this. DVD is supposed to be BETTER quality, not look like this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Simple Twist, Oct. 7 2000
By 
Lynn (Pittsburgh, PA United States) - See all my reviews
The ending of this movie had an interesting twist which I myself enjoyed, or found funny, but others might hate. I reccomend watching this movie ONLY if you HAVE SEEN any of River Phoenix's other movies already. If you see his style of acting first then you will know why River himself didn't like making the movie that much...although I did love the ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really Entertaining, Nov. 27 1997
By 
I originally just rented this movie to see River Phoenix's performance. It was actually very entertaining. It had one of those great feelings to it. I read that he didn't like making this movie ,but he still acted very well. It's funny & I'm not totally sure as to how to define it's great cool feeling. END
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jimmy Reardon.Wonderful River..., Oct. 4 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: A Night in the Life of Jimmy Reardon (Widescreen) (DVD)
Got delivery very quickly from when I ordered it!This film takes me back to my teens and it is wonderful to see River on screen in this coming of age film.I remember loving this when I was younger so for me this is nostalgia big time.Great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sentimental Coming of Age Story, June 15 1999
By A Customer
River Phoenix's commanding screen prescence holds together the slow stretches of this teen nostalgia flick.William Richert's 3rd film is well written and entertaining, with good acting and a nostalgically sad ambience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars River..., Aug. 2 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: A Night in the Life of Jimmy Reardon (Widescreen) (DVD)
I am a teen boy and I can relate to River Phoenix. He is hot and great in this movie about a sexually frustrated teen. Matthew Perry stars as his "friend". A good teen movie from the 80's. River, you are missed...:(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Night in the Life of Jimmy Reardon (Widescreen)
CDN$ 38.57
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews