Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect marriage between film and music, Nov. 5 2002
By 
Sean O'Flaherty (Adelaide, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Unbreakable (Audio CD)
This would be one of the greater examples of how film music not only sets the mood for the audience, but adds to it and is an integral part of the mood and the action.
James Newton Howard's score for Unbreakable is just that, unbreakable, in its masterful working on the themes in the film. Newton Howard has produced a score that fits the film so amazingly you'd think that he wrote the film script as well.
One of the most delightful aspects of this CD, for me, was the expert manipulation of the soft, malevolent theme present in many of the tracks, particuarly "Unbreakable" and "The Orange Man". This musical development reflects the action in the film well and gives the audience an aural image so powerful, that I can still picture the movie in my head after only seeing it once in the cinema.
Although I go in a movie with a desire to see what the soundtrack is like, as well as the rest of the movie, I'm sure that anyone, after coming out, seeing this movie for the first time, couldn't say that the music didn't make an impact.
I must say, it is heartening to see the huge growing trade that soundtrack music has become and we are getting treats such as this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated film, April 16 2002
By 
dolphin559 "dolphin559" (Greenbelt, MD, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Unbreakable (Audio CD)
Imagine the most realistic Issue #1 comic book movie. A film in the same vein as Batman and Superman but done in a very realistic way. Remember, it still is a comic book movie, just on the surface it doesn't quite seem that way even with this Elijah character constantly referring to comic books and superheroes. My friends, I give you Unbreakable. It is THE best superhero film since 1992's Batman Returns. The film has suspense,mystery,drama, and good old fashioned good vs. evil. It is too bad that this film wasn't nominated at least for it's stellar score. The film and score was underrated in my opinion but now that it is on DVD you shouldn't miss out on this gem!
The score acted as "clothing" for the film. It enhanced and beautified the film even further. It added romance(2nd Date), sadness(Wreck), suspense(Visions), and heroism(Orange Man). The filmscore is quiet but I don't mind. In fact the sometimes quiet score allow us to watch the film without being distracted by the score. It is still there but it is in the background. The score and film were both underrated. I give the score 5 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!!, Jan. 20 2002
By 
Michael Crane (Orland Park, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Unbreakable (Audio CD)
Next to "Memento" and "Fight Club", "Unbreakable" is one of my favorite movies. One of the main reasons why I loved the movie so much was because of the eerie and haunting music score. It was very hard to find, but I have finally purchased the soundtrack, and I don't regret it one bit.
Very much like the "Memento" soundtrack, I have listened to this CD many times. I really enjoy listening to it; and I usually don't care about music scores on movies. This is one of those really unique soundtracks that really allows you to relive the movie as you listen to each haunting track. The best one is the theme of the movie, which also happens to be the one where Bruce Willis is at the train station. There are no songs by actual bands, just the music composed by James Newton Howard, who proves to be an excellent composer.
If you love the music to the movie, get this soundtrack as soon as possible! It's very hard to find, so chances are that you'll have to order it from somewhere. Next to "Memento," this is one of the best soundtracks to a movie ever made. Get it while you still can, and relive "Unbreakable" through its eerie and beautiful music. A must-have if you love the movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars James Newton Howard has done it again!, Feb. 17 2001
By 
Amazon Customer "meenderman" (Eden Prairie, MN United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Unbreakable (Audio CD)
I received this CD two days ago, and much to the annoyance of my roommates, I have not been able to stop listening to it. Quite often I'll get stuck on a particular CD I have just purchased (Moby's "Play," David Gray's "White Ladder," and Radiohead's "Kid A" come to mind) and end up listening to it constantly for days and weeks to come--but rarely is my choice for repeated listenings ever a musical score. Now, I like to think of myself as an amateur collector of scores, but rarely do I ever listen to them with my roommates--usually my scores are reserved for either homework, relaxing or when they're out around campus. However, Howard's score for "Unbreakable" is amazing. It has so many different elements; the big-beat infused "Visions"--the rousing and recurring theme found later throughout the score (which is worth the money alone, in my opinion), the orchestra-driven theme surrounding Elijah and his fragility, and David's growing understanding and acceptance of his abilities--namely during "The Orange Man" and "Carrying Audrey". Bring these elements together, and you have Howard's best work to date. I used to think "Snow Falling On Cedars" was his best (although they are extremely different, both are poignantly emotional), and even "Dinosaur" and his first effort with M. Night Shyamalan bare mention. But it is for this score that I feel Howard deserves the most kudos. It takes a powerful effort--especially when it's a score--to overcome my preferrences for more mainstream music. "Unbreakable" is addictive, and I only look forward with even more anticipation for the video release of the exceptional film--don't let the comic-book inspired plot deter you from viewing Shyamalan's sophomore effort. At least then you'll be able to listen to Howard's gorgeous accompanying score.
[Note to buyers: Listening to this score will require you to turn up your volume on your stereo, for the quieter tracks are pretty low, but this makes "Visions" and "Unbreakable" all the more powerful. I know this probably isn't all that interesting--or all that essential, for that matter--but it might be something to take into consideration.]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Essence of Melancholic Mystery, Wonder and Heroism, Nov. 27 2000
By 
Adam R. Goss (Ronkonkoma, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Unbreakable (Audio CD)
Having seen the movie twice during opening weekend, I was able to pay close attention to the soundtrack. Mr. Howard's orchestral composition compliments the film's events beautifully, adding exactly the right emotional tone, almost as understated as the film's story itself. And even as stand alone, the music is lovely, haunting and sad without becoming too deeply dark (like the music of The Crow), yet is also broken up with pieces of music of simplistic heroism suggesting the Everyman-superman. Tracks 6 (Unbreakable) and 12 (The Orange Man) are the best and most powerful. Overall the music is slightly reminiscent of the music from 'Gattaca' and some of Jerry Goldsmith's Star Trek music. The only flaw is that the softer tracks, and there are many, are hard to hear, unless you've got total quiet around you or VERY good speakers or headphones and good volume control. The soundtrack also seems to be available only on cd and not also on a less-expensive audio casette, but once I heard the music, I didn't mind the extra cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better than The Sixth Sense?, Nov. 30 2000
By 
"zhaytee" (Buffalo, NY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Unbreakable (Audio CD)
James Newton Howard's score to "The Sixth Sense" was definitely remarkable (and it fit perfectly with the film). Since the inevitable comparison has been made between the two Night Shyamalan films, what about Newton Howard's scores?
"Unbreakable" sports more of a raw down-to-earth sound than his pervious effort, a sound that everyone can enjoy. It's soft at times, but prominently loud at others signifying the important points in the film itself. Above all, however, Newton Howard employs a healthy range of themes that firmly establish each character, setting, and occurence. Fantastically composed themes, at that: A heroic theme representing David Dunne's hidden abilities is, at the same time, reserved and muted to show David's character as being frightened and not ready to face the truths about himself.
James Newton Howard's score to "Unbreakable" tells the tale of the film by itself, and that is truly the mark of a great score.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a stunning effort, Jan. 20 2001
By 
Philippe Blumenthal (4513 Langendorf Switzerland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Unbreakable (Audio CD)
After their collaboration on The Sixth Sense composer James Newton Howard and director M. Night Shyamalan work succesfully together again. Unbreakable is a great score by Howard, not to compare with Sixth Sense and it's ghostly athmospheres, Unbreakable is harder, edgier and in parts fare more paced. The central theme, heard for the first time in "Visions", is a repeating figure mostly for strings. Howard uses it both in soft terms and in a more dynamic and heavily rhythmic structure which is a main attraction of this splendid score. Unbreakable grows with every listen and gives its listener the possibility to find lots of small motifs, smaller, shorter themes of importance (Elijah's simple and innocent theme for instance). Howard once again proofs his ability to write great music with just a few notes. It's a stunning effort that ranks in the top 5 scores of the year 2000.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A powerful score!, July 9 2001
By 
D. Litton (Wilmington, NC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Unbreakable (Audio CD)
"Unbreakable" had three good things going for it: the return of M. Night Shyamalan to the big screen with another suspensefully intriguing film, the stellar acting of Bruce Willis, and the magnificent score of returning composer James Newton Howard, whose "Sixth Sense" score is one of his very best. In that score, Newton balances the underlying suspense with moments of touching emotion, whereas in his score for "Unbreakable," his undertones and hidden themes are, like the film, a bit darker and more serious. Scenes that come to mind are the brilliantly scored train station sequence, which is heavy on slow bass beats, while the score cut to the film's surprise ending and entrance to the credits is just as invigorating as any of his previous work to date. Through Howard's music, "Unbreakable" takes on more emotion and feeling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Essence of Melancholic Mystery, Wonder and Heroism, Nov. 27 2000
By 
Adam R. Goss (Ronkonkoma, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Unbreakable (Audio CD)
Having seen the movie twice during opening weekend, I was able to pay close attention to the soundtrack. Mr. Howard's orchestral composition compliments the film's events beautifully, adding exactly the right emotional tone, almost as understated as the film's story itself. And even as stand alone, the music is lovely, haunting and sad without becoming too deeply dark (like the music of The Crow), yet is also broken up with pieces of music of simplistic heroism suggesting the Everyman-superman. Tracks 6 (Unbreakable) and 12 (The Orange Man) are the best and most powerful. Overall the music is slightly reminiscent of the music from 'Gattaca' and some of Jerry Goldsmith's Star Trek music. The only flaw is that the softer tracks, and there are many, are hard to hear, unless you've got total quiet around you or VERY good speakers or headphones and good volume control.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Howard's Revolutionary Masterpiece, March 13 2001
By 
Frantisek Zedek (Krnov, Czech Republic) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Unbreakable (Audio CD)
M. Night Shyamalan did pretty good choice. He asked James Newton Howard again and Howard composed his revolutionary masterpiece. What was in The Sixth Sense only depicted, that is in Unbreakable draged to perfection. The superbness of Howard's score is very well obvious in conjunction with Shyamalan's movie. For example 12th track The Orange Man brings up to orgastic elevations. Mostly is the music silent and mysterious without strong motifs, but the score bores niether a while. Next pillars of this piece are two strong motifs. First is something new in film music (track Visions, Unbreakable): synthetisators, percussions and orchestra are packed in a very mysterious cover. Second motif is heroic, full of courage (etc track The Orange Man, The Wreck). I recommend you to see a movie, because only then gets Howard's music fifth dimension.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Unbreakable
Unbreakable by James Newton Howard (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews